Hyundai Motor India — Creta sx gear jam and clutch assembly worn out in 6 months

 
29 Reviews
 sanjeev naregal on May 31, 2016
I purchased creta sx 7 months back and with in a month complained about the burning smell very often. After the first service technician mentioned there was issue with clutch plate and he adjusted the same. He also mentioned this may be because of my driving style. I am driving cars from almost 20 years now and none of my previous cars had this problem and this was not the reason at all. After the first service i started experiencing the same burning smell again and technician readjusted the clutch and said it should be fine now. Scary part is, two days back when i was driving the car on highway suddenly gear assembly jammed in the middle of the road and i escaped a major accident. I pulled the car to side and switched off the engine it started working fine, next day again i experienced clutch issue of not taking the acceleration even after changing the gear, this was solved again after switching off and on the engine. Next day when i was on the way to service center after driving a km clutch and gear assemble stopped to work, it was a major issue again on the road. I complained this to service center, vehicle was towed and technician mentioned clutch assembly needs to be replaced and it will be done free of cost. But the question is i am driving the cars from last 20 years and never had clutch problem, this is very surprising fact to know. Also i am scared to drive the creta now because of frequent breakdowns like this in the middle of the road. I would like some one to investigate this issue properly.
Complaint comments  28 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0Share0

Comments

Guys Please check ..In the same type of cases Ford is replacing the entire KIT Clutch and Flywheel ..You can check that on Google ''Clutch shuddering issue in Ford Eco Sport.''
I'm having the exact same problem . Could you please share your contact number in this forum so that we can discuss this further . Or please contact me @9964072783
I am having the same problem as well. Purchased Create SX(O) end of Nov 2015. Did Hyndia fix the problem?
Since my Car broke down completely, I contacted roadside assistance number (1800 102 4645) number for help, Hyundai service team immediately jumped into action and helped to tow the car to nearest service station. Complete clutch assembly was replaced with out any charges, my car is up and running now and it is under observation (so far no issues). Thanks to Advaith Hyundai Service center (near Subramanyapura) for good job.

Note: if this is a inherent problem, all Creta owners should escalate this problem.
I have exactly the same problem in Bangalore after a month with sav Creta of Hyundai. Burning smell was coming from car but I managed to reach home. And on my first servicing on 1000 km when I complained the burning smell it was told to be a wire burnt and which have been rectified. But after a week smoke was coming out of my car, he smoke was so intense with a vigorous smell as such something was burning very badly.
And finally my gears got stuck and have to call the road side assistance.

They gave my car after a week saying they have replaced the clutch plate and this issue is resolved but I need to improve my driving skills. I was little confused to know my driving skills needs improvement after driving various cars for 15 years. I kept it quite an picked my car.

Second time again I was on the roads night with gear box stuck and the cars was full of smoke. They replaced the clutch plate again and gave the car after a week.

Third time with the same situation the told few guys from Hyundai have come to see the car and this issue is only with my car which will be rectified. They called me and told the Hyundai have released a new part which is coming from Korea and that they will receive in two days which is in Delhi Airport. After that they kept the car for a week for 1000 km test drive by Bangalore trident service head. And the car was handed over to me saying after the replacement of the new part the confidence level is high. I may not encounter the issue again. Also one tips for me to push the first gear hard as the gap in the gear box is very less. Which is a problem with all the SUV's in market.

The same incident happened 4th time within the 4 month and today I decided not to bare it more and escalate it. I have given complain to the Hyundai customer care and left the car to the Trident Hyundai showroom at K R Puram branch. The service manager told he will call me and update the progress.

Regards,
Nabin Singh
Bangalore
Karnataka
Gear jam and clutch assembly worn out 3rd time with in four months -

I want to bring this to all the creta owners or planning to buy that I have been facing issue with the new Creta 1.6 Car from Hyundai four months back. This car was on waiting period for four months but after booking within a week I was offered from the Hyundai guys saying we have an extra car available matching your requirement so will you be interested to pick. After my multiple concerns it was assured that the car don't have any problem and it's a new piece.

After the first week of driving I complained about the burning smell very often. In my first servicing after 1000 km the service Engineer told one wire was burnt and he have rectified the issue. After a month in June 2016 one day while returning back from office on the Bangalore outer ring road the car broke down with intense vigorous smell as such something was burning very badly. And the first gear was completely stuck. The road side assistance guys came and picked the car and told the clutch plate has been burnt and it was not available with them and will take time. The car was handed over to me after a week saying the car clutch plate has been replaced. You need to improve you driving skills, and you need to pay for the clutch plate next time if it happens again. I was little confused to know my driving skills needs improvement after driving various cars for 15 years. I kept it quite and picked my car.

