Hyundai Motor India — Creta sx gear jam and clutch assembly worn out in 6 months

Address:560062

I purchased creta sx 7 months back and with in a month complained about the burning smell very often. After the first service technician mentioned there was issue with clutch plate and he adjusted the same. He also mentioned this may be because of my driving style. I am driving cars from almost 20 years now and none of my previous cars had this problem and this was not the reason at all. After the first service i started experiencing the same burning smell again and technician readjusted the clutch and said it should be fine now. Scary part is, two days back when i was driving the car on highway suddenly gear assembly jammed in the middle of the road and i escaped a major accident. I pulled the car to side and switched off the engine it started working fine, next day again i experienced clutch issue of not taking the acceleration even after changing the gear, this was solved again after switching off and on the engine. Next day when i was on the way to service center after driving a km clutch and gear assemble stopped to work, it was a major issue again on the road. I complained this to service center, vehicle was towed and technician mentioned clutch assembly needs to be replaced and it will be done free of cost. But the question is i am driving the cars from last 20 years and never had clutch problem, this is very surprising fact to know. Also i am scared to drive the creta now because of frequent breakdowns like this in the middle of the road. I would like some one to investigate this issue properly.
No (1)
Yes (8)

I had purchased creta SX diesel (manual) in Nov 2015. within 3 months there was a problem of gears being jammed and a complete breakdown of car . it had to be towed by crane and clutch plates had to be changed. Reason being cited was that i use the clutch too much. i paid 13000/- for this. within 6 months again...gears jammed n breakdown with clutch plates completely burnt. Again i got it replaced (though free of charge). after a yr, again same thing has happened. am a female driver and have been driving a car since last 15 yrs but never faced this problem. Worse still cant afford to get stuck in the middle of the road because the car just jams at stops. Am scared of taking out this car as it is totally unpredictable. Not sure if this this a manufacturing defect. have invested 13.4 lakhs in this car and am fed of all this additional expense plus the risk of being stranded or worse still some serious accident. pls advise. No use fighting this out with Hyundai service centers. they blame it on your driving style. but then if this is the case this should have happened with other cars also which i have been driving since last 8 yrs.
I faced the same problem today.. My Hyundai Creta's Gear Got jammed while driving
and the car is towed to Trident Hyundai Kalyan Nagar.

Is there any whatsApp Group started

Biju
I am also facing the same issue, bought creta diesel in March 2017 and first gear Jaam happened in Sept 2017 which was fixed saying that the part was faulty, again gear Jammed in Nov 2017 ... the car has been towed to the showroom and currently waiting for there feedback .

But this is not acceptable from a 17 Lakhs car. Does anybody know the real issue ??
My Creta's clutch plate worn out just after a day's use and only after 82 Kms (out of which 55 kms were driven by the showroom people to get the car from the stockyard), i was shocked when they said that this might be because of wrong driving habit to which i question how a brand New car can breakdown just after a day and only after 82 km run?
The service center replaced the clutch assembly but after going through the post above i feel that there is a manufacturing defects, i've asked Hyundai to replace my New vehicle as i have lost confidence in this vehicle and Hyundai as a company.
I agree that we all should team up and file a complaint at the consumer court and ask for compensation for he mental harassment we all have gone through. Hyundai has cheated us and have taken away our hard earned money by giving a sub standard product.
Hyundai told that this time the issue is with the master and slave clutch cylinders and those were removed, the old ones were send for analysis. I think its time for us to make some noise on the higher level otherwise this might turn fatal for someone as the car breaks down without any issue or warnings.

Moreover this costs a lot of money as clutch plates are not covered under warranty. Let me know in case we can take some collective steps here as in India consumer laws are anyway very poor and consumers end up suffering for problems created by car companies.
MY car clutch got burnt after 10 km run and on the second day of purchase, moreover while replacing my clutch the service center have damaged my car wheel wheel hub as well, i demanded replacement of my 2 day old vehicle or else 4th year warranty and assurance that if the clutch has a fault again in next 1 year they will get replace it again, i will wait for their decision or else will go to consumer court. I would invite any other member who wants the same can call me on [protected] (Yash).

Below is the mail from HMIL

On inspection of the vehicle it has been found that the clutch plates are burnt, they got burnt due to the excessive heat generated beacuase of partial engagement of the clutch while driving, it is not a manufacturing fault, considering the low mileage of your car the same is replaced under goodwill.

The concern regarding your wheel hub will be resolved as per your convinient day and time you can contact Mr. Naidu GM Service Modi Bhandup- [protected] for assistance on the same.

