Show menu
Close
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  Reliance Digital — Deceitful dealings/procedures and appalling service

On 29-Dec-2007, my wife and I recently visited Reliance Digital on Cunningham Road Bangalore, to purchase a LCD Television. We decided to buy a LG 32’’ (model: 32LC4R; offered price: 43,990/-) on part payment and were taken to the finance department to acquire the details of the payment.

We were told that we had to pay the EMIs through post-dated cheques and this option (i.e. Reliance Finance) involves a cost of 1250/- as ‘processing fee’. We enquired about the ECS option but were told that it is not functional yet.

On 31-Dec-2007 (the ‘spot finance’ advertisement is definitely misleading, because this procedure takes its own time), after we received a call stating that the loan has been approved, we went with the required documents (photo ID proof, address proof etc) to make the payment. This is where the misery began – This ordeal took 5 hours!

-- The finance department had apparently not disclosed to us all the available options of payment. We were not told about the ‘credit card – EMI’ option. We overheard the details of this option while it was being explained to another customer. If the payment is made through credit card, the interest would amount to Rs 800/-, which is less, compared to the Reliance Finance processing fee. On questioning, the finance staff told us that the ‘credit card- EMI’ option was launched on just that day while their ‘senior’ staff contradicts this by saying that it was available since 3 days! Why were we not given all the facts to make an informed choice? We needn’t have to make a second trip with the documents, had we known that we could pay through credit card.
-- However, we decided to pay through credit card. The finance staff now takes a photocopy of both sides of the credit card and claims that it is ‘their procedure’. Isn’t it a known fact that the Verification Value Code (CVV number) printed behind a credit card is a confidential number and is an anti-fraud measure? Why do you have ignorant and untrained staff dealing with grave responsibilities (such as finance) here? We soon had another staff member contradicting his peer stating that the photocopy was not required. What if the CVV numbers were acquired from other naïve customers?
-- The credit card swiping instrument went conked. We were with a variety of disinterested individuals, who lacked seriousness and commitment in what they were doing - They wasted 2 hours of our time trying to get the credit card swiping machine work and it didn’t, eventually. Does the mega store have no fix or alternative in such situations?
-- Finally, we paid through post-dated cheques and had the additional charges[protected] waived off after enough argument. Why should a customer be taxed for the store’s mismanagement, failure, and inadequacy?
-- We were told that we need to pay (during installation) for the clamps/brackets that are required for mounting the TV. They told us that the Reliance personnel would bring the required material for mounting the TV and that would cost us an additional 1500! We were skeptical about this, and on the next day found out from the LG corporate sales office that the brackets come along with the TV as accessories. This is also documented in the product manual that is available on LG’s website. On speaking with Reliance, we were told that there was a ‘small’ miscommunication. We wouldn’t be surprised if they would make us pay for that too, eventually!
-- To add to that, the staff is rude, irritatingly incompetent, and an infuriatingly unhelpful bunch. Even the seniors were not helpful. There is absolutely no co-ordination among the staff and each one misleads the customer. The place is a chaotic enterprise managed by un-resourceful personnel.
Shopping at Reliance Digital was a disgusting, trying, and draining experience. We wasted 5 hours on New Year’s Eve dealing with this nuisance and it has definitely left us bitter. We are expecting the product today – after all the torture and struggle.

We do not rely on Reliance for any post sale service after getting a taste of the pre sale service. Reliance Digital has attempted to dupe us and has tortured us!
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 13, 2020
Complaint comments  108 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

