Airtel — STB REPLACEMENT CHARGE IS UNFAIR BUSINESS PRACTICE

 
21 Reviews
West Bengal, India
Customer ID no - [protected] 23.11.2010
Date of Installation – 27.07.2009

dt- 16.11.10 – ref. no 4485185 - First official complain for set top box problem – Always stand by mode and no signal

dt. – 17.11.10 - SMS received – Your problem resolved(without attaining the complain)
dt.- 18.11.10 - phone call received – Are you satisfied ?

dt.- 20.11.10 – ref. no 4524997 - Second official complain
Complain attained on Saturday 20.11.10

But what Service Engg. mentioned & done - totally unfair business practice by Airtel DTH service as below :-

Set Top box has been damaged, it will be replaced with another old,repaired set top box of another customer.Charge for this is Rs 500/-.At the same time he will take my set top box.There is no other option.If this replaced old/repaired STB will again malfunctioned, then again Airtel DTH will charge Rs.500/-

Dt. 20.11.10 - Again phone call received from [protected] Are you satisfied?
I placed my view/stand as mentioned below,but executive of Airtel DTH simply cut his line as saying this is the system and charge for all.

My question is :-
1. Airtel DTH is declaring that STB,Anteena, sim etc are all property of Bharti Telemedia Limited.
2. Airtel will charge Rs.500/- for not giving me anything, took away my STB and gave old/repaired STB.
3. May be STB repaired at a minimal cost, may be minor problem in STB like needs recharge of a battery as it never turned green, always in stand by mode. Also I found a lot of common complain for this on net and service engineer of Airtel had kept many malfunctioned STB in his byke.
4. Analysis the unfair business policy as Below

*First I purchased the Airtel DTH
*Second time I will give again for STB Rs.500/-(old/repaired one)
*Third time Airtel DTH will again earn Rs 500/- by installing my STB at
another customer place.
*Fourth time Airtel DTH already earned Rs.500/- by charging this to the customer, whose STB was installed in my place plus purchase price.
So, can you imagine the value of single STB to Airtel? That is no. of installation multiply by Rs.500/-
5. Dear Sir, can you bother to stop this practice?
6. So, please do not charge Rs.500/- ,instead return my STB after repair.
7. When new DTH set price is sub below Rs.1000/- with few months subscription free, how you can charge Rs.500/- for old/repaired STB ?
8. What is the procedure to surrender Airtel DTH? Presently I have account balance of around Rs.760/-.How much I will get for DTH set? What is the TRAI’s guideline for this?
9. So that I can purchase a new connection immediately.

Manoj Kumar Sahu
Complaint comments  20 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Airtel India — Harassment by Airtel telecaller

i m having a airtel prepaid connection. my no is [protected]. i have got a sms from airtel that their is a scheme of RS. 299 in whichu get the 50 rupees talktime & 6 month validity, 1 month validity u will get immediately & rest 5 month validity u will get after 7 days .I have called to ur costumercare executive to know more about the plan Rs. 299 & he had told me that one another scheme is going on in which u have to pay RS. 260 & i have got the same talktime & same validity. & now on 24 oct. 2007 i have recharge my connection of RS 260 & i have got only 1 month validity & 50 RS. talktime.

Now i want 5 month validity or refund my money as early as possible or unless i loge a complaint against u in consumer court.

Thanking you

Jayant malik
mobile no. [protected]
HEELO,
MY MOBILE NO IS [protected] & [protected], I REGRET TO SAY THAT I HAVE FACEED THE UNEXPECTEABLE BEHAVIOR FROM YOUR DELHI CUST CARE EXECUTIVE NAMED ARPAN ON 11 TH OF OCT-2008 WHILE I AM COMPAINING ABT GPRS REGARDING PROB CALLING FRM [protected] AT NIGHT ABT 2: 00 A.M. HE HAD DISCONNECTED THE LINE & ABUSE ME ALSO & AFTER THAT NOT SATISFIED THAN DISCONNECTED MY 1 YR SUBSCRIPTION FOR HELLO TUNE & AFTER I CALLED FRM MY ANOTHER NO. [protected] BUT NO RESOLUTION GVN TO ME & AS I KNOW THERE ARE SOME NO. OF PEOPLE ARE THEIR IN NIGHT SHIFT SO SOME HOW HE GET MY BOTH NO & ALSO DISCOONECTED MY SECOND NO'S 1 YR SUBS OF HT ON 29112008 AT 03:37 A.M. & I GET THE MSG OF DISCONNECTION FRM 543211 &I HAD COMPLAINT SO MAY TIMES BUT THERE IS NO HEARING OF MY COMPAINT SO IF ANYBODY IS SINCERE IN AIRTEL SO PROVIDE ME SOLUTION OR I WILL REGISTER A CASE OF MENTAL HARRASEMENT NOT FOR MY COMPENSATION BUT FOR THE VOICE OF CUSTOMER.

