Follow us
Log in        Register
     
 

Toshiba India - Faulty LCD TV

 
20 Reviews
User
  vivekmahajan
10 Days!! Still awaiting reply / action !

Is this the way a world renowned professional company like TOSHIBA deals with its customer's!

IT HAPPENS ONLY IN INDIA & you are proving it right!

Dear Toshiba,

Kindly go thru the following:

After comparing Sony, Samsung & Toshiba, I bought TOSHIBA REGZA 32AV600E 32 Inch LCD TV & the same was installed at my place in Dec.2009.

Since its installation on the very first day, I noticed that its resolution was not good. I adjusted its backlight, contrast, brightness etc. but of no use. Whatever adjustments I made, the picture quality was never improved. It had following problems:

1. The picture quality is very dull. Even with full contrast / brightness

2. The image is disported.

3. One feels strain while watching program. It's like moving images leave a trail behind them.

4 Colors feels like they bleed .

5. It feels like the screen is very dirty or if you are watching a very low quality pirated DVD or program.

6. It use to switch off automatically, without timer & later switched off permanently.

I had bought the TV from Mr. Sanjay Thapar of M/s Sanjay Enterprises Mumbai, which he had purchased from M/s Vijay Sales, Mumbai. After receiving the same I noticed that there was no protective seal on the screen & on the panel. The screen looked like that it had been wiped / cleaned with a cloth. Moreover it had few scratches on lower portion of the panel & deep scratches on the bottom of the panel where the TV stand is inserted, clearly showing the same has been used. Even the serial No. on the warranty card provided didn't match with the serial No. printed on the TV. There was no doubt that it was a used TV & the same was cleaned, repacked & dispatched to me.

I reported the matter to Mr. Sanjay & he, being a friend assured me that the TV is new, I accepted it on good faith. It was only when it started giving trouble of switching off during the program, I forwarded the complaint & was attended by Engineer Mr. Mahipal from Toshiba Chandigarh & Mr. Rattan (Service Centre incharge, Toshiba, North India) on 21-02-10.

Mr. Rattan, from Toshiba service centre (which I didn't knew earlier) took the lead of attending the complaint & do the talking. I thought if he is the engineer from Toshiba, Chandigarh. After lots of listening / talking & the adjustment done by other person Mr. Mahipal (engineer from Toshiba) whom he never introduce, it was declared thet the LCD TV's reception is like this only. I was shocked to hear that. We have Samsung LCD in our family & its performance is far far better than Toshiba. Still, I played a genuine DVD for there viewing so that they could see & compare the quality but of no use. When I asked him that even simple flat CRT TV has very good performance in comparison to Toshiba LCD, he said it is due to the single picture tube they carry (very strange answer). Any how, when I played the same DVD on my Flat Slim CRT TV, the picture quality was very lively & brilliant. Again I asked Mr. Rattan about the comparison & he repeated the same answer that performance of CRT Flat TV (aspect ratio 4:3, 480p) is far better than LCD TV (aspect ratio 16:9, 1080p). Then why people buy LCD TV's. This time I sincerely doubted his capability & asked him if he really is the engineer from Toshiba & then only I was told that he is the service center incharge & other person Mr. Mahipal is the one from Toshiba.

Finally Mr. Rattan gave his verdict with utmost authority that there is no problem with the TV & every TV brand has its own set of performance & of Toshiba LCD TV is like this only. I couldn't bear any more. I simply thanked them for there kind visit & felt sorry that I bothered them. Actually I had forgot that I am still living in India & here if some thing is sold to you it's done, HAVE IT or LEAVE IT. Anyhow, before leaving as Mr. Mahipal was filling some complaint report, I asked him for his views as he was the engineer & had kept quite since, he admitted that there is definitely a problem with the TV's contrast & brightness & would forward the complaint to higher authorities. Mr. Rattan face was plain & he had no answer to Mr. Mahipal's observations. It was looking like Mr.Rattan had come merely to attend the complaint as a formality & nothing else. He never let the Engineer Mr. Mahipal speak. Mr.Mahipal was sitting like a mute spectator fumbling with the remote. That's all.

