[Resolved]  Barclays Shared Services — NATURE OF JOB

I am working with this company Barclays Shared Services is a big time fraud as they have swallowed my incentives for 5 months as they say that i had not performed well wherein i know the scores very well becoz it was me who was involved they say they are customer services but have sales as a major part and mislead new joinees

My Dear friend from Wave 1 CT,

Please don't take this personally I'm just abuising the company n not u (isnt this what the account holders of BARCLAYS also say...hahaha...how ironical)..Anyway,

The only reason why I can see that you think of BSS so highly could be because many have come and many have gone...but after lots of torture n humiliation you have been job posted to something other than calling in CT...It is a fact that the Company needs us as much as we need the Company...So it is not about investing lakhs on a person...It is about something called ETHICS...which the company lacks big time.

What will you say to a person who has been hired by telling lies. Or about someone who is absolutely sick, cant get up from bed...but your mamager tells you to come to office..if he/she( the manager) thinks that you are unwell..they will send you back home...RIDICULOUS...and all this because there are 50 people leaving the CT floor every month.they need people to cover the headcount..the only thing permanent in BSS is ATTRITION and TORTURE.

Opinions do differ but surprisingly 99% people who have worked/ are working in BSS have the same opinion..IT IS A BLOOD SUCKING PARASITE...

If someone can take humiliation n depression to get promoted after a year or two in this company...my advise is you are most welcome to join BSS.

Barclay — bad business

My credit limit has always been $700.00. Today, I went shopping. I had a balance of $440.00. I made a purchase of about $100.00. I was told my card was NOT GOOD. WHAT? I had plenty of credit left for that purchase. I was embarrassed.

I called the credit card company. Could not understand the accent of the customer "service" rep. After struggling to understand her, she stated that my credit limit had been lowered. I asked why. She said it was the banks decision. I stated I had always paid my bills on time, never late, why am I being penalized? She stated it was because I did not charge enough to make the 700 quota. I asked why I was not informed. She stated a letter should have been mailed. I never received a letter. I was embarrassed at the store today...

This company needs to be investigated.

Barclaycard — service

i tried to reg for online barclaycard services, the site locked me out. o.k maybe i did something wrong, i dont think so, so i had to call their call center, nightmare. they reset my login details which allowed me into my account once, then youve guessed it locked me out again. i just about managed to make a payment off my barclay card bill. please do not use this company they used to be just like any other card, but they have slid off the scale now, bye bye barclaycard.
all i wanted to do was pay them... thinking if they put a lot of barriers to stop you making payments then they can hit you with late payment charges.. now i get it.
At Barclays Shared Services they say it is wholly owned subsidiary of Barclays Bank PLC but I have my doubts, as there are only a couple of guys in the board of directors. Furthermore their offices are outside India, far away from BSS operations, and they visit occasionally to meet the managers at site.

At BSS they feel proud of growing numbers (employee headcount) however they never bother for employee welfare and retention. Leaving the the group at the top who are known to each other from previous organisations the actual workforce keeps on changing.

It is good to have people from your previous organisations as it creates greater synergy for accomplishing organisational goals. However just adding people to the organisation and putting them in roles to which they did not have any experience, cannot be in the interest of the organisation. There are examples of people who did not have any prior experience of a function heading the same function at BSS. To stand apart in the industry and to add value to the organisation each function must be treated as a specialized function and people on governing roles must be appointed basis their: merit, experience and qualification. BSS has good number of eloquent speakers who are good at giving directions but there are very few hands-on personnel; this strikes a chord with the phrase, ‘the taste of pudding is in eating’. They may have good managers but there are no leaders in them.

I have witnessed individuals who contributed when BSS was in the nascent stage; these so called foundation stones of BSS were disgraced and forced to move out. There is a well established fact that the actual strength of a tree lies in its roots and not the new branches at top. If the roots do not grow strong there are chances that the tree may fall some day.

The whole of the world is witnessing recession and the affect is visible in BSS as well; one of the supervisor who work at a lower level has been asked to push his direct reports to the corner, and create reasons get rid of people from his team. The team which is being reffered to was expanded few months back.

