[Resolved]  Hitachi Air Conditioners — Substandard quality of product

Bought very expensive 1 ton Quadricool twin Motor top of the line window Air Conditioner 2.5 yrs back. The A.C technician while installing informed me aboout substandard Printed circuit board (PCB) used by Hitachi, but I did not believe him since Hitachi is a reputed Japanese company. Unfortunately after the initial one year the PCB has burnt out twice (just after warranty period).

The authorised repairing agency in Mumbai "National Aircon" charges Rs.2250 + visiting charges each time for replacing the PCB with no warranty on replaced part. HAve spent about Rs.5000 on twice replacing PCB of A.C less than 3 yrs old. My other cheaper A.C's Samsung (4yrs old) and Voltas (2 yrs old) are working without any problem, how come Hitachi is selling substandard produts in India without any bother to its reputation.

Wanted to sell it but got offer of about Rs.4000/- only. I feel cheated by Hitachi for selling me a lemon and not reponding to my complaints on their India and Global websites feedback/contact section. Moral of the story Japanese brands/quality are no longer what they used to be and insteads the Koreans/Indians are better and cheaper to maintain. No Hitachi for my friends and family forever.

I agree with you 100 %. The customer complaint department does not respond. The dealers are frauds and the service people are sold out to local dealers. The company works wose than a govt. deptt.
I bought 7 AC's, out of which 2 never worked. No responce to numerous calls and e mails.
Would recoomend Indian brands, with good service back up. Hitachi's improper selection of dealers will soon lead it to its doom in the Indian market.
I am also a victim of Hitachi substandard product. I purchased Hitachi in May'08 and immediately started complaining to the dealer and thereafter to the company, but their response is lukewarm. They keep advertising newer products to lure the vulnerable customers, but Hitachi products are nowhere near any of the low ended products in the market. So much so the customer care is high headed and do not heed to the customer's plea. The delaying tactics have ended up in one year and now they tell me that I will get depreciation of 30% if I want to return the product. I had used my savings to purchase this product. But now I do not know what to do. I had purchased an LG at the same time which is giving me much better service and cooling. What is now the use of writing the complaint in these columns if we as customers do not get justice in today's consumer friendly scenario.Please find ways to help
I bought a 1.5 ton Hitachi quadricool last month and i must admit that their customer care is pathetic. There is no sense of ownership and the complaints just go unnoticed. Also there was a faulty piece of equipment in the brand new AC right out of the showroom. They replaced it only after 10 days of constant calls to their customer care center.
The customer care and the after sales service is very highly unsatisfactory. There should be qualified engineers specially trained to repair your air-conditioners at the site who can deliver quality service at reasonable rates. Your ACs already cost almost double the generally available brands in the market and after seeing them being dissected in the most harrowing way at our level by semi-technical persons does not go well with the hope with which we purchase your product and your image too..
Additionally, I would request you to kindly come up with suitable voltage stabilizers, even built in stabilizers
capable of handling the extremes of voltage fluctuations which are so common out of 4 metros and perhaps the state capitals.
D.R.Bhatia
Bapu Bal Mandir,
Dampier Nagar, Mathura (U.P.)
281 001
TF:[protected]
Mob. (0)[protected]
I bought 2 Hitachi Quadricool AC's in April 2008. I bought Hitachi, which is priced higher than most Korean Brands, however i always thought that Hitachi products were better.
One AC continues to work just fine while the other AC has had to have Gas refilling done twice already. So much to say about Hitachi AC's.

Called up the service head of Delhi and he picked up the phone and then put it back on the hook. Shows the level of professionalism of the personnel.

Suggest that no one buys Hitachi, till they dont improve their levels of quality and service.
Robin Sethi
Hitachi is literally useless. They don't even bother to respond to customer complaints

Bad product. No one should buy

Hitachi Home & Life Solutions India [HHLI]
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    61%
    Hitachi Home & Life Solutions India [HHLI] Phone
    +91 27 6427 7571 [Head Office]
    +91 11​ 2271 7161 [Corp Office]
    +91 11 2271 7163 [Corp Office]
    Hitachi Home & Life Solutions India [HHLI] Address
    10th floor, Abhijeet, Mithakhali Six Roads, Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India - 380006
    View all Hitachi Home & Life Solutions India [HHLI] contact information