[Resolved]  ICICI Bank / Credit Card — Misrepresentation and cheating

This is with respect to a credit card from ICICI Bank, for which a person named Mr. Vijay Ramani, called and asked for clearance of dues on my credit card, as full & final settlement, pending which I kept the payment on hold.

While I made the payment to ICICI Bank with conveyed amount, the Bank, now says, that the same is not in their records and has sent any communication from their end.

This is a clear cut case of cheating and misrepresentation of facts. The detailed case history witll be communicated, once in forum. There are other misconducts from Bank, which shall be conveyed later to you.

Here is the detailed description of the chain mail communication between ICICI Bank and myself, in reference to the complaints...(latest communication appearing first). This shall assist in your doing the needful.

Waiting for a prompt action.

<On Fri, May 15, 2009 at 9:55 AM, Amit Lundia <[protected]@gmail.com> wrote to ICICI Bank>:

Dear Pratima,

The settlement amount was communicated as Rs. 13, 000.00 and not Rs. 11, 000.00. Accordingly, I have made payment of Rs. 2, 000.00 earlier and again Rs. 11, 000.00, as mentioned in the trailing mail reference.

Further, while interacting with Mr. Vijay Ramani (cell# +[protected], I have always kept your bank in loop (refer attached reference mail in text below dated 28th April 2009, Tuesday), why didn't you responded to the same earlier in that case?

Are you trying to say that Mr Vijay Ramani is not associated to you? If that is the case please confirm and also want you to come with me while filing a criminal case against the person for misrepresenting himself.

Finally, everything said and done, do whatever you intend to do to bring this case to closure and issue me the letters (full & final settlement letter, account clearance letter and CIBIL clearance letter) as requested.

In case, you fail to act on this ASAP (latest by today EOD), I would be compelled to knock the consumer forum and investor grievance cell / ombudsman cell. I have had enough of all these and want to put a fullstop to this. Feel free to call me for any further clarification or details, if required.

Amit Lundia

<On Thu, May 14, 2009 at 3:12 PM, Infinity Account Manager <[protected]@icicibank.com> wrote:>

Dear Mr. Lundia,

According to our records, there is no settlement of Rs.11, 000.00 issued to you.

We request you to contact our regional office:

3A, Gurusaday Road,
3rd Floor, Kol - 19

Sincerely,

Pratima Musapuram
Customer Service Officer
ICICI Bank Limited

-----Original Message-----
Date: Thursday, May 14, 2009 12:32 PM
To: [protected]@yahoo.com ([protected]@yahoo.com); customer.[protected]@icicibank.com (customer.[protected]@icicibank.com); [protected]@icicibank.com ([protected]@icicibank.com)
Subject: SUSPECTED SPAM:Re: Urgent: Reference Case# 373/08 for ICICI BankCredit Card#[protected]

Hi Vijay,

I am still awaiting both the letters (full and final settlement letter and CIBIL clearance letter) from you. Moreover, since the day I have made the payment, your phone is either switched off or is unattended. Further, you do not bother to reply to my mails and phone.

Please reply to else ASAP.

ICICI Bank,
Please do the needful, or I have to move to the consumer forum. Please treat this with utmost urgency. DO refer to the chain mail, if needed.

I will wait for the next 48 hours only.

Amit Lundia

<On Wed, May 6, 2009 at 5:29 PM, Amit Lundia <[protected]@gmail.com> wrote:>

Hi Vijay,

Please find confirmation attached of full and final payment of Rs. 11000/- on my credit card, as discussed with you.

Please do the needful and do arrange for the dispatch of the full and final settlement letter, along with the CIBIL clearance letter, ASAP, as scanned copy to this mail ID.

Kindly acknowledge.

Amit Lundia
+[protected]

[protected] Forwarded message[protected]
Date: Wed, May 6, 2009 at 11:11 AM
Subject: Payment received on your ICICI Bank Credit Card.
To: [protected]@gmail.com

Dear Mr. AMIT LUNDIA

We have received payment of Rs. 11000 on your ICICI Bank Credit Card no 3770 XXXX XXXX 000~by cash on[protected]. Thank you.

ICICI Bank Credit Cards Team.

On Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 12:00 PM, Amit Lundia <[protected]@gmail.com> wrote:

Dear Vijay,

Please see the trailing repeated mail communication initiated by me in the last year with your client ICICI Bank, from which you will come to know that I always had an intention of settling the dues pending in my name. I also had coveyed the bank that I am presently residing In Kolkata and also provided them my email ID and contact numbers.

Summary of mails below:
1. First email communication initiated by me on 18th Dec 2007, to pay final bill and surrender the card. Bank replied on 19th Dec, saying that they will revert with the status within 8 days. SR# 48783330 generated. However, no reverts received.

2. Second email communication initiated by me on 14th May 2008, where again I mentioned that, "I still accept to pay the net (purchase less payment) due to my account, on the day of receipty of the surrender letter or final statement advice". Bank replied on 14th May 2008, saying that the card has been de-activated and gave me the number of Mr. Biswajit, there representative, to settle the claim, in this regard.

