[Resolved]  Volkswagen India — 4 fuel injectors failed - car runs only 40k kilometers - have to pay more than 1 lac for replacement

Address:686651

I own a Volkswagen vento (KL-35-C-2525) 1.6L diesel purchased on May 2011. Car runs only 40, 000 kilometers. And it is a well maintained car.

Car showed jerking issue on 18 Aug 2018 during travelling and towed to the authorized Workshop EVM Volkswagen Kottayam, Kerala. They inspected the car today and informed like have to replace 4 fuel injectors. Total cost is more than 1 Lac.

I asked them to check for support from VW, then they informed like they already contacted VW but VW refused it.

I have few questions about VW cars

1) I am regularly doing period service in VW workshop and last service done on Jun 2018. No issue there at that time

2) Car runs only 40k kilometers. So whats the quality of VW cars as 4 injectors failing within 40k kilometers.

3) Workshop team saying like it is due to bad fuel, but it is not acceptable.
All cars running in India using same fuel and but these kind of complaint are more for VW vehicles.
Even BMW, Benz running without issue using same fuel, but these kind of complaint ratio is very higher for VW cars.

4) Can see several thread/forum in internet about same issue with VS vehicles which is specifically manufactured in 2011 and beginning of 2012.
But VW never recalled this cars to do free replacement. If it fails in warranty period then those customers are lucky as they get free replacement .
But if it fails after warranty period customers has to suffer. VW is aware about this but not doing anything for customers.

Please see below the wordings from technical product information of VW.

"Production change
Improved injectors are implemented in series production at VWIPL from CW03/13. Cut-Off VIN - TMBBLANA9DG035155.

Defective injector must be replaced by improved injector as per following guidelines:
All injectors which are produced after 15th Jun.2012 are improved & should be used for replacement of defective injectors."

Can see same kind of issue in several forums

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/94990-volkswagen-vento-test-drive-review-518.html

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/94990-volkswagen-vento-test-drive-review-508.html

https://www.consumercomplaints.involkswagen-india-failed-injector-problems-3-times-volkswagon-vento-tdi-c957785

https://www.carwale.com/volkswagen-cars/vento[protected]/userreviews/47562/

https://www.carwale.com/volkswagen-cars/vento[protected]/userreviews/44474/

https://www.cardekho.com/user-review/volkswagen-vento/fuel-injector-problem-17645.htm

I am totally disappointed and regretted the decision which I taken on 2011 to purchase VW car.

It is very painful to replace 4 injectors for a 40k kilometers run only car...

cheating customers...
Oct 29, 2018
They replaced 1 injector which is completely dead in goodwill warranty. They told like they erased the error with other injectors and it is working. Need to wait and see that fix is reliable. Planning to scan the injectors again within few days..Really appreciate the actions from VW.
Volkswagen India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Sep 29, 2018
Volkswagen India Customer Care's response
Dear Sir/Ma’am,
Greetings from Volkswagen Passenger cars!
We value your association with our brand and appreciate the time you have invested in sharing your feedback.
We understand your query has been resolved and addressed by our dealer partner, request you to kindly mark it as resolved on the consumer forum website.
In case there are any queries unaddressed, please feel free to contact us at[protected] or write to us on customer.[protected]@volkswagen.co.in
We thank you for being our valued customer.
Assuring you of our best services always.

Yours’ Sincerely,
Customer Care
Volkswagen Passenger Cars India
Oct 27, 2018
Volkswagen India Customer Care's response
Dear Sir/Ma’am,
Greetings from Volkswagen Passenger cars!
We value your association with our brand and appreciate the time you have invested in sharing your feedback.
We understand your query has been resolved and addressed by our dealer partner, request you to kindly mark it as resolved on the consumer forum website.
In case there are any queries unaddressed, please feel free to contact us at[protected] or write to us on customer.[protected]@volkswagen.co.in
We thank you for being our valued customer.
Assuring you of our best services always.

Yours’ Sincerely,
Customer Care
Volkswagen Passenger Cars India

Volkswagen India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    62%
    Volkswagen India Phone
    +91 22 3313 7000 [Corp Office]
    Volkswagen India Address
    4th Floor, Silver Utopia, Cardinal Gracious Road, Chakala, Andheri East, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400099
    View all Volkswagen India contact information