[Resolved]  Rto — Rickshaw and Taxi Fare in Mumbai too high

In Mumbai last fare hike for rickshaw and taxi was in 2004 and that time vehicles were running on petrol, now each and every rickshaw and taxi runs on CNG in mumbai but we are still paying the fare which was set for petrol vehicle. why is no one talking about this issue, i want to take forward this issue and resolve it. For e.g. The rickshaw's run on petrol in Navi Mumbai and there the minimum fare is Rs.13, which i guess will be now Rs.11 as the petrol has come down. In my view the rickshaw fare should be Rs.7 and taxi should be Rs.10, if they are running on CNG. I would like more and more people to understand this problem.

RTO — RTO No entry

I would like to launch a complain for the NO Entry set at Kondivitta, MIDC, Andheri east.

because of the No Entry we locals have to go round 2 km, even though my house is 100 meters from the no entry board. and this is not affordable.

The no entry should be for heavy Vehicles, and Bikes and small cars (Auto rickshaws) should be allowed.

Request your kind attention
hi all,
from past 3 days i have noticed most of the rickshaw guys have increased their meter readings as what used to count on meter as 6.30 2 yrs ago and now 7.20. however from past 03 days the meter showed 8.50 whereas it should not read more that 7.20-7.50. i would like to lodge a complain in rto..for rickshaw number MHO2-UA-6378. this rick showed a meter reading of 78 from malad to andheri flyover.
Fast meter and wrong card of taxi number MH01JA-3568
Today I got a rickshaw MH03 AK 1111 around 9.00 p.m. from Kurla Suman nagar signal to My residence Joy homes which is on the LBS road Bhandup (W) near the station. The meter was electronic one not the normal one and it had the display of the fare and kms and minutes. It showed the 13.35 kms and fare as Rs 123/- and 2 minutes waiting. On the road there was no traffic nothing. While yesterday around the same time i took a rickshaw from Sion Junction the signal on the LBS Road where we take a turn to go towards Sion station to my residence I had to pay Rs 121/- Here I got the traffic on the highway and i have travelled the same route but started much before and pay only 121/- but today i have avoided all the traffic and covered half way and pay more.
I request you to kindly check the meter of the above mentioned rickshaw number and take serious action against him.
Elwina Crasto
Today I got a rickshaw MH03 AK 1111 around 9.00 p.m. from Kurla Suman nagar signal to My residence Joy homes which is on the LBS road Bhandup (W) near the station. The meter was electronic one not the normal one and it had the display of the fare and kms and minutes. It showed the 13.35 kms and fare as Rs 123/- and 2 minutes waiting. On the road there was no traffic nothing. While yesterday around the same time i took a rickshaw from Sion Junction the signal on the LBS Road where we take a turn to go towards Sion station to my residence I had to pay Rs 121/- Here I got the traffic on the highway and i have travelled the same route but started much before and pay only 121/- but today i have avoided all the traffic and covered half way and pay more.

I request you to kindly check the meter of the above mentioned rickshaw number and take serious action against him.
Elwina Crasto
I here not to give any complain, Bit to appreciate the Regional Transport Authority for making all Schools to have there own buses for children, Because today we see the quality of buses running on the streets are the buses earlier used to ply on mumbai - nasik / mumbai - goa / mumbai - etc. The buses whose life are over are used for school. The school authority should be shame to use such buses. But they hardly bother because when they put entire responsibility on the contracter. Please keep your (R.T.O) stand firm.

THANK YOU.
Last night I boarded on Taxi MH01.X.2112 from domestic airport Mumbai to Arthur Road, normally the fare is around Rs 200. however I was quoted around Rs. 450. The Taxi Meter was absolutely tempered.
This morning at 7:20am I travelled by rickshaw (# MH-04-AK-4092) from Seven Bungalows to Chandivali as I normally do. The fare is usually in the range of Rs 62 to Rs.68. The meter showed Rs 92. There were no traffic jams or slow moving traffic.
This is one of the many instances that I am reporting and it is sad that the RTO is indifferent in tackling this growing menance. It's time the RTO wakes up and does its job.
This is to bring to your notice that we had hired a Taxi No. MH02 – 6741 from Senapati Bapat Marg, Dadar to Ranade Road, Dadar. After sitting in the taxi, The driver started arguing that he won’t go to Ranade Road and he want a long trip. Secondly Kindly inspect his taxi then you will come to know the horribly condition of the Taxi. The final thing he did was to spot the taxi in the middle of the road in midway and said that the taxi won’t go further as he wan’t to go somewhere out and not is this route.

