Videocon D2H — Repeated error message smart card not inserted properly (E04) and sub standard set top box

 
38 Reviews
 Jaishal Gala on Aug 12, 2014
I am a consumer of Videocon d2h.My customer id no is 77943190 and I have raised a complain for error messagesmart card not inserted properly (E04) with the customer care department andthe complain number is 242806194. The said error pops up three to four times ina day. Two out of three different engineers who visited to correct the errorhave suggested that the set top box cannot be repaired and we have to buy a newone or replace the existing one. I feel the product given (set top box) is ofvery sub standard quality and the d2h representative are marketing their new productand trying to fool the consumer to buy their new products. It’s a waste of timeto call the call center each time that do the tweaking to the box when theerror pops up. I have already recharged my account till 2016 and hence they aretaking advantage of the situation and not adhering to the solution.

Complaint Status


[Aug 12, 2014] Videocon Industries customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Complaint comments  37 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0Share0

Comments

True that
Same thing is happening to my connection wid customer id=90928640. can anybody help me out?
I am also facing similar problem E04-4 problem, video con customer care people appointed a technician he suggested we need to change the set top box, please suggest what steps we need to take ???
Even I am facing the same. When I called the customer care, they supposedly tried to reset it and nothing worked out on which their usual solution is that they will be sending a technician. Never in my experience of 4 years, has the technician visited in just one call attempt. So this time, I might just get rid of this connection unless you provide me with some solution that worked for you.
I am using videocon d2h service since 3 years, since one month I am getting error message E04-4 smart card not inserted properly. Not only me in our complex 5 users are getting same error message 5-6 times a day. Customer care executive is not able to solve the issue, they are recommending engineer visit but we need to Pay 200/- RS for that! I'm paying 750 RS for the HD package and since 3 days I'm not able to view any thing. Their home channels are working fine
If any technical problem at our end then nothing should work right? When my neighbour complained they removed home channel too! And for engineer visit they have deducted 400/-RS from the account
I have already complained, waiting for their response Orelse will shift to tatasky
Me to they want us to pay 200 rs extra almost every two month due to the problem with their box e04-4 or e06 or similare error ... made a mistake purchasing videocon D2H
I think we should go to consumer court and submit written application against Videocon D2H and demand to refund our money.
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Oct 7, 2016
Dear mk6114,

Please share your exact issue with your Customer ID, Complaint No. or Contact number with us, so we can get in touch with you and assist you at priority.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
I am also facing similar issue asking to re-insert smart card every time. Moreover the moment the weather is cloudy it pops up message that service is unavailable due to "HEAVY RAIN". Now the major concern is why the hell should I pay Rs200 for engineer visit. Its recommended by customer care executive for engineer visit because they are unable to resolve the issue on phone and also these idiots don't know how to resolve the issue. Simply they will ask to remove the set top box. (Have never paid anything in case of broadband failure and anything like that). I am surely moving to consumer court for such kind of service and having business due to human compulsion.
gs3388's reply, Mar 12, 2017
You are right Mr Ramesh these idots are unable to provide the support and ask us to pay visit charges and needs to get it rectify mannually, We should charge FIR against these corrupt companies .

It ia understood that if system is showing error of E 04 that means no engineer visit is required error is already rectify by system and team should provise us the support on telephone...

They are making fool of the customers
I am also facing similar issue asking to re-insert smart card every time. Moreover the moment the weather is cloudy it pops up message that service is unavailable due to "HEAVY RAIN". Now the major concern is why the hell should I pay Rs200 for engineer visit. Its recommended by customer care executive for engineer visit because they are unable to resolve the issue on phone and also these idiots don't know how to resolve the issue. Simply they will ask to remove the set top box. (Have never paid anything in case of broadband failure and anything like that). I am surely moving to consumer court for such kind of service and having business due to human compulsion.
Me to facing the same
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Dec 24, 2016
Dear Customer,

As you are aware that there was heavy rain/ Cyclone in Tamil Nadu and because of such unforeseen weather conditions many of our customer are facing signal Issues. Also, there is no power and telephone connectivity in some of the areas in Tamil Nadu due to which there will be delay in resolving your issue. We request you to please bear with us and our team is working around the clock to provide hassle free services. We request you to call our helpline on 07355873558 or write us back on customercare@d2h.com to help you further in this regard.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
Any chennai people facing any problem in DTH contact me [protected]
I have been facing the same problem for quite some time error E04-4 repeatedly. I was told by customer care rep to get it replaced, which will cost me 200 plus 200 tech visit, on top of that i have recharged it.
This is not my first time i have experienced with videocon.
It has been an on going issue it seems with every one of us
How disgracefull
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Jan 12, 2017
Dear Customer,

Please share your Customer ID, Complaint No. or Contact number with us, so we can get in touch with you and assist you at priority.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
Dear All user,

I am facing the same issue in my Dish and They are making fool of us...and asking me to pay visit charges for engineer.

