Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Vodafone — GPRS CHARGES

Hi,

I, Mr. Baji Sepoy[protected], would like to inform that I was falsely charged by Vodafone for the GPRS service, which my wife had never subscribed for it. All these while I was never checking the details of my bills, and based on the sms message, I was making payment through internet. Just few days back, I was shocked to notice that from Aug 2008, they have been charging my wife’s add on card[protected], an amount of Rs 499/- towards GPRS service, which till date she has never used it. She is not even aware about the GPRS facility, nor does she know how to initiate the GPRS request.

When I inquired with Vodafone in regards to the initiation of the GPRS service, I got three different versions of the story from three different Vodafone officers.

1. First one was, this service was activated via sms.

2. Second feedback was given by Dinesh, that this facility was activated via their Vodafone internet site.

3. Now the third feedback was, it was activated via IVR.

Till date they are unable to provide me with any concrete evidence for my activation request. Since the last reason given was IVR, and since it is digital, I have requested them to send the digital recording via a dat file. Now Vodafone is just not interested in giving me any evidence, in regards to the activation. They did orally inform me that since my wife has never used the GPRS facility, they were willing to refund me 1000/- Rs. I am just not interested for the refund, I am more interested to know how this service was activated. In my eyes this is a mistake on Vodafone’s part, and they need to refund the entire amount, which they have falsely charged the customer.

I do admit that it is my mistake for not checking their bills. But isn’t it their duty to check for customers who are paying such hefty amounts and not using their facilities. If they had carried out the exercise at their end, then they would have highlighted to my wife, about their services, not being utilized.

For your reference, I have enclosed the chain of emails being exchanged between me and Vodafone. Though I do have time constraints, but at the same time I do want to teach a lesson to these MNC’s that they cannot just fleece customers at their will. Therefore please guide me accordingly.

Thanking you in advance.


Regards,

Baji Sepoy.
[protected]

********************************************************************************...

From: Corporate Assist [Corporate.[protected]@Vodafone.com]
Sent: Monday, June 29, 2009 5:17 PM
To: Baji Sepoy
Subject: RE: Excess billing [protected]





Dear Mr. Sepoy,

Thank you for your email dated 25/06/09 regarding your concern for monthly rentals for the Vodafone Mobile Connect service for the Vodafone number [protected].


We wish to reiterate that the Vodafone Mobile Connect service was activated from your end through the IVR option and hence the charges have been accurately applied. We are unable to reverse the same.



In case you need further assistance, please do call or email us. We’ll do our best to help you.


Happy to help,


Dhruti Panchal
Vodafone Care
Contact numbers
Vodafone Care : 111 or +91-[protected]
(Toll free from Vodafone mobile phones within the home network)
Fax number : +[protected]
E-mail : corporate.[protected]@vodafone.com
Website : www.vodafone.in






[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Baji Sepoy [mailto:[protected]@globeop.com]
Sent: Thursday, June 25, 2009 5:49 PM
To: Corporate Assist
Subject: RE: Excess billing [protected]



That is the purpose such a disclaimer is kept in the last line, with such small fonts, so the clients would require magnifying glass to read it.



That is exactly what I meant, MNC carrying out day light robbery with such disclaimers in place.



This whole episode and the attitude of your staff, just stinks. I have no other words to express my ill feelings.



Baji Sepoy

Phone : (+[protected]

.


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Corporate Assist [mailto:Corporate.[protected]@Vodafone.com]
Sent: Thursday, June 25, 2009 5:35 PM
To: Baji Sepoy
Subject: Excess billing [protected]









Dear Mr. Sepoy,

Thank you for your email dated24/06/09 regarding your concern for monthly rentals for the Vodafone Mobile Connect service for the Vodafone number [protected].



We regret the typographical error in the below mentioned email and wish to inform you that the Vodafone Mobile Connect service was activated with effect from 21/08/08.



Mr. Sepoy, the Vodafone Mobile Connect service was activated from your end through the IVR option and hence the charges have been accurately applied.



We would like to draw your attention to the reverse of page 1 of your bills that mentions that any discrepancy in the bill needs to be noted within the due date, else the charges are deemed to be accurate.

Now, activation/deactivation of services can be done easily via an SMS command to 111(toll free) and the service would be activated/deactivated accordingly. We have attached herewith a list of SMS service commands for reference.

In case you need further assistance, please do call or email us. We’ll do our best to help you.

Happy to help


Rubina Kazi

Vodafone Care
Contact numbers
Vodafone Care : 111 or +91-[protected]
(Toll free from Vodafone mobile phones within the home network)
Fax number : +[protected]
E-mail : corporate.[protected]@vodafone.com
Website : www.vodafone.in













[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Baji Sepoy [mailto:[protected]@globeop.com]
Sent: Wednesday, June 24, 2009 7:31 PM
To: Corporate Assist
Subject: RE: Excess billing [protected]



It is not a question of reversing the rentals. You need to be give me evidence that you have rightfully charged the fees, for which I have used your services. Can you give an evidence from 21/08/08, whether anybody has browsed the internet through [protected]. If the services has not been utilized till date, do you think your clients are fools to initiate your GPRS services via IVR, and pay 500/- Rs a month as rentals? This utter rubbish, and in any court of law you will loose your battle. I do not have any other word besides, day light robbery.



The worst is you have not even give the initiation dates correctly, you have specified 21/08/09. This clearly shows the lethargy at which Vodafone functions.



I am not going to call you, if you want you can call me on[protected] and discuss.



Baji Sepoy

Phone : (+[protected]

.


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Corporate Assist [mailto:Corporate.[protected]@Vodafone.com]
Sent: Wednesday, June 24, 2009 6:45 PM
To: Baji Sepoy
Subject: RE: Excess billing [protected]







Dear Mr. Sepoy,

Thank you for your email dated 23/06/09, regarding Vodafone mobile connect service for Vodafone mobile number [protected].



Further to the email dated 23/06/09 and your conversation with our colleauge Ms. Reshma Khan on 18/06/09, we confirm we have addressed your concern.



We wish to reiterate that the Vodafone Mobile Connect service was active on the above mentioned number effective, 21/08/09 via IVR. We are unable to reverse the rentals levied for the same.



In case you need further assistance, please do call or email us. We’ll do our best to help you.


Happy to help,


Dhruti Panchal
Vodafone Care
Contact numbers
Vodafone Care : 111 or +91-[protected]
(Toll free from Vodafone mobile phones within the home network)
Fax number : +[protected]
E-mail : corporate.[protected]@vodafone.com
Website : www.vodafone.in






[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Baji Sepoy [mailto:[protected]@globeop.com]
Sent: Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:47 PM
To: Corporate Assist
Subject: RE: Excess billing [protected]



Alifiya,



Well since Vodafone cannot provide any sort of evidence in regards to the activation of this service, I have filled my complaint to the consumer forum(email enclosed). Though I do have time constraints at my end, but I will definitely file my complaint in the consumer court. More so, because I got three different feedbacks from your concerned officer, which clearly shows that you people are not sure about the mode of the activation for the GPRS service.



I am disgusted the way you people have handled my case, with such lethargy. But I can assure you, I will not take it lying down. Those monopolistic days are over, whereby the consumer could not do anything against the muscle power of the MNC’s. You cannot charge yr customer, when they are not using your services. Even though your client my pay yr charges in good faith, but it is Vodafone’s duty to ensure that they do not falsely charge their customers.



Regards,

Baji Sepoy

Phone : (+[protected]

.


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Corporate Assist [mailto:Corporate.[protected]@Vodafone.com]
Sent: Tuesday, June 23, 2009 1:21 PM
To: Baji Sepoy
Subject: Excess billing [protected]

















Dear Mr. Sepoy,

Thank you for your email dated 18/06/09, regarding Vodafone mobile connect service for Vodafone mobile number [protected].



We wish to confirm that Vodafone mobile connect service is active on the above mentioned mobile number via IVR effective 21/08/09.



We regret to inform you that we would be unable to provide you with the recording of the activation of the service on the above number.



We regret the inconvenience caused to you.


Now, activation/deactivation of services can be done easily via an SMS command to 111(toll free) and the service would be activated/deactivated accordingly. We have attached herewith a list of SMS service commands for reference.