Is this the way of taxi driver to behave. Kindly look into the matter.

Anthony
a Rikshow no. MH 02 RA-9965, who has charged me Rs. 25/- for a short distance from Goregaon Stn to Dindoshi, normaly i pay not more than Rs. 15/- for the last 3 years. i think the meter is fast, please check and take the action against the rikshaw wala's

thank you, regards
you are right i totally agree with u.
TODAY(05FEB2010) AT 9:15AM I HAD TO DROP MY SON TO SCHOOL FROM MANKHURD MAHARASTRA NAGAR RICKSHAW STAND TO THE SCHOOL AT NAD COLONY, ANUSHAKTI NAGAR, TROMBAY AS I WAS GETTING LATE I ASKED THE RICKSHAW DRIVER, AUTO NO. MH-02-SA920 TO DROP ME AT THE ABOVE ADDRESS, BUT HE REFUSED TO TAKE ME...

I WANT TO TAKE ACTION UNDER THE AUTO DRIVER FOR REFUSING ME TO DROP..
Dont cry about such minor matters. Look at us, we are getting REALLY FLEECED & THERE IS NO FORCE ON EARTH TO STOP IT.In major cities of Tamilnadu, COIMBATORE tops the rank of fleecers.The auto system here is:

Autos have fixed stands in each street, specially at street corners, least bothered that traffic rules strictly deter such corner parking, as it obstructs traffic. Autos pick fares ONLY FROM STANDS. Suppose your mother has sptrained an ankle on the road, NO PASSING AUTO WILL STOP, you will have to go to the nearest auto stand to get an auto. MEANTIME mother waits in agony.
STEP NO.1:
First you have to tell the automan where you want to go. "On main road or Inside" " How much inside, 10 feet or 1 km" "How is the road, is it bumpy inside" " are there street lights/dogs" "How many persons" "How much luggage" "What's inside" " have bill for the luggage?...FINALLY HE IS READY.
STEP NO.2
Now, the FARE. THE MINIMUM FARE FOR GETTING THE AUTO STARTED IS RS.FIFTY. Yes, Rs.50/-
and nothing less. It might be more, depending on-his mood/raining/nightitme/bandh.Then further bargain, say 3 kms. The fare would be Rs.70/-.Thats only if you are a local. GOD forbid if you speak in HINDI, then fare will be double. The dont want Hindi in tamilnadu, but its ok to watch Hindi Cinema & stars like RAKHI SAWANT & MALLIKA SARAWAT. So, 2nd PART IS OVER.
STEP NO. 2(a)
Make sure driver is not drunk.mostly they are. Make sure vehicle looks alright. In 60% of the time there are breakages on the way, he will stop to clean plug, or carburator, or repair puncture on spare tyre.

STEP NO.2(B)
Carry enough drinking water/short eats, it'll take long time.Autos here travel at just 20kph speed.

STEP NO 3.
CHILLAR ILLIYA. Means, no change. Even if your mother is pain, even if it is midnight, you must get the change, for give him the full note, whatever you lose, its his gain.

THE POLICE/RTO/TRANSPORT MINISTERS/MLAS/MPS must be having their own autos here. SO WHY BOTHER? Let public suffer. Their fault if they dont own a vehicle.The system is that autos return empty, to again stand in queue in their own auto stand, where they started.They cannot pickup passengers on the way, as other autos, in respective areas, will object.So, monopoly of high fares.

... From PARSEE GYMKHANA TO CADELL ROAD SHIVAJI PARK, YOUR BOMBAY TAXI COSTS JUST RS.16/-. GOOD CONDITION. NO HASSEL WITH FARE. TAKE TAXI FROM ANYWHERE AND GET DOWN ANYWHERE...

