Southern Railway Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Aug 12, 2025
Complaints 745

File a complaint to Southern Railway

Having problems with Southern Railway?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Southern Railway customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Southern Railway reviews & complaints(745)

Athee Subbu
from chennai, Tamil Nadu
Aug 12, 2025

Urgent need for escalator/lift facilities at busy platforms

Address: No 6 3rd Street, Habibullah Road, T Nagar Chennai 600017 Ph.9381035198

Respected Sir/Madam,

I would like to bring to your kind attention that at busy stations like Tambaram and Mambalam, thousands of passengers travel daily on long distance routes, including a large number of senior citizens. The absence of escalators or lifts at many platforms forces elderly passengers to climb numerous steep steps while carrying heavy luggage, causing severe hardship and risk of injury.

Last...
Gurikala Valappil Pradeep
Nov 11, 2023

Am G V Pradeep and a senior citizen of our country. I had a confirmed First Class AC Coupe ticket (B5 & B6). My PNR no. was [protected]. I travelled along with my wife and my pet dog from Thalassery (TLY) to Lokmanya Tilak Terminus (LTT) on 16/10/2023. My boarding station was TLY.

In spite of having a valid and confirmed Coupe ticket, one of the staff Mr. Sameer from the Parcel office, at Thalassery railway station did not allow me to travel with my pet in coupe. He said, your ticket is for Cabin and not Coupe. So he insisted me to take my pet in a dog box and put him in a luggage bogie. I showed him the reservation chart, where it is clearly mentioned as Coupe. I requested and pleaded to him that my pet is handicapped and that please don't put him in a luggage bogie. But he was adamant and forced me to book in a luggage bogie. I was mentally tortured and harassed by him.

The reason for booking a Coupe was for my pet. But my pet had to travel in a luggage bogie in spite of having a confirmed Coupe ticket. My wife, myself, and my pet are in mental trauma. And this staff has zero knowledge about pet travel rules and regulations. I wanted you to take strict action on him. Now I am going to appeal to Animal Rights also for the treatment given by this staff.

Please help me.
Southern Railway customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

sampathkumar ramanan
    Sep 14, 2023

Address: Sri. Madhuranga Nivas F-2 First floor, Old No. 23 New No. 10 Rajagopalan Street, West Mambalam

Yesterday on 13th I have travelled in tejas express the toilet and the coach is so pleasing and on return i have travelled in guruvappan express there is no pantry and there is chilled water and the toilet is unbearable. there is no dustbin and there s no western toilet and the coach is not upto mark and pathetic u have not upgraded the coach so that passengers will feel travelling in local train with facilities neat toilet and dustbin and good pantry that is not there. In tejas express they keep the toilet well maintained and the coach floor they clean why is not there as a common man is asking we are paying for that.

sampathkumar ramanan
      Sep 14, 2023

Address: Sri. Madhuranga Nivas F-2 First floor, Old No. 23 New No. 10 Rajagopalan Street, West Mambalam

Sampathkumar ramanan
      Aug 22, 2023

I was travelled on 16th august this month the toilet is flour smell and flush is n ot working and not western toilet. Beggars are allowed in reserved compartment begging alarms and passengers are occupied in the toilet making inconvenience to passengers in reserved compartment. in the tiruchy station there is no western toilet and the bad smell in the platform. In tiruchy the platform 2 to 4 is in upstair we should go down and go to platform 2 . The elder suffering artithritis is the worst sufferer and the older people suffer. in the third ac sleeper there is adour smell and there is no western toilet in our coach and the water is not there. Please upgrade the coach so that the citizendoes not suffers Yesterday on 13th we have boarded the guruvaru express there is no pantry and there is no chilled water and the toilet smell is unbearable the coach is not well maintained. why dont u change the outlook of the coach and make toilet well maintained in premium express tejas express toilet are well maintained and the coach is maintained well they clean the floor with phenol which is not there in the normal train so pathetic.

sampathkumar ramanan
        Sep 6, 2023

Sampathkumar ramanan
        Aug 22, 2023

I was travelled on 16th august this month the toilet is flour smell and flush is n ot working and not western toilet. Beggars are allowed in reserved compartment begging alarms and passengers are occupied in the toilet making inconvenience to passengers in reserved compartment. in the tiruchy station there is no western toilet and the bad smell in the platform. In tiruchy the platform 2 to 4 is in upstair we should go down and go to platform 2 . The elder suffering artithritis is the worst sufferer and the older people suffer. in the third ac sleeper there is adour smell and there is no western toilet in our coach and the water is not there. Please upgrade the coach so that the citizendoes not suffers

sampathkumar ramanan
          Aug 23, 2023
          This thread was updated on Aug 23, 2023

Address: Address: Sri. Madhuranga Nivas F-2 First floor, Old No. 23 New No. 10 Rajagopalan Street, West Mambalam

sampathkumar ramanan
          Aug 22, 2023

I was travelled on 16th august this month the toilet is flour smell and flush is n ot working and not western toilet. Beggars are allowed in reserved compartment begging alarms and passengers are occupied in the toilet making inconvenience to passengers in reserved compartment. in the tiruchy station there is no western toilet and the bad smell in the platform. In tiruchy the platform 2 to 4 is in upstair we should go down and go to platform 2 . The elder suffering artithritis is the worst sufferer and the older people suffer. in the third ac sleeper there is adour smell and there is no western toilet in our coach and the water is not there. Please upgrade the coach so that the citizen suffers
          so that citizens does not suffer

Sfsfs
            Jul 21, 2023

There was two trains coming between 9:10 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. (so, 4 trains came) from Tambaram to Beach. But for the past 2-3 weeks, on a daily basis, there is only one train at 9:10 a.m. and another train at 9:35 a.m. This has been very difficult for the passesgers, for two main reasons. It's getting late for us and it's too crowded even in first class. Because of crowd, a woman fell down in Egmore platform recently while getting down from train. Those timings are peak for office goers. So kindly increase the number of trains during those time.

Josemonps
              Jul 9, 2023

Address: a-14b, nr holy child school, tagore garden extn , new delhi -1100027

i. Raju k k a resident of a-14b, nr holy child school, tagore garden extn, new delhi -1100027, here by bring your kind attn theat i travelled through kerala exp from delhi to kerala and back to delhi and i am very sorry to inform you that trains are running extremely late small children and aged peoples are wait at stn 10 -15 hrs for trains and none of the train are running on time. We ha to reach n.Del stn at mid night and due to this raching kerala by 10 to 15 hrs late late. Can you do any permanent solution or to change the time from delhi. Or to cancell this train so that we can travel with any other train which is running timely. Now all are giving importance to vande bharat trains and the poor people travel thr other trains are now neglected.

Tkt -del to chy - dt. 27.06.2023 pnr no [protected] raju kunjukutty reached late by 15 hrs

tkt -cgnr to ndle - dt. 07.07.2023 pnr [protected] no raju kunjukutty late by 5 hrs. Today 12626 will start at 00.30 mid night

chelln
                Jun 30, 2023

Address: ANNANUR RAILWAY STATION TICKET COUNTER

Annanur Railway Station Ticket Counter.

Today by 12 noon, there was no ticket issued to Guindy via Chennai Beach from Annanur railway station.

Despite repeated request with the ticket counter pesonnel,
                he said, we have to travel via Chennai central only and issued the same only. We are forced to travel via Chennai Central with much hardship.

SsMmPp
                  Jun 27, 2023
                  Jun 29, 2023
                  This thread was updated on Jun 29, 2023

I missed a bag cover which had flowers, tiffin boxes and some valuable items. Train details : 16823 - Ananthapuri express. I travelled on 26th Jun from Chennai to Valiyur (reached on 27th Jun morning) in B1 ac coach seat no 43 and 46. Kept the bag where the extra bedsheets would be placed. Kindly help me to find it.
                  Any update?

SsMmPp
                    Jun 27, 2023

I missed a bag cover which had flower, tiffin boxes and some valuable items. Train details : 16823 - Ananthapuri express. I travelled on 26th Jun from Chennai to Valiyur (reached on 27th Jun morning) in B1 ac coach seat no 43 and 46. Kept the bag where the extra bedsheets would be placed. Kindly help me to find it.

Emerald Blessye
                      Jun 17, 2023

Thiruvottiyur market gate in Chennai remains closed for the past one year, causing great menace to the public. No actionis taken yet. The officials have not taken any step regarding this. Please answer to this grevience as soon as possible

Mohamed Subair
                        May 8, 2023

My son parked TVS XL heavy duty plate no. TN40 A 7554 on 23.04.2023 at Coimbatore Railway Station front side two wheeler parking stand. Next day when he tried to pick TVS someone took rear seat.

My son complained to parking lot in charge Shekar about the incident and he told us he will check with parking stand owner and let us know the details. So far he has not contacted us. When we tried to contact him his mobile is always switched off.

Rear seat value is Rs. 850. Please take necessary action against Shekar and parking lot owner to get our amount Rs. 850.

Emerald Blessye
                          Apr 14, 2023

As the thiruvottiyur market railway gate is always closed, there is huge problem faced by the citizens to go around a four kilometer area even for emergencies. Even last week a man died while trying to cross the track so we request the railway department to take this seriously and take measures to build a subway as soon as possible.