There is an irrational HR policy for compensation and benefits, people who had acquaintances were offered >200% on their last drawn package. Now they realized it is recession time and have come up with a standard approach but I think that’s too late. There are discrepancy in salaries at same level they did a benchmarking which made rich richer and others did not experience any change. It is utterly ridiculous to hire individuals with different experience levels and qualification and put them on same level/role, also a variation of >80% in their compensation. This is a clear example of HR functioning on ‘whims and fancies’ of certain individuals and not having a standard approach. There is no mediclaim policy for dependents of employees at lower levels. Only B6 and some of the chosen B5 are allow parking their vehicle in the authorized parking, it is like telling the employees that if you are not among the chosen few you are not authorized to come to office in your own vehicle.

I reckon my decision of joining BSS as, the worst decision I have taken in my career. the brand Barclays does not hold the same respect in my mind as before joining BSS. And it is not only I who thinks like that, checkout with people across BPO industry and you will know about it. I can sense the mood of colleagues also, some of them cannot leave BSS as they are overpriced and nobody will accept them with their current tag.
I agreed with the metioned herewith. also would like to add that,
at BSS Operation is pathetic. it only facilitates to top Management and there is no regard for an User or Associate at all.
the brand (barclays) has no ethics in terms of an Organisation.
it looks like completely owned by some of the guys holding top positions.
Iworked with barclays for 2 yrs and i[censored] ask me about employee satisfaction then i will reply 0% in my complete tenute with barclays sorry "BSS" i never seen any HR taking feedback from advisors regarding empoyee satisfaction and if they ask to fill any survey they u r forced to fill in all positive points because that survey is goes against team manager so you cant say any tind against him because its not his fault taht whats happening in the BSS not BARCLAYS PLC LTD.

Can any one of you please advice me about bss because one of my got an offer with bss so please let me know whether he can join or not please advice me on this my mail id is [protected]@indiatimes.com please come back to me soon

I joined Barclays Shared Services in sep 2008 last year as a Process Advisor. I had given lot of profit to the company was always good with my numbers, few months ago my team was changed and problem started thereafter, i am preparing for goverment services and i told this to my line manager and my team leader they put me in a wrong situation and fired me, i didnt hav any discussion with hr, they havent told me any thing.
The company had issued me an ultimatum letter on 10 januarary 2010. But the comapny terminated me on 10th Jan 2010 without giving me a single day notice.
Meanwhile the company had not paid me any thing.

Is there any way to file a legal compalin again this company.
I would lik to tell others as well this is one of the worst company in India, this is a BPO and located in Noida, this company doesnt have any feeling for there employees, and not even any respect for them. a worst company ever i worked with.
kindly advice.

Rajeev Barnwal
the company says they are customer centric but they are only sales centric, no customer service only sales call service, a blood sucking parasite who is growing on the blood of their own bloody advisors... so called process experts. some of the strange policies includes apologizing to an abusive customer, apologizing for the business being outsourced, people not getting leaves while they are sick as they are not able to meet number of req people, no policies for employee retention or control; attrition, forced overtime to meet so called business requirement, pathetic transport and hr. think twice before you join, don't believe any of the consultancies.
The day I joined BSS was the worst day of my life.
I joined BSS in the year 2008 and I am putting my papers in another few weeks of time from now. I really regret my decision of having joined BARCLAYS BANK PLC the so called gloried mission of PAUL RILEY here in India.

These guys have special task force of known & most cunning men around them specially hired for terminating, hiring stressed out job seekers, anybody who is willing to work hard for a compensation that is promised with lots of butter of incentives, and jam of “No Overtime” fake-promises.

Having worked under several managers in BSS I still am a process advisor in 2 years while many of mine colleagues have moved up the ladder. Well you can call it these guys had a gel in their lick.

From early 2008, 2009 & now 2010 all years I was 9A’s & 14B’s ………until 2010 when my stats fell a whopping D’s month varying with great inequality.
My annual appraisal for 2010 which is due in 1011 is big time screwed up well in advance thanks to my Team Manager. It’s the only reason that I am putting in my papers in very soon as I am now a Team Manager in another BPO. It’s like a burden coming off your chest. It wasn’t a good show at Barclays for me. Atleast me!!!

If you guys are joining OR planning to join “Barclays Shared Services” anytime soon defer it, and move on to Brand Names like Aegis, TCS, INFY, IBM, CONVERGYS.

