Standard Chartered Bank — Chartered Bank Credit Card No : [protected]

 
4 Reviews
India
 [email protected]
Standard Chartered Bank Credit Card No : [protected]

I have opted services of above credit card way back in March 2002. I have been placed by SCB in defaulter’s list stating non payment of credit card dues.

Facts of the Case :

1. I have asked to stop service of the card in May 2003 to stop the services of the card on the following grounds.

( A ) I have Withdraw Cash for Rs. 4500/- from SCB , Mithakhali Cross Road , Ahmedbad ATM on[protected] . At the 1st instance I was not able to complete the transaction on the 2nd Attempt I was able to withdraw Rs 4500/- from my Credit Card , and have informed at the Branch / help line on the same date stating the same , help line has assure to reverse the transaction after verifying the things. Subsequently SCB has reversed the entire transaction on[protected].

( B ) SCB has debited Annual Fees vide their statements dated[protected] ,[protected] and[protected].


( C ) I have instructed SCB help line to stop the services in May 2003 and subsequently from June 2003 SCB has stop to levy charges.

I have not made payment of Rs. 1848/- due on April 2003 end from May 2003 on following grounds.

Grounds of Non Payment by me :

( A ) SCB has reversed the disputed transaction in September 2002 , in spite of that they have mentioned the amount withheld in their subsequent statements.

( B) SCB has not reversed the annual fees , once I have subscribed the services on “ NO ANNUAL FEES “ basis. SCB Customer Care Executive has confirmed on helpline to reverse and stop the service of the card in May 2003. In fact considering the same SCB has stop charging any thing from May 2003 Onwards.

( C ) SCB has placed me in the defaulter’s list without intimating me , they have never sent any statement to me . ( enclosed statement sent by SCB (sreejaya P V ) on 30/08/2007 still they have not dispatched statement for Aug, Sept 2007.

( D ) I have never utilized the services of the card considering the above facts and Grounds since May 2003. I am being cheated by SCB, SCB has not bother to take me request , permission , consent , acknowledgment to debit further annual fees to said credit card. I was not happy with the way SCB Services. They have not send me any statement from SCB , SCB has not intimated that your Credit Card account has been placed in defaulter’s category.

Request --

( A ) Balance of Rs 1848 /- in May 2003 was jumped to Rs 14710 /- in July 2007. During the period I have never utilized the services of the Card. Is this a right Business practice to earn profit , SCB has done all the above things once they have stop giving services in May 2003. Once my services are stopped why they have debited further amounts without my taking my consent , request , confirmation.

( B ) It is illogical , unlawful to charge any amount once the accounts is getting default or become N P A.

( C ) I am ready to pay Rs.1848/- with Interest and service tax as per the working enclosed as per Annexure III .

I herewith humbly requested you to help me out considering the above facts and to my willingness to make payment .

Thanking you


Ashesh Pathak
[protected]@gmail.com
[protected]
Complaint comments  3 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Standard Chartered Bank/Credit Card — Undue charges levied, without intimation

This is regarding my nonpayment of dues/late fees for my credit card with Standard Chartered bank.

There was a transacion for Accident Protector Cover charged to my credit card, without notification/concent from me.
Also I received no statements and follow-up calls for 4 years for these dues. And suddenly the bank calls up and asks me to pay up with late fees, now amounting to Rs. 6700/=.

My request for statements for these chanrges was outrightly rejected, as I am told that the statements were sent and wont be sent again.
This is highly unjustified, as I seem to be helpless with the customer care.
Now the case has been forwarded to their Recovery team, which threatens me with legal action for non-payment. Off-late I received an email from Bank saying that they acknowledge their mistake and would reverse all the outstanding. But the recovery team still threatens me to visit my place and with legal action.

I would like to take help from the consumer forum in this regard.
Thanks,
Card No. - [protected]
Issue date - 18/8/2003
This is what I experienced with HSBC Credit Card.

I have been told by HSBC executive to take life time GOLD Card and I accepted the same. After competion of one year the HSBC charged me 2000 rupees as card fee and earlier I have been told its free card.

Onwards I stopped my payment to bank and now after so many month and without solving the query, Banks legal department calls and says that your amount almost doubled.

Please suggest what somebody has to do.
They are Fraud Bank, they does the same kind of thing with me and harassing me by making calls.

Regards
Anil

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    7%
    Complaints
    1223
    Pending
    157
    Resolved
    43
    phone
    +91 11 6601 4444
    +91 11 3940 4444
    location
    19, Rajaji Salai, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India - 600001
    Standard Chartered Bank - Chartered Bank Credit Card No : 4129-0370-8284-0810