After Filling the form he asked me to sign it along with the any views which I like to put in. He told me that one copy he'll forward to the concern authorities, one copy is for me & 3rd copy is for there record. I put the remarks & signed it. 4-5 minutes after they left, I rembered that they never provided me the complaint copy. I called Mr. Rattan for the same but was told that complaintent doesn't need to have the copy & all the copies are for the Toshiba people only. Very contradictory answer!

Any how, I was disappointed earlier also but never thought of writing / complaining, but this time I am highly disappointed after the visit of the designated people from Toshiba. It feels like if I had purchased some cheap Chinese toy from the road side vendor & went complaing after few days.

I DEFINITELY FEEL CHEATED.

Sincerely,
Vivek Mahajan

----- Original Message -----
From: iceNslice - India
To: corporate
Cc: Pooja Gandhi ; ravi sampat ; vivek@shreeramvanijya.com
Sent: Friday, February 19, 2010 9:05 PM
Subject: TOSHIBA 32AV600 FAULTY LCD ~ COMPLAINT

Dear Kalpesh Ji,
As discussed I am pleased to forward complaint of Mr. Vivek Mahajan
who is a very close & dear friend of mine. As a matter of fact when Mr. Vivek Mahajan called me to ask which
LCD should I buy I not olly recommended Toshiba LCD to him but also sent him one after
purchaing from Vijay Sales not knowing that he will feel duped & cheated thereafter because he and his
family from the day one have not been able to enjoy watching LCD because
1. First and foremost new sealed pack LCD when removed had a scratch on the chassis but Mr. Vivek Mahajan being a good friend
did not mincing words and accepted it as it is for which I thank him
2. Then after few days the LCD started getting switched off during a program and had to be manually switch on which was a pain every time
3. Now since yesterday it had switched off permanently not to restart again.
4. All the money has gone waste he feels and is not at all happy after receiving TOSHIBA 32AV600E touted by Toshiba as an advance LCD panel..??
5. Please ensure that the LCD is attended and repaired at the earliest possible so that MR. Vivek Mahajan along with his family is able to finally enjoy
watching their favorite program on TOSHIBA LCD.
6. All the details including purchase details and LCD serial no. is given below.
Customer name:

Vivek Mahajan
423/6, Housefed Complex
Block-E, SBS Nagar, Pakhowal Road
Ludhiana - 141001 Punjab
Mobile: 09317526000 / 2423000
eMAIL ID : vivek@shreeramvanijya.com

-----------------------------------------
32" TOSHIBA REGZA 32AV600E LCD TV
SERIAL NO. 81934464
----------------------------------------

FAULTY TOSHIBA LCD - COMPLAINT

1) SINCE PURCHASED IT HAD A SCRATCH ON THE CHASSIS
2) SWITCHES OFF OF ITS OWN WHEN ON & HAD TO BE RESTARTED
3) NOW IT IS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN
WE HAVE CHECKED POWER SUPPLY IT IS ALL OK
BUT TOSHIBA LCD IS NOT STARTING AT ALL.

-----------------------------------------

PURCHASED FROM
M/S. VIJAY SALES (GHATKOPER) ( MR. KALPESH JI - PD HO)
INVOICE NO.: 13-GTK11-09SICD-550
DATE . 21-11-2009
PAID BY CHEQUE NO. 572316 (ICICI) BHANDUP BR.
ON 23-11-2090
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanking you in advance for your support & cooperation.
Sanjay Thapar
Sanjay Enterprises
24-Kembros Estate, Sonapur Lane, Bhandup (West)
Mumbai - 400078
Ph.: 022-6694 44 44 / 9833447275 / 9220655830


Complaint comments 19 Comments     Updated:
Resolve this Complaint  

Comments

 

Non-compliance of Guarantee - Toshiba 32" LCD TV

I, Prashant Gupta, R/O B-2/43D, Lawrence Road, Near Keshavpuram Police Station, New Delhi-110035 purchased a LCD TV Model 32AV500 on 8/12/08 for Rs 36,500/- from M/s Better Deals, B-3, B-1 Block Community Centre, Janakpuri, New Delhi-110058 vide Book No. 245 Serial No. 12231 dated 19.10.2008.

