AO Smith Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 3, 2025
Complaints 379

File a complaint to AO Smith

Having problems with AO Smith?

File a complaint and get it resolved by AO Smith customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

AO Smith reviews & complaints page 19

Abhijit M
Mar 24, 2017

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700035

The equipment was purchased from great eastern trading company co., sinthi more as on 11 march 2017, invoice number: 13/sa/1617/20972. The equipment was sold to me with the usp.."great after sales service". The sales person named sayan assured that the equipment would be installed, even if i would not be around and my aged parents would not have to bother regarding after sales services. Since then i was out of station and my parents took a cycle rickshaw to visit great eastern trading company on two occasions for follow up. As i am writing this letter, the equipment is yet to be installed.
The installation agent claims that the first date was cancelled from our end which is blatant lie. Interestingly, the systems have also been updated accordingly and we are receiving sms regarding the same. If this is the way the after sales service of the equipment functions i am scared to think how this relationship will progress in the near future.
Appalling to say the least!!
AO Smith customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

karthik.chinta
    Mar 10, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560103

I bought two AOSmith Geysers 7 months back with one year free service as per the Terms & Conditions. Due to the ground water hardness, the geysers are becoming very noisy and I raised a complaint yesterday for the service. I encountered the same problem 3 months back and that time a service engineer came and he cleaned the geysers. And this problem is quite common in our apartment and all flat mates who are using AoSmith geysers are raising complaints and get it sorted via AoSmith Technical Engineer visit. But now the customer care representative is telling that they changed the Terms & Conditions in last month and it will be done only via charge basis. When I asked how can you change the rules without intimating the customers, his answer is "they have the disclaimer in their website to change". I requested to respond to my mail about the same that they changed the rules and he said he is not authorized for that. I even asked to forward my mail to whoever has authorization to respond formally, he is reluctant for that. And finally he closed the discussion by mentioning that I can do anything as per my wish. I am not worried on the money part, but more on changing the rules as per their wish. If there is a rule change for any product, then that should apply for new customers but not to the existing customers. If that is the case, there is no value to Terms & Conditions what we have at the time of purchase and it is a huge risk to buy from AoSmith.

sonax90
      from Guntur, Andhra Pradesh
      Feb 13, 2017

Address: 700051

Customer Name - Bharati Saraf
      Customer Registered Mobile Number - [protected]

I am writing this email on behalf of my elder parents who is the register customer for the product (details see above).

I would like to inform and bring to your notice the pathetic state of your service for water heaters by your technician. Being a senior citizen i am taking the pain here to write in details what has happened to a simple service request raised by me.

I raised a complaint through customer care 19th Dec for general service of my geyser. The complaint was raised and assigned to Mr. Kundan with mobile number [protected] on 20th Dec.

The very next day the it got automatically re-assigned to Mr. Asutosh with mobile number [protected]. Thereafter quite shamelessly the it continuously kept on updating as "Customer has asked to Hold". What a joke! Meanwhile i received no calls whatsoever from your technician.

This phenomenon kept on happening every single day till 24th Dec. On 24th Dec i received the very first call where the technician mentioned he is coming immediately, however due to absent of a male member at that time he was requested to come a bit late around afternoon which he readily accepted and promised to turn up.

But Mr. Technician did not turn up again and the same phenomenon started again with automatic status update "On Hold Due to Customer Request" till 26th Dec when at 5 PM i received a shocker saying "Request auto closed due to 7 days inactivity" What nonsense is this? Do you guys even bother to trainer or monitor the guys on the field to do their job properly.

There is a delay in writing this email as my parents were out of station and is now back at the registered address. While i strongly recommend you to take this up and provide a resolution at the earliest.
      Meanwhile, i am going to write to your higher management as well informing them the same and registering complaints against your technicians i.e. Mr. Kundan and Mr. Asutosh for wrongly manipulating the status.

Hoping for a quick turnaround from your end to do the least of solving this issue and stopping me from making even further escalations as i am seriously pissed off with these attitude.

Bharati Saraf

shivak_8386
        Jan 20, 2017

Address: 560100

I have bought a 25l AO Smith Geyser which works with remote control. It is still under warranty period. I raised a request for repair of geyser as it was not working and next day morning i.e. 10th Jan 2017 a technician visited my place and checked the geyser. He said PCB is not working and he ordered for the new PCB right away.

It has been 10 days now, and i still hear from your service people that the part is pending. I call them everyday and i get the same response. Do you really need 10 days to replace the part of the geyser? If yes, then i regret buying AO smith and will NOT recommend to anyone in future.

I have no clue when the part will arrive . Even your service technicians have no clue. This is becoming an annoying experience.

Please look into it or replace my geyser with a new one.

Service Request Numbers

My Phone Number - [protected]

Shiva K

vksror
          Dec 22, 2016

Address: Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh, 201305

I purchased AO smith water heater HSE-SDS15LTR on 01/11/2016 from PayTM. As part of the offer i was suppose to get additional panel. After repeated follow up and making number of calls to AO smith I am not getting it. AO Smith is always ask for to wait or promise a call back, many times they confirmed to provide tracking numbers but of no use. Their executives are completly failed on their promises.
          They are cheating the customer on the offer provided. Customer service is just trying to fooling customers.

Vikash Kumar
          Dec 26, 2016

dinesh_saili
            Dec 7, 2016

Address: Gurgaon, Haryana, 122101

I purchased a 3 Ltr instant geyser from AO smith in Feb 2015 which is still under guarantee. But in spite of lodging complaint on 18th Nov and subsequent follow ups nothing has happened so far.

even after rigorous followup the technical person came and assured to replace some part and nothing happened till date.

i feel like mentally tortured by AO Smith as i have to start calling them up every morning and then listen to their bluff.

amit sir
              from Raipur, Chhattisgarh
              Sep 10, 2016

Address: Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh, 482001

I have purchased ao smith water geyser from your rel digital jabalpur. i went there for purchasing bajaj water geyser but all your representatives just forced me to purchase ao smith due to their commission.then i puchased ao smith due to your crediblity but from that date i have been so many issues for that geyser. its not working well so many times i have to complain. it has not given me a one month proper service. u can see the history. before two months the tank start leaking. it had been resolved in three months. after 10 days relay has been stopped working so water is not heating. i have contacted rel dig service centre before 20 days but nobody came to repair it. i have also talked to bhopal mr sunil khanuja that perso is very irresponsible. he doesnt pick the phone.every time he speaks a lie. he always told we are taking the approval. 20 days have been passed and the problem was not resolved. the geyser was under warrenty upto november 2016.but they are passing the time. sorry to say very poor services of rel digital jabalpur.i am your regular customer . i have purchased samsung led tv, usha food processor cooler and prestige cooktop. but they are not listening my complaint. please try to resolve my problem as soon as possible. change your service head mr sunil khanuja bhopal. i have so many evidences regarding him that he doesnt listen the complaints, doesnt pick the phone, very unprofessional employee. do resolve the problem. amit kumar gupta jabalpur registered customer. reg mobile no [protected].

Manjesh Shantharaju
                Sep 8, 2016

Address: 560010

I purchased AO smith water heater HSE-SES25LTR on 07/11/2015 at Adishwar Electro world Rajajianagar bangalore - Bill number[protected] at price 11800 Rs. As part of the offer i was suppose to get additional panel. After repeated follow up and making number of calls to AO smith as well Adishwar still i am not getting it. Now they want me to pay additional 300 RS to get this panel. Till now i would have spent 200rs call charge. They are cheating the customer on the offer provided. Customer service can't help us and they don;t have clue.
                Oct 11, 2016
                Sep 08, 2016
                AO Smith Customer Care's response

We request you to kindly provide earlier case number or your mobile number to fetch your data from system, we will surely support you. Please mail your details to [protected]@aosmithindia.com mail ID.