I bought a window AC 0f 1.5 ton capacity of LG make from Reliance Digital, Shipra Mall, Ghaziabad on 10-07-08. Model No LWA18G2DF1, Serial no of the product is 804NLBC014311. Reliance Digital charged me Rs. 600 for installation. I had asked why they were charging as high as rs. 600 hundred when other dealers are charging only Rs. 250 to Rs. 500 at the most. They told me that installation shall be done under supervision of highly experience technician and quality hassle free installation shall be ensured. The AC was installed at my house no mentioned above on 11-07-08 by. Reliance digital sent only a carpenter to installed the AC, who lacks the even basic knowledge of an electrician, did not follow the instruction given on the manual and could not give any answer to our query about the functions of the said AC. He hurriedly installed the unit and charged me extra Rs. 230 for wire and plug, despite I had already paid Rs. 600 for installation to charges to Reliance Digital. I have contacted officils of Reliance digital, but they are collous and not willing to co-operate.
On 29-Dec-2007, my wife and I recently visited Reliance Digital on Cunningham Road Bangalore, to purchase a LCD Television. We decided to buy a LG 32’’ (model: 32LC4R; offered price: 43,990/-) on part payment and were taken to the finance department to acquire the details of the payment.

We were told that we had to pay the EMIs through post-dated cheques and this option (i.e. Reliance Finance) involves a cost of 1250/- as ‘processing fee’. We enquired about the ECS option but were told that it is not functional yet.

On 31-Dec-2007 (the ‘spot finance’ advertisement is definitely misleading, because this procedure takes its own time), after we received a call stating that the loan has been approved, we went with the required documents (photo ID proof, address proof etc) to make the payment. This is where the misery began – This ordeal took 5 hours!

-- The finance department had apparently not disclosed to us all the available options of payment. We were not told about the ‘credit card – EMI’ option. We overheard the details of this option while it was being explained to another customer. If the payment is made through credit card, the interest would amount to Rs 800/-, which is less, compared to the Reliance Finance processing fee. On questioning, the finance staff told us that the ‘credit card- EMI’ option was launched on just that day while their ‘senior’ staff contradicts this by saying that it was available since 3 days! Why were we not given all the facts to make an informed choice? We needn’t have to make a second trip with the documents, had we known that we could pay through credit card.
-- However, we decided to pay through credit card. The finance staff now takes a photocopy of both sides of the credit card and claims that it is ‘their procedure’. Isn’t it a known fact that the Verification Value Code (CVV number) printed behind a credit card is a confidential number and is an anti-fraud measure? Why do you have ignorant and untrained staff dealing with grave responsibilities (such as finance) here? We soon had another staff member contradicting his peer stating that the photocopy was not required. What if the CVV numbers were acquired from other naïve customers?
-- The credit card swiping instrument went conked. We were with a variety of disinterested individuals, who lacked seriousness and commitment in what they were doing - They wasted 2 hours of our time trying to get the credit card swiping machine work and it didn’t, eventually. Does the mega store have no fix or alternative in such situations?
-- Finally, we paid through post-dated cheques and had the additional charges[protected] waived off after enough argument. Why should a customer be taxed for the store’s mismanagement, failure, and inadequacy?
-- We were told that we need to pay (during installation) for the clamps/brackets that are required for mounting the TV. They told us that the Reliance personnel would bring the required material for mounting the TV and that would cost us an additional 1500! We were skeptical about this, and on the next day found out from the LG corporate sales office that the brackets come along with the TV as accessories. This is also documented in the product manual that is available on LG’s website. On speaking with Reliance, we were told that there was a ‘small’ miscommunication. We wouldn’t be surprised if they would make us pay for that too, eventually!
-- To add to that, the staff is rude, irritatingly incompetent, and an infuriatingly unhelpful bunch. Even the seniors were not helpful. There is absolutely no co-ordination among the staff and each one misleads the customer. The place is a chaotic enterprise managed by un-resourceful personnel.
Shopping at Reliance Digital was a disgusting, trying, and draining experience. We wasted 5 hours on New Year’s Eve dealing with this nuisance and it has definitely left us bitter. We are expecting the product today – after all the torture and struggle.

