Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Customer Care
CESC Limited
Customer satisfaction rating: 2%
Submit a Complaint
1530
COMPLAINTS

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Customer Care

CESC Limited

TwitterFacebookLinkedInYoutube
Address
CESC House, Chowringhee Square
Kolkata
Kolkata District
West Bengal
India - 700001

Customer Care Phone Numbers and Contacts

Toll-free:
Toll-free:
up
2095
down
597

Phone:
Phone:
up
1033
down
298

Additional info
Regional Offices

Contact Details

Kolkata Electricity Supply Helpline Numbers

Electricity Supply Emergency
+91 33 2215 2128

Electricity Supply CESC
+91 33 2553 7581

Electricity Supply CESC (Control)
+91 33 2225 5675

Electricity Supply CESC (Kolkata North Zone)
+91 33 2351 0590

Electricity Supply CESC (North Suburban)
+91 33 2553 7581

Electricity Supply CESC (South Zone)
+91 33 2466 3161

Electricity Supply CESC (Any problem of Local Consumers Central)
+91 33 2225 6040

Electricity Supply CESC (Any problem of Local Consumers North)
+91 33 2555 9815

Electricity Supply CESC (Any problem of Local Consumers South West)
+91 33 2401 4541

Electricity Supply CESC (Any problem of Local Consumers South)
+91 33 2440 5518

Electricity Supply CESC (Consumer Grievance Cell)
+91 33 2225 6040

Electricity Supply CESC (Howrah)
+91 33 2666 9143

Electricity Supply CESC (North Suburban District)
+91 33 2553 7581

Electricity Supply CESC (North Zone)
+91 33 2556 8628

Electricity Supply CESC (South West Zone)
+91 33 2401 4888

Electricity Supply CESC (Southern Zone)
+91 33 2412 1679

Electricity Supply CESC (West Zone)
+91 33 2666 9162

Electricity Supply Kolkata Electric Supply Corporation Of India Ltd
+91 33 2225 6040

Electricity Supply WBSEB (Complaints & Service Cell)
+91 33 2337 5766

Electricity Supply WBSEB (Complaints & Service Cell)
+91 33 2337 0516

Electricity Supply WBSEB (Control)
+91 33 2359 1930

View More Information...

Customer satisfaction rating
2%
Complaints
1530
Pending
0
Resolved
33
Bad
Bad news - Even though we've managed to contact the company, they're quite slow at resolving complaints.

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] related photos (351)

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Sort by:

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] — Exorbitant charges of electricity bill of rs 10850 for the month of may 2020

 DEBRUP SARKAR on Jul 5, 2020
My customer id of cesc electricity bill is [protected]. During the month of may 2020 cesc has raised bill of rs 10850 which...
Complaint category Other

 puchutoton on Jul 1, 2020
Received your bill dt. 20-06-20 for the month of may/2020 on 29-6-20 and shocked to see the billing amount of rs.2600/-.
Fact of the case :
That you have raise bill for the month of feby/20 of rs. 535/- in lockdown period last meter reading unit was 3924.
Thereafter your office raise bill on assume last year basis whereas reflected unit 108 for the month of march/20 and unit 67 for april/20 during lockdown period.
That after your person taken present meter reading unit 4453 on 13-06-19 and you have raise bill for the month of may/20 for unit 354 of rs.2600/-.
Sir, after march/20 & april/20 balance unit you had raise bill in may/20. So for the month of may/20 billing amount is higher as per unit rate slab calculate by cesc. The calculation as under :
For 354 unit energy charges rs.2506.83 plus fixed damage charges rs.105 plus meter rent rs.10/- total rs.2600/- (Aprox).
Sir if you are calculate total unit in average basis [ 4453 – 3924 = 529 ] it will be every month unit 529/3 = 176 (Apx).
As per your calculation energy charges for unit 176 should be for the month of march & april/20 rs. 1116/- plus fixed damage charges 105/- and meter rent 10/-, mcva ra.20/- total billing amount should be rs.1251/- per month.
Kindly note that i had already paid rs.1780/- on 01-16-20. So unpaid amount should be (Rs.1251 x 2) – 1780 = rs.722/-
For may/20 billing amount should be rs.1123 + rs.20 + rs.105 + rs.10 = 1258/-.
As per my calculation, this month (May/20) my bill should be rs. 722/- + rs.1258/- = rs.1980/- instead of rs.2600/-.
Therefore you are being requested considering the above fact, kindly re-calculate bill for the month of may/20 and send me the same in my e. Mail so that i can paid as early as possible.

Complaint Status


[Jul 01, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Other

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code

    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] — E-receipt has not been generated but the amount has been debited [Resolved]

     paritosh2015 on Jun 25, 2020
    I have paid my both bills through online banking today(25/6/2020) but CESC is showing that the Electricity Bill for may 2020...
    Complaint category Government Organizations

     usarkar123 on Jun 25, 2020
    I sri uddipta sarkar (Customer id - [protected]) am very shocked to note the bill amount of may2020 which is 6660.00 (729 units) and which is impossible for one month's consumption. As the due date is 01.07.20 please rectify it and send me the revised bill at the earliest or do the nedful. As amphony attacked, we were powerless also for hours after hours in those days. Hence requesting you again to enquire of it and survive me.

    Complaint Status


    [Jun 25, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Home & Garden

    Post your Comment

      I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
      Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
      code

      Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] — Not sending estimated bill properly

       Abhishek.Dey on Jun 25, 2020
      To whom it may concern,

      Due to nationwide lockdown from march 20, physical meter reading was not possible...
      Complaint category Unauthorized charges

      Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] — unjustified and high electricity bill from cesc

       dasarnab on Jun 24, 2020
      Victim of cesc unjustified billing

      Check below points:
      1. Average electricity bill amount is rs 600...
      Complaint category Utility Services

       hg_mercury on Jun 24, 2020
      In reference to custID:[protected].
      I have recieved a bill of Rs2000 for the month of May. Is this a joke? I just have two fans, two Led bulbs, and a fridge which runs at regular basis. And my regular bill never goes beyond 1000. The bill shows 285 units comsumed between 14/05/20 to 11/06/20. Inspite of three days power cut due to cyclone in this period of time, how can I consume 285 units when my usual consumption is approx 120 units. They are overcharging because of their restoration charges of the damages caused by cyclone amphan.

      Complaint Status


      [Jun 24, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
      Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Unauthorized charges

      Post your Comment

        I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
        Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
        code

         ayush_1kedia on Jun 23, 2020
        Dear sir/mam,

        This is in respect to the incorrect method of billing the electricity for the last three months.

        The bill for the month of may is inclusive of the unit for the last 2 months which was not accounted for in the previous bills. Thus the bill represented 479 units.

        Now since we have received an accumulated bill due to such unavoidable circumstances, the total bill amounts stands higher due to higher rates applied when the units rises above a nominal standard set by the company. This isn't justified and the customers are supposed to receive a revised bill wherein on the basis of the last year an approximate usage can be charged for each month or the entire bill should be charged at the basic rate and not on the set standards.

        Due to such negligent behaviour the end customers are forced to pay the higher unit slab charges in spite of normal usage. I hope you understand the intensity of this mail and respond in the quickest way possible with a proper solution.

        Please refer to the below bill details and attached bill for your reference:
        Consumer no. ([protected]).

        Regards,
        Ruchika kedia
        [protected]

        Complaint Status


        [Jun 23, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
        Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Utility Services

        Post your Comment

          I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
          Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
          code

          Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] — Excess bill amount charged in May 2020

           bsanjoy on Jun 23, 2020
          Bill for May 2020 is Rs 3080/- which is seems to be in higher side. As per our knowledge no metre reading has been taken during...
          Complaint category Unauthorized charges

           Rupankan Das on Jun 23, 2020
          Biswanath das consumer no [protected] (Address lp.207/58, b-87, new garia dev.co-op. Hsg. Ltd. Kol 94)

          Bill details
          January - unit consumed - 49 (Paid rs 290)
          February - unit consumed - 60 (Paid rs 350)
          March - unit consumed - xx (Paid rs 340)
          April - unit consumed -69 (Paid rs 510)
          May - unit consumed -414 (Amount payble - rs 2920) disputed

          Amphan date -16/05/2020 to 24/05/2020 no electricity

          2nd connection
          Jaysree das consumer no [protected] (Address - 1st floor b-87 new garia dev.co-op. Hsg ltd kol 94)

          Bill details
          January - unit consume-42 (Paid rs 250)
          February - unit consumed -47 (Rs 280)
          March - unit consumed - xx (Paid rs 190)
          April - unit consumed - 42 (Paid rs 200)
          May - unit consumed - 213 (Payable amount rs 1320) disputed

          Amphan date -16/05/2020 to 24/05/2020 no electricity

          Note: due to the covid-19 pandemic, the meter reading was taken after 3 months, and the unit consumption as shown in the bill is way too much as compared to my past bills. Without ac such amount is unacceptable. According to energy charge (Ec), the rate calculation for monthly consumption is quite less as compared to rate calculation for multiple consolidated monthly bills. Although the payment was done for every month (Screenshots of the receipts has been attached for your reference), now the bill received for may as seen has been a result of consolidated calculation of gross rate for several months. Requesting you to calculate the rate for each month separately and make necessary changes to the present bill.

          My due date for may month bill payment is 30th june. I would really appreciate if you could revert back to this email by sending the appropriate resolved bill before 30th june.

          Thank you.
          Rupankan das
          Ph: [protected].
          Email-rupankanarkalokdas. [protected]@gmail.com

          Complaint Status


          [Jun 23, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
          Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Home & Garden

          Post your Comment

            I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
            Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
            code

             BANGLA UNITED on Jun 23, 2020
            Sir/madam, i am gita bandhopadhy, consumer number is: [[protected]], customer id is [[protected]] in the month of april my electric bill is about rs, 1540. But in the month of may, it amounted rs, 4310, this is extremely outrageous since absolutely no appliance has been added since the previous month. From 1540 to 4310 is a huge leap. Kindly look into this issue asap. I would be highly be obliged to you if you accept my proposal.
            Failing which states in consumer court.
            Your’s faithfully gita bandhopadhy consumer number is: [[protected]] customer id is [[protected]]

            Complaint Status


            [Jun 23, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
            Contact number: [protected]
            contact number 2: [protected]

            email: [protected]@gmail.com
            Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Unauthorized charges

            Post your Comment

              I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
              Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
              code

               bafana_pk on Jun 22, 2020
              I have received an sms indicating that my electric meter reading is 32411 as on 22 june 2020 for customer id [protected]. Indicating that 695 units would be billed to me for june 2020.

              This is too high and arbitrary. Either get the reading checked again or have the meter checked.

              I am a consumer at this premises for last 12 years. My average monthly consumption is in the range of 100-150.

              Please immediately review the reading and / or meter and correct the consumption as well as reading.

              Complaint Status


              [Jun 22, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
              Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Other

              Post your Comment

                I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                code

                 Bitan Ghoshal on Jun 22, 2020
                Cust id [protected] — units billed 720 bill amount 10, 650
                Cust id : [protected] — units billed 925 bill amount 15210

                We have not received any meter reading for the month of march, april and may 2020 and on june 8th meter reading was done.

                Kindly help us to know how this bill amount is made

                Complaint Status


                [Jun 22, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Home & Garden

                Post your Comment

                  I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                  Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                  code

                   Dibyendu07 on Jun 21, 2020
                  Sir/madam,

                  I am sri biswa nath shaw, consumer number : [protected], customer id : [protected].in the month of may, 2020 my electric bill is of rs. 1200 which is very high and not at all feasible as per my usage pattern.in my electricity bill it is mentioned that i have been charged for 199 units whereas i consumed only 30 units in the previous month i. E.in april, 2020. On an average i generally consume 30-60units each month. Therefore you are requested to please revise the bill and generate a new bill as per my actual usage and please send it to my given mobile number. I would be highly obliged if you kindly solve my problem.

                  Thanking you yours faithfully

                  Sri biswa nath shaw

                  Complaint Status


                  [Jun 21, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                  Sir/Madam,

                  Regarding my last complain, I have received a system generated e-mail from the Managing Director (Distribution) of CESC stating that the Bill for the Month of May, 2020 was prepared based on my actual consumption after adjusting the amount already billed. Further it is also stated that the bill for March, April, May of this year i.e. 2020 is generally same to that of the these three months of the last year i.e. 2019. I would like to inform you that I have never ever received electricity bill of such a huge amount in any of the months since the very first day of me becoming the consumer of CESC. I am paying my bill online based on the bill that has already been issued to me with the anticipation that this excess amount will be adjusted with the bill of the next month i.e. of June, 2020.

                  Therefore it is my request you to please kindly recheck my meter reading and adjust this excess amount with my next month's bill.

                  Thanking you Yours faithfully

                  Sri Biswanath Shaw
                  Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Home & Garden

                  Post your Comment

                    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                    code

                     tdnd0308 on Jun 21, 2020
                    Reference to the customer id -[protected], i, tathagata datta paid electric bill for the month of february up to the meter reading of 7773 though it was practically 7766 then. Since mid of march till today the room is kept under lock and key for legal purpose. But unfortunately i received electric bills for the month of march and april in which unit consumed were shown as 116 and 60 respectively. As a result i filed a complaint. Subsequently i received message that meter reading would be taken on 10/06/2020. Though i waited for the person concerned to cooperate him by opening the meter room as he can notice the meter units properly i was not informed by the person at the time of reading and noting the meter units. Later on 10/06 at about 1:12 pm i received the message informing the meter reading noted as 7751 as on same day though the reading was 7766 since mid of march till today. Unfortunately in the bill for the month of may the reading is shown as 7949 as on 10/06/2020. The message and the electric bill are both the communications from cesc and contradicting each other causing frustration and irritation. So please look into the matter on top priority.

                    Complaint Status


                    [Jun 21, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                    Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Unauthorized charges

                    Post your Comment

                      I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                      Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                      code

                       Rahuldwall27 on Jun 21, 2020
                      When i went through the bill i could see the march 2019 reading is copy pasted in march 2020 reading. Although we were not at home for almost 2 weeks the reading came same. I know you have not taken the reading of march 2020 and just taken the figure of last year. If company is doing approximation atleast take a proper base. I think so there are lot of learned people in the company but didn't knew they will also favour such assumptions. If you want take the base as next month that is april 2020 or feb 2020.

                      Complaint Status


                      [Jun 21, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                      Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Utility Services

                      Post your Comment

                        I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                        Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                        code

                         Ranjit Bhowmik on Jun 20, 2020
                        We would like to inform you that, we are eight flats of 9 b. T road, government quarters, block no 28, belghoria, kolkata -700056, presently extremely worried about the meter boxes which are