AO Smith Customer Care Team.
                Purchased 10 litres ao smith geyser from avon enterprises, supela, bhilai on dated 25.12.2016 serial no.: hse-sas-010, b[protected]

their is water leakage from cold water inlet pipe valve section during installation.

Kindly depute your engineer for the same.

Rgds,
                sobhan rao, bhilai.
                I purchased a geyser from reliance degital south avenue mall jabalpur . They delivered me old n 4 star rating geyser .but i was purchased 5 star rating . Perhaps this on is used geyser.i contac all concerning no one take it seriously.mai to thag liya gaya yar

haseeb12
                  Aug 3, 2016

Address: 508001

I brought the ao smith geyser last year. It has a warranty of 3 years.
                  I have an issue with geyser, i am just getting air from the tap, when i called the customer care, they are saying they wont provide the service in nalgonda, telangana (508001). Better to contact your local plumber. Now please help me then what is the use of warranty when they cannot provide the service
                  When we start, it is displaying RO and SCPA. Kindly examine the error incurred in the system.

swd99208
                    Jun 6, 2016

Address: 89131

In August of 2013, I replaced my old water heater with a new one as indicated by the above model number. It did not last even 3 years. I called the customer service phone number and the troubleshooter indicated it was most probably a condensation problem. I had water flowing everywhere so I called my home warranty company and they sent a professional to my home and indicated that the tank had failed.

I was informed by the phone representative at AOSMITH that a replacement unit would be provided but the new unit would not have a new unit warranty but instead start at year 3 from the previous failed unit. I questioned the phone representative and and she told me that this is company policy. This is quite absurd to me because it is a new unit and the warranty in my mind should be all inclusive as a new unit.

Further, I might add that I have a GE water filtration system that filters out hard water as it enters the house so the implication that the unit failed because of hard water is also absurd. At the very least, I should get a new warranty since it is a new unit and would appreciate some sort of compensation for what I consider to be a failed unit of so short duration since it is costing me nearly $800 to have a new unit installed. The old unit was clearly flawed and did not even last half of its project normal lifetime.

Nishant Satyam Singh
                      Feb 26, 2016

Address: Panchkula, Haryana, 134109

This incident happened a couple of months back. Technicians from AO Smith did visit my place and replaced the Geyser however they were unable to give me any explanation to why this horrible incident happened.

Although nobody was harmed in this terrible incident however the fire badly damaged my wash room and the plastic fumes that came out from the burning geyser damaged the wall painting of my flat. I was never offered any compensation for the damage that was caused by your product.

I kindly request you to consider my case, Also find attached the incident pictures. I truly hope AO Smith will consider my request for compensation.

Nishant Satyam

surinder kumar
                        from Pathri, Maharashtra
                        Oct 13, 2015

Address: 134109

Hello I have purchased 2nos of AO Smith Geyser from United Lights Sco 18 sector 18c Chandigarh Sr. no B[protected] & B[protected] on 21 -11-14 The dealer informed me that he will request the company to supply decorative panel In the mean time we visited USA to our children . On our return we found that we did not receive the panel at home After many reminder to him now I am lodging complaint to u against the dealer for not supplying the panel So u r requested to lodge a formal complaint against the dealer and supply the decorative panel I am considering to buy two more geyser but I have to reconsider it if I have to get service like this Kindly take prompt action and reply I hope u will appreciate my genuine problem Thanks Yours Truly Surinder Gulati [protected] 1088/2 Panchkula [protected]@gmail.com

Megha Agarwala
                          Dec 28, 2013

This is with reference to our purchase of a geyser (AO Smith HSE-SES 25L Water Heater-White) dated 12.12.2013 from Great Eastern Appliances Pvt. Ltd. Kolkata. For your reference our purchase invoice no. BB/CM/06900/13-14. Unfortunately, the geyser purchased is creating a lot of loud sound. We have lodged a complain to the costumer care and the person who visited us said that due to iron in the water, the geyser is producing these noises where as we have three other geysers which has no such issue and they have been running smoothly. I would request you to look into this matter seriously. Awaiting your quick response. Thanking you, Megha Agarwala [protected]
                          Mar 15, 2014
                          AO Smith Customer Care's response
                          Dear Customer, We had resolved issue faced in WH, we hope solution provided is as per your satisfaction. For any concern,if any, we would request to write us at our grievance cell [protected]@aosmithindia.com. Thank you AO Smith Service

gurji74
                            Nov 7, 2013

I had purchased 15lts AO Smith geyser last 4 days back. I complained so many times to their call center ([protected]) with a Request no. 05953261 but nobody bothered to install the product. On first request, they convey me it has been installed within 24hrs. After that their installation engineer called that he will not come at the site as that area is not belongs to him. Same had convinced to their call center but till the writing this note, no action have taken from them. It’s very pathetic service here we can very well understand how their service will be in future. Gurjinder [protected]

andrew22
                              Jul 29, 2013

Address: Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh

Recently I purchased a Jaguar Geyser on the 13th of June 2013, my geyser stopped working after using it for a few day. I lodged a complaint ON THE 4TH of July at the Customer care and after repeatedly calling them the service man came and told me that the PCB needed changing and that it would take 10 days. I have been calling the customer care but no action has been taken.
                              Please Help

achintya_banerjee
                                Jun 11, 2012

Address: West Bengal

I have purchase 1 No. AO Smith Jajuar 10 Ltr. water heater. Water Heater Details as follows :

Make : AO Smith Jajuar
                                Model : EWJ 6, 10 Ltrs.
                                S/N : BO[protected]

The Supplier Details as follows :

GANGULY HARDWARE STORES
                                B/7, BAGHAJATIN, KOLKATA - 700 092
                                WEST BENGAL, INDIA
                                Phone : 24147620, 24253408,[protected]

I have not yet received the Safety Valve & Drain Pipe along with the Water Heater. I have paid the money in cash to Ganguly Hardware Stores before Delivery. The Plumber persons has came from Ganguly Hardware along with the Water Heater & they have install the Heater. Being a layman I was not aware of the fact that Safety valve & drain pipe has to be there. Few days befor there was a power cut & I vae book the call. Your Engr.Mr. Joydeep has attend the call & he has ask me for the Safety Valve & Drain Pipe. Then I have came to know. the fact.

I complain this matter to my supplier Ganguly Hareware Stores. But they don't bother about the problem even after repeted reminder also.

So pls. help me & deliver the Safety Valve & Drain Pipe. Hope I can expect good service from you.

Bill No. : 34737
                                Bill Date : 26/01/2012
                                Supplier Ganguly Hardware Stores

A. Banerjee
                                A/146, Baghajatin, 2nd Floor, Flat No. 8
                                Kolkata - 700 092
                                West Bengal, India,
                                Mobile No. [protected]
                                Email ID : [protected]@yahoo.com,

AO — Complaint

Even I have received an appointment letter from Emirate Airlineservices, UK. It was surprised to note that, I had sent only my CV and how it is possible that, without taking any personal interview, they have sent appointment letter through their recruiting agent.Please send full description of the same also let me know whether it is genuine or fake. The details of the company are given below: -

EMIRATES AIRLINE GROUP
                                TERMINAL 2 DEPARTURES HALL
                                MANCHESTER AIRPORT
                                POST CODE M90 4QX, UK.
                                PHONE: [protected]
                                Email; [protected]@yahoo.co.uk OR [protected]@emiratesairline-groups.com

SMITH JAGUAR — GEYSER WATER STINKS

I HAVE THREE SMITH JAGUAR GEYSERS AT MY FLAT. ONE OF THE GEYSER HAS SOME PROBLEM AND THE WATER AFTER GETTING HEATED UP, STINKS VERY BADLY. PLS SEND UR TECHNICIAAN TO CHECK AND RECTIFY IT.
                                THANK YOU.

rams88
                                  Feb 14, 2012

I have purchased AO Smith Jaguar Model EWJ 25 I about 2 years back, suddenly the geyser stopped working. After that, I had a tough time to register my complaint. None of the numbers given in hand book or given in their web site is found to be working.. When I contacted Delhi office, the phone was continuously advertising their AO Smith products rather than anybody attending the call. Later, when I contacted the Southern Office, one person gave a number 33004455 which has only the automated recording facility. These pepole, they don't want to hire even an operator. After several recorded complaints ( I felt as if i was talking to wall, since it was only one way communication), till now there is no response.

I feel that I have made a mistake by buying this kind of product and I will never purchase of any product of AO Smith Jaguar in future.

surendersuman
                                    Dec 18, 2010

Address: Jhajjar, Haryana

new instalatin is to be done and the front pannel is to be changed from white to red brick color
                                    also free demo is desired.

V Rama Rao
                                      Jan 7, 2010

I have given a complaint to Jaguar service centre at Hyderabad but their response is very poor. neither their are lifting the phone nor responding to the computer auto register complaint. Because of non attending of geyser I am suffering. Please do the need ful
                                      why did u buy an ao smith 1st of all ... didnt you see under the piece before buying it where is it manufactured, this company is no indian company its a chinese company manufacturing it and is marketed by ao smith.. you would really be surprised by the power consumption of ao smith when u get to no how much it consumes...
                                      Hello.. AOSmith is american, and not chinese.
                                      This company gives good products and is more reliable than indian brands. Atleast they are very long lasting. As far as i know, they give longer warranty also: 5 or 10 years.
                                      by the way, problems in servicing may be because of local service people. i am from hyderabad and i have seen problems in services from ifb, aquagaurd, whirlpool, while lg, onida are good. its not because of company but local franchise that take up servicing contract. so better escalate to AOsmith higher authority and things will start moving
                                      that company is a very big amercian company then why cant it manufacture their own water heater. why they are importing it from china and branding it. They came to west bengal in 2008 it made them hopeless and made them sorry for west bengal but now they have tied with jaguar and they are marketing that products in west bengal. the people who purchased the product from ao smith gets no service. the people who purchased ao smith - jaguar then it available to them. they provide total crap and it waste of money. Why goverment allow such a act in india. these type of company makes fool of indians and gather enough money and then they are out of market.

If they are good then why they are charging 10 litre water heater @ 6000/- approx
                                      while the cost in china is 750/- + 550(import duty) + 500(for branding and general expenses)
                                      They are bugging up money from india and we fool say that AO Smith is a very renound company because it from america.
                                      Pathetic product and service is even worse. I have just installed 3 geysers and 2 of them are not working in a months time… Itni badi ‘American’ company hai to Mr. Praveen, kaam bhi dhang se karna chaiyea. Our Indian brands put them to shame…
                                      What is a storage water heater after all. It is a heater fixed to some container with water inlet and outlet pipes and a thermostat. Why it should cost 6000 rupees. Cost of the water heating elemnet is not more than Rs 200, cost of the ms container with plastic coating is also not more than Rs 200. Cost of stainless steel is less than Rs 200 per kg. thermostat costs less than Rs 50.

This is a cheating business
                                      ao smith says manufactured in bangalore i recently visited the plant ... damn i couldnt believe what i saw they import all the spares from china and assemble it and market it here in india...
                                      the company no doubt is american but the companies technique is good to make money in india import from china market in india recently i purchased a water heater from china 25 litres costed me 2600 + 1750 glass coated Ms tank and glass sheated coil for importing after seeing ao smiths price tag of 7500/- for a 25 litres.
                                      ao smiths coil costs 1500/- rs each hahaha i got 4 spare coils from china at 500/- ...
                                      ITS A RIGHT COMPLAINT THESE GEYSERS ARE SUCKING.. THE BIGGEST MISTAKE TO BUY THIS...

ao smith jaguar — geyser not working

I wont get any demo of the product from the company.
                                      they are not giving any true response regarding the product.
                                      I have made a similar complaint to them on auto registering system. No action has been initiated till date. I am in Bangalore and still waiting for response

We have a 25Ltr Smith Jaguar Gyser Model No.EWJ251 Product Code no. EWH251E42D3251 is not working.