In case you need further assistance, please do call or email us. We’ll do our best to help you.


Happy to help,


Alifiya Chataiwala
Vodafone Care
Contact numbers
Vodafone Care : 111 or +91-[protected]
(Toll free from Vodafone mobile phones within the home network)
Fax number : +[protected]
E-mail : corporate.[protected]@vodafone.com
Website : www.vodafone.in
















[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Baji Sepoy [mailto:[protected]@globeop.com]
Sent: Thursday, June 18, 2009 4:52 PM
To: Corporate Assist
Subject: Excess billing [protected]



Reshma,



This is the third contradictory feedback being given by your officer. First one was, this service was activated via sms. Second feedback was given by Dinesh, that this facility was activated via your Vodafone internet site. Now the third feedback is, it was activated via IVR. Fine if it was done via IVR, please can you send me the recording via a DAT file. Since these are digital recording, it should not be a problem in retrieving from your system. Let me hear the voice to understand, whether my wife or any of my family members have activated the GPRS service, when none of them were going to use it.



Please check your records, has my wife ever accessed internet after subscribing yr GPRS facility?. The answer will be a big “No”. Then why should she activate through any of the medium available at your end.



I am attaching my second email, whereby I had interacted with Dinesh, and he had given a complete different view of activating this service.



Please provide me with an evidence that my family member had activated this service. Any organization can tell me that such and such facility was activated on so & so date, and that’s the reason they are charging me. I cannot digest this crap when I am getting three different opinions.



I am surprised that company of such a big stature, cannot provide such a small evidence to their client.



Baji Sepoy

Phone : (+91) 22 – 40948899



.


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Corporate Assist [mailto:Corporate.[protected]@Vodafone.com]
Sent: Thursday, June 18, 2009 2:48 PM
To: Baji Sepoy
Subject: Excess billing [protected]









Dear Mr. Sepoy,

Thank you for your email dated 15/06/09, regarding your Vodafone mobile number [protected].



Further to our conversation, we confirm that your query has been addressed.



We wish to inform you that the Vodafone Mobile Connect service was active on the above mentioned number effective, 21/08/09 via IVR.


Now, activation/deactivation of services can be done easily via an SMS command to 111(toll free) and the service would be activated/deactivated accordingly. We have attached herewith a list of SMS service commands for reference.



In case you need further assistance, please do call or email us. We’ll do our best to help you.


Happy to help,


Reshma Khan
Vodafone Care
Contact numbers
Vodafone Care : 111 or +91-[protected]
(Toll free from Vodafone mobile phones within the home network)
Fax number : +[protected]
E-mail : corporate.[protected]@vodafone.com
Website : www.vodafone.in













From: Baji Sepoy [mailto:[protected]@globeop.com]
Sent: Monday, June 15, 2009 1:53 PM
To: Vodafonecare Mum
Cc: [protected]@yahoo.com
Subject: Excess billing [protected]



Hi,



I am Baji Sepoy[protected], I would like to inform that am thoroughly dissatisfied with your billing process. All these while I was never checking the details of my bills, thinking that an MNC companies would never cheat in their billing process. Today, I was shocked to notice that all these while from 2008, you have been charging my wife’s add card[protected], an amount of 499 towards GPRS service, which till date she has never used it.



Today, I was given to understand that my wife had sent an email in 2008, to activate this service on [protected]. I have one question to ask Vodafone, why should she activate a facility, which she was never going to use it ? Till date she has never browsed internet from her cell. May be my 7 year old kid, looking at all your advt’s could have activated this facility from her cell. Since my wife has never used this facility, and your company having charged her for last 1 year, it should have been Vodafone’s responsibility to have pointed out this excess billing being charged to her account. I do take the part onus on my self for overlooking the charges being charged every month. But this is all thanks to the good faith I had in your company(which does not exists anymore). Looking at this incident, I feel Vodafone has taken advantage of customers having faith in your company & your billing process.



Today morning I did a complained in your Complainedbilling department about this incident. The 1st officer did inform me that looking at my case, she will take up my case with her seniors and there is a possibility of me getting a refund upto 1000 Rs(I do not recollect her name). After that the line got disconnected, and I spoke with Arif Shaikh, who was not even willing to listen to the entire episode. He was just insisting that it is my mistake to have not checked my bills, and there is no way Vodafone is going to refund. He mentioned that I will have to pay my bills, and even pay for the next billing cycle. In my opinion this is worst than a day light robbery.



Well I have asked my wife to deactivate this service, and since it is partly my mistake, I will pay even for the next cycle. But I can tell you, I am not going to take it lying down. I am going to alert the Indian consumers though the consumer forum, stating that one does not have to keep a blind faith in MNC’s & their billing process. Even they tend to cheat their customers, and try to extract an extra pound.



Please do not think that I am doing all this to get a refund of 1000/- Rs. I am just totally dissatisfied with this whole episode, it gives a very poor taste from a company of Vodafone’s stature..



Please ensure that the GPRS facility is disconnected from her nos([protected]).





Baji Sepoy

OTC Derivatives Director

GlobeOp Financial Services

Interface11, Malad(West),

Mumbai 400 064, India.

Phone : (+[protected].



www.globeop.com



This email with all information contained herein or attached hereto may contain confidential and/or privileged information intended for the addressee(s) only. If you have received this email in error, please contact the sender and immediately delete this email in its entirety and any attachments thereto.

This email with all information contained herein or attached hereto may contain confidential and/or privileged information intended for the addressee(s) only. If you have received this email in error, please contact the sender and immediately delete this email in its entirety and any attachments thereto.

This communication (including any attachments) is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution or use of the contents of this communication is prohibited. If you have received this in error, please contact the sender immediately and delete this communication without copying.

Thank you Vodafone Essar.

Please also note that transmission cannot be guaranteed to be secure or error-free.


File attachment: image001.jpgThe file attached to this email was removedbecause the file name is not allowed.This email with all information contained herein or attached hereto may contain confidential and/or privileged information intended for the addressee(s) only. If you have received this email in error, please contact the sender and immediately delete this email in its entirety and any attachments thereto.

This communication (including any attachments) is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution or use of the contents of this communication is prohibited. If you have received this in error, please contact the sender immediately and delete this communication without copying.

Thank you Vodafone Essar.
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Aug 14, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments  7 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

i just want 2 now my mobile location which is stolen
[protected]
reply
Hi,
I, Abhishek kumar Srivastava having a prepaid mobile no.91-[protected] and handset is using LG GU220 which is GPRS compatible.

GPRS charges are getting deducted from my last 5 recharges as against this I am not at all using GPRS.

First three recharge times, my default home page is vodafone live and last two times i have made dummy web page address on which GPRS is not working even home page is also not opening on handset.

But still my balance get deducted on regular basis for GPRS usage.

I am not using GPRS, infact home page is also not opening on my handset.

I had a call regarding the same on 17/05/2010 at customer care for complain (198) there is a CCE Mr.Jitendra who was being very rude to me while talking.

I was saying to him that I have done enquiry about all the balance deduction and now it's complain for wrong balance deduction but he is saying that this is an enquiry repeatedly.

Kindly guide if customer says that he has already done his enquiry that what comes after?

kindly check why the balances get deducted when home page is not opening.

or guide me accordingly.

--
Thanks & Regards----
Abhishek Srivastava
+91-[protected], [protected]
Email- [protected]@gmail.com

Vodafone — Expiry of GPRS service before due date

My mobile no. is [protected]. I possess this SIM since more than 5 years. I have activated the vodafore GPRS (Internet) 2 GB for 30 days on 20th November, 2010. I got an sms on 25th November, 2010 that my internet service was expired, just after 5 days!! Moreover, an internet package of 450 MB for 4 days was activated in my mobile automatically without my consent. When I inquired regarding this, the customer care people said that I have deliberately activated it. Why would I activate 4 days package when I am already having 30 days package? Now, none of them answers to my questions. My call is always transfered to higher authories and I am put on hold for more than 30 minutes. None responds or picks up the phone. I am vexed up with vodafone.
ADVERTISEMENT