Emerald Blessye
                            Apr 14, 2023

As the thiruvottiyur market gate is closed and people face great difficulty and many have lost their lives while crossing the tracks, I request you to lay subway as soon as possible

Mohsath
                              Apr 6, 2023

Hello sir

This is mohan from coimbatore...i parked my car in coimbatore railway station... Parking charge is 400 for 12hrs...But government charges is 100 per above 12hrs..

Mar 31, 2023

Ever Day 1st train 6:50am towards hyderabad mmts local train arrived late 30 mints, it's happening every single day, do u ppl have any idea how much we are suffering from this, not at all bcz government mrng will start after 10 am, so that u ppl think to all the ppl mrng start at the same, but not we have go to office, college school and for house work or labor work which started at 8am, is there any resolution for this or not and one more thing we are not reach as u ppl to spend 3k to 4k on buses or metro trains, we need to earn money with hard work not like u ppl.

Suresh@Raman
                                  Mar 10, 2023

On[protected] evening at 19:20 hrs, I went to the Train Ticket issuing counter at Tambaram Sanatorium Railway station and requested the counter staff to issue one monthly First Class Season Ticket from TBM to MSB station, to travel in suburban electric trains. For its cost Rs.605/-, I have given my Debit Card to the counter staff for swiping it. He swiped my debit card and then I received an SMS message in my mobile, informing that Rs.605 was debited from my SB Account with Union Bank of India on[protected] at 19:23 hrs. by Debit Card swipe.

After that I asked the counter staff to issue the monthly season ticket
                                  stated as above. But he kept me waiting for nearly 5 minutes and told me that the card swiping machine shows ‘Network Error’. So, I patiently waited for another 5 minutes and asked him to issue season ticket, for which Rs.605/- was debited from my SB A/c. through swiping of my debit card. But the counter staff told me that, “as my swiping machine didn’t show successful transaction message, I cannot give you the monthly season ticket printout”.

Then I showed him the SMS message received in my mobile, regarding debit of Rs.605 from my SB a/c. He refused to see that SMS and shouted at me using unparliamentarily words. I told him that, as soon as you swiped my debit card, I got an SMS message that Rs.605 has been deducted from my bank account. So issue me the monthly season ticket print out. Again he scolded at me and told me to come after 3 days to get my monthly season ticket printout. He was intent on kicking me out of there.

I asked him to tell his name and designation, so that I could request him later, to issue season ticket to me. He immediately hid the southern railway ID card which was hanging around his neck and scolded me very rudely that he won’t tell his name to unknown dogs.

Shocked by these arrogant words, I told him that, I will report your arrogant usage of words with public, to the higher officials of the Southern Railways. He smirked at me and replied me that, ‘you can report to anyone. No one can initiate action against me’.

This made me very upset. I felt helpless and had no other option to leave the counter, without getting my monthly season ticket, even after having paid Rs.605/- through swiping of my debit card.

This kind of arrogant and very rude behavior of the railway staff, who was working at the ticket counter of Tambaram Sanatorium railway station, is ruining the reputation of the very old and proud Southern Railway and the real dedication of many Senior Officials who are sincerely working for the development of Southern Railway.

I am neither bothered about losing my season ticket money nor bothered about not having received my season ticket. But as a Government Servant, I am much worried about the rude and indecent behavior of S. Rly. Employee with public, which would definitely affect the reputation of the traditional Southern Railways and its dedicated Officials.

I herewith enclosed the photograph of that counter staff, which I took when he scolded at me. Till date, I didn’t get any reversal of amount Rs.605 paid for season ticket, from the bank. I humbly request you to take appropriate action against that railway staff and to protect the great reputation of Southern Railways.

Sunderesh
                                    from Arcot, Tamil Nadu
                                    Feb 27, 2023

Address: No 75 Sri Krishna complex pappanaiken palayam

My concern is regarding the coach indicators that have been replaced by digital displays. I have come to the station to send my uncle and aunty who are senior citizens who are travelling by train no 16565, pnr no [protected] which was to depart by 8.15 and is running late and is expected by 9.50. The digital displays are switched off. The coach position and towards destination signages need to be permanent as they do not keep changing. It is very difficult for all passengers to locate their coach positions with the current digital displays. And The railway department has to ensure the digital displays are on at all times. Unable to upload photo of file size 2.32mb.

Sunderesh
                                      from Arcot, Tamil Nadu
                                      Feb 27, 2023

Address: No 75 Sri Krishna complex pappanaiken palayam

The permanent coach indicators are now replaced with digital displays. But the issue is the coach positions need to be static and seen always. I came to send off my uncle and aunty who are senior citizens who are travelling by train no 16565, which is running late by 1hour and 40 minutes. When we try to locate the coach position all the digital displays are off. And also prominent signages of towards which destination should be displayed at regular intervals on the platforms. I have photos of the displays that are switched off. Unable to attach here.