Second time again I was on the roads night with gear box stuck and the cars was full of smoke. They kept the car and told few guys from Hyundai have come to see the car and this issue is only with my car which will be rectified. They called me and told the Hyundai have released a new part which is coming from Korea and that they will receive in two days which is in Delhi Airport. After that they kept the car for a week for 1000 km test drive by Bangalore trident service head. And the car was handed over to me saying after the replacement of the new part the confidence level is high. I may not encounter the issue again. Also one tip for me to push the first gear hard as the gap in the gear box is very less. This is a design flaw with all the SUV's in market...

The same incident happened today the 3rd time on 31st of August 2016 and I dropped my car to the Trident K R puram, Bangalore showroom. And have written mail to Hyundai customer care, Trident Bangalore service head and to the Trident manger. The car have been inspected by service manager and have been confirmed the clutch plate have been burnt. He has received the car and asked me to leave and will keep me posted.

I sincerely want the authority to look over the matter with attention,
as this happened me today in a new bought car could happen to someone else tomorrow

if not resolved properly i will further take the matter ahead, and take legal steps.

I will request too to all the Creta owners should escalate this problem.

09845684295
Nabin Singh
Hello Nabin, Did your problem resolved now? I am curious to know the end result
I completely agree wtih sanjeev naregal Point. I have purchased SX(O) on Dec'15 and in the month of March'15 I stuck with Gear Jam and avoided major accident in a highway. They have replaced the clutch assembly and charged me. Again in the Month of july'15 the case repeated.

I strongly believe there is some major issue with the assembly of SX(O) Model for CRETA. I am clueless where do I complain further and take it forward.

I am scared to take this car in heavy traffic, where I start getting burning smell from the clutch, general comment from the Hyndai is our driving style need to be changed, I am driving from past 15 years and never find such issues with other vehicles.

We the Owners of CRETA should discuss together to get a replacement.

Thanks

Anand
Bangalore
Dear All,

Why can we have the Whatsup group to share our common problem and discuss next action. There may be many users like us experiencing the same problem.

We paid such a huge amount to have comfort and safety.. but from the review looks like there is inherent problem with CRETA and safety is not ensured due to clutch problem, let them replace the whole system or vehicle.. Let me know what you guys think.

My Contact number 9845123221
Hi All,

I purchased the car in last week.

After driving 400 odd K.M i have started experiencing the burning smell yesterday.
Took to Pavan Hyundai service station and technician says that its the Clutch override.
Dont know what to do ?
Is any one's problem resolved.

Regards,
Krishna.N
Got creta 1.6 sx+ deisel and in 3 months clutch gone gear jammed . Now vehicle in showroom for repair second time in 6 months for 6000 km
Hi, I faced the same problem. 14 months old Creta (30K) broke down on highway with no gear engaging. Gave it at Capital Hyundai Noida and I am informed that full clutch assembly needs to be replaced and would cost more than 25k. No Warranty. Reason is driving habits. I have been driving cars for last 15 years and have never faced any clutch issues even after driving my Honda city for more than 1 lakh kilometres.

Please let me know ways to escalate the problem.
**** Within an year of buying the 1.6 Diesel Sx had 6th breakage within 10K kilometers.******

Guys looks like the Hyundai is not trying to resolve the issue rather than telling every customer that your driving habits need to be improved. I had 6th stuck with Gear Jam and they replaced it without any charge. But This time it looks they have just started the car just doing Breeding with a proper cleaning of the car. Because after a week drive I am facing my gear box has become rough and after putting clutch the car bit jumps. the car may fall into same problem.

Shall we all collect the details and plan for an legal action. Other wise we all have to pay individually without any permanent resolution.

Nabin
Aravind Sankar's reply, Aug 22, 2017
Mr. Nabin that is the right solution... we need to escalate this issue at high level. (Need everybody to come together and solve this issue. (This is not mere technical problem but it involves high risk of accidents[Involves driver/passenger safety as well pedestrians safety]. Will talk with hyundai on recalling the vehicles(With problems) or else we will file a legal suite.

Hyundai Creta owner(I have had problem @8k KM(Replaced few parts); 21K KM(Totally replaced all the clutch parts) on both instances the vehicle was stopped suddenly(First right infront of bus and second time infront of lorry).

Aravind Sankar
9003152000
Hi All,

My Creta also has got the same issue of Gear Struck. First time around 15K KM somehow it got resolved. The second time at 25K KM the clutch assembly is getting replaced. Raised this issue with Hyundai also but no response so far.

Anish
Hi All,

I also have faced same problem past weekend. I bought my Creta diesel towards end of 2015. I started facing a problem with gear shifting in the last week. I was just wondering I would probably take it to the service station on weekend that it worsened in a day. And on Saturday as I was driving home suddenly the gear won't shift, the clutch pedal went all loose and the car came to a stand still in the middle of the road.