Vodafone India — Charges for GPRS facility not utilized by me

I have a prepaid account with Vodafone and they have been deducting GPRS access charges from my account. I have never activated GPRS with them and I am wondering how they can charge me for a service that I have not activated.
there seems to be some problem on ur website... it does not let me post the complaint. My number is [protected] Mumbai circle

Vodafone — service not given though charged

Hi,

I am Dhananjay Chaudhary a frustrated and ill treated customer of Vodafone with mobile number [protected], I have just got blackberry services from Vodafone 2 weeks back which were activated almost 3 days after they charged me Rupees 399 after several calls and more than 20 hours of call wait on their customer care they asked me to visit Vodafone centre and then it got activated. On the morning of 21st April 2011 I realize that my balance is rupees -26 (in negative).

I would want to bring to your notice specifically the below mentioned higlighted points:-

• I tried calling up customer care on 111 around 12:25, which has no option of connecting to a customer care agent to start with. (UNBELIEVABLE)
• Futher to this my blackberry services are also disconnected for which I have already paid Rupees 399 full amount in advance for the month.
• After numerous times of trying the CC and explaining them the problems i was facing, they had the audacity to tell me that " I had browsed internet so it has been deducted" I fail to understand why would they deduct amount if I have paid for an unlimited plan from Vodafone as claimed by them??
• Further they transferred me to a senior supervisor named Mr. Dharamveer and he explained to me that there are two browsers in the phone out of which one is free and the other is charged, and when I asked him as to how would i know about these glitches, he retorted back saying "if you do not have technical knowledge you should have called up the customer care and asked about it"


Finally I got my phone recharged and now have a Positive balance of rupees 60.898(after adjusting rupees - 26) I waited for several hours for my blackberry services to be activated, which are not yet activated so call up the customer care around 19:15 and again to the same repetition I can’t call up customer care, so took someone else Vodafone no and called and they say it’s all active and there is no problem from their end and gave me a toll free complaint no. 198 I called up on this no. from my prepaid no. [protected] and is answered by an agent and after explaining him all the situation he says all services are active there is no problem after my several attempts to explain him that they are not in middle of the conversation he asks me to hold and puts on mute and after 2 minute I hear some voices and few digits being dialed and I am transferred to the IVR the one when u call up the customer care on 111 from which I am unable to reach any customer spokesperson. I called back again on 198 and this time it was answered by an agent named Mr. Azad after explaining all the situation and my problem all over again again and again ,to my shock he informs me that if I download anything from my blackberry messenger I will be charged and in the middle I am again asked by him to hold he puts me on mute and I hear some keys being pressed and I am transferred to the IVR same on. After feeling that this is somehow being done purposely to avoid I called back again on 198 and was answered by an agent Mr. Dilip and believe me I had to explain all that what I faced since morning to him and he says sir your services are activated and u should get it recharged and they money is deducted because u sent an MMS 4 times that’s why I was charged rupess5.10 several times. and when I start explaining him furiously he asks me to hold and puts me on mute and for two minutes and then I hear some key being punched and transferred to the main IVR. This is so humiliating frustration and pure torture from Vodafone people. I decided not to call them back to avoid more harassment from them. still the services are not activated 22:30 when I write this out of pure agony and frustration and ask what can I do to get this sorted and the loss I have taken because of them who is responsible for this,
This how the agents are trained at Vodafone.
Is this how you bluff with customers and keep the costs hidden.
I would like Vodafone to take serious action against such customer care agents and a proper explanation to my problem created by Vodafone.
Sir
I Ravinder pal singh using vodafone. No. [protected] jihads a complaint. against. my service provided is that I Recharge interest pack on 11feb but company deduct my balance. On 12 Feb for using internet on my mobile so I complaint for that and they promise me that I will get my balance back. within 48 hours but now I still don't got my balance. So please look to this matter
With regard
Ravinder singh

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Vodafone India
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    37%
    Complaints
    25597
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    9095
    Vodafone India Phone
    +91 22 7171 5000 (HQ)
    Vodafone India Address
    Peninsula Corporate Park, Ganpatrao Kadam Marg, Lower Parel, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400013
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT