[Resolved]  Volkswagen India — Vento - faulty diesel injector

Address:Pune, Maharashtra, 600044

I have purchased vw vento in 2012 and all annual services are being done on time in chennai, where i reside. Last service was done in march 2016 and the next is due by march 2017.
4 days back i had a problem, like display of warning lights - engine management system fault and coil spring light on. Engine was nagging and lot of engine noise.
Vehicle was inspected by the authorised service centre personnel and they declared that it is fuel injector problem. They claim that it is because of adulterated/sub standard fuel.
I honestly say that i do take care of my car by self-driving ; filling fuel in bpcl company outlet/shell outlet.
Do they mean to say that the fuel being supplied by the above are not upto the mark for vw engines? Or as end user, do we have any mechanism to check the quality of fuel supplied?
Vw being a german brand, do they not have technology to handle this?
If it is not meant for indian roads, why does the government allow such brands to be sold in india?
I honestly feel that vw is trying to cover up something as done by them with respect to emission norms. Or let them come out to say that the injectors are to be replaced at frequent intervals/after a certain mileage so that end users will come to know about the quality they boast off. (German standard).
May i have a reprieve out of this? Can anyone give your valuable guidance. I am really worried about the exhorbitant cost (Rs. 25000/-) per injector ; there are four totally.
May 11, 2017
Volkswagen India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Nov 05, 2016
Volkswagen India Customer Care's response
Dear Sir/Ma’am,

Greetings from Volkswagen Passenger Cars!

This is in reference to your complaint received through Consumer complaint website addressed to Volkswagen Group Sales India Pvt. Ltd.

We request you to please share your car registration no. & contact details in order to enable us to address to your Query/Concern.

Assuring you our best services always.

Yours’ Sincerely,

Customer Care
Volkswagen Passenger Cars India

For Enquiries/ Complaints[protected]
For Road Side Assistance[protected] /[protected]
E-mail customer.[protected]@volkswagen.co.in.
Website www.volkswagen.co.in
Nov 12, 2016
Volkswagen India Customer Care's response
Dear Sir/Ma’am,

Greetings from Volkswagen Passenger Cars!

This is in reference to your feedback dated 30th Oct, 2016.

We have not received any response to our request dated 05th Nov, 2016 for sharing with us your car registration no. & contact details in order to enable us to address to your Query/Concern.

We understand, your concern is resolved and performance of your vehicle is meeting your utmost satisfaction.

In case of any further support of clarification please feel free to contact us at customer.[protected]@volkswagen.co.in or[protected].

We value your association with us, assuring you our best services always.

Yours’ Sincerely,
Customer Care
Volkswagen Passenger Cars India
Nov 17, 2016
Updated by Ganeshbalasubramanian
Vehicle no. Is TN 22 CU 9006. Contact No. [protected]. Ganesh.
The problem has been attended to by KUN VW Madras at Alandur. They have replaced the first and 4th fuel injector. Further technical details may please be obtained from them. They say that the work has been executed on Goodwill and have charged me 50% of the labour cost. But the actual reason for its failure is still not clear. If it is made clear we can also take further required care additionally. Regards.

We had the same problem and we informed VW but really sorry to say that they have taken it so lightly. The complaint which we have logged is below.

The Customer Care
Volkswagen

We have been loyal customers of Volkswagen, since 2011. We were one of the first customers of Volkswagen right from when it was launched in Kerala. It was with great expectations both in terms of quality and service that we had pinned down our selections among other options to the Volkswagen Vento -TDI .My wife who was working in Germany for around 20 years has used Volkswagen car to her satisfaction, which had influenced our decision to go ahead with German engineering. But it was to our shock and dismay that we started experiencing continuous engine trouble and other problems from the very beginning.

The first engine trouble (20 August 2014)we experienced was of the nature that the alarm warning for engine trouble would get triggered off and then the car would move onto the low power mode, with driving possible only in the 1st and 2nd gears. We've then had to drive the vehicle in that condition to the servicing centre around 25km away as the Road Service Assistance advised us to drive the vehicle as the warning lamps had only turned yellow and the car could be driven. Upon servicing the car (VW Servicing Centre Kottayam, Kerala )The reason cited to us was that there is an engine trouble .We paid up the servicing cost of Rs.6854 and the problem was cleared after the servicing on replacing the Fuel Injector.(Refer: Repair Order No SO142900, 18 August 2014 ). We were on our way to Punalur, 80km from Changanacherry for a attending a function of our close relative. The car broke down at Tiruvalla, 8 km away from Changanacherry. We had to cancel the car trip and opt other means to reach the destination.

The same issue occurred in the month of February 2015. Again, we had to cancel an important programme and we took the car to the VW Servicing Centre Kottayam, Kerala. The fuel injector was replaced and we had to pay an amount of Rs11, 310. (Refer Order No S0146927, 03 February 2015).

The next major issue we had was ABS malfunction. This occurred during our trip to Kattappana (High Range Area) 125km from Changanacherry. After confirmation from Volkswagen service centre, we dropped the vehicle to the service station soon after. The Front Left Speed Sensor was replaced. We paid an amount of Rs 4, 625/- for the servicing (Refer : Order No S0153096, 03 August 2015)

The engine trouble recurred on 20 August 2015.It was taken to the service station on 21 August by the company staff. The car remained in the workshop till 05 September 2015. For 15 days we did not get our vehicle. This was during the Onam festival when we required the vehicle the most. All this while we had to hire a taxi for attending several functions
Again. the same part of Fuel Injector was re-installed and the car was handed over to us after about two weeks at the servicing .We paid an amount of Rs 1, 999/- for the charges.

In just three days ( 09 August 2015), from the last repair we again experienced another major issue while my daughter was driving back from her workplace in Pala, near Kottayam. Heavy smoke came out of the rear exhaust pipe leading to other drivers plying on the road to sound the horn incessantly to warn her about the fumes. She stopped the vehicle on the road near Kottayam and called in for Road Side Assistance. She was dropped home by the RSA staff. However, she reached home at night, 3 hours late than the usual time. The techinician who drove the car back to the service station confirmed that the RSA assist vehicle that was moving behind the Vento could not see clearly because of the heavy smoke. The car is now again at the VW Servicing centre at Kottayam, Kerala.

Now, let me put forward to you the main issues that I have faced having cited the whole history of the engine trouble and the ABS malfunction:

1) In a brief period of 4 years since we bought Volkswagen Vento -TDI, we have now replaced the same part of 'FUEL INJECTOR' three times and replaced the ABS SENSOR and each time paid a high servicing fee leading to a total expenditure of Rs 24, 788 /-

2) Apart from this, is the mental agony and humiliation we keep facing of not being able to bank upon our vehicle as a reliable means of transport for us. Often while traveling for important work or for major family functions, we have faced the complete breakdown of our vehicle leaving us with no option but to cancel the whole programme. This has caused me and my family extreme discomfort and mental agony of having to pay continuously pilling up servicing cost and yet to be unable to rely on the vehicle and to be constantly vary of an impending breakdown of the same. I have myself driven a Ford, Fiat car for 20 years and currently own a 19 year old Maruti car both of them combined together have not caused me this much servicing cost or maintenance or breakdown issues as the Volkswagen car has in just 4 years.

3) Moreover, I feel myself incapable to rely on the vehicle even after purchasing a High line Version of the vehicle after hearing such good review of the always trustable and bankable German engineering. I have an upcoming important function of my daughter’s wedding for which I had planned my vehicle to serve as the wedding car for the function. Now I have no confidence in the vehicle for using in such an important function. It is with a heavy heart that I have to say this that I find myself in a position in which I feel I have invested Rs 11 lakhs and continuing heavy service charges but at the end of the day hold on to nothing .

4) Moreover the vague and flimsy finding provided to us after the elaborate servicing done is that the engine trouble is caused due to moisture content in the fuel. Kerala is a predominantly coastal state and these issues if any should have been cleared and rectified prior to the vehicle's induction to the market in your R&D itself. It is extremely shameful and seriously questions the Volkswagen Brand value and reliability if the R&D in this matter was not addressed prior to the vehicle's induction into the market. The onus is not on the consumer to find out if the high end quality engine of Volkswagen Vento -TDI, as claimed, is compatible to the fuel quality in Kerala.

Kindly revert back to me and redress my grievances. I cannot afford to keep up with these servicing costs which are yielding no result whatsoever. What I expect from you is a full refund of the vehicle cost and the servicing cost at the earliest. Till this issue is sorted out, we are not going to take the car back from the service station at Kottayam. Kindly do not make us suffer more.

Awaiting your reply.

Joseph Kattoor

Again they have not given the invoice for the 3rd valve replacement too.

Now the 4th valve also failed and we are planning to go to consumer court for the same. Feels ashamed off to their technology and the quality of there motor parts.

Volkswagen India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    62%
    Volkswagen India Phone
    +91 22 3313 7000 [Corp Office]
    Volkswagen India Address
    4th Floor, Silver Utopia, Cardinal Gracious Road, Chakala, Andheri East, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400099
    View all Volkswagen India contact information