It had to be towed to the service station where the technician promptly gave us the feedback that the clutch has completely gone. He also blamed it on my "driving style" saying I may be used to ride the clutch while driving. I have been driving for more than 15 years now and it was funny to listen to such stupid excuses. That is when I decided to do some research and landed on this page.

One quick question. Has anyone got a solution and/or official response to this issue from Hyundai. Because they say clutch is not covered in warranty so I need to shell out some 15K+ out of pocket to get a new one.

Amit.
Hi Everyone,

I went through all your comments and that bad. I am in the way of booking creta 1.6 sx.

I read these posts before and kept in mind. Yesterday I took a test drive of creta 1.6 top end manual, even the test drive had this issue. While taking the car itself I felt the clutch was not responding and not even 0.5 km the engine went to off mode more than six times. The most pathetic part was there was a short gradient and while I was driving on it the engine was not able to power the vehicle as the clutch was losing the friction co-efficient and engine was stalling and created a big traffic jam being a busy. As it was in uphill gradient luckily we moved the vehicle on neutral mode to roadside. All the time clear smell of something burnt out was quiet evident even the showroom folks felt bad on it.

If there is a problem why all people on other websites are not mentioning about it.

I feel bad as best AUTO review websites are not capturing this which makes me to lose trust on them too.

Hyundai - Not even your test drive vehicles are good...I am leaning towards other car manufactures for reliable product even couple of my friends too. There is no point in saying bad or good or shame on you, if there is an issue either fix it or lose your customers.

Thanks for all your feed backs.

Thomas.
Hi Everyone,

I have the same issue today (bought from Bangalore, Bannerghatta Rd) with my Creta (1.6 Petrol) within 7 months ( Dec 2016) and less than 7100 kms. It started giving early indications past 2 days of not engaging the gear, soft clutch and not getting enough power. Service guys are saying that driving style has caused the issue. But Yes, after going through this thread, I understood that I had the same issue of slight smell in the car, as you all faced. I have been driving last 20 years ( 6 cars) and just once I had the clutch issue in less than 1 lakh KMs. Service folks recommended to replace the clutch plates with a cost estimate of 10000+. Haven't seen any official complaint link where Hyundai will respond to it. Any idea?

Regards,
Santhosh
Aravind Sankar's reply, Aug 22, 2017
Hi,

Kindly wait, i m abt to escalate this to highest level possible to hyundai. If they(Hyundai) dont respond properly(i.e, Recalling or Finding an alternate solution in clearing the clutch problems). We will all file together @appellate board.

Regards
Aravind Sankar
I bought Creta S Diesel last month. I also have the same problem.The burning smell is coming at the time stopping the vehicle while the engine is on . I called service center and they told me that its because of your driving habit.
I have seen the same problem today and my vehicle is one year old by now but I have noticed the burning smell in the first month I told the service guy when I gave for the first service he didn't respond properly after the first service I use to hear sounds when I change the gear second service also I told the same thing they have charged me 6900 RS for checking clutch rotating weeks oil very thing after exactly one month my vechicle is suddenly not taking the acceleration in all the gears so towed the vehicle to near by service center they are saying 13k-14k to replace the clutch plate because it is burnt I would like to raise a consumer complaint please reach me who wants to file will all together file a case on the dealers and hundai company mobile 9886036009
Aravind Sankar's reply, Aug 22, 2017
Hi,

Kindly wait, i m abt to escalate this to highest level possible to hyundai. If they(Hyundai) dont respond properly(i.e, Recalling or Finding an alternate solution in clearing the clutch problems). We will all file together @appellate board.

Regards
Aravind Sankar
rash267's reply, Sep 29, 2017
Facing same issue again and again. getting the clucth plates replaced the 3rd time. There is definitely some manufacturing defect with the car. We need to take this up legally as see no hope of getting resolved. the Hyundai guys blame it on your driving style. But this is serious issue and high risk.
Hi I also have the same problem. Bought SX O variant last November and same story of bad driving habits was told. They are asking me to pay for the repair.

I have read through the comments and did Hyundai do something about it.

Did something happen with the escalation.

Sastry
Hi,
I am facing the same issue in my Creta SX(0). All i am getting from the service center is change your driving style and don't drive in half clutch. I challenged him to drive without the half clutch in peak Bangalore traffic. I am now regretting buying this car considering my 10 year old Maruti is still running smooth as a butter and never broke down till date.
Are we going ahead and raising this issue legally in the appellate board. Kindly contact my on 9986376198 in case someone is going ahead doing that i can join in as well.
Regards
Sharad

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    1%
    Complaints
    3246
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    27
    phone
    +91 98 7356 XXXX
    location
    5th & 6th Floor, Coporate One (Baani Building), Plot No.5, Commercial Centre, Jasola, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110025
    Hyundai Motor India - Creta sx gear jam and clutch assembly worn out in 6 months
    www.bdomains.com