3. Third email communication on 16th May 2008, again initiated by me read as..."I can make the full and final payment only on the issuance of final settlement letter/advise and on reversal of all charges/fees/debits whatsoever." Bank replied and gave me the address in Delhi (no phone number & email ID), to contact for settlement of dues. On 17th May 2008, I replied and requested for email ID/phone number for communication, "I reside in Kolkata and am unable to contact them from here, untill and unless I get the Phone numbers or email ID". On 17th May 2008, they again asked me to contact Biswajit.

4. Later, I called Biswajit and got a reply for him that he is no more associated with ICICI Bank and so cannot help in this regard. I conveyed this message again to ICICI Bank on 12 January 2009 and asked for alternates..."Could you please have someone else to help me and expedite the settlement of the dues." Bank replied on 12th January 2009, saying that "they tried to trace my credit card number, but could not find it" and asked me to "give my complete 16-digit credit card number and contact phone number so that they may reach me and resolve my query".

5. On 15th January, I gave ICICI Bank my Credit Card number and mobile number. Bank replied saying "they have initiated a request with reference number SR93222950 to settle my credit card dues and that their executive will contact me by January 23, 2009.". However, no one contacted me since then.

Suddenly, today I got a call from Delhi SPO saying that there is a criminal case registered in my name and gave me your details with case# 373/08. This came as a surprise to me, as I never intented to default on the payment and always initiated to pay the dues at all times.

Finally, I still intend to settle the dues and hence as discussed over telephone, will be paying Rs.10, 000/- to ICICI as early as possible, in this regard. However, meanwhile request you to please send me the copy of the case summary (with applicable charges/section details) on mail for my reference and proceeding.

Feel free to call me anytime. Waiting for your revert ASAP.

P.S. I have used and also presently using other bank credit cards and has not defaulted in payment of dues ever. This is just to let you know on the intentions.

Amit Lundia

[protected] Forwarded message[protected]
From: ICICI Bank Customer Care <customer.[protected]@icicibank.com>
Date: Thu, Jan 15, 2009 at 1:04 PM
Subject: RE:'ICICICARE=[protected]' Re: Re: 'ICICICARE=[protected]' Re: Your Credit Card Statement for the period 02/11/2007 To 01/12/2007
To: Amit Lundia <[protected]@gmail.com>

For quicker resolution of your query/request, please write to us through the "E-mail Us" option at our website, www.icicibank.com

We understand your concern in this regard.

We have initiated a request with reference number SR93222950 to settle your credit card dues. Our executive will contact you by January 23, 2009.

Sincerely,

Ranjan Kumar
Customer Service Officer
ICICI Bank Limited

Date: Thursday, January 15, 2009 11:21 AM
To: ICICI Bank Customer Care (customer.[protected]@icicibank.com)
Subject: Re: Re: 'ICICICARE=[protected]' Re: Your Credit Card Statement for the period 02/11/2007 To 01/12/2007

Have raised request through E Mail Us option too.

Further for your information;
1. Credit Card# :[protected]
2. Contact phone# [protected]

Waiting for a prompt reply.

Amit Lundia

<On Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 6:34 PM, ICICI Bank Customer Care <customer.[protected]@icicibank.com> wrote:>

For quicker resolution of your query/request, please write to us through the "E-mail Us" option at our website, www.icicibank.com

We tried to trace your credit card number, but could not find it.

Please give us your complete 16-digit credit card number and contact phone number so that we may reach you and resolve your query.

Looking forward to your co-operation in helping us serve you better.

Please provide the contact number to assist you further.

Sincerely,

Vijay Shankar
Customer Service Officer
ICICI Bank Limited

Date: Monday, January 12, 2009 05:16 PM
Subject: Re: 'ICICICARE=[protected]' Re: Your Credit Card Statement for the period 02/11/2007 To 01/12/2007

Further, to the trailing mail, this is to inform that my claim is still pending to be settled. Latest, I tried to contact Biswajit, but per him, he is no longer associated with your bank and hence was unable to help.

Could you please have someone else to help me and expedite the settlement of the dues.

Amit Lundia

<On Sat, May 17, 2008 at 5:00 PM, ICICI Bank Customer Care <customer.[protected]@icicibank.com> wrote:>

Dear Mr. Lundia,

You may contact Mr.Biswajit @ [protected] for settlement of dues on credit card xxxx3000.

Sincerely,

Raacha Kalyan
Customer Service Manager
ICICI Bank Limited

Date: Saturday, May 17, 2008 08:28 AM
Subject: Re: Re: Your Credit Card Statement for the period 02/11/2007 To 01/12/2007

I reside in Kolkata and am unable to contact them from here, untill and unless I get the Phone numbers or email ID. I hope that makes sense. And, the another option is that, they can contact me, as they may contact me, as you have my emailID already.