There are no sick leaves. There is special instruction to Team Managers from Operations Managers to create reports against who take Unapproved Leaves which happens.
There are these funny girls who have special abilities (hanging around managers, and I am serious) they get leaves making so cute faces & managers are funnily so unaware, intelligently dumb that they without much of an issue they give away as many leaves.

There is no future planning for anyone working at B2. The Process Advisors are known as B2. The IJP’s are all planned internally. Those eligible apply. Now there was this IJP which came in December’2008, February, 2008, September’2009, December, 2009 & February, 2010. All applied. I as well as my colleagues & other friends. But my friends, girls were all tears hearing results, and guys were dumb struck.
Everybody was just one down the passing mark. I knew it. Being an All A’s grade year long how could I not pass the IJP. There were people who were 6-7 points down the passing benchmark virtually as we knew they seldom reached the monthly targets.

They gave the test, & they walked through the test & were shown the bench next to the Team Manager. The glorified new Process Experts.

Transport is a big problem in BSS.

Believe it or not, you get picked up 1 hour early & dropped 1 hour late. Its worse in normal days as well. Those girls living in NCR get a guard & a driver and can you imagine a girl being alone with them with 1 hour late drop. Who will guarantee their safety. They don’t have qualified people who can handle the transport. Late pickups are a daily routine & cabs are “Maruti Suzuki ECCO” with 6 people jampacked one guard and AC’s are not working even in the night.

They refer on prefer a refer scheme but it is valid only for higher level. Of the 10’s of guys my friends & I suggested with 3 yrs + exp only countable numbers on fingers were shortlisted. The money pending on prefer a refer was pending for more than 3 months for a couple of guys. And the HR manager, the so called poison ivy is always happily married to her files in her left hand a hanging from one manager to another all day. Mind you, should you speak anything inappropriate about any manager, she’s big mouth enough to immediately get it unloaded all on his desk for that cute “thank you”.

Welcome to BSS!!!

…. THIS ONE COMES STRAIGHT FROM THE OPERATION MANAGER…...
I complained & raised my voice against my Team Manager to the Operations Manager.
And you know guys what did this guy had to say. “Your Manager must be right, You guys always have some problem”

My sales stats sheet is big time screwed up. My own counting tells a diff story but when the company is not wanting to give you incentives then there is always a different reason & there is a way of taking the data off the sheets, considering the fact it is not a stats sheet locked onshore but it is made here, highly doctored & sent across to the dumb fellows back in UK.

There is this stupid SKIP meeting with the OPERATIONS MANAGER we have to attend & pretend everything is fine with the Team Manager. There is special effort by the Team Manager to procrastinate any complaint or action to be taken about a certain process betterment of for the better productivity. Should you have to say anything against your Team Manager, It is an implied warning that is written on his forehead that “Your Team Manager knows about it”

It all gets leaked up, & these guys show up as if they are our friends & wouldn’t tell anything to the Managers. An A4 size paper is given to everybody to write anything about the respective Team Managers, Process Experts, Other Team Fellows, so that there is a conclusive proof (though there is no name written on it, still it is a documented proof in our writing).

We guys are promoted to say anything that is fishy, [censored]y or against each other so that there is no unity & we guys constantly fight against each other. This is a planned thing done by the Team Managers & Ops Managers.

……….Now comes the biggest issue in Barclays ………….The Transport Issue……….
If you are in Barclays & you say what is Transport Issue, then either you’re the manager’s crack or you are trying with a diplomatic level in your response.

There was one day when I was supposedly to be picked up & the cab driver didn’t pick me up but reported wrong address. Howsoever, I complained to my manager & had to board a private commercial vehicle for about 200 bucks to report at work 4 hours late.
Guess what, the next day manager was so courteous to have hand me a WARNING LETTER from HR manager.

These HR people are very smart. They cunningly seduce you to join BSS wonderfully convincing you guys that you are joining a Bank Captive Unit. Little do those guys know that it is a “BPO” It’s a true lie packed with a glamorous HR TEAM of girls who pretend there is nothing wrong with the organization.

There are fake promises of being best paymasters. You have to do compulsory OT sometimes & if you try to act tired, I guess it is the right time to pull your socks and hear a disciplinary music that “when required you have to do an OT”

Just to show onshore guys in UK they show that we have guys working on Saturday as well. So my friends in other processes tell that they have WEEKEND WORKING concept.
If you take a leave off in weekday then you have to come on weekend as well.

