Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Airtel Prepaid — Duplicate SIM Not Activated

To
Mr. Manjit Kaushal,
Nodal Officer UP East

Sub: Grievance regarding mobile services - outgoing calls not enabled till date.

Ref:
(1) Complaint Number[protected] May 30
(2) Complaint Number[protected] June 2
(3) Complaint Number[protected] June 4


Note: All these complaints were registered at 121 the customer care service

Dear Mr. Manjit Kaushal,

(1) My name is Suddhasheel Ghosh, a student of Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur.

(2) On the loss of my previous SIM card and mobile, I applied to the Airtel Office at Kanpur on 13/May/2009 and got a new SIM (Mobile Number [protected]). I provided the necessary details as asked in the form.

(3) On 14/May/2009 I have got an SMS that my application for SIM exchange has been accepted. My incoming services were restored on on 15/May/2009 when I had left for my home town Jabalpur. However, outgoing calls were yet not enabled.

(4) On 30/May/2009 when I returned to Kanpur, I registered a complaint with the Airtel Office which has unfortunately not been solved till date even after registering the complaint 3 times.

(5) It is surprising that I had also mailed a copy of the complaint I sent to [protected]@airtelindia.com to the Nodal Office, i.e. yourself, but there was no response. I am attaching a copy of the mail herewith.

(6) With reference to the above point, and the mail which I sent to you earlier, I fail to understand why such a lazy attitude is being adopted to resolve the case. I am sure going to the consumer court would not be a very entertaining experience for you.

I request you to look into the matter urgently,

With regards

Suddhasheel GHOSH

The copy of the mail sent on 30/May/2009 to [protected]@airtelindia.com, with a copy to the nodal officer:
Dear Airtel Customer Service, UP East

I lost my mobile on the 9th of May at Delhi, and had immediately lodged a complaint at the Hauz Khas Police Station as well as reported the matter to the Airtel Customer Service at Delhi. They assured me that outgoing calls from the lost SIM would be barred within 24 hrs.

On my return to Kanpur, I applied for a duplicate SIM on my number [protected] at the Airtel customer service office at Kanpur with the necessary details/documents and the requisite payment of Rs 75/- (13/05/2009). The office had assured me that my number and SIM would be activated within the next 24 hrs.

On 14/05/2009, I received an SMS that my application for SIM exchange has been accepted (which was beyond the limit of 24 hrs!). Owing to an urgent situation I had to go out of station to Jabalpur on 14/05/2009. I reached JBP on 15/05/2009 and neither incoming nor outgoing were activated on my SIM. In the evening of 15/05/2009, incoming calls were enabled. However, I was not able to make any outgoing calls.

I feel angered, harassed and irritated to tell you that my outgoing calls have not been restored yet (30/05/2009). I have started wondering if callousness and laziness towards serving customers are properties which are considered apt for reward at Airtel UP East. I say this because this is not the first time when I have been harassed by the Airtel Service Providers (UP East).

My research colleague Susham Biswas, had sent an email to [protected]@airtelindia.com on my behalf (on 19/05/2009) applying for restoration of outgoing call facility on my number (as I had minimal internet access facility) and to no surprise, was given the most unsatisfactory response.

Please let me know:-
(a) Whether my SIM would be activated at all.
(b) Whether any punitive action would be taken against the employees of Airtel (UP East) responsible for my suffering (which I am sure would definitely not happen as callousness and laziness seem to be properties apt for being rewarded at UP East!)
(c) What is the best trick for getting hold of the Airtel Customer Service person at 121 as the response seems to be computerised (except Airtel - Delhi and Airtel - MP!)?

Eagerly awaiting your response,

Suddhasheel Ghosh
Student and Research Scholar
Department of Civil Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Uttar Pradesh
Was this information helpful?
Yes (0)
Aug 14, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments  4 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

My son who resides at Raipur, Chhatisgarh, India is a customer of your airtel mobile service. His mobile number is [protected]. He uses Sony Ericson Mobile. When he took out the sim from the phone, it is blocked. When it is inserted into other sim, the phone is saying sim blocked and asking to enter PUK. Kindly let me know the PUK of the sim, as there are many important mobile numbers saved in it.If you pass the PUK I will be very much thankful to you.
airtel prepaid call detail no.[protected]
I have taken the new number because of mobile lost, but its not activated till date.i had taken on 5th oct, 2009.
Kindly confirm and let me know on below Mob No.
udit
[protected]
ADVERTISEMENT

prepaid airtel no. — Duplicate sim not activated

My Air Tel Prepaid No. [protected], most humbly & respectfully i mohd imran S/o Abdul Majeed
I her by that I stand In need Of change my sim I request you same time but did not get any response
please activate new sim immediately this problem is last 12 days ia m the bussins man ,loos to my bisnass
My old sim no, [protected]
My new sim no. [protected]
I hope to start my new sim no.
Thanks
Mohd.Imran S/o Abdul Majeed Qazi Zada Amroha J P Nager U.P.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Airtel
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    43%
    Complaints
    50482
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    20200
    Airtel Phone
    +91 96 6339 5551
    +91 11 4266 6500 [Head Office]
    +91 11 4666 6100 [Head Office]
    Airtel Address
    20, Sarakki Main Road, JP Nagar 1st Phase, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560078
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT