Metlife Insurance — False Selling/ No clarity on surrender charges

Address:Karnataka

My wife purchased a Metlife policy 3 years ago from an agent, who was referred to us by our Bank Manager. The agent and the bank manager told us that the policy term was 3 years and that we could withdraw the entire amount (surrender) without facing any charges after completion of 3 years.
Now when we want to surrender the policy, the fund value is close to 83000 INR (after a partial withdrawal of 25000) from the invested 150000. When we enquired, we found out a few issues:

1. fund allocation fees of 48+ % for the first year, decreased over the years. So of the total 1.5 Lacs we invested, only 1 Lacs was invested. Almost 48000 was deducted as charges. This was not informed to us earlier.

2. We had a 100% ULIP option, and the NAV during purchase was around 18, and now its 28. Yet, the sum invested in this reduced from 74000 to 34000. I dont know how this is possible.

3. we thought we will surrender the policy, and found out they levy 20% surrender charges, which was not informed to us at the time of the sale.

So basically, out of 1.5 lacs invested, the total amount we will get now is about 91000. What is shocking is the manager of Karnataka Bank ( a scheduled bank) recommended and swore by the policy. Apparently Karnataka Bank has a tie-up with Metlife.

Now, the agent who sold us the policy (Bhaskar) is absconding, and when we spoke to the manager of Metlife, he only said this is the company policy. He took no responsibility for the false selling by HIS agent. The bank manager said he was not in charge when we purchased the policy, so who is responsible for the false sell by the agent?? Who will check false selling menace and when will the companies be held responsible for this?

I agree, as consumers we should check all details and make informed investments. But we purchased this policy only because the Bank manager forced us to (return for providing loan??) and we trusted him. How easily these companies cheat people and how easily they get away with it is really shocking.

Metlife Insurance Policy — surrendered policy

Dt.19.07.2010

TO
METLIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD.,
PUNE[protected]

SUB : METLIFE INSURANCE POLACY STATUS.

My Certificate No.[protected], Application No.[protected], Name is SriramaMurty Mangalampalli, Power Home Account No. PHR[protected]. I submit first on 4/6/2010 xerox of Bond in Bandarkar Road, Pune. After I surrender original bond on 15/06/2010 that time don’t give any acknowledgement. Kindly trace and inform to me. I contact customer care but no use.

Thanking You Sir,

Srirama Murty Mangalampalli
I take the Metlife Primer plus policy 3 years ago from an agent with 25000 Rs annual premium.at the time of selling the policy, Agent told us that the policy term was 3 years and that we could withdraw the entire amount (surrender) without facing any charges after completion of 3 years.
Now when we want to surrender the policy, the fund value is close to 70000 INR.but they are taking 70% surrender charges on first year premium(around 17000 Rs and service tax aroung 3500+), so i will get aroung 49600 Rs. at the time of surrender.
so as per the IRDA rule. all the insurance policy, surrender charges taken by the metlife is ok. because i have already purchased the ICICI policy.but surrender charges is very less.

so Metlife company is doing fraud with the customer. and agents are not giving the proper information about the product.

Karnataka