Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  HDFC Bank — Unjustified Overlimit Charges

My HDFC Card No is [protected].

In the month of Jan' 09 HDFC Card has made an automatic payment of Rs. 24, 000/- to HDFC Standard Life. Sufficient fund was not available in my card account but still they made the payment but declined it. They have not taken my consent by any means before this transaction.

Threafter, HDFC Charged me Overlimit Fee of Rs. 600 for 3 months. I have asked them an explanation but they haven't given any. Due to there non response payment got delayed though i made the payment within a week of due date. Still they have charged me Late Fee of Rs. 600 for 3 months. Customer care executive of HDFC confirmed me that they will levy all these charges if i make a payment of Rs. 12, 000/-. I made that payment but they haven't waived the charges.

Instead of my repeated request (over mail & phone) the charges has not been withdrawn.

I feel HDFC is cheating the customer this way.

I would like to have a justified solution of this issue.

Kousik Roy
Was this information helpful?
No (0)
Yes (0)
Aug 14, 2020
Complaint marked as Resolved 
Complaint comments  4 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

Credit Card — unjustified overlimit charge and interest thereof

To,
Shri Shiva Kumar Tadikonda,
Nodal Officer,
ICICI Bank Ltd.,
5th Floor,
Mohd. Illyas Khan Estate, Road No. 1,
Banjara Hills,
Hyderabad - 500034
Ref. Card No. [protected]

Dear Sir,

I am an ICICI Bank Credit Card customer for more than 3 years now. My payment status is very good as I always used to pay total amount in one stroke whatever may be the amount. Since then I have maintained the same clean record. My credit limit was Rs. 58000/ till September 2009. Accordingly, ICICI Prudential Life Insurance Premium of Rs 20000/ was made on 25th September, 2009 by the ICICI card. But, in the statement dated 28th September, 2009, I was slapped Rs. 500 fine and some service tax of Rs. 51.50 on it for over limit charge adding the total to Rs. 20551.50 without any information of lowering down my credit limit to Rs. 10000/ instead the information printed on statement dated 28th September, 2009. If the prior information was issued to me, I never used the ICICI card as I have ABN AMRO, HDFC card in my hand.
On 07.10.2009, I called the customer service No. [protected] (Kolkata) and explain the matter to one Mr. Ashok and requesting him for reversal of the fake amount of Rs. 551.50 for which I was not responsible. I was informed that my reversal is accepted and a confirmation SMS will come to me within an hour. As I was assured for reversal of the extra amount, I made a payment of Rs. 20000/ though no SMS came till 10th November, 2009. Instead, to my utter surprise, ICICI bank again send a statement dated November 3rd for Rs. 925.24 as interest charge Rs 338.83 and service tax Rs 34.90 for non payment of Rs 551.50. It is not understood how Rs 338.83 is interest of Rs. 551.50.
Today, again I have tried to call the customer service through the menu guide, after 4 minutes finally I reached the customer service executive but before I could explain the matter the line is disconnected. In that case, ICICI should cancel my card as I cleared the outstanding amount without paying the fine for which I was not responsible.
Now, I have to say firmly that I could not pay any amount which is not really viable and if next statement is again generated further slapping any amount as interest or so I have to approach appropriate authority of Reserve Bank and I will lodge a case in consumer court for harassing me in false claim.
Please decide earliest and inform me within December 3rd accordingly. I am cutting the card into pieces and send it to you.

Yours faithfully,
Dated the 12th November, 2009
(KOUSHIK MANDAL)
Hi,
You can email us at [protected]@icicibank.com. We'll be glad to assist you. Regards,
ICICI Customer Service Team.
o 1 month ago
Dear Koushik,

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We'll contact you and work to address your issue at the earliest.

Regards,
ICICI Customer Service Team.
sir i already take credit card and i pay the amount and some interest .no i like to settle the card but they asked a huge amount as interest. my card no is [protected]
ADVERTISEMENT
Hi,
I Hold credit card of HDFC and the card no is [protected] & the limit is Rs 2500, i have received wrong statement of rs 28823/- from them today, with some over limit charges & cheque return charges of Rs 3000 & above.I had received one sms from them this month that your cheque is not cleared this month due some error on the cheque.I had redeposited Rs 1200 cheque again in this month to HDFC, still they have charged the returned charges.Please look into this matter and send me a correct statement to enable me to pay the amount before due date.

Regards
Arvind Shetty

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    HDFC Bank
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    58%
    Complaints
    28027
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    15409
    HDFC Bank Phone
    +91 22 6160 6161
    +91 22 2498 8484
    HDFC Bank Address
    Branch 542, Trade World, A Wing, Ground Floor, Senapati Bapat Marg, Lower Parel, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400013
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT