Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  ICICI Bank — Detaining SBI Cheque and not sending it for clearing to SBI and not telling the reason

I presented an SBI, ONGC Complex Bhatpore, Surat cheque no 119147, dated 20.1.2017 for Rs.2, 72, 868.00 to THOMAS COOK (INDIA) LTD who submitted this to ICICI, Parle Point Branch Surat on 20.1.2017, there was enough balance in my acoount ( they have an ICICI A/c No.[protected] at Vadodara ) (.) On 24.1.2017 morning, I received a call from Thomas Cook that my cheque has been returned stating reason as “OTHER” ( seen in their system)(.) On enquiring from my SBI ONGC A/c, I was informed that the cheque was not even presented to SBI for clearing . I contacted ICICI Parle Point Branch Manager, on 24.1.2017 at 5.00 pm, who was extremely helpful to direct one officer for extending all possible help. The concerned officer kept on trying with the ICICI clearing office at Vadodara, but there was absolutely no response from ICICI clearing Office of Mumbai till 06.30 pm after which I left the Bank.
The aforesaid cheque was not presented by ICICI clearing Section, Mumbai to SBI clearing Section for no plausible reason. The Cheque was complete in all regard and had no overwriting, nothing whatsoever, which can make it not acceptable. I have not been able to know the reason for its detainment/ not finding it acceptable for even sending it to SBI clearing section. In any case, ICICI would be on the receiving side of the amount. If at all something needs to be clarified, the onus has to be on SBI from where the money would be debited, who may verify from me before clearing the cheque. But ICICI detaining my cheque and not disclosing the reason ( there can not be any plausible reason for such callous act of ICICI ), moreover ICICI, Clearing section not at all responding to the officer of ICICI, Parle Point, Surat till 08.00 pm on 24.1.2017, tantamount to deficiency in public services.
It is pertinent to mention that as the amount of service tax is to increase from 4.5% to 9% w.e.f. 24.1.2017, and this would cause me a loss of Rs 16, 000 in respect of my Europe trip planned from 09 May 2017 to 22 May 2017 with the tour operators Thomas Cook, if the payment is not made on or before 25.1.2017. And this indiscreet, unwarranted act of ICICI clearing section, Mumbai detaining my cheque on 23.1.2017 for absolutely no valid reason and to further add insult to the injury not even letting me know the reason for its rejection till 24 Jan late evening speaks volumes about the working of ICICI. If they can treat a senior citizen like me in this fashion, how ICICI would be treating the common people particularly the ones who have no voice can be anybody’s guess.

I can not lodge this complaint on ICICI portal as I don't have ICICI Account.

I request ICICI top authorities to intervene in this matter and send my cheque for clearing to SBI, positively on 25.1.2017, failing which I shall be constrained to raise my Grievance to the highest authority in ICICI to bring to their knowledge what all is happening at the lower levels in ICICI.

Aniruddh Maheshwari,
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Feb 21, 2017
My grievance has been amicably resolved and objectively addressed with the intervention of DGM -Retail Operations, ICICI Bank. The ICICI Bank E-mailed from [email protected] and also received appropriate response from 022 42514140 (.) Many Thanks to Indian Consumers Complaints Forum for providing a Platform where complaints attract the attention of the concerned authorities .

Complaint Status


[Jan 24, 2017] ICICI Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Complaint comments  Add a CommentShareTweet

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    64%
    Complaints
    16366
    Pending
    935
    Resolved
    9659
    ICICI Bank Phone
    +91 22 2653 1414
    ICICI Bank Address
    ICICI Bank Towers, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    ADVERTISEMENT