APSM WRO1
Guys Please check ..In the same type of cases Ford is replacing the entire KIT Clutch and Flywheel ..You can check that on Google ''Clutch shuddering issue in Ford Eco Sport.''
I do have the same symptoms while driving in heavy bumper to bumper Banglaore traffic. Initially i thought the smell is coming from the nearby vehicles but its not. You cannot blame it as a driving habit because I've been driving Maruti/Toyota cars for last 10 years. This seems to be a manufacturing defect now and we need to raise our voice and Hyundai needs to address this immediately else it can become a biggest safety concern.
yash9778's reply, Nov 15, 2017
I agree... we all should raise the voice collectively ...i suggest to make a FB page and add all.
Hyundai Motor Indiahyundai creta sx plus

1 Review
Ka Kaushik Mynam on Nov 22, 2017 Mark as Resolved

HI, I am Kaushik and i am having the same problem with clutch i.e. smoke and plastic burning smell and stuck gear with my Hyundai Creta SX Plus Diesel which was bought in April 2017. first incident being stuck gear on multiple times on November 2nd 2017 at 7000KM and the clutch plates were completely worn out. the service person claimed that it is due to bad driving habits. After much arguments he finally accepted and replaced them for free. The 2nd incident was on 20th November 2017 at 1400km there was thick white smoke and plastic burning smell from the air vents near the engine block. The vehicle was towed and was later informed that the clutch plates were slightly worn out and that the smoke and smell were common during clutch friction. As far as i am concerned it is a potential fire hazard risking the lives of the passengers. the service people still claimed that it was due to bad driving which is impossible and even adviced me to use the clutch less often in hyderabad traffic. when we asked him how many vehicles came with similar complaints he said that it was a stray case and an isolated incident. When i browsed through the internet i came across this forum. What i still don't understand is when so many people are having the same complaints why haven't anybody filed a lawsuit against hyundai company regarding the creta vehicle.
I am also having the same problem. Before my car was due to 1st service itself the clutch was worn out.
Hello. . Just got to know that I am not the only one wer I have been told by the bangalore hyundai service centre that my driving skills is the cause for the replacement of clutch for the seccond time in 15k kms.

I request everyone to connect by a group and escalte it to Hyundai and other concerned governing authorities.

Jagadish
Con:[protected]
Everybody please share your contact numbers and your place. Let's connect.

Jagadish
Con:[protected](Bangalore)
Hi All, Is this issue still active. I have faced the same issue with my creta which is 4 months old. I have driven only 6000 kms.
I regret my decision to buy creata... so many owners including myself twice(clutch failed in 8000 kms and 12000kms) faced clutch failure issue within few thousand kms... I had literally fight to get things done in warranty... Hyundai doesn't give warranty on clutch as they think all amateurs are buying their Creta. Many owners reasoned it to defective cylinder which Hyundai refused to accept. I had to issue
legal notice second time to get them straight
hydhuman's reply, Apr 12, 2018
Have you filed a case yet?
anandvmohan's reply, Jun 13, 2018
I recently faced gear jammer issue is my newly bought Hyundai Creta, within 3500Kms. Service center has agree to replace the clutch. I would like to know you whether Hyundai replaced cylinder as well during second visit and did you face the same issue again.
I have brought Creta 3 weeks back and run only 400km. Today started sensing burnt smell and difficult in getting 1st gear engaged and no thrust. After reading above comments, I'm scared to drive Creta now..I think Hyundai still not corrected clutch issue even after so many complaints.
Decided to file a case with the consumer forum. Had the clutch issue more than thrice on Creta diesel (less than a year old; < 5000KM). The scary part is the clutch jammed in the middle of traffic twice.

Hyundai service center failed to resolve the issue even after multiple repairs (including replacement of parts clutch, cylinder ...). Service center either has no clue on the root cause of the issue or there is a design flaw which cannot be fixed. The reason provided by the service center as most of the people here have said is, "bad driving".

Hyundai is not willing to even provide their own driver for a few days and prove that they are right i.e., bad driving is indeed the problem. Clearly indicating some issue on their end.

-- Hyderabad Creta Owner
I think we have to file a complaint in consumer court against Hyundai
This is the second time this problem occurs to me

First time they have told they overhauled clutch. but after running
8000 KM after it again got failed
same prob is with me 2 times i replaced my clutch set this year only still struggling with 1st n second gear
I purchased Creta diesel 1.6SX few months back. After 9, 500 kms only, I had to replace the clutch system. It seems that the problem is generic and issue needs to be adressed by Hyundai
I am facing the same issue in my Creta SX(0). All i am getting from the service center is change your driving style and don't drive in half clutch. I challenged him to drive without the half clutch in peak Bangalore traffic. And i got stuck in middle of highway with all family members inside. Gears got jammed and neither of the technician could do the fix until it got replaced.
Are we going ahead and raising this issue legally in the appellate board. Kindly contact my on [protected] in case someone is going ahead doing that i can join in as well.

Bala

Hyundai Motor India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    15%
    Hyundai Motor India Phone
    +91 98 7356 4645
    Hyundai Motor India Address
    5th & 6th Floor, Coporate One (Baani Building), Plot No.5, Commercial Centre, Jasola, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110025
    View all Hyundai Motor India contact information