And you complain about Mumbai autos. WAH WAH WAH
HI i want to know why the Auto Insunrance is necessary...It compelelty depends on the owner if he can bare the expenses after the vehicle is damaged...how does Insurance make a difference for the government as an important document...i want to know the answer?
ON 2-3-2010 COME BY KURLA RAILWAY STATION TO DADAR BUS STAND IN MORNING 6.15 AM I CALL TAXI, THE TAXI IS STANDING ON TAXI STAND .HE HAS SAID THAT YOU GO BY METER OR FIXED I SAY I GO BY METER .AFTER THE DADAR BUS STAND COMES HE TELL ME THE AMOUNT OF RS 180 FROM KURLA RAILWAY STATION TO DADAR BUS STAND .I ASKED HIM THIS AMOUNT IS VERY HIGH THEN HE SAID 20% IS GIVEN BY PARKING CHARGES.NOTHING BUT THAT TAXI DRIVES HAS CHITING WITH TARIF .THE TAXI NO IS MH-03 F 3130 PLEASE TELL ME THAT AMOUNT IS CORRECT FROM KURLA TO DADAR.
the problem is getting more severe can the system will change because the majority of people are common man is been rulled by some minority theft.solution is that bind together and fight against them.
I would like to bring to your notice the dumped Vehicle Toyota on Palm Beach Road---Opposite Chandni Chowk to China
Under No Parking Sign. This has been brought to the notice of traffic police also, but they say FIR needs to lodged to remove this. To pick any unauthorized parked vehicle they dont need FIR.

1. This is a threat to local residents of Sector 28 & 26 as anyone can put it to on fire or put bomb inside it.
2. This is a mockery of traffic police, as it is parked bang infront of No Parking Sign.
3. Reflects total inefficency of the system in implementing rules.
4. Palm beach is becoming a dump yard.
5. Who ever owns this vehicle should dispose it of properly or RTO should sell it off.
6. 100 meters from this place you will see 3 to 4 more vehicles in same situation.
7. Why not penalize these 2nd hand car resellers who are making Palm beach an unauthorized parking place and a dumping place.
8. Also, unauthorized parking on this streach from Signal of Sec 28 to Kopari Bridge leads to heavy traffic Jam between
1930 to 2030.
I totally agree with you on this but to further add to your viewpoint I would like to bring to everyone's notice that rickshaw and tax guys cheat alot on the meter. They some how adjust their meters in such a way that u end up paying 5-10 rs more for a place that is actually supposed to be minimum. For eg: if a person takes a rickshaw from dandapada (khar west) to station it was previously minimum but nw they take 12rs on sharing and i[censored] go by meter it comes to 15rs. Similarly i[censored] take a rickshaw from dandapada to santacruz (st. teresa's convent) it used to be minimum, i remember paying 5.50 or 6rs then the fares went up and it was 7rs which is minimum but now i[censored] go to the same place through the same route it becomes 17rs. This is utter nonsense. Why should we pay more when we being residents of mumbai knw how much the actual fare should be, every rickshawala adjusts his meter to earn 5-10rs more on minimum fare and no citizen of mumbai voices out and goes against being exploited. No political party or the govt can put an end to this cheating business by the auto rickshawalas and taxiwalas.Again i[censored] take a rickshaw from dandapada to vakola datta mandir road it should be 25rs but these rickshawalas make it to 35rs somehow. There is no reason for the fares to be increased, instead they should be brought down and their meters should be changed or monitored regularly so that there is no way for them to cheat the public. Better electronic meters should be installed in every rickshaw with the proper tariff, distance and amount of fuel consumed for each distance being mentioned. All details should be mentioned on the rickshaw and the new meters should be tamper proof. Also every rickshawala and taxiwala should have a legitimate tariff sheet pasted in their rickshaws, that which is signed, stamped and sealed by the govt.

I earnestly plead to the public to wake up and support this cause and voice out themselves because ultimately we also earn money get the hard way, we don't get it falling down from the trees and when people like these come and cheat and snatch away our money, it really pinches us heavily.

Rickshaw & Taxi Drivers — high fare

Rickshaw waalas at sector - 8, Hanuman mandir, Faridabad for the last two-three months are charging double - tripple the money than the actual fare. If one wants to go for 1 KM distance on rickshaw, they ask for 10-15 Rs. The actual fare is Rs 5 only. They simply say that they will charge a minimum of Rs 10 irrespective of the distance travelled.
I Travel daily from Thakur Complex to SEEPZ Andheri(E) via Jogehwari Link Road. The standard fare inclusive of traffic & Signals is in the range of 72-82(during Peak Hrs). Maximum Auto's have a +5 mtr and when we tell them they agree but, today I travelled in MH03AA560 his Meter showed 93 that too in the afternoon at 2:00 with minimum traffic. When I told him the same he initially resisted then took fare as per reading 80 only. I'm complaining here because others who don't know the same might be paying such high fares and actually its way too incorrect. The other provided is throwing an error so posting here itself.

RTO India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    10%
    RTO India Phone
    +91 99 7176 8881
    +91 99 2399 4223
    RTO India Address
    Transport Department, 5/9 Under Hill Road, Delhi, Delhi, India - 110054
    View all RTO India contact information