[Resolved]  India Today Book Club — FRAUD COMMITMENT

Address:Maharashtra

my name is ashish dilip kamble from pune. I got a call from india today book club on 22/07/2010 that u have selected as a lucky customer in a draw & you are eligible for the 10 lakhs golden jewellery for that u just have to make shopping of rs 64972/-. i told them i dont have that much money they asked me do u have a credit card i said yes but i refused them but they convinced me by saying that u will get 10 lakhs then u can pay from that amt to bank. but i found that there is no gold jewellery & they just sold me their &
product which i still not opened it. that co said me i[censored] want to cancel it then we will cancel it & they will pay my money return to me till 31/08/2010. But they are not doing anything they are not attending my calls pls pls help me to get back my money from them as soon as possible.

ashish kamble
([protected]@rediffmail.com)

India Today Book Club — Fraudulent commitment of India Today

Kind Attn: Mr. Janardhan Kapardia (Sr. Board of Director) & Mr. Aditya Kumar Garodia (Sr. Manager Accts & Finance Dept) - ITBC

I had recieved a call from India Today Book Club on First week of April 2010. The caller told me that I have won an assured cash prize of Rs.10000 based on my previous transactions with India Today Book Club. In order to get the cheque for this Rs. 10000, I have to buy one product from them. The caller made a fantastic conversation it seemed to be genuine to me. Then I have bought a Rs.7498 Philips Portable DVD player. The Booking ID was[protected]. Immediately after one week some other guy called from ITBC telling me that my name was entered into a contest because of the purchase of DVD player and I have won a Rs. 50000 cash prize which will be sent to you as a Demand Draft. To receive this amount I have to pay the income tax in advance. Then he says when I pay the taxes in advance they will give a product also. I have bought the product- Samsung Omnia 3G phone, Price Rs. 14998. Booking ID –[protected].

Later on 08 May 2010, another gentleman called and excitedly congratulates me for winning a cash prize of Rs. 6.37 lac. Then he tells me that to become eligible for this assured cash prize my expense needs to meet certain criteria. To meet this criterion, he offered me three products and I need to buy one of them. In turn I asked him to give the first two assured cash prize then I will think of buying a product. He said when I was selected as the winner of Rs. 6.37 assured cash prize, the earlier two assured gifts are forfeited. If I do not buy a product now, I am only eligible to get a cash prize of Rs. 2000 and gift voucher for Rs. 5000 only. Then he lured me to buy the product and get the assured cash prize. He guaranteed to me that Senior Director Janardhan and Garodia will deliver the cheque on 28 July 2010. Further he assured me that this is the last and final purchase I need to make and he will give a closing number. I have bought a Longines watch of Rs. 21750. (Booking ID –[protected]. He gave me the closing number. (CLO_574098UIO) (All these conversations are recorded in my phone)

Few days later Mr. Aditya Kumar Garodia called me and introduced as Sr. Manager Accts & Finance. He is calling in behalf of Mr. Janardhan Kapardia – Sr. Board of Director. He informed me that the official declaration will be made on 15 July and the cash prize in the form of cheque will be delivered on 28 July. He gave me the IDBI Cheque No. 007594 and noted down my email id. Then he gave me a Confidential No, a Prize Blocking No. and the above mentioned Closing No. He warned me not to disclose these numbers to anyone. Further he stated that there will not be any more call on this subject and the invitation will come to you.

Again on 27 May 2010 Mr. Prince Srivastav called and verified the prize amount and took PAN card details like name written in PAN card, email ID, credit card used, two Nominees name and age. Then he told there will be a Seminar on 30 June for which you will be invited through email and telephone. I will have to submit copies of PAN Card, Residential proof, and a Passport size Photo with red background. If I am not able to attend the seminar, then these documents can be sent by courier. But till now I have not received a single email or telephone call to attend the seminar or asking the bank account details from ITBC. (All these conversations are recorded in my mobile phone)

I have waited till 16 July and made a call to the customer care on the same day. Ms. Hina picked up the call. I have explained the whole story to her. Then she said some of the sales executives are making false statement and assurances to attract customers to buy products. Then I told this is cheating and what actions your company is taking against these employees. She said she has to consult with her senior to give a reply for this and noted my complaint and gave me a complaint No. 561203. She assured that some senior person will contact me within 2 days. Nobody called me. Again on 20th I made a reminder call. The executive told me that system malfunctioning, please call tomorrow. Again on 21st when I called customer care, Ms. Hina came on line. When I enquired about my complaint she consulted with her senior and confirmed that a senior person will contact me tomorrow (i.e. 22/7/2010). No one called me on 22nd. I again made a call to the customer care on 23rd. Mr. Pawan picked up my call. He said that a feedback call from a senior person will be given within few days. No feed back call till today.

From March onwards my company is facing big financial crisis. I have not received my salary from May onwards. I am not able to pay back the credit card bill. The interest along with the principal amount is adding up in my credit card statement. I am waiting for the guaranteed and confirmed cash prize to be credited into my account, so that I can pay back all my dues. I made the decision to buy these products only because of the assured cash prize. Otherwise these are not at all my requirement at my present critical situation. Rs. 45000 is a big amount to me. I can keep my family without starving for three months with this amount in my present condition.

Please Note : I have not received the Longines watch till date.

I believe the board of directors and other senior people will look into this matter and settle this issue immediately.

Details:
My membership ID : ITBC 10332823
Booking IDs:
1) [protected] - Philips Portable DVD Player – Rs. 7,498 (1st wk of April)
2) [protected] - Samsung Omnia 3G Phone – Rs. 14,998 (1st wk of April)
3) [protected] - Longines Watch – Rs. 21,750 (8 May 2010)
Total – Rs. 44,246

Payment mode: Credit Card – SBI
I request you to take up the issue with ITBC and help me receive the assured cash prize.

K Mohanan
e-mail id : [protected]@rediffmail.com

I have posted the complaint on 28 July 2010. Bit till now I have not received any response.

Kindly help me receive the assured cash prize.

Mohanan
MEMBERSHIP NO. ITBC087029

BOOKING ID NO.[protected] AND[protected]

ADDRESS : FLAT NO 14, SAINATH SOCIETY, PANDAVNAGAR HEALTH CAMP,

S. NO 943, SHIVAJINAGAR, PUNE 411016.

PLS GIVE ME MY REFUND AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
Today i got a call from india today book club they were saying that they will not refund me my money. They are saying "DO WHAT YOU WISH" I am really shocked. How they can cheat me like this. They are forcing me to buy their products. Please consumer cort help me out i am in big trouble. Waiting for your reply.

ASHISH KAMBLE
Still INDIA TODAY BOOK CLUB IS NOT RETURNING ME MY MONEY.

I am feeling very tensed. If i get any mental effect then only INDIA TODAY BOOK

CLUB will be resposible to it.

India Today / BagItToday
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    59%
    India Today / BagItToday Phone
    +91 12 0407 8000
    India Today / BagItToday Address
    Mediaplex, FC-8, Sector - 16A, Film City, Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India - 201301
    View all India Today / BagItToday contact information