Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Living Media India Limited-India Today Book Club — being CHEATED by India Today Book Club

I got an email in my mail-box...that ,I have been selected for Rs.6000000 sweep-stake by INDIA-TODAY BOOK CLUB.To be eligible for that Rs.6000000 sweep-stake,I was lured in that mail to buy 3 CD-Pack of Encyclopedia Britannica for Rs.574(along with postal charge).IN THAT MAIL ,IT WAS CLEARLY WRITTEN THAT along with those 3 C.D.s -they would provide 2 FREE GIFTS
1.Adidas bag 2.HOLIDAY PACKAGE for 3 nights and two-days..BUT,TILL DATE NO SUCH BAG HAS BEEN SENT.They have sent an unique loin-id to avail holiday-package offer .WHEN I TRIED TO LOG IN THAT website written in that invoice cum delivery note>www.bookstoday.in/promos.htm......I FOUND THAT SUCH SITE DO NOT EXIST.....When contacted in the helpline no,they also harrased me unusually.......
I WANT TO TAKE LEGAL ACTION AGAINST INDIA-TODAY BOOK CLUB after being cheated by this organisation..
My order no>06A[protected]
ORDER DATE>06-NOV-09
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 13, 2020
Complaint comments  19 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Living media Limited — Non availability of site

i puechase a 20 CDs pack and at the time of booking the orders i was assured that i will be given free gifts wothe Rs.12260/- or something. i received the dilivery of the CD pack vide invoice no. ORA[protected] dated 07.11.2008. Alongwith the pack i received one instruction leaflet but firstly i was not able to access the site mentioned therein and tha without the proper space and box where i could put th ethings as per instruction. Only in 1st step i coud access the site and the remaining stwps i could not able to perform. i have posted my comments in this regard but no response i got from the company.

Living media Limited — india today book club offers

TO WHOM SO EVER IT MAY CONCERN
I wish to submit a complaint of cheating and fraud against India Today book club. Recently I purchased SAAZ set of 16 CDs for a sum of Rs.2000 with invoice No; ORA[protected], Order No. OGA[protected] Dated 17 the November 2008. I was asked to claim my free gifts from India Today Book Club. But the web site does not open. I have been given the login web ID ; 1100996. So, please look into this complaint and resolve the case. This will certainly affects the image of the magazine that we hold in high esteem.

N.NAGARATHNA
HOUSE NO.179
I CROSS
ARAKERE MICO LAYOUT
BANNERGHATTA ROAD
BANGALORE-560076

Living Media India Limited-India Today Book Club — Non delivery of order

Dear Sir,

I had ordered for Movie ticket booklets for Rs. 588/- on 24/04/2009 and my credit card was swiped for the same amount on the same day, and i was informed i would receive my booklet within ten days of booking.

But still today (14/05/09) i have not received any booklet. My booking id for your reference is [protected].

Would request you to kindly look into the matter at the earliest.


Thanks and Regards,
Rahul Hariya
101 Arvind Centre,
Prabhat Colony,
Santacruz East,
Mumbai 400055
Maharshtra
India
Dear Mr. Rahul Hariya Your complaint has been resolved on 15/05/2009.
Please refer to the email sent to you on your id. If you have any further queries, please mail back to us on the given id:

[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com

Would request you to kindly mention this subject: ONLINE COMPLAINTS
Whenever you mail us for quicker response,

or call us on our customer care No.

[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
Dear Mr.Rahul HariyaYour complaint has been resolved on 15/05/2009.
Please refer to the email sent to you on your id. If you have any further queries, please mail back to us on the given id:

[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com

Would request you to kindly mention this subject: ONLINE COMPLAINTS
Whenever you mail us for quicker response,

or call us on our customer care No.

[protected]





[Subject-ONLINE COMPLAINTS]

India Today Book Club — Non delivery of Movie tickets booklet

Dear Sir/Madam,

I had booked Movie Tickets booklet from India Today Book Club (Living Media India) on 24th April 2009 for Rs. 588 and my credit card was swiped for the same and i was told i will receive the booklet within 10 days of booking but still today (14/05/09) i have not yet received the booklet.

My booking id is [protected].

Kindly help me.

