Bank Of India — Inefficient staff, wrong information provided by staff and refusal of interest payment

Address:Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400099

This is the most inefficient and incompetent bank staff I have ever seen.
My entire family maintains account with the BOI vile parle east branch since 1970s.

I remember the view of the bank whenever I accompanied my parents visit to the bank in those days. The long queues, crowded and rude behavior of the staff... very often the employee at the counter was not on their seat despite the queue. I would say nothing has changed since then and now with the staffs behavior.

Off late I have been visiting the bank on regular basis, not cause I want to but cause the staff cannot perform any task without creating some issue due to their lack of knowledge.

My mother passed away in Dec 2015...it took 3 months to close her accounts and to change the nomination on my father's accounts and Fixed deposit's and locker. And while trying to do so the staff kept giving unnecessary forms to be filled and visit the bank daily with my father who was moaning for his loss. The employees showed no courtesy for a heartbroken man who just lost his wife. Instead one of the employee was so STUPID he came asking the reason to close my mother's account. To which I burst and fired him..it was very unprofessional to ask such a question as it's common sense to know the reason to close a deceased's account.
I immediately went up to the branch manager and explained the situation and requested his intervention in this matter as it was taking to long. My father had very clearly asked the branch manager to make sure the nomination on all his accounts Fixed deposits locker demat to be changed to my name... however as expected from the BOI staff they missed on the nomination change in the demat account.

Unfortunately my father too passed away in Nov 2016 and since then I have only been trying to get everything fixed with the banks.
I was advised by the banking staff to wait until Jan 2017 to make change's due to the demonitisation of currency that caused hassles. Also the staff told me it's better to keep my father's account open for some time just in case any kind of funds are expected. When I checked about the fixed deposit the staff told me as I'm the nominee..the FD can be transferred on my name directly anytime.

However, the issue raised when I went to the bank in April to check the renewal of all the FD and to transfer my dad's FD on my name as it was told.
To my surprise the lady at the counter now told me that it's not possible to tansfer the FD directly on my name and that I have to break/withdraw the same to my account and then put it back in FD.
Most importantly she said that since the FD matured on 9th Jan and was auto renewed for 2 yrs the FD cannot be broken b4 1 yr...as its a NRE account FD and if I did then they will not give me any interest.
I told the lady that the suggestion to come later was given by the bank...cause I would have got it changed in December when I visited the bank daily or would do it at maturity. But the bank employee gave me wrong information about everything. Since most of the staff there recognize me and my family and were aware about my parents death. Being such old customers whose entire family does banking in the same branch... it's the banks responsibility to help the customer.
Instead the employees here blame the customers and take no ownership for their mistakes.
I was told I am supposed to know the banking process. When I questioned the lady about why do they expect the customers to know the process when it's the bank staffs duty to assist and guide customers as they should have the knowledge of the banking system.

I was told very bluntly that I can go up to the manager if I have any problems. I went up to the assistant manager as there was no branch manager assigned currently as I was told. I explained the situation and requested to resolve the issue and credit the right amount of interest from 9th Jan till date. The manager assured me that he will take care if everything and was in a rush to meet someone else so stopped our conversation.

I kept visiting the branch for almost a week to check if the amount along with the correct interest was credited to my account. Since the staff said I cannot transfer the FD directly on my name so I will have to do it the long way.
On the 17th May when I checked my account I saw the FD amount of 509884.46 credited to my account which was renewed at 7%...however the interest from 9th Jan 2017 till 15th May at 7% was only around 2 thousand. When I went up to the lady at the counter and asked why is the interest so less since I had already spoken to the manager. She first told me that is the interest amount...when I showed her the calculation of 7% on the total amount of 5lakhs approx...the monthly interest itself comes to around 2900 approx. I told her that the bank can't rob customers money like this it's a crime. Only after that she agreed to take a written application to credit the interest amount in arrears. However it's been a week and I have nothing credited to my account and the staff won't give any information...I am asked to just wait and not to come and worry them.

It's clearly seen how the staff at BOI vile parle east branch treats their customers like some criminals or like borrowers who have defaulted on loans...the irony is that the customers are only trying to operate on their saving account which is the money the customers own...the bank staff should learn how to give respect and customer service the least...guess customer satisfaction has a long way for BOI to reach.

I will never recommend BOI to any of my friends and relatives ever. As the employees lack the knowledge and are arrogant and rude with their customers.
My aunt recently also had issues with her bank account and locker...she and her 8months pregnant daughter had to visit the branch almost everyday for nearly a month and only after I interfered and got it resolved cause the bank employees just refused to help them. This is how the BOI staff behaves with their customers very inhuman and incentive.
I hope by escalating this issue online to the grievance board my issue gets resolved soon.. this is the second time I have addressed my concern online to get help.

Anthony
Bank Of India customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Jun 01, 2017
Updated by Anthony R Dsouza
Its been more than 15days since I posted this complaint but have not even received an acknowledgement from the customer service department of the bank...I have even sent emails to the grievance officers of Bank Of India as provided on the website...no response from either... this proves my point of how incompetent and unprofessional the staff is and the outdated procedures they still follow.

Amazon Credited a Refund to my bank account no. [protected], I Tried to contact amazon and They gave a Refference number For the refund innitiated, The Reffrence number i got is 4730482 . Please Resolve this issue and Give me my refund amount of ₹329
I will Be Very thankful to you for this, Hope to get my issue Resolved as soon as possible
Kindly deactive star token. I am not able to login. My a/c no is[protected]
Sir I booked a railway ticket from my account on 12/5/2017 amount is 3480/-
with the transaction no.[protected] irctc said we refund your amount to your bank.but still the bank people not ctedit the amount and I didn't receive that.kindly see tocredit my amount to my account.my account no. Is [protected]

Bank Of India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    12%
    Bank Of India Phone
    +91 63 2227 1335
    +91 22 4091 9191
    Bank Of India Address
    Gaya Nawada Road, Wazirganj, Gaya, Bihar, India - 805131
    View all Bank Of India contact information