I request we should sign a petetion against videocon for making fool of his customers and asking for extra money and according to me Setup box should always be with lifetime warranty ans we are already paying them huge money every month.

I request one should take the initiAtive to sign the petetion ank govt to allow them to pay penality to there users...

Thanks
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Mar 15, 2017
Dear Customer,

Please share your Customer ID, Complaint No. or Contact number with us, so we can get in touch with you and assist you at priority.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
Dear All,

Even I am facing the same issue. They are asking ne to pay Rs 200 for engineer visit. But my question is if their is any hardware problem setup box, even their own channels shouldn't come. All of Videocon own channel such as Home Channel 1, etc are working seamlessly.

Unfortunately I have reachred it by Rs 500 only couple if days back. Once my this recharge is exhausted, I am moving to new DTH provider.

Useless customer care who are always trying to leach customers.
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Mar 18, 2017
Dear Customer,

Please share your Customer ID, Complaint No. or Contact number with us, so we can get in touch with you and assist you at priority.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
I am also facing similar issue asking to re-insert smart card every time. After repetitive call, a engineer visited and said smart card has to be changed and it will cost 1000 rupees. After i agreed, he brings a new card and inserts that and later says TV board is gone and it will cost 7000 rupees. How come the home channels were working fine if the board is gone? Last year also i had the same issue and replaced the board. once in a year i face this issue and they are making fool of us with unnecessary reasons.

My complaint number is[protected]
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Apr 11, 2017
Dear Divya,

Request you to write to us on Customercare@d2h.com along with your customer ID & RTN no. to help you better in this regard.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
Facing the same issue. Till now replaced three set top boxes in last 5 years.
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Apr 24, 2017
Dear Customer,

Request you to write to us at Customercare@d2h.com to help you better in this regards.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
I Had Been Using Dish Tv 4 Years Back. But My Friends Told Me To Buy VD2H So I Bought It Thinking It's Good. But Later On I Realized That These Cheats Don't Come On Time And Constantly It Shows Smart Card Not Inserted Properly. When I Called The Customer Care They Told Us Engineer Would Visit Us For Free Of Cost. But Then The NexT Day I Gotta Call From The Local VD2H Provider That I Should Get The Set Top Box To Their Office And If I Need The Engineer To Visit My Place I Then I Need To Pay 200Rs. FIR Needs To Be Filed Against These Cheats.
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, May 27, 2017
Dear Zifan,

Kindly share your Customer ID and E-mail id, so we can assist you further..

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
I had been facing the same problem(re-insert smart card) since morning. i recharged for 3 months couple of days back. During last 3 years, I have replaced setup box twice and they are asking for Rs.200/-. it is hardware issue and they have to sort it out why we should pay everytime for engineer visit. They are using poor quality of setup box.

thanks
Venkat
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Jun 9, 2017
Dear Venkat,

Request you to write to us at Customercare@d2h.com to help you better in this regard.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
I am facing the same issue. Smart card not inserted properly problem.
In my box there is no visible smart card, so I have to restart it at least 10 times a day to get it working.
Smart card is inside the box which we can't access to, but somehow it works when we give it a restart.
Home channels are working fine and other channel works for not more than 30 min after each restart . If smart card is damaged or not inserted properly then how this channels work?
I have not yet called customer care but from above posts it is clear that they are going to charge for it.
What should I do guys?
I have 1 year plan activated.
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Jun 19, 2017
Dear Himanshujn,

Thank you for sharing your details with us. We will have someone contact you as soon as possible.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Jun 19, 2017
Dear Himanshujn,

Request you to write to us at Customercare@d2h.com to help you better in this regard.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team
I am facing the same issue. Smart card not inserted properly problem. For last many month my Id is 22812596.
In my box there is no visible smart card, so I have to restart it at least 10 times a day to get it working.
Smart card is inside the box which we can't access to, but somehow it works when we give it a restart.
Home channels are working fine and other channel works for not more than 30 min after each restart . If smart card is damaged or not inserted properly then how this channels work?
I have called customer care so many time they simply ask to pay visit charge every time without knowing our problem and they cann't tell where is smart card appear if our STB does contain, but now from above posts it is clear that they cheating the customer. I think we have to go to consumer form for these type of issue.
What should I do guys?
Videocon Industries Customer Care's response, Jun 22, 2017
Dear Upendra,

Please email us at customercare@d2h.com. We will make every effort to revert with resolution as soon as possible.

Warm Regards,
Videocon d2h Team

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    21%
    Complaints
    3791
    Pending
    490
    Resolved
    663
    phone
    +91 73 5587 XXXX
    location
    14 Kms Stone, Aurangabad-Paithan Road, Chitegaon, Tq. Paithan, Dist. Aurangabad, Aurangabad, Uttar Pradesh, India - 431105
    Videocon D2H - Repeated error message smart card not inserted properly (E04) and sub standard set top box
    www.bdomains.com