[Resolved] ICICI Bank — Auto Debit Return Fee Levied despite of the payment made towards my credit card

 
18 Reviews
Bangalore South, Karnataka, India
 VikasRai01
I am using ICICI credit card since last 9 years and make manual payments at the end of each month before due date

Similarly, I made a payment on 10th June and in my CC statement its mentioned auto debit return fee and service charges INR. 2247. When I enquired about these charges bank said that I have auto debit facility opted on my account and due to insufficient funds charges in my linked savings bank account.

I clearly told bank:
1. I never opted for Auto debit how come it was applied automatically. They don't have any proof to show ...no KYC document and No request number.

2. I told them, sufficient funds were parked in my account on 30th May itself and I paid the same on my due date i.e. on 10th June
bank is saying auto debit is executed 5 days before due date
- As per the details, sufficient funds were there and payment was made on 10th June. Its bank issue why payments were not made or auto debit was not able to realize/check tthe balance in my account

3. bank said, to avoid auto debit charges- payments should be made before 5 days from due date
- First I never opted for auto debit in ICICI, second for previous dates as mentioned below:
9-Nov-2013, 6-July-2013, 10-June-2013, 13-May-2013, 10-March-2013, 07-Feb-2013, 06-Aug-2014, 05-march-2015, 06-aug-2016

I made payments 0-4 days before my due date but no auto debit fee was levied. bank is unable to provide any clear answer.

I have been pressurized to pay these charges without any fault of mine.
Have dropped around 10 emails and created 4-5 requests in ICICI portal but nobody is able to understand the gap or issue.

perhaps they have given customer relationship division to bunch of dumb people who don't understand the basic details being shared by customer.

I have written to heads of Credit cards at ICICI Bank but no response from him as well.

Please assist me out. I am not going to pay these charges at any cost.

Will switch to other bank as soon as possible.

thanks ICICI, you screwed me up big time!!!

Complaint marked as Resolved Jan 15, 2017

Complaint Status


[Jun 24, 2016] ICICI Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Verified Support
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, Dec 15, 2016
Dear (ralphdua),

We regret any inconvenience caused. We have made a note of your contact details. Our official will address your concerns.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
Complaint comments  17 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

Same thing happened to me also today. I spoke to customer care, no use. The worst bank and worst system.
Bank is debited my credit card with auto debit return fee on already paid bill. I never expected this type of service from this bank. I have been with this bank from past 6 years. Its completely disappointed me with the worst service today. May be its time to switch to other bank who value their customers.

Dear Mr. Rai,

We regret the inconvenience caused. We request you to email us your concern with your contact details on [email protected] Please mention the UID (a3c5fg) in the subject line of your email. Our official will assist you.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
Same thing has happened with me as well. I am not sharing my credit card number here but let me tell you my email id [email protected] where in you have cheated me with same tactics and I will not take it and complaint will be raised to banking ombudsman first and if not resolved will go to court and see to it that ICICI bank is made to pay for its deceptive consumer practices. I strongly recommend people not to use ICICI as banking partner or personal bank as you will regret having this relationship. Despite me depositing KYC documents still my records have remain unchanged and there seems to be no accountability here as well.
One of the Worst bank ... If i get a chance to give -1 rating i will be happy...
Same issue with me as well this extremely disappointing, my perception about icici has completely changed over night now. I have been just redirected from branch to customer care and then credit card manager and so on. But no resolution what so ever. No proof that I have opted in for the service. I confirmed with the credit card executive who provided me the card he said He has not activated this service on my account as i had specifically mentioned that I would do manual payment. I have written to customer care and every possible ques where i can report the isse. No ans wer utterly dissatisfied.
Same issue with me as well this extremely disappointing, my perception about icici has completely changed over night now. I have been just redirected from branch to customer care and then credit card manager and so on. But no resolution what so ever. No proof that I have opted in for the service. I confirmed with the credit card executive who provided me the card he said He has not activated this service on my account as i had specifically mentioned that I would do manual payment. I have written to customer care and every possible ques where i can report the isse. No ans wer utterly dissatisfied.
The same type of issue is happing here with me also i have drop a service request with ref no:SR[protected]
but no positive reply from ICICI. queation is that if i have not opted for auot debit facility why this happen, and also if my account has sufficint amount then why this charges of 450+67.50 S.T. is debited.
I you unable to provide service, definitally people go for other bank.
waiting for a posive responce.

Thanks
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, May 9, 2017
Verified Support

Dear Customer (ashutoshh.ku),

We regret any inconvenience caused. Our official will get in touch with you. We appreciate your patience.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
I have never expected such low level 'dadagiri' from such esteemed bank.

I failed to understand why auto debit return fee charges levied when i have paid the full amount well in advance. Spoke to 3 different Customer care representative and guess they are not even well qualified to handle such issues.

I am now opting out from the 9 year old association. Guess there are other banks who value their customers.
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, May 17, 2017
Verified Support

Dear Himadri Nayak,

We regret the inconvenience caused. We request you to email us your concern with your contact details on [email protected] Please mention the UID (a3c5fg_aaal) in the subject line of your email. Our official will assist you.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
The same type of issue is happened with me also I contacted customer care and they are saying I opted for Auto debit in the month of may and I did it online. I have not opted for auot debit facility why this happen, and also if I have made all my payments i n time still in the name of auto debit money is extracted. 450+40.50 is charged all my payments I do in time. I cant Pay just because I deposited money in afternoon instead of morning. Can some body please guide me.

Thanks
S. Sapkale
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, Aug 27, 2017
Verified Support

Dear S. Sapkale,

We regret the inconvenience caused. We request you to email us your concern with your contact details on [email protected] Please mention the UID (a3c5fg_aaas) in the subject line of your email. Our official will assist you.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
Same issue happened with me, I have made the full payment then also I was charged with auto debit. I have called ICICI customer care but no response. They were not ready to listen my queries, called their phone banking officers several times everytime I had to brief about my issue and then they the respinse that they are checking and put my call on hold. I said that I have never opted for Auto debit facility but according to them I have requested for which they dont even have the service request number.The customer care person was very rude, not ready to listen to my complaints. This is the worst back.
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, Sep 26, 2017
Verified Support

Dear Paarul Dixit,

We regret the inconvenience caused. We request you to email us your concern with your contact details on [email protected] Please mention the UID (a3c5fg_aaay) in the subject line of your email. Our official will assist you.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
03/10/2017 [protected] INFINITY PAYMENT RECEIVED, THANK YOU 10, 000.00 Cr.

03/10/2017 AUTO DEBIT RETURN FEE 450.00 Dr.
03/10/2017 [email protected]% 81.00 Dr.
03/10/2017 Auto Dr.Retn-Insuff. fund 0.00 C
sandeep chennoji's reply, Oct 10, 2017
This is right plese tell me
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, Oct 11, 2017
Verified Support

Dear Sandeep Chennoji,

We request you to email us your concern with your contact details on [email protected] Please mention the UID (a3c5fg_aabe) in the subject line of your email. Our official will assist you.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
This has happened to me more than a couple of times as well. They have deducted the Auto debit return fee even when ;
1) Payment was made by the due date. Customer care reps are unable to explain as i have made other payments by the same timeline in other months but there was no fees which was levied.
2) I had never opted for Auto Debit facility. They have no request from my side for the same.

What can be the correct forum to take these guys to task? The customer reps are totally worthless, they know nothing at all other than to parrot a few lines.
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, Oct 17, 2017
Verified Support

Dear utsav mayank,

We regret the inconvenience caused. We request you to email us your concern with your contact details on [email protected] Please mention the UID (a3c5fg_aabl) in the subject line of your email. Our official will assist you.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
Same thing happened with me as well. I have never opted for auto debit option. I talked with a few icici representatives but they were never ready to help. They were very rude. I have been using this card since last year but i m switching to citi bank now.
Pathetic service by ICICI
30/11/2017 AUTO DEBIT RETURN FEE 450.00 Dr.
30/11/2017 [email protected]% 40.50 Dr.
30/11/2017 [email protected]% 40.50 Dr.
Date Ref. Number Transaction Details Transaction Amount
30/11/2017 [protected] INFINITY PAYMENT RECEIVED, THANK YOU 3, 253.61 Cr.

i paid my credit card bill on time but why auto debited from my card again, if you don't return my money immediately i'll cancel my card.
ICICI Bank Customer Care's response, Dec 1, 2017
Verified Support

Dear Anilkumar2588,

We regret the inconvenience caused. We request you to email us your concern with your contact details on [email protected] Please mention the UID (a3c5fg_aabs) in the subject line of your email. Our official will assist you.

Regards,
ICICI Bank Customer Service Team
same-thing happened with me today.
First Step, i am going to take is to call customer care for this glitch and suspension of Auto Debit facility for my a/c.
Totally, irritating behaviour of bank.
The same issue happened with me, I have made the full payment then also I was charged with auto debit. I have called ICICI customer care but no response. They were not ready to listen to my queries, called their phone banking officers several times every time I had to brief about my issue and then they the response that they are checking and put my call on hold. I said that I have never opted for Auto-debit facility but according to them, I have requested for which they don't even have the service request number. The customer care person was very rude, not ready to listen to my complaints. This is the worst back.
The same issue happened with me also. I have made the payment then also I was charged with auto debit return fee.

Could you please provide me the UID.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    40%
    Complaints
    12995
    Pending
    3753
    Resolved
    4163
    phone
    +91 22 2653 1414
    location
    ICICI Bank Towers, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    ICICI Bank - Auto Debit Return Fee Levied despite of the payment made towards my credit card