Thanks,
Rahul
Hi Rahul,

I have received the movie vouchers but its of no use. Cuz when I called the customer care people to book for a movie they said that I shud pay for 1 ticket & for that 1 ticket will be free.I said that I'l pay for 1 ticket, to my shock they asked my credit card number & also CVV num. When I started blasting that lady after few secs she disconnected the call.After that I tried 3 or 4 times to book the ticket using the Voucher, they said that they'l call me & never turned back. Probably we are duped & the only thing left is to take serious action like filing a FIR.

~Vishwa

Living Media India Ltd. India Today Book Club — Incomplete Order

I have placed an order on Indiatoday Book club telephonically, and made a payment thru credit card.
But out of 8 books i received one of the book was not in a good condition so I talked to their executives and they told me to return back that particular book thru courier which they received on 13th July'09. So from that day i am following them for that book and they always say that the book is out of stock.
Order No:-0GA[protected]
Date:-19-Jun-09
Name of book:-Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus
Invoice No. 0RA[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT

India Today Movie Voucher Booklet — India Today Movie Voucher Booklet

Date : 30th November 2009

To,

India Today Book Club

Sub : Movie Voucher Booklet.

Ref No. : 1) Membership No. : ITBC093437
2) Order No. OGA[protected] & OGA[protected]
My self Jitendra Gupta, from Mumbai , Maharashtra.

Dear Sir,

With reference to above I would like to inform you that, in the month of April 09 I received email from India Today Book club about Movie Voucher Booklet & accordingly I booked the Movie Voucher Booklet through internet of Rs. 588/- . After some time I received call from India Today that due technical reason my transaction is not completed & I have to do once again & I did through my mobile. Next day I received 2 transaction massage from my credit card bank. Immediate I called to India Today Book Club to cancelled one booking but they instead of cancellation on call you refuse to take Booklet return it back. But my family member accepted both the Booklet.

In the month of May 09 I called to redeem the movie voucher but they said seats are not available. Once again I called & this time they accepted my request & said that I will be received call from our side to confirm the transaction with all the detail like seat no. etc. But I did not received a call & then I called at least 2 or 3 time & ask about my request, they said I will sure received a call but till the Show time I did not received a single call from your side. And then I called to India today Book Club & talk with Mr Jitendra Thakur & explain every thing & this time he confirm that this will never happened again with you.

One more time I called to redeem the movie voucher but nothing difference. This happened with my more than 3 time.

All this I told to Mr Kunal Shah, through email but no response received from him also.

In between once I received call from India Today that I can redeem my movie voucher through online booking at bookmyshow.com with winpin no. and they given me winpin no. and I used it. And also told that next time you have to apply for winpin no by sending SMS with voucher no. I did it with the proper procedure, Massage send with Voucher no on [protected] then I called and confirmed the details, they said I will received a call from our side with winpin no. till the show time no call come from your side. Once again I called and ask for the same they replied the same that.






In the scenario I feel that the company is cheating with customer. And it seems that your company is not left to me to go the Consumer Court for help.

Kinldy look after the matter & do the needful.

Thanking you

Yours Faithfully

Jitendra Gupta
A-4, Prabhunath Dubey Chawl,
Ambika Niwas, Near Sai Baba Mandir
Shyam Nagar, Jogeshwari (E),
Mumbai – 400 060
Mob. No.[protected]
Email : [protected]@yahoo.co.in

Living Media India Limited-India Today Book Club — holiday voucher

I sent 2199 rupees towards a book on civilisation.Amongst the free gifts provided was a holiday
voucher.For this I was asked to log onto www.booktoday.in/promos.htm within 60 days.
I did so but there is no provision in the website to claim anything.The whole exercise is a fraud perpetuated on innocent public.
With noone really knowing whats going on they continue to do this with impunity.How do we get
Justice.
Sir, Your agent calls me on 29th Nov 2009. They tried to sell siwss watches and Home Theatre, I ask them some question, But there war a missunderstanding as the line was not very clear. Kindly chekvc an d cancel any transaction on this day as I do not require these things. I ask them to cance the transaction, he saiod yes, but transaction is stiil made, 29000/- and 21750. Pliss cacel these two orders, and revoke the transaction.