There are no sick leaves. Seldom do you get one. Else Team Manager’s stats get messed up that their team is ahead in taking S.L.’s

If you are a girl, chances of getting more than 5 days of leaves a month are a guarantee for you provided you can be an entertainer. I knew this girl from another process I guess a surd, very sweet one. She was quite straight one. And she told me while we came together that she worked liked anything still her manager did little on her sick leave issues.

There is a common signoff often in the company saying that you are abiding by company policies a compulsory sign off, & little do the BARCLAYS BANK PLC in UK knows anything about the hire and fire policy, BSS obliges with.

They hire like anything, & fire without giving any notice. Complete blow off on the face of Mayawati, as per the guidelines o[censored].P.
There is no compensation on termination considering no notice has been served. There is a bundle of pending balance of paid leaves & OT’s that is misused at the time of termination. The Medi-Claim policy is a big joke for people at the lower level. So if you have someone like a child who is studying, first of all you should be in BSS but still you cannot claim anything of the sorts.

There is a strong circle of highly cunning, malicious people including the top brass, & there is ABSOLUTELY NO OPEN DOOR POLICY.
Having worked in CONVERGYS for a longggggggggg time, I could always feel proud of having worked there. I always felt on the top of world of being with Vertex about 6 years back. And I wanted to grow in BSS. But I am mentally so sick with the HR Policies, with the so called BSS-India Chief Paul Riley’s ignorance that when this guy shows up our managers specially tell us to keep smiling faces. You must see the those in the sickrooms. There is a special effort made to make people take Combiflam or Paracetamol and somehow show up at the office.
Can you guys believe it Combiflam is declared banned substance outside India for its harmful side effects & it’s a complete disgrace that you cannot take immediate sick leaves and must report to office. You will always get one there.

There is sometimes no nurse; there is always shortage of medicines & a complete waste of BSS money. There are no tissue papers in the washrooms, the samosas are always stale & there is this mysterious false fire alarm sounding every third with a voice “we apologize this was a false alarm”. Eventually those on call lose their concentration some people from other process raise their voices so much & their Team Managers are equally loud with little work etiquettes.

BSS is no money all big show. I worked like an *** year long but my incentive sheets has more Casual Leaves and little of incentives because it’s a PLANNED LEAVE OR PAID LEAVE OR SICK LEAVE beforehand but afterwards it becomes UNAPPROVED.

THERE IS A DELIBERATE MANHANDLING OF THE STATISTICS SHEETS BY THE OPERATIONS MANAGERS & TEAM MANAGERS INSIDE CLOSED DOORS. THE IJP SHEETS THEIR ANSWERS, PRODUCTIVITY CHARTS, ARE ALL TOO MUCH DOCTORED WITH.

There are managers who don’t have any work show up for 6 hours mark their 8 hours presence and leave early too often sometimes 5-6 times a month.

Then, often there are these Fish Trainings, MS Excel Trainings, White Belt, Green Belt, Blue Belt, Black Belt Certifications. It is all a gimmick to let you know that you are going up. In actually you are just changing the colors of your neck band.

Those who know the rules of the game well BSS is a challenge for you. There is no solution for this riddle but as my bro said above BSS SUCKS…………YOU READING THIS THERE YOU GUYS I KNOW.

You know this forum has attracted the attention of mightiest, wrong, bad men of BSS and so we have been getting regular updates on not to put anything in writing anyways outside. The shining way to bring up the glory of the company outside is this forum though which I have decided to raise my voice with other fellow brothers of mine.
Hi guys.. People who have not worked for BSS may be thinking that all of what is written on this site may not be true...But I would like to tell those people that every word mentioned on this page is true to the fullest. I am not scared to say that the 8 months that i worked for "Barclays Shared Services (i hate to take their name as well)..were the worst months of my life. I had just passed out from college and BSS came campus hiring to delhi university..We being freshers went for the brand name and were told that it is a normal back office job when it was totally and only calling and we lanaded up doing customer service..OH BTW the customer service part is of least importance there, it is just SALES SALES AND SALES..They call it upselling...HAHAHAHA...WHat A Joke...Having sales target that made me go into depression was the last thing that i could let have happened in my life...

My Manager was the worst person I have met till now..She was only ineterested in becoming the Number one manager with the best sales figures on the floor..She Had joined BSS at a level lower than Team Manager and I think because of her B***y attitude she became a manager. She used to pester us for targets and insult us infront of everyone.

She even managed to convert our half day working into full day working and make us work thinking that she will punish us. But nothing worked and she got kicked on her A** which was comfirting to us.

I had nightmares about her and the targets...She was horrible.

In the end I would like to add please don't join BSS if you want to have peace of mind...
this company SU*** man. Not at all employee centric..Even managers cant help it as they themselves are getting torched...This company sucks. Team managers whose team does not perform for the entire year gets promoted as Ops manager.I know you guys must be thinking its a joke no its not.This is what BSS is.If you keep licking the A*** OF TOP MANAGEMENT THERE YOU GO...I hope you guys understand.Advisors are treated worst than animals.its simply HELL to join.The Business Hr tries to act so good with the advisors however they are nothing but cheaters and paid servants of Top Management.All my friends complain about the Exit Interview taken by the HR. HONESTLY HR DEPARTMENT OF BARCLAYS SU****S. OOPS how did i forget to mention one very important thing HR who are not even qualified MBA"s are promoted at high level however others in HR who just work and are qualified MBA report to these fools...who have no knowledge of HR but they know how to lick A**S OF TOP MANAGEMENT...
Well there is a wealth of knowledge here and i must say the reader would be highly enlightened with such delusional crap.I have no intention of buying anything that has been written above or blow the trumpet of the company.The perspective regarding a particular company differs from person to person.This expereince can be good and can be really pathetic, so in all circumstances depends on what you have come across.

I have been working with BSS since 26/05/2008 (Wave 1 CT) unlike most of the people above.

And to all my dear friends have you ever thought that why would a company get hungry one fine day, wake up and start hiring people (tired frustrated job seekers) and then fire them after investing lakhs of rupees on them.Ironical .
ALL THE COMMENTS AT THE TOP ARE WORTHLESS. PEOPLE WHO DON'T DO ANYTHING MAKE EXCUSES. WE INDIANS HAVE A HABIT TO HUMILATE. BOSS THINK ABOUT THE TIME WHEN YOU WERE GETTING YOU SALARIES TO SPEND IN PUBS DISCOS AND OFFCOSE YOUR CIGRATES. INSTEAD OF COMPLAING YOU SHOULD STAND AGAINST THE SITUATION. I HAVE READ COMMENTS LIKE.. I WAS FIRED AND DID NOT GET ANY RESPONSE WITH THE HR. YOU TELL ME WHOSE FAULT IS IT. ITS YOUR FAULT BECAUSE YOU DECIDED TO JOIN ANOTHER COMPANY WITHOUT FIGHTING FOR YOUSELF. WHICH IS YOUR OWN FAULT.
HAHAHA...WORTHLESS? YOU ARE WORTHLESS WHO CANT STAND FOR YOUR OWN RIGHTS.TOLERATING VRAP FROM A COMPANY AND SCARED TO ADMIT IT. BSS SUCKS. IT IS THE WORST COMPANY EVER...N HOW DO YOU KNOW WE SPEND ON PUBS, DISCOS AND FAGS...I DONT DO ANY SUCH THING AND RESPECTED MY JOB BUT THE COMPANY DID NOT RESPECT ME.I WAS NOT FIRED.I QUIT AFTER THROWING MY ONE MONTHS BASIC SALARY ON THE FACE OF BARCLAYS. WE WERE HIRED 30 IN MY BATCH AND YOU WILL NOT BE SURPRISED TO KNOW THAT 29 LEFT IN 3 MONTHS...WHAT IS THIS?IS IT EVERYONE'S FAULT OR THE COMPANYS? THE ANSWER IS FOR YOU TO FIND OUT
There is no comparision between Barclays and Barclays Shared Services. It is the most worst company that is oprating in India. They recruit employees in bunch, but they are not bothered about the work to be allocated for months. The employee will quit on his own, otherwise they will send him out ...
Barclays shared services is disgusting to say the least
only couples are promoted here.
Hi i want to know can i join BSS in recon? Would it wortb for me?
Hi Guys,

I was an Operations Manager with BSS and I agree that its the [censored]iest place to work at. There are A**holes like Amit Nehra and Anupreet Kaur. People nor, ally kiss and make up but they sleep and make up.

Barclays
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    69%
    Barclays Phone
    +91 22 6000 7888
    Barclays Address
    View all Barclays contact information