AO Smith Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 3, 2025
Complaints 379

File a complaint to AO Smith

Having problems with AO Smith?

File a complaint and get it resolved by AO Smith customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

AO Smith reviews & complaints page 17

mayuri mahi
Sep 4, 2018

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 502032

We have purchased ao smith geysers (15 lit) on 21.08.2108 your technician installed on 23.08.2018 device worked on 24-26.08.2018. We have raised the compliant about it, your 2 technicians came and said we cannot identify the problem regarding device.
Since it is new device how can it doesn, t work properly. I am requesting you to replace by new geysers as soon as possible
Oct 5, 2018
AO Smith customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Sep 04, 2018
AO Smith Customer Care's response
Dear Customer, apology for the inconvenience caused, kindly share your case id or contact details or email at [protected]@aosmithindia.com we will try to resolve your issue at the earliest possible.

M.S.N.Rao
    Aug 17, 2018

Address: 9686539923

Service request number:10332519,
    Earlier request number: 10292803 which has been cancelled stating that the product was returned to the dealer. The product still with me and nothing has been done till now (1612 hrs 17/08/2018).
    One mr. Arun kumar was assigned the request 10332519. He called yesterday and assured to get back to me by evening. However, i received an sms stating that the request is on hold till 09:00am due to customer requested reappointment. I didn’t ask for any reappointment. Why it is has been kept on hold? No one contacted me till now. Please escalate the issue and get it solved.
    M s n rao
    Oct 5, 2018
    Sep 04, 2018
    On same post, please add: Dear Customer, hope you are satisfied with solution provided, if not please write us at our grievance cell at [protected]@aosmithindia.com

M.S.N.Rao
      Aug 16, 2018

Address: 560064

Refer to my complaints of 11/08 and 16/08 (Earlier in the day). Your response to my mail earlier today is sickening and disgusting. How can you say that you don’t attend incase the complaint is short? Please the complaints of 1108 along with two complaints (Including this one) together and appreciate the problem. Please attend to the problem on priority. The geyser was purchased barely a month ago. Hope you will attend and replace the geyser on priority.
      M s n rao
      Oct 6, 2018
      Sep 04, 2018
      On same post, please add: Dear Customer, hope you are satisfied with solution provided, if not please write us at our grievance cell at [protected]@aosmithindia.com
      10390923 being my service request number is kept on hold without my awareness
      It has been done nearly twice

M.S.N.Rao
        Aug 18, 2018

I sent a mail on 11/8/2018 regarding problem with the geyser ( horizontal, 25 liter) bought in July 2018.So far no action taken. What should I do to wake up you people ? Please do not brush this aside stating that it is a short complaint. read this along with my earlier mails and read them together. It is ridiculous to say that short complaints do not receive the same attention as the longer ones. you should be serious once the complaint is filed.
        When can I expect it to be settled ?
        M S N Rao
        Oct 7, 2018
        Sep 04, 2018
        Dear Customer, hope you are satisfied with solution provided, if not please write us at our grievance cell at [protected]@aosmithindia.com

Adeena Enterprises
          from Unnao, Uttar Pradesh
          Aug 15, 2018

I online ordered ao smith water heater online on 2/8/2018 and made full payment in advance. Order no 85448. Customer care deptt is not able to track this order. I sent severals emails, whatsapp messages to the official email id of ao smith, got reply that the concerned team will get back to me with info. Sadly this did not happen. Nor the product arrived as of now 15/08/2018. Pathetic attitude of customer care. They just keep on asking customer's details 5 -6 times but dont give any information about the status of order. Cannot track this order is the standard reply after wasting customer's time...Bogus & third class company... Never suggest anyone to buy their product.
          Oct 6, 2018
          Sep 04, 2018

M.S.N.Rao
            Aug 11, 2018

I lodged a complaint regarding 25 litre horizontal water geyser purchased less than a month back. The complaint no is 10292803 of 02/08/2018. Your technicians attended soon and observed defects in the geyser. I asked for a replacement. They informed me that the matter will be taken up at the appropriate level and that the needful will be done. After that the technicians simply disappeared. On 07/08/2018 i received the following sms from a o smith service:
            "hello m s n rao! Your service request number 10292803 is cancelled due to product returned to dealer. For any assistance please call at[protected] : a o smith service."
            The product is still with me. No one contacted me. I wonder as to why the complaint has been closed without settling it on the ground. You are totally divorced from the ground realities. Please advise your technicians/dealer to settle the matter and arrange for installation of a new unit without any further loss of time. Till such time the complaint is not settled, keep the service request open.
            Appreciate your immediate response and action on the ground.
            Regards m s n rao
            Oct 8, 2018
            Sep 04, 2018

Rajatchopra
              from Thakurdwara, Uttar Pradesh
              Aug 11, 2018

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110018

A. O. Smith india i have purchased your z8 purifier which is having major defect in its water storage system.

Ants & insects are crawling through inside and infecting the 8 stage purified water.

Whats the point of purification when the purified water will eventually get contaminated by dead insects and ants.

I paid 21k for this z8 purifier of yours and i am having a very bad experience.

21k for drinking contaminated water. This product will spread diseases rather than serving its intended purpose.

Ministry of health (India) needs to ban this product as well as all your products which has similar issue which will be harmful for the consumers.

I as a citizen of india do not recommend ao smith product in india.

Also i will escalate this issue in media through hindustan times newspaper. Yes this is the correct platform to escalate.

Highly diaappointed with this product and regret my decision to exchange my ureka forbes water purifier to this down standard purifier.

Kindly do the needful or wait for the action.

Your disappointed customer.

Rajat chopra
              16/14-a tilak nagar
              New delhi-110018
              M-[protected]
              Oct 11, 2018
              Sep 04, 2018

yamaha crux
                Aug 3, 2018

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 502032
                Website: www.aosmithindia.com/blog?field_listing_category_tid=All&page=1

Purchased AO smith water purifier "Z8" series just 4 months back but i feel i am drinking the pure water from it
                Then i called the customer care to pls come visit and check it but no one has come for almost 3 days service request no "10286018" no one is cared about my issue.
                One of the worst service which i have ever seen kindly take a action on AO smith customer care service and resolve the issue at the earliest
                Oct 12, 2018
                Sep 04, 2018

praptidas
                  Jul 31, 2018

Address: 700055

I have booked for an AMC service with AQ Smith around mid of June 2018 for my RO water filter. It is a two-year plan where I was confirmed that the whole system will be upgraded as per some Go Green version. Since I was getting RO changing indicators the technician who came to my house for service registration, said that he will make some temporary arrangements so that the water flow does not stop. And the system upgrade will happen with in next few weeks.

Till date I have neither received system upgrade nor anyone contacted from the customer service department. It is almost one and half months now. Meanwhile I have started to get water with solid particles floating in it. This is what is visible to eyes. I can't imagine what all impurities and pathogens myself and my family is consuming which are not visible to our eyes.

So far I have already dialled the customer care number for three times with in past few weeks. Every time I have been told that someone will contact me within 48 hours, but no one did. To add insult to injury, the last time when I insisted that I be given a complain number, I was sent an sms subsequently with a technician number. I was expecting a call but received another sms shortly that the service is on hold and it will be rescheduled as per the customer's request. Now if I didn't receive the call in the first place how can I ask for reschedule? When I called up the technician number in the morning firstly he spoke in a very dismissive manner and told that since it was quite late yesterday and he couldn't reach me after calling several times, though my call log does not show any missed calls, he put the request on hold and marked it to be rescheduled. When I implored that then he should mention the reason as customer not reachable rather than customer asked for reschedule, he apologized in a very rude note and said that he can do only this much and if I wish I can take the route of complaining against him
                  Concluding the final status, AO smith company is sitting with more than 9000/- Rs of mine for the last one and half months without providing the AMC services as committed during the payment and to top that the service staff has started to misbehave. I am completely at a loss as to what I should do now if not going to consumer forum.

Latest service reference number[protected]
                  Oct 15, 2018
                  Sep 04, 2018

M.S.N.Rao
                    Jul 25, 2018

We got a 25 liter horizontal water geyser recently. I have noticed noise/sound from the geyser while working. This needs to be set right. This sound/noise is not continuous. It is intermittent. It is loud enough to be heard clearly. I watched the problem a number of times before filing this complaint. Please do not dismiss as a trivial complaint. It has something to do with the installation or inherent in the geyser. An expert technician may be able to detect and fix it. I can be contacted at phone no [protected].
                    Oct 5, 2018
                    Sep 04, 2018
                    I too had same problem with 15l geyser what to do can you please give a solution
                    I called the Customer for more than 4 times I made complaints till now no one came to resolve the problem

jyotsna Sabharwal
                      from Rohtak, Haryana
                      Jul 23, 2018

We purchased a water purifier from reliance digital elante chandigarh. Everything was going good and they told us about the installation and service but now they are refusing to provide it. Moreover i purchased a resue care plan additionally for 2 years warranty worth 9000 the store itself. Its a clear case of miscommunication between the staff and authorities i am really disappointed by reliance service. I am left with no other option but to return it back to the store. Why are they even keeping such products when they cannot provide its proper service? It's a case of customer harassment and wasting there time.
                      Aug 24, 2018
                      Jul 24, 2018
                      Thanks for sharing your feedback. We tried to fetch your information from our record, we couldn't get success. Please send your details to our grievance cell [protected]@aosmithindia.com
                      Your grievance reaches to top management of organization and handled by specialist.
                      We assure best of our service & committed to provide appropriate solution.
                      AO Smith Customer Service
                      Dear Valued Customer,  

Apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please share your contact details at the following link - http://bit.ly/RDCustomerCare and our team will contact you.

At Your Service,  
                      Reliance Digital

Sheikhnazima
                        from Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir
                        Jul 21, 2018

Address: Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir

My geyser is not working from past one month n complaint has been launched before a month as well but there is no redressal n very poor response from ua end..if nothing will be done i wll be forced to lodge complaint in the consumer forum..
                        It is worth to mention that i hv purchased the geyser from one of the dealer at bemina sgr but now and then the geyser becomes non functional..The complaint has been launched several times before as well but all in vain...no response from AO Smith...i called on customer care no. and requested to get the defect resolved but till date nothing has been done.

Nazima
                        Jul 21, 2018
                        Updated by Sheikhnazima
                        Problem unresolved

vishakhasharma72
                          from Solapur, Maharashtra
                          Jun 6, 2018

My water purifire ao smith z1 stops filtering water first on 12th may raised complaint no.10083050.

Here after for same thing raised multiple compliant mentioned in mail subject. For recent one 10122406.

Technicians visited on 03/06/2018 and suggested me to change the silver gac filter as he said its getting blocked then he suggested to fit pressure gauge, i agreed n paid 980rs to him, 600 for filter and 380 for pressure gauge.

Today 06/06/2018 same problem recurring, so it seems without rectifying issue you people are simply making money from customers. Its very bad experience with ao smith, will not buy anything from this company in my whole life and will not recommend to others as well. Done a very big mistake by buying this water purifier from ao smith.

Kindly take appropriate action on my request meanwhile i am going to check with my legal advisor if i can log a complaint in consumer court.

Deepak sharma
                          Hide quoted text
                          My water purifire ao smith z1 stops filtering water first on 12th may raised complaint no.10083050.

Here after for same thing raised multiple compliant mentioned in mail subject. For recent one 10122406.

Technicians visited on 03/06/2018 and suggested me to change the silver gac filter as he said its getting blocked then he suggested to fit pressure gauge, i agreed n paid 980rs to him, 600 for filter and 380 for pressure gauge.

Today 06/06/2018 same problem recurring, so it seems without rectifying issue you people are simply making money from customers. Its very bad experience with ao smith, will not buy anything from this company in my whole life and will not recommend to others as well. Done a very big mistake by buying this water purifier from ao smith.

Kindly take appropriate action on my request meanwhile i am going to check with my legal advisor if i can log a complaint in consumer court.

Deepak sharma
                          Jul 12, 2018
                          Jun 08, 2018
                          Dear Mr Deepak Sharma,
                          We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you!, We have directed the complaint to concerned team and will be resolved as soon as possible. You can write us at [protected]@aosmithindia.com for any assistance required in future.
                          Looking forward to delight you with our services in future!
                          Your Sincerely
                          AO Smith Customer Service
                          I have purchased 2 HSE SES 25 Ltr Vertical water heaters but in our bathroom it is not fitting as per AO SMith Installation guy so we are requesting for replacement with Horizontal RHS 25 Ltr models 2 number.
                          KVR Franchises requesting distributor but he is not accepting for replacement.

May 21, 2018

installation charges

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560011

I had bought 4 geysers from sringar electrical and when the installation technician came to fix it, he charged me inr 600 for parts which were missing from the sealed package.
                            I am shocked at the incident since this is a integrity issue.. How can spare parts be missing form a sealed pack. Something is seriously wrong at the internal control of ao smith. I have made innumerable calls but no response.
                            I want justice....
                            krishna metlapalli
                            May 20, 2018

Address: 560037

I have call to cs for scpa with in 6months of ao smith water purifier. I have waited whole day yesterday person didn’t came and today is sunday got a message saying “hello krishna! Your service request number 10098574 is on hold for 5/20/2018 3:00 pm due to customer requested reappointment. For any assistance please call at[protected] : ao smith service”
                            Today again i called to cs and they are wait for 3pm and i have asked to transfer to supervisor and he saying sunday is holiday after 48 hours..
                            Supervisor saying cs guys are juniors and i can’t help on this.

Why the hell this is happening? Who requested reappointment? Your service sucks. I lost appointment to doctor for my kid and spoiled entire weekend 48 hours emailed/called noting happend. Seriously your cs team is of no use guys

My number:[protected]

Deepakg123
                              May 19, 2018

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560067

I contacted customer care for amc renewal and i was told that my previous silver plan of ₹2500/- is not there now and there is only one plan for which i will have to pay ₹6000/-. How can the plan be discontinued without information to the customers and how can i be forced to buy 6000/- worth amc plan. I was told by the amc technician that it is just 2500/- every year for 9 filters excluding ro membrane.
                              Deepak

maria shoba Lawrence
                                May 12, 2018

Address: 400072

I am very unhappy with your product..., please see my points below..

The ao smith filters change indication of ro and scpa change comes 4 times or more a year. My ao smith model number is x7 and serial no is b[protected].

I have taken a acmc service contract on 8th march 2018 to 8th march 2019 from shivoma international (Ao smith authorised dealers)

But when the ro and scpa indication comes, all my ro filters are not changed. Only one ro filter is replaced and the scpa candle is washed and the machine is reset, so that the light indication goes away.

Why are all my ro candles and scpa candles not replaced on indication.

This means your company is using the reset button to fool customers and you are manipulating the machine as per availability of spare parts and to do cost cutting. I'm being cheatef

Also, the new ro filters and scpa filters and spare parts are not given to customer in sealed condition. When asked why is the seal broken or cover of filters not sealed, no satisfactory reply is given. How do we know it's a new filter??

In spite of escalation to your manager dinesh of mumbai area, there is no call back and customer satisfaction.

If a new filter is supplied, it has to be in sealed state.

Waiting for your reply and help in quick time as my amc is getting expired very soon

David Charles
                                  May 3, 2018

I bought ao smith z6 extactly one year ago. I see a water leaking from the bottom. Called customercare, the technisian said that i need to change the pump and product is out of warranty. Now they are asking me to pay 4500₹ for the pump and need to replace it. How worst it is. The product i purchased on feb 2017 to till now its just 1 year 2 months.. The pump got in to for replacement.. How you are going to solve the problem..
                                  May 03, 2018
                                  Updated by David Charles

I bought AO smith Z6 extactly one year ago. I see a water leaking from the bottom. Called customercare, the Technisian said that i need to change the pump and product is out of warranty. Now they are asking me to pay 4500₹ for the pump and need to replace it. How worst it is . The product I purchased on feb 2017 to till now its just 1 year 2 months .. the pump got in to for replacement..How you are going to solve the problem..

Nitika Gautam
                                    Feb 25, 2018

Address: Panchkula, Haryana, 134109

I am having 3 water heaters at my residence whose 2 yrs warrant expired in oct - nov 2017. I gave at least 2 calls at your customer care in the month of november 2017 to get the amc renewed to which no body renewed. Last call at your customer care was given on 16.12.17 with ref no[protected] and representative told that the amc will be done on 17.12.18 positively.

No body gave a call nor anybody visited my residence to renew the same & i thought that i have choosen the wrong product & now will never give a call to ao smith call center neither i am any more interested for the amc renewal

Surprisingly when all the winters are gone i got a call from ao smith representative mr. Amit ([protected]) on 24.02.18 to get the amc renewed & he felt sorry for the system delay and bla bla bla...

Mr amit told me that representative will visit definitely on 25.02.18 to renew the amc and today again on 25.02.18 the story by ao smith is the same... I have decided now if they will give free amc for one year that too free of cost, i will not take the same

Gautam gupta [protected]

Deepanshu shilpy
                                      Feb 17, 2018

Address: Jalandhar, Punjab, 144004

We have purchased the a. O smith water heater model no. Hse sds 25 from jalandhar and the shopkeeper committed to installlation is free of cost while calling customer care but in back they said installation is chargeable. A. O smith is very poor n cheap company so that i never recommend any one to purchase this product whose commitment is poor kindly install our water heater free of cost otherwise will go to consumer court against this company who cheat mee. My contact no [protected]
                                      I ordered a water purifier online, paid in full, now company unable to track order. Multiple calls to customer care got same reply we will get back to you. Nobody called or reverted the mails.

free installation - Comment #3055263 - Image #0