THANKS
ANKUR SHARMA
CONTACT NO...[protected]
NEW DELHI

AIRTEL DIGITAL TV — No repair of Airtel Digital TV

Dear Mr Mittal,

I bought your Airtel Digital TV on 06.06.2009 which is still under warranty. I'll very much oblidged if you send your engineer to rectify my Airtel Digital TV. I requested several time to your Customer Care No. but nothing happend till date apart from issuing new service request no. Is that type of services you are offering to your customer who buy your Airtel Digital TV subscription.

I am mentioning below service requests details :

1016313 - dated 06 Sept,2009 : Your executive told that my complaint will resolve on or before 4.26pm on 06.09.2009. But nobody came to attend the complaint. After waiting another 3 hours, i contacted your customer care no. they told me they will try to resolve complaint in next 24 hour. But nobody came to repair your Airtel Digital TV.

1025084 - dated 08 Sept, 2009 : 11:32am - Nobody came to attend complaint.

1026893 - dated 08 Sept, 2009 : 04.54pm - Received another sms from 247 with different matter of complaint, I don't know who and why generated this message but Nobody came to attend complaint.

I hope you understand my problem, its not only Airtel Digital TV who is creating problem, but its your after sales services deptt who are mentally harashing me.

I request you to please look into the matter and either resolve my complaint as soon as possible or take back your Airtel digital TV from my house.

Thank you.


Pradeep Kumar
Customer ID : [protected]

AIRTEL DIGITAL TV — TV connection not repaired

My Customer ID for Digital TV is [protected].
Due to some construction going on, the TV signal got disrupted and the antenna needed to be shifted in order to receive signal again. A complaint was registered with the customer care 5 days back. They gave time slot for the engineer to come but nobody turned up. Since then we have been calling airtel atlest 5 times a day and everytime they tell us that the engineer will be at your place soon but nobody comes. The daily amount is anyways deducted from out account everyday though the TV does not work. We have lost so much of our time, energy and money with these people but they just dont care. So, i had to finally ture to Consumer's court for help.

AIRTEL DIGITAL T.V — stb box not repaired or replaced

sir,
from 8th of september my stb box (signal transmission box) is restarting by itshelf m customer of airtel digital t.v. .led glows n stops (restarts).i had complainted 3 times in customer care n got three unresolved complaint numbers.i.e,1052924,1047555,1084560.no body has came to resolve this problem .my airtel connection is in warrantee period. no one has resolved this problem but according to many sms i had received from airtel problem is resolved.i had also mailed complaint to nodal head of m.p c.g airtel mr. manish , but he has also not given reply.
.
regards,
PRABAL SAXENA
[protected]
I am also suffering the same.
It is so irresponsible service providers...even I can say WORST SERVICE PROVIDERS !!

Airtel — Unfair Procedure of the Company

Respected Sir/Madam,

I had bought a friends plan card in 2007 with a no. [protected]. I like its sevices because most of my loved onces are using airtel services so it would help me to talk to them as much as i want in low cost. However on 7th November an unknown person by mistake recharged my number with value voucher of 64 which cancelled my friends benifits. I made a complaint to the customer care twice. The complaint no. is [protected].
It is vey unfair because my sevices are cancelled without my knowledge. Company should have given me some warning message whether to accept or decline decline such new change to my sevices. It is quite possible that all such friend services could be cancelled without the knowledge of the customer.
I had bought this card so that i could talk to my loved ones in low cost. Now the purpose is defeated by the wrong procedure of such a huge company.
I would like to request you to give me fair justice on this issue. One should not be penalize without ones fault.

Thanks,
George D'souza

Bharti Airtel Ltd — Unfair Trade Practices

The Ombudsperson
Bharti Enterprises Ltd.
Bharti Crescent
1, Nelson Mandela Road
Vasant Kunj, Phase II
New Delhi – 110 070
India

Ref. No.:- Account No.[protected]

Sir,

I am subscribing to Airtel Broadband connection A/C No. 15130600. This case related to Billing Period 23rd Dec., 2009 to 22nd Jan., 2010, Bill No.[protected], due on 15th Feb., 2010. Exactly On 15th Feb., 2010 at 11.30 AM I made the payment by cash of Rs 1105/- at Vikas Puri, near PVR Complex Bharti Airtel Centre. Bharti Airtel outlet also issued receipt for the same but didnot not account for the payment and didnot put any payment received number on the receipt. Thereafter harassment from Telecallers began for making of payment. Despite having made the payment telecallers not only made my life miserable but also harassed my family by making calls on landline at odd hours. On contacting Vikas Puri outlet I came to know that they had problems with SAP and accordingly could not account for the payment and only after 10 days they did the needful. 10 days I and my family was thoroughly victimesed by Bharti Airtel telecallers for no fault o[censored]s. Further they also levied Late Charges to the tune of Rs 75/- in the bill no.[protected] dated 26th Feb., 2010, billing period 23.01.10 to 22.10.2010 besides inflating the bill to 2246/- P.M. wehereas fact remains that I only use internet which is free and hardly make calls. They seem to have been levying charges for VAS & other services without consent and willing of the customer.