We do not rely on Reliance for any post sale service after getting a taste of the pre sale service. Reliance Digital has attempted to dupe us and has tortured us!
I am highly dissatisfied with the kind of service and support I have got from Reliance Digital in Shipra Mall Indirapuram Ghaziabad. I have purchased a 1.5 Tn Carrier Split AC and after spending 35000/- for the product, what I have got is incomplete unit without the installation kit. I had to waste whole of my day for getting the installation kit and still I had to return empty handed to home. Is this what Reliance is all about?

I missed out an important meeting which I had in my office just waiting at the store for the customer support executive to tell me at the end of the day that Sir we cannot do anything today, we will get the things done tomorrow...even the store manager was not present in the store

I doubt that I will get any good service in future as well and also I was planning to invest in Reliance Mutual fund, but I now think that I have to change my mind for that.

Reliance Digital - Carrier AC — Non-responsiveness of staff

Hi, I bought a Carieer AC from Reliance Digital (from Shipra Mall, Noida) on 30-Apr-08. They mentioned that ac installation will be completed within 2 working days. The installation is still pending and moreover no one pciks up the phone on the given numbers (provided by Sales person at Reliance India, Shipra). This is annoying as even after paying so much of money, my whole family is still suffering from this hot temperature. I hope that someone listens to it and resolve the problem.
Dear Sir/Madam,

Last year I purchased an AC 1.5 ton LG G-2 model, from Reliance digital Shipra mall Ghaziabad Uttar Pradesh, now I feel cheated because the AC's is not working properly and when i tried to call on the phone numbers which was mentioned on the bill and none of the number is working,

I am writing to you with a hope that from writing to you my problem will be solved,

Regards
Ankit Gera
[protected]
DEAR ALL,
NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW THE PHONE NO OF RELIANCE RESQ AT NOIDA (UP). THE ADDRESS IS "A 175, Sec 63, Noida, UP." Ph:[protected]/2/3/9

CALL THEM FOR AFTER SALES SUPPORT
Dear All,

Only one thing is common in all o[censored]s who've shown their anger/feelings i.e. that is RELIANCE's pathetic behaviour be it sales or after sales services.. nothing else, they keep on sellings old products at a higher margins and when it comes to after sale, they keep on throwing the balls in manufacturers court! rather than looking into the problem.

They are just a bunch of JOKERS hired by Mr. Ambani to fulfill his late father's dream " Mere Papa Ka Sapna! Sabka Mal Apna"

And it's our moral duty to intimate all buyers that they should not indulge in any kind of buying or dealing with any one of the RELIANCE products either directly from RELIANCE or it's associate stores like one at Indirapuram Shipra Mall...

They are worse than a roadside vendor which has some ethics at all...

Hats off to Mr. Ambani and its team of CHEATERS...
hi people,
i recently went to a reliance digital store located at the ambience mall in gurgaon. it was not a pleasant experience at all.

staff mismanagement was clearly evident, serious lack of information was there, lack of professional attitude, lack of training, lack of infrastructure even i would say.
(there is jumbo electronics outlet on the same floor as of reliance, where you can see and feel the difference)

i've worked in uk for PCWORLD, a computer superstore, with very high standards of customer service and satisfaction. so i found reliance digital to be really incompetent to be successful, but since we indians are a little less demanding, i may be proved wrong, although it is highly unlikely.

anyways i went there to buy a laptop, but came back empty handed cos i couldnt get any extra information about the product i was looking for, and the personnel could not suggest me any alternatives even.

i was really keen towards buying it that day itself, reading your reviews about the payment woes, thank god i didnt buy it.

im a gadget freak and dont mind buying from ebay even though i've been duped a few times, but i am extra cautious about buying things from Reliance digital, guys at Nehru Place (one of the biggest market of comp products in delhi) lack professionalism but are most certainly better informed.

only use reliance as a price check guide, i would say.

no offence Mr. Ambani, it was nothing personal
peace.
Please please Don't go for Tata Sky.
Signal is not coming when ever clouds over the sky.and the monthly charges are more than others..
Dear Sir

