[Resolved]  Indian Railways — UPGRADATION OF WAITLISTED PASSENGERS AT SL.NO.1,2,& 3

I HAVE BOOKED RESERVATION TICKET BEARING NO.[protected] WITH TWO PASSENGERS NAMELY DS CHAUHAN AND SMT SUMAN SINGH IN CHITRAKOOT EEXPRESS ON 19.2.09 FROM LUCKNOW TO KATNI.ON FINAL CHART I WAS ALLOTED ON SEAT IN RAC-47 AND ONE IN WAITING NO.1.THERE WAS VACANT SEATS IN AC-3 TIER OF THE SAME TRAIN BUT MY WAITING TICKET AT SL.NO. 1 HAS NOT BEEN UPGRADED AS PER EXISTING POLICY OF RAILWAY.FOR FREE UPGRADATION OF WAITLISTED PASSENGERS IF THERE ARE VACANCIES IN AC-3 TIER I HAVE CHARGED UPGRADATION CHARGES VIDE RECEIPT NO.P-226359 LUCKNOW STATION.
THIS IS AGAINST THE POLICIES OF RAILWAYS DECLARED BY HONBLE RAILWAY MINISTER SHRRI LALOO PRASAD.I MAY PLEASE BE REFUNDED AMOUNT OF ONE TICKET.

2302 KOLKATA RJDHNI NEW DELHI HOWRAH JN GENERAL
Date[protected]DD-MM-YYYY) -- 1A ---- 2A
[protected] AVAILABLE[protected] WL 43/WL 7
[protected] AVAILABLE[protected] WL 10/RAC 9
[protected] AVAILABLE[protected] AVAILABLE- 0065

If you notice, on this Sat/Sun (22nd and 23rd), I see that 2302 NDLS-HWH Rajdhani 1A has availability - whereas 2A is W'listed.

So while charting, would the computer use some logic to move 2A ticket holders to 1A (free upgrade option) and accomodate more people on 2A (increases revenue)?

What is the logic in use in such cases? Is it the ticket holder who booked first gets an upgrade or it's anybody (computerized lottery ) who can get an upgrade?

[protected][protected][protected][protected][protected][protected][protected]
10. The passengers will be selected randomly by the PRS System as follows:

(i) One PNR from the list of general passengers confirmed after RAC/WL management in charting

(ii) Next PNR will be randomly selected from the confirmed PNRs booked under the Tatkal scheme.

(iii) The above process of alternately selecting from the General Confirmed list and Tatkal Confirmed List would continue till all eligible vacant seats areb filled by up gradation of passengers or till all the Wait-listed passengers had been confirmed.

(iv) The remote location passengers confirmed against source berths will not be upgraded.

(v) The berths of confirmed passengers, who have been upgraded to the higher class, will be allotted to the RAC/WL passengers of that class if, there are still some berths vacant then these vacant berths will be allotted to the confirmed passengers of the next lower classes.

(vi) All passengers in one PNR (maximum 6) will be upgraded together or none of them will be upgraded in case enough berths are not available to upgrade all of them in the same coach.

(vii) Passengers will be upgraded without asking for their choice e, g, SL. to AC/FC coach, cabin berth to side berth, lower berth to upper berth, cabin level compact accommodation to coach level compact accommodation. However, if any passenger exercises 'NO' option for up gradation in the requisition from at the time of booking, his/her PNR will not be considered by the PRS for up gradation. Requisition form will be suitable amended to opt out o[censored]p gradation scheme.

(viii) Party consisting of both full fare paying and concessional passengers will not be upgraded to avoid splitting.
I have booked a ticket from out agency PRS counter at Shillong.PNR no.[protected] &[protected].due to problem I had to cancel the tickets but unfortunately the people sitting in the counter says that they have sort of money & same excuses they are giving since last four days.
the attitude of the people sitting in the counter are disgusting, non-coperative and shameful.They are more interested in entertaining the brokers and ask bribe.the PRS is run by the people of state department Megalaya transport corporation which is a sick organisation, from 3o'clock till 5o'clock every afternoon they closed the counter due to load shedding and doesnt bother to start the Generator, no matter how much you request.
Therefore I request you to kindly open your own railway counter for the service of the people of meghalaya and discard this MTC people.

Indian Railways
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    25%
    Indian Railways Phone
    +91 11 2338 1213
    Indian Railways Address
    Rail Bhawan, Raisina Road, DL, India, New Delhi, Delhi, India - 110001
    View all Indian Railways contact information