In light of the circumstances set out above I pray that Airtel be told to;

1. Correct current bill & take off late fee.
2.Take off VAS & other misc. Charges & refund the charges levied earlier.
3.Correct this month Bill. This cannot be 2246/- for sparingly used phone.
4.Order compensation deem fit for defeciency in service and causing mental torture,agony and harassment.

Thanking you and looking forward your patronage.

Sincerely Yours,
Nisha Rana
10, Surya Kiran Apartments,
D Block, New Delhi-110018

*Confirmation copies sent by speed post


Copy to:
1. Public Grievances Cell,
Deptt. Of Telecom,Room No.518,
Sanchar Bhawan,20,Ashoka Road,
New Delhi 110001.

2. Bharti airtel Ltd.
D-181, Okhla Indl. Area, Phase-I,
New delhi-110020

3.Govt. of India, PGC Website

Airtel DTH — No Response of complaint on DTH installation BOX

Customer Complaint Number: 320576
Customer Name:G.Shanmuganathan
Customer ID: [protected]

DTH BOX not working for 3 days and customer care cell not responding to the query.

No Sign of any service after they promised to look the complaint in one hour but it has been 3 days since they have been informed.
Yes I am Airtel DTH customer in Pune but since last 15 days + there remote is not working nor the TV set I change the batteries twice in between.. But still the signal are weak.. The customer care doesn't bother to answer the call in proper manner. I have sent them emails as well still no answer nor the any person who even promise to drop in.. They spend Crores of rupees on stupid Advt. instead of that they should improve basic services.
I Really don't understand when they charge package fee in advance when such beak down they never talk about any free extension as well.
I am really fed up with AIRTEL DTH service support.. If any one knows any Buy back scheme in Pune please do let me know.
Date 05 July 2010.
Customer Id - [protected]
Name of Customer - Makarand Wadekar

AIRTEL DIGITAL TV — Inactivation of STB

Dear Sir,

My Name is Kishor Mishrilal Koshti, Resi. Add:2, Deep Apartment, Audichyanagar, Gordhanwadi, Kankaria, Ahmedabad-380022. I have booked Airtel Digital TV on Date :[protected], Then After they were instolled that on 4th August 1.00pm, But their after till date and time My digital tv is not activated and showing Error code-6, I complain for that on date :4th August 2010 and they give me refrence no3481589 and today i got Sms from that side that your complain was resolved, but when i checked the complain was sill their and complanin not resolve and i call on given sms comtect no[protected] on many times but no reply on that no. My Costomer ID-[protected], Please solve my complain as early as possible

Airtel [Bharti Airtel Ltd] — AIRTEL UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES [AUTO] TOWARDS ITS CUSTOMERS

Complaint Against Airtel [Bharti Airtel Ltd]:
AIRTEL UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES [AUTP] TOWARDS ITS CUSTOMERS

To All Concerned

Hello All!
I am an Airtel mobile service user since quite some years and although I found Airtel comparatively costlier than other Mobile Service Providers [MSP], I was happy using Airtel service because of its trustworthy & quality services but not anymore now 

Since five months, I had been using the Airtel Mobile Internet [Rs.98/month with 2GB of internet data transfer] and yes, of course, I use internet on my laptop through this Airtel connection and in my experience of the last five months, I am not fully satisfied with the Airtel Service providing slower internet and sometimes no connection, sometimes I had to call the Airtel Customer Support Executives [ACSE] for re-settings etc but I continued with patience knowing that nothing is perfect anywhere anyway.

However, since the incident happened on 17 December 2010 and also with the problems/nuisances I am facing since then till now, I have totally changed my perception about Airtel for the worst 

INCIDENT-1 of AIRTEL UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES
On 17 December 2010, I recharged Airtel for Rs.200 Full Talk Time [FTT] and I was browsing internet that day browsing/downloading some picture & small video clips to the max. of some 300MBs or so, but gosh! to my utter shocking surprise, all the balance of Rs.200 were gone! I didn’t have a clue how it happened and ACSEs couldn’t explain either how? except that it had been charged, in fact overcharged me  ! Again, next day I had to recharge for the same amount as minimum FTT recharge for Airtel is fixed at Rs.200 [why not lower value than this for FTT?].

This is really an Airtel Unfair Trade Practices [AUTP] towards its Customer.

INCIDENT-2 of AIRTEL UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES
Since January 2011, I started receiving so many useless SMS to the tune of 5-9 everyday with crap web-links disturbing me all the time and wasting my time deleting them every day and to make this situation worse Airtel is charging me Rs.2/3 every day for these useless SMS without informing me beforehand about this charges. Since two days I am contacting the ACSEs to stop sending me these disturbing SMS but they continue doing so, a real nuisance to the customer!

This is really an Airtel Unfair Trade Practices [AUTP] towards its Customer.

INCIDENT-3 of AIRTEL UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES
Since 15 February 2011, the disturbing matter with Airtel is getting worst that I found Airtel charging me twice for my mobile internet use  ! First charging: Airtel had already deducted Rs.98 from my current balance for the monthly internet subscription [my internet validity is till 18 March 2011 with 1554MB of data remaining, as on 22 February 2011] and they are deducting the amount of data I use every time I use internet. Second charging: Airtel is charging for internet use from my current balance every time I use internet despite the fact that I am already under monthly internet subscription  ! I reported this matter two times contacting the ACSEs but no corrective actions taken up yet and they continue charging me twice every time I use internet till now when I filed this report on 22 February 2011 , what a harassment Airtel is doing to its customer  !

This is really an Airtel Unfair Trade Practices [AUTP] towards its Customer.

By now, I am almost totally fed up of Airtel and currently thinking to STOP USING AIRTEL SERVICES if they [Airtel] don’t take up corrective measures soon.

At the end, I would like to draw the kind attention of all authorities & public to press Airtel to take up corrective measures in these regards and deal in Fair trade Practices with its customers [public users].

Regards,
Yours sincerely,
Mr.Naorem Gajendra Singh
Airtel Mobile No.[protected]
Manali, HP, India
Airtel STBs are definitely of inferior quality. Their repair quality is also sub-standard. They fail time and again. The replacement STBs that Airtel provides are actually old pieces that have been repaired over and over a numerous times and are bound to fail again. Even during the replacement, you will find that the technician tries out 2 or 3 'serviceable' STBs before he finds one that 'works'. The company is using the service charges for replacement of STBs as a source for generating easy revenue. They do not care about the customer; they only want easy money.
The company is very prompt in acknowledging your complaints (including auto-generated responses for e-mail complaints). However their answers are standard phrases like the ones you see above. Actually on ground, their response is downright poor and, often frustrating.
I have also faced the same issues and have asked them to terminate my connection and refund by account balance. I am going in for another DTH provider.
I am suffering like you right now friends.

AIRTEL DIGITAL TV — digital tv setup box repair,replacement of new setup box

SIR,
this is srikanth from Hyderabad,i have given a complaint regarding my airtel digital TV setup box, that it is not working.and it is giving an error as code:2.
i didn't get any response from the authorized service center for last 15days.since i have given this complaint repeatedly for two type,but till now no one came here to solve my problem,
please at least respond to this immediately.

complaint number1:7039431
complaint number : 6977491
customer id:[protected]
customer name:srikanth
registered mobile number :[protected].

with regards
srikanth
I will invest some money in pacl india ltd. The pacl india ltd is the goverment undertaking or private. If investers loss them money the govt will take response or not. Please send me the information quick as possible. Please Replay me at [protected]@gmail.com
me too...I am suffering like you right now

AirTel — set top box not repaired

We have been following up with the dealer in Jagatsinghpur for repacement of Setop box but the dealer is playing cat and mouse game about replacing the same .It was once replaced with a faulty set and when asked by the repair mechanic to replace it for the 2nd time ,the dealer is saying he cannot send one because it is raining.

Such unprofessionalism and clever acts should be abolished from the business . Hope my setop box gets repaired in this lifetime .

The issue is under complaint since October 2011 BUT YET TO GET A SOLUTION FROM AIRTEL CUSTOMER SERVICES .

Dealer contact no. in Jagatsinghpur; [protected]
Mechanic is Manas : [protected]
i too same issue.want few thousands for 2 nd hand stb.i dropped it.opted for another dth.foul airtel in dth where as phone service is good. they lack ethical values


kiran
I am facing the same issue. They say that the circuit board inside the set top box has been damaged. They want me to pay Rs.500 for an old and used set top box which has 6 months warranty. I think it is very unfair to customers and we should collectively challenge Airtel. They may replace the set top box with an old one without any extra charge, or replace with a new box by charging extra without having us return the old set top box. Just imagine how they make money out of this practice which is totally unfair to customers.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    23%
    Complaints
    42833
    Pending
    4276
    Resolved
    8727
    phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    location
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078
    Airtel - STB REPLACEMENT CHARGE IS UNFAIR BUSINESS PRACTICE