Dr.Lalchhuanawma
Y-112, Ramhlun South.
A
izawl, 796012
Mizoram
Dear Sir
I have received my Camera, but for my free gift I need your help.Please send my freegift as soon as possible
Soubhik Ghosh
[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
My experience with INDIATODAY book club is horrific.I was duped into placing order by their sales staff for two items amounting to app 25000 through credit card.I placed the order on 08/02/10 and was told that order will be despatched on 11/2.On enqiring the status thereafter I was told that their was no record of my order.Every day I have been calling the customer service no and I get conflicting answers .Finally one good soul yesterday told me that the ordered goods were not at all available and that I should ask for refund-I dont know what to trust and whom to complain-no one gives you a proper and satisfying reply--you simply waste your time by calling on the nos provided-I have invited a constant source of irritant for myself and i am really getting tense-i have not been able to concentrate on anything from past few days and the idea that a name like INDIATODAY is in this kind of business gives me real pain--
In my previous mail I havnt mentioned particulars of my order-

BKG ID[protected]RS.7598.00
BKG ID[protected]RS. 17298.00

COMPAINT NO--379102



MY MOBILE NO-[protected]
again, being CHEATED by India Today Book Club.
I WANT TO TAKE LEGAL ACTION AGAINST INDIA-TODAY BOOK CLUB after being cheated by this organisation..

I am S.Siva, retd. senior citizen from Chennai. Am a subscriber of
1. India Today (Tamil version)
2. Reader's Digest

both the magazines Still not yet come regularly.

before subscription, I got an both email and letter ...that, I have been selected for Rs.6000000 sweep-stake by INDIA-TODAY BOOK CLUB.To be eligible for that Rs.6000000 sweep-stake, And also mentioned total sweeptakes prizes money is Rs.10116200 worth guarantee all prize payment in the Sweepstakes for Reader's Disgest.

I was lured in that sent to buy
1. Complete History of the World for Rs.2199(along with postal charge).
2. Reader's Digest for Rs.449(along with postal charge).

IN THAT MAIL, IT WAS CLEARLY WRITTEN THAT along with those free round trip air ticket, they would provide 2 FREE GIFTS.
1.Adidas bag, 2.HOLIDAY PACKAGE for 3 nights and two-days, 3.Reebok Classic Watch, 4.Rare collectors's items, 5.Assured free gifts worth of Rs.11899.. BUT, TILL DATE NO SUCH gift HAS BEEN SENT.

Also I sent (by draw - for toyata corolla Altis worth of Rs.12 Lackhs). My key no is TC 120, with 3 STAR coupens.

WHEN I TRIED TO LOG IN THAT website written in that invoice cum delivery note>www.bookstoday.in/promos.htm...I FOUND THAT SUCH SITE DO NOT EXIST...When contacted in the helpline no, they also harrased me unusually...


My Reader's Digest subscription no is R0001-RDO[protected]-LMI314875
My India today (Tamil version) no is 36ITT1671506

My mobile no is [protected]
I am a resident in chennai.
I completely agree with the above comments.
The same sweep take offer happened with me and the did not accept the product back which I purchased for
17000.
There should be a complaint filed against such people.
ADVERTISEMENT
I am also going through similar experience and Regret my actions of placing almost 4 different orders and paying by CREDIT CARD .. to the tune of 32000/---, I am following up with them almost daily and they don't have any clue about my order or payment,

Its only because of Name Like INDIA TODAY, I got lured ..My order IDS are[protected] /[protected] /[protected] /[protected] ..

But I will be waiting for few more days and give them a face saver .. or Always has a option to charge BACK the Credit card Payment for non delivarance of services...

Please do the same if you people are already through and don;t expect the result..
regards

Don't order anything fro them !!!

Avinash
I am al so a victim of India Today Book Club. By repeatedly calling me and luring me to book their holiday package they have cheated me of Rs.7800/= a month back.

You have mentioned "The complaint made by DR. KISHORE GOPAL BANERJEE has been resolved." If you have any further queries, please mail back to us on our given id:

but not given details as to how it was resolved. Can we still believe your words.

What recourse for a legal action against such a reputed Brand Name?

Dr.D.srinivasan

Watch

Watch is not working

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    83%
    Complaints
    881
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    722
    India Today / BagItToday Phone
    +91 12 0407 8000
    India Today / BagItToday Address
    Mediaplex, FC-8, Sector - 16A, Film City, Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India - 201301
    ADVERTISEMENT