Waiting for your response.

Rgds,
Amit

<On Fri, May 16, 2008 at 9:31 PM, ICICI Bank Customer Care <customer.[protected]@icicibank.com> wrote:>

Dear Mr. Lundia,

In order to settle the outstanding due and get the settlement letter, we request you to contact the following address:

ICICI Bank Ltd, S.D.Tower,
Community Center,
Plot No 7. Sec - 8,
Rohini, New Delhi - 85

Sincerely,

Abdul Rauf
Customer Service Officer
ICICI Bank Limited

Date: Friday, May 16, 2008 04:03 PM
Subject: Re: Re: Your Credit Card Statement for the period 02/11/2007 To 01/12/2007

Thanks for replying too early on this one. However, my status-quo is same, I can make the full and final payment only on the issuance of final settlement letter/advise and on reversal of all charges/fees/debits whatsoever.

Hope no more clearance is expected after this.

Amit

<On Wed, May 14, 2008 at 4:26 PM, ICICI Bank Customer Care <customer.[protected]@icicibank.com> wrote:>

We confirm having permanently deactivated your credit card account 377 xxxx xxxx 3000 .

Amount outstanding on your credit card account is accrued due to non-payment of your credit card dues as per statement.

We request you to make payment towards amount outstanding as per statement to avoid any further charges.

As on May 12, 2008 the amount outstanding is Rs.22, 901.47.

Due to this reason ICICI Bank has an authorization to debit your savings account if there is any amount outstanding on your credit card account which is unpaid.

We request you to clear remaining outstanding of Rs.22, 901.47 on your credit card account at your earliest convenience to avoid any further debits from your savings account.

According to the request : SR48783330 contact Biswajit on contact number : [protected]

Alternatively :

Also, we request you to contact our regional office at following address for your credit card dues:

ICICI Bank Ltd, S.D.Tower,
Community Center,
Plot No 7. Sec - 8,
Rohini, New Delhi - 85

JITENDRA CHABRA / PARIMAL PRASAD

Sincerely,

Sampath Kumar
Customer Service Officer
ICICI Bank Ltd

Date: Wednesday, May 14, 2008 01:51 PM

I am still awaiting response on the below SR48783330 raised in Dec'07. It seems that these 8 days are not yet over. Anyways, please take this as my final mail related to the matter, post which I shall not be liable to bear any consequences whatsoever. Its almost 3 quarters over now, since my request to surrender the card and issue of a final payment advise.

Further, to bring to your notice, I would like to inform you that a direct debit of Rs.5, 844/- was made to my saving bank account for the payment due on my credit card, although both the accounts are not at all linked, without any prior intimation to me, regarding the same. I sufferred a major business loss due to your action as above and forced me to stop any transaction further on this account.

Meanwhile, also take into account that, I will not be liable to any fees/charges/interest or any debits whatsoever charged on my account. I still accept to pay the net (purchase less payment) due to my account, on the day of receipty of the surrender letter or final statement advice.

I further hope that this mail is actioned upon as I am unable to correspond further on this.

Amit Lundia

On Wed, Dec 19, 2007 at 1:48 AM, ICICI Bank Customer Care <customer.[protected]@icicibank.com> wrote:

Dear Mr. Lundia,

We have taken a request for your query.

The Service Request number is SR48783330.

You will receive the status of the request within 8 working days.

For further queries, please write to us through the "E-mail Us" option at our website, www.icicibank.com

Sincerely,

Sampath Kumar
Customer Service Manager
ICICI Bank Ltd

Date: Tuesday, December 18, 2007 12:16 PM
To: [protected]@icicibank.com ([protected]@icicibank.com); customer.[protected]@icicibank.com (customer.[protected]@icicibank.com)
Subject: Re: Your Credit Card Statement for the period 02/11/2007 To 01/12/2007

This is in reply to my credit card payment due for card# as mentioned below.
Per my last discussion with your bank's representative, I asked them to prepare a final bill, as I want to surrender my card.
Inspite of doing the needful, you keep on charging interest every month. I dont know what's the motive behind getting this accrued each month, and keeping the due mounted.

Please get this done ASAP, so that the actual payment due to me could be relieved.

Waiting to hear from you.

Amit
Dear Mr. Lundia,

Kindly write to us at [protected]@icicibank.com with ‘Customer Service issue – credit card’ as the subject line. Request you to provide the relevant details of your credit card along with your full name and contact details.

We will be happy to help you.

Nazia Sayeed
Office of the Nodal Officer
ICICI Bank
yes its the same case happened with me. as i made my full and final settlement of credit card towards the bank. now bank is saying that they don't have any records for the same, and my saving account money had taken over by the bank. this is the direct case of fraud and cheating.

and i request the consumer that be carefull about such cases.

ICICI Bank
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    65%
    ICICI Bank Phone
    +91 22 2653 1414
    ICICI Bank Address
    ICICI Bank Towers, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    View all ICICI Bank contact information