The front panel of the said LCD TV developed a black spot (at right hand bottom side) in the month of August 2009. On 17.08.2009, I lodged a complaint on phone at Toshiba service centre (telephone no. 9910044005, 9910044006). The complaint number given to me was 0817020. After 2-3 reminders, 6-7 days of the complaint a service engineer from your side approached us and checked the LCD TV by pressing the black spot on the front panel of the LCD TV. He told us that there is some technical problem in the LCD TV and he will have to come again to take some photograph of the same and send to his seniors. He again approached us in 2 to 3 days and disassembled the LCD TV and took photograph of the front panel from inside. 2 to 3 days later he again approached us and told that he needs some more photographs and again disassembled the LCD TV and took photographs and went back. He told that it will take a week for them to get the front panel replaced.

In September 2009, when I called the service centre I was told to contact Mr. Govindan at Mumbai (telephone no. 09819900465) for further enquiry. When I called Mr. Govindan he told that the front panel is on its way from Singapore from DHL courier and the same shall be replaced within 3-4 days which never happened. In the meanwhile another back spot appeared besides the earlier one. I again contacted Mr. Govindan and I was given another date.

Later one day I received a call from the service centre that as per the report from Singapore the front panel cannot be replaced since it is physically damaged and I was told to talk to Mr. Govindan for further queries, if any. When I contacted Mr. Govindan he narrated the same.

This is to be noted that the LCD TV is placed very safely in our apartment. There is no physical damage mark on the front panel. No one, other than your service engineer, has ever disassembled the LCD TV. There are no children in our house who can damage the LCD TV. Hence, there is no question of the LCD TV (front panel) getting physically damaged. I never expected such an irresponsible attitude from a company of such repute.

I request the consumer forum to kindly takeup the matter and get the front panel of the LCD TV replaced.

Regards,

Prashant Gupta
B-2/43D, Lawrence Road,
Near Keshav puram Police Station,
New Delhi-110035
Ph: 9811309259
 
Dear Sir's

As a re-seller we work under certain limitations..
Toshiba is an internationally renowed brand and not a fly by night operator.

All complaints and quality issues are taken care by the manufacturer as the case is with all
brands Toshiba is no different.

We have supported you on all issues so far as it is evident from your mail too.

In all the probabilities Toshiba is the only deciding authority and we are with you
on this issue, please tell us what more support do you want from us.

Many Thanks

Sanjay
 
RECEIVED NEW REPLACED TV. WORKING FINE!

VIVEK MAHAJAN
 
helo i bought a lcd rezga tv from dubai careefour supermarket and it has been fixed in my house in chennai now there is a problemm when it is switch on only the red indication is blowing not the green one so the tv dosent get start we have tried a lot suddenly after trying a lot it got on but when it switched off we r not able to switch it on so what will be the problem please help me in this matter my name is ganesh contact no is 9941255475 my email id is ganesh10045@yahoo.com please help me to fix this problem thank you
N Jan 12, 2011 by
User
vkartikey  
 
I had purchased Toshiba LCD TV from M/s Anuragh Electronics & Appliances 21-23 Harlal Market, E-1 Pkt Sector-7 (Opp. M2K Cinema), Rohini Delhi-110085
on 21/01/2010 vide Cash memo S. No 5528 book No 111. The TV has become faulty and suddenly gave smoke from rear side. Now it is not working.
The details of the model is
REGZA SNO 78723573
HDMI Model 32A600E
Kindly peruse the matter to check and take necessary remedial measures at an earliest please.
Residential Address
R/O Flat No 51 Amba Enclave sector-9 Rohini-110085
Land Mark : opp Delhi International School (Ahinsa aptt Sector-9 Rohini)
Cordial Regards
Er. Vinod Kumar
RIM:9350130481
N Mar 30, 2011 by
User
sangeet jonwal LCD TV  - Sirohi, Rajasthan, India
 

STAND OF TV FOUND DAMAGE BUT VENDOR NOT ACCEPTED THE SAME - LCD TV

BILL NO. 1679 DATE 28.10.2010
S. NO. 111009780102020270
REG 41248357190
ID 45080187
WORK 3348745
MODEL 111009010146502205

VENDOR NAME :- EMANI ELECTRONICS, ADU ROAD, SIROHI
CONTACT NO. 9828146800, 02794220267

TV STAND FOUND DAMAGE AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE AND ASSURE THAT NEW ONE STAND WILL BE ARRANGE IN DUE COURSE BUT TILL DATE WE HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE SAME.
KNOW THE VENDOR IGNORE TO ME.

CUSTOMER NAME : SANGEETA JONWAL
CONTACT NO. : 09461445370
N Mar 30, 2011 by
User
sangeet jonwal LCD TV  - Sirohi, Rajasthan, India
 
at the time of purchase of product we have inform to vendor and he assure to replace the same.

please also let us know the new stand avaliability and price at our nearest location.

Thanking you,
A Jul 21, 2011 by
User
mirzapur  
 
THIS IS A HARD FACT. INDEED I HAD ALSO PURCHASED A TOSHIBA 32'' INCH LCD MODEL 32AV550E BEARING SERIAL NO. 81042650 FROM RAJ ELECTRONICS, R.K.PURAM, NEW DELHI ON SEPTEMBER 9 2009. SINCE THEN I M IN TROUBLE. THE HALF SCREEN OF THE TV BECOMES DARK. THE SERVICE ENGINEER MR. PAWAN(9717063602) CAME THRICE TO MY HOUSE, TOOK ADDITION RS. 7000/- FROM ME AND WITHIN 3 MONTHS AGAIN SAME PROBLEM. NOW HE IS NOT PICKING THE PHONE.NOW PEOPLE SAYS THAT IT IS MORE THAN ONE YEAR OLD SO NOTHING CAN BE DONE BY COMPANY EXCEPT TO PAY AGAIN.
I AM SINCERELY REPENTING ON MY DECISION TO PURCHASE THIS TV.

A.K.SINHA
1116, SECTOR-12
R.K.PURAM, NEWDELHI-110022
N Feb 11, 2012 by
User
bbaa Toshiba  - Tamil Nadu, India
 

tv - Toshiba

I bought toshiba tv about 1 month. the toshiba guys have not come for demo / install even after complaining for 3 times!!!
NEVER BUY tOSHIBA !!
A Jul 27, 2012 by
User
sanjay9711000609  
 
I have purchased the LCD TV (32") Toshiba Company, Model No. 32PBIE and Serial No. 34143067 on October -2011 on eve of Diwali from M/s. M.K. Electronic, Madangiri, New Delhi.

It is out of order for last 10 days and already complaint lodged on customer care (Complaint No. 072112-1100) and this compliant not attend to till now. So, I request you please look into the matter at the earliest.

Mr. Jagan Kumar and my mobile is 08860875875 r/o A 91-92, Tigri, New Delhi

With Regards
Jagan Kumar
D Dec 11, 2012 by
User
maasamalei  
 
my name sunil kumar prusty my mob.
> no. 8763327543. I have purchage nearest dealer Hirakhanda
> Enterprises cash memo number 1713 on dated 31/12/2011.
> Toshiba LED 19 model 19HV10ZE SR NUM 63060246 but
> after some time I am facing no picture problem.I have
> purchased Toshiba LED from Hirakhanda Enterprise (Hirakud
> -Sambalpur) last year in dec’11. There was problem in TV
> on 28 sept 12 (under warranty period) . so
> i am register complain Toshiba care job. no. 100112-13on
> date.
> 01/oct/2012 but till now date problem is not resolve so
> please. requested for
> your please. refund my current value of LED amount. many
> time contact Toshiba care hi some time hi is saying my led
> is replace, refund your amount and replace your panel not
> Constantan on self comet.
> *thank *
> regard
> sunil prusty
> 8763327543, adress-Rengali Purana Basti post-rengali Dist-
> sambalpur State-Orissa Pin Code 768212 Nearest
> Citi-Sambalpur
N Feb 25, 2013 by
User
ravindrayash Toshiba India  - Bhiwadi, Alwar, Rajasthan, India
 

lcd panel problem - Toshiba India

my complend no.is 011513-1415 or service centre no. 09352206928 ,08233033227 my complend one month & 10 days before but koi information nahi mile pleaae suggesed me soon mane case karne ka man bana liya hai please sahi suggesed kare
N Jul 28, 2013 by
User
priyadarshini mallik  
 
To,
The General Manager,
Toshiba T.V.

Subj.:Replacement of Defective T.V. Model with Cash-Back Policy.
Ref -Vijay Sales Invoice no.-83-BWGO8-11SIAOT 1652, Date-15-08-2011

Dear Sir,
I purchased Toshiba LCD T.V.32AV800 Model from the dealer/shop Vijay Sales, Ghodbunder Branch.
After using it for 10 months, it developed white vertical lines across the screen which is also spoiling my eyes..When i complained, I was told that over & above the service charges no extra charges will be applicable for the spares.Accordingly, person was sent to see the T.V. receipt no.& date.During the visit he again spoke to his senior & reconfirmed with his senior on the phone that the parts won't be charged.Subsequently, another engineer was sent who told the parts would be charged as against the previous statements made by the service engineers who had told that if you produce the bill you will not be charged because of which I ran around for the duplicate bill for a week.But, later on, I was informed the part itself(ie. the display panel unit) which had got spoilt is not available in the market at present.I was given an alternative solution- would I be ready to accept a 70% cash-back policy against the defective piece since the model got spoilt within a year! Since it obviously has manufacturing defects, as it developed problems within 1 year, which is not expected of a product of a reputed company like yours, I expect at least a 75-80% cash-back valuation.In these times of inflation, it will be clearly difficult/impossible to get a new T.V. at the valuation being provided to me.Please consider this.Expecting a reply soon with reference to this & immediate action to be taken in this regard.
Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,
Priyadarshini Mallik.
28/07/13.
N Aug 13, 2013 by
User
rsheikh  
 
The Regional Manager
Toshiba India Ltd.
MUMBAI

Sir

I had purchased Toshiba LCD Model 32PB21ZE from Vijay Sales, Mira Road (E), Dist : Thane, in March 2012, the TV was working alright except poor picture quality, blur image, etc. Last week I switched on the set and was astonished to find that there is no picture coming on the screen but only few lines (like cracks) appearing from inside. I informed their call centre and they sent their technician from the franchisee who is handling the area. He opened the set and again took some pictures and went away saying that they will be calling me within couple of days and inform about further action. I got a call after two days saying that the part to be replaced is chargeable, i.e. the panel is damaged and it will cost the same as the cost of new TV set. Even though the TV is under three years warranty and now it is only one year. The technicians and franchicee expressed their helplessness in replacing the panel. I bought the same for about Rs.25000/- (approx.) and now within a year it is showing internal damage and the service centre (which is all outsourced to private players) wants to mint money for their mistake. Hope Toshiba will take this seriously and get the part replaced at the earliest. Pls reply at rsheikh2004@yahoo.com

Thanking you

Yours truly

Rafi Sheikh
N Sep 26, 2013 by
User
Radhika Saini  
 
I purchased Toshiba - 32" LED TV (Model No. 32PU200ZE - SERIAL NO. D25X08H01934U1) from Mahindra Electronics 13/19, Dakshinpuri, New Delhi - 62 (Tel 29053074) at an amount of Rs. 25, 800/- (Cash) on 06/09/2013 . The Screen of the TV is cutting about 3" from both the side (Left & Right) . The TV installation engineer says it is due to the fault of Set Top Box. The Set Top Box Engineer says it is due to TV adjustment. Earlier with the same Set Top Box it was working very well with my earlier TV. Please rectify my problem at the earliest


Radhika Saini
Tel. 9811193640

emaill. radhii1991@gmail.com
N Oct 5, 2013 by
User
P.S.Roychowdhury  
 
Dear I purchased a toshiba tv in Kolkata on 16.04.2013 serial no 63041356, MODEL NO 63041356 dated 16.4.2013
I like to know the warranty period for the above L.E.D.TV .
Thanking you
With best of regards
P.S.Roychowdhury
N Dec 10, 2013 by
User
Abhi788  
 
sir/mam
sir mene toshiba led tv 28 nov ko purchase kliya but jab tv ko set karne k liye mene deler ko bulaya to tv ka front damege nikla hamare yaha shadi ki vajah se hum use 28 nov. ko dekh nahi paye or ab vo use replace nahi kar raha hai, or vo usme 15000 rs ka kharcha bata raha hai 29 incc tv led ka front panneel kitne ka aata hai plz aap he kuch kare thanks


Abhishek shrivastava
shivaji nagar baran, rajasthan

8233399685, 9829616009
N Jan 10, 2014 by
User
yatendra.brand@gmail.com  
 
Dear All,
I had Purchase an LCD TV Model no. 32PA200ZE S.No. c50x05H00315K1 on 28th November 2013 from Satnam Plaza, there is some issue in Hardware, I call to Satnam electronics, they registered my complain on same day, your guy visited there and came back and he said to our person that there is some hardware problem, will come tomorrow and resolve the same, but he didn’t reach again, after 3-4 days I call again to satnam plaza and same day they again registered the complaint, your guy visited again but they didn’t resolve the issue. Last week I got a call from Manpreet (Rajouri garden)– he said that it will be resolved ASAP, but till date the issue in same position.


Regards,
Yatendra
yatendra@iands.com
N Jun 3, 2014 by
User
Annadatha Rao  
 
Dear All,

I have purchased Toshiba LED 39 inch on May 2nd and product was bad out of box having 4 cloud like spots on it. Toshiba rep has visited home for verification and accepted the same fault and took pictures of TV. I have communicated same to Toshiba support taking picture explaining same. Toshiba communicated they will send another technical person to look at problem. For twenty days no response from Toshiba or it dealer to support the matter. On 21 day I have received a call from a person calming Toshiba courier want to visit home to deliver home but no mention of details like time etc. I called Bangalore Toshiba service to know more details about courier and representative told they will come back with full details and never came back and TV was not delivered, I try contacting Toshiba support in Bangalore after two days but proper response expect we will you call you back While this episode continue one month past without any proactive help from Toshiba.

I have written a mail to head office after a month explaining whole story and received a call telling they will upgrade with better model without any extra fee and model shown to me was much inferior to which I have bought and I politely rejected the offer.

Toshiba trying to fool the customer and don't even care to talk to customer immediately when the problem arises unless you escalate to main office. But regardless they don't fix the issue and try to manage the customer to make his mouth shut.

I have a feeling all failed LED are thrown at our country.

Bottom line, don't trust their 3 warranty and don't waste your time. This is just mental torture for a month spending on phone and emails. This is horrible service and don't trust Toshiba in India as Internationally they may be good due to respective country policies. I am just waiting for refund from vendor (snapdeal ) as vendor promised to process refund as per their policies.

Regards,

rao


Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good) No Rating
    code
    Toshiba India - Faulty LCD TV