I request you to depute your engineer to rectify the problem.

We await your call for confirmation.

Tushar Agarwal
                                      [protected], [protected]
                                      Email : [protected]@gmail.com
                                      Why shouldn’t we join hands and go for a consumer redressel and force this type o[censored]nscrupulous manufacturers to shut their operations in India.
                                      A O Smith Jaguar brand name from USA

We have lodged compliant to GURGAON (Bangalore CC not operational) CC related about Geyser(purchased 5nos) 3nos not working. we never experienced such a worst Costumer Care. the management spoiling BRAND IMAGE
                                      dailed BANGALORE the service disconnected long back.
                                      dailed GURGAON only reply i get SERVICE team will get to you.
                                      dailed CHENNAI to collect alternative number to call but he responded that to call[protected] the same disconnected.

IS anybody to attend my request. [protected]
                                      I have bought AO - Jaguar 10L water heater. I hardly used it for few months...but now it is not working. There is a short circuit and thereby current leakage. I tried calling the customer service[protected] every alternate days for the past 1 months and they always keep giving the same reply. "WE WILL FORWARD YOUR COMPLAINT TO CHENNAI BRANCH." or "WE HAVE ESCALATED TO THE CHENNAI BRANCH MANAGER AND THEY WILL GIVE YOU A CALL IN 24 HRS". But nothing happens even after a week. I am also using Venue geyser for the past 10 years and I didn't get any problems so far. I got attracted by the looks and bought this one, though it is priced more than other Geysers. My sincere advice is not to make the same mistake which I made.

Let me see if anyone gives me a call.

Senthil
                                      +[protected]

I would like to escalate this to the highest management of A O smith. I was not aware that you guys have such unprofessional post sales services and your technicians are highly unskilled and immature as your products are.

I have purchased the geyser 1 month back and its creating lot of sound. When I lodged the complaint, the technician which was send was highly unprofessional . He misbehaved and acted like a Bully and Gunda and said that you have to live with this noisy sound.He was not ready to listen and told to complain to anyone we want. Post sales service is highly unprofessional and of very low standards. When i asked his full name he said my name is Ravi and you can complain to anyone about me you want I don't care.Technician Name is 'RAVI'.

It was not expected from Brand like A O smith. Deeply regretting to choose product of your brand.
                                      You.

My Geyser Model is HSE-VAS-015
                                      Date of purchase is 9 Nov 2015

Karan Mehra
                                      While buying a jaguar 25 litres water heater I was promised a hassle free 10years service guarantee for free including cleaning service. But this is totally misguidance. After fitting the water supply was slow though the overhead tank is at about 15 feet high. And it became slower day by day. Now when we called them for servicing only after four years they said cleaning is chargeable and they took RS.300/-. The work done was very shoddy and even they broke the small inlet pipe. They had to ultimately cut the pipe and refit it. The flow has now become even less than earlier. They don't even have knowledgable technician. They are cheating customers. Think thrice before you buy jacquard aosmith water heaters. Service is worst in Gujarat. I hope executives at higher level takes cognizance of it.
                                      Amar Dutta, Ahmedabad.

Please refer to the service request 08658318.

It really pains me to write this mail to you. Even after 13 days my request for service is not done. I have 2 AOS water heater. But i do got the message that service request # is closed. How can you close the service request when you have not completed the work?

Both the AOS was not working and I had requested for service.
                                      I have personally called customer care at lest 5 time and requested for attending the problems faced.

Finally technician came and serviced one AOS. He has removed other AOS and kept in bathroom since it has wiring problem. He informed he will come tomorrow and get it wired.

Even after 1 week of time, there is no sign of anyone coming and servicing.
                                      In fact I spoke to Mr.Bharat on 18th DEC 2016, but no use.

Now, Please update me why is such pathetic service is promised to customers. AOS is know for a good service, but it is ridiculous rather disgusting.

Hope you will address the issue and do the needful at the earliest.

Pradeep
                                      pradeep.[protected]@gmail.com
                                      16 Comments