After seeing the recent ad of Acer Laptop 4715Z in newspaper I called up designated officer Mona on her handphone [protected] . As a good custmer care staff she answered me that the stock is finished & reqstd me to see this at Ghzbd store .
Upon calling Ghazbd store [protected] you can verify yourself right now that the number is on switched off mode . Other contact number[protected] does not exist .
It s really surprising that within two hours of opening the store the stocks deminished . Also noone knows when the new stock shall come .
In my personal opinion Reliance Digital is fooling around with customers & making them run here there by deceptive ad campaigns . It appears that the money collected from IPO s is being used in these frivilious ad campaign .
I am forced now to go to consumer court & seek justice .
Henceforth I am continuously spreading a word that visit Reliance digital stores at your rish & cost .

Sanjay Sharma
Hi

I bought a Hitachi fridge worth 45k from Reliance Digital on 24 Septmeber. They sent me a badly dented piece and when their installation guy opened the fridge at my house he promised instant replacement. Ever since, I have been calling and following up with them to no avail. They have been giving me various excuses and still my fridge has not been replaced and I am stuck with a dented unusable fridge. Never ever buy anything from them! And if someone from reliance is reading this please help!!!
I agree with major harrasment, and faulty products being doled out at Reliance Digital stores.

I have purchaed a Invertor from their Vashi stores in April end 2008. The same has gone faulty atleast three times. But no one seems to care

Services are pathetic - Engg turns up after multiple calling, multiple reminders and lot of blame gaming with the service provider / and OEM

Poor show in all
I purchased a Crompton Greaves Geyser 02/11/2008 from reliance digital ( ambiance mal)l gurgaon. I paid Rs 224/- for Installation. but geyser is not installed so far, and today is 05/11/2008. When i called, Only one answer I got that we will contact you back. I tried tens of time.
I am very highly dissatisfied with all the processes of Reliance Digital. As i had booked a LCD 32" on 28th Oct 08 and I got delivery on 03 Nov and of the wrong product,

The delivered product was 21" Flat TV of Worth 5990.And my product was of worth 34500.More over my product was changed on 05 Nov .But the installation was highly pathetic and my LCD is hanging tilted on my wall.So it's very unfortunate for me to be Reliance customer even i am old customer of the same. And i was not given any worthful gift even i had booked my LCD on the same day of Diwali.
And the most important thing was i had lost all of my time as i had planned to gift it to my sis as a Diwali present and we all were gona enjoy in our Diwali vacation but Relaince had ruined all the things we were planned.

I appeal to everybody be careful and if you are planning to buy anything from Reliance Digital the go ahead at your own risk as the processes are very bad. So it’s better to choose any other local shop instead of this retail shop
Well, whatever the comments mentioned beneath are literally right. Besides them, there are so many customers who are suffering these sorts of problem and unable to sort out.
Even I bought TV and home theater from reliance digital indirapuram faced this much problem that I don't have words to explain it. And now again there is no sound in my home theater, for this, I complain but first two days like govt. office I had been getting only numbers i.e. plz sir u contact on this number, lastly they gave me the number of philips service centre. but again 3 days already passed no one came to correct my system.
Hence, it is my humble request - plz plz do not purchase any product from reliance digital. It is not only harassing but also fatal.

LG — Do not disturb

Sir,
I am a reliance prepaid customer. I am getting lot o[censored]nnecessary promotion calls from reliance. So i requested them to activate DO NOT DISTURB SERVICE in my mobile. They told that it will take 45 days to get it activated. Now they are disturbing me continuosly all through the time while driving the vechile now days they have started at morning also.
Hi Sir/Madam,
I bought your LCD TV[S Series - KLV-26S400A, installation is remaining] Product on last Sunday, 7th Dec 2008 from your one of dealer Reliance Digital, Indirapuram, Ghaziabad and your product has been delivered on Monday, 8th Dec 2008, But when your Engineer came to my home for installation then we found one Table stand is missing in your LCD packing box. After that we had word with every one who concern with Reliance Digital, but I didn’t get any proper response and till date I didn’t get any solution for it; today is 4th day from date of purchase. So, how can we believe in your product?
I would like to know that how is it possible that one accessories is missing in your Packed Product box, this is the big question mark on your Quality Control. So, I am totally fed up with your product & your service. Now, I am not satisfied with your current delivered product which has been still put in my Home, May be your product is faulty.
I have already paid the full amount of your product to Reliance Digital, but I didn’t get any value for my money, till date, so I am very much frustrated. Please provide a new piece of your Sony LCD TV [S Series - KLV-26S400A] to me by latest tomorrow or refund my whole money tomorrow; otherwise I have to take other action against your company as well as Reliance Digital, please don’t take it easily. I have already complained this issue to Reliance Digital for new piece of your Sony LCD TV [S Series - KLV-26S400A].
This is our humble request to you that please consider our problem; it’s a worst experience which I am facing rite now with your product and your company for my whole life.

Now, I am consulting my legal consultant regarding this issue that what kind of action should we have to take against your company as well as Reliance Digital.


Regards,
Anand Kumar Sinha
Address: - 12/11, Moulsiri Road,
Shipra Sun City, Indirapuram, Ghaziabad-201010.
Mob:- +91-[protected]
e-mail: - [protected]@gmail.com
Hi Sir/Madam,
I bought your LCD TV[S Series - KLV-26S400A, installation is remaining] Product on last Sunday, 7th Dec 2008 from your one of dealer Reliance Digital, Indirapuram, Ghaziabad and your product has been delivered on Monday, 8th Dec 2008, But when your Engineer came to my home for installation then we found one Table stand is missing in your LCD packing box. After that we had word with every one who concern with Reliance Digital, but I didn’t get any proper response and till date I didn’t get any solution for it; today is 4th day from date of purchase. So, how can we believe in your product?
I would like to know that how is it possible that one accessories is missing in your Packed Product box, this is the big question mark on your Quality Control. So, I am totally fed up with your product & your service. Now, I am not satisfied with your current delivered product which has been still put in my Home, May be your product is faulty.
I have already paid the full amount of your product to Reliance Digital, but I didn’t get any value for my money, till date, so I am very much frustrated. Please provide a new piece of your Sony LCD TV [S Series - KLV-26S400A] to me by latest tomorrow or refund my whole money tomorrow; otherwise I have to take other action against your company as well as Reliance Digital, please don’t take it easily. I have already complained this issue to Reliance Digital for new piece of your Sony LCD TV [S Series - KLV-26S400A].
This is our humble request to you that please consider our problem; it’s a worst experience which I am facing rite now with your product and your company for my whole life.

Now, I am consulting my legal consultant regarding this issue that what kind of action should we have to take against your company as well as Reliance Digital.


Regards,
Anand Kumar Sinha
Address: - 12/11, Moulsiri Road,
Shipra Sun City, Indirapuram, Ghaziabad-201010.
Mob:- +91-[protected]
e-mail: - [protected]@gmail.com
IT'S a problem of LOCAL ATTITUDE AND MINDSET.
This is not a problem of reliance but of localities. People employed by any company carry alongwith them local mindset of working and service.
The general attitute of people in NOIDA, Ghaziabad etc areas is like this only, the customers are getting taste of their own curry.

The Service in Reliance digital mumbai, Reliance digital Chennai is excellent.

I went to Bharat Gas agency in Ghaziabad, the chap siting at the counter was behaving in a very rude manner, I went to ICICI bank the person sitting at the counter behaved in a manner which could offend anybody and I felt as if this person is very owner of bank, The autowala, I had to go hardly a kilometer, he asked me 50 Rs without evening thinking .

IT'S a problem of LOCAL ATTITUDE AND MINDSET.
very bad

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    60%
    Complaints
    3208
    Pending
    43
    Resolved
    1839
    Reliance Digital Address
    3rd Floor, Court House, Lokmanya Tilak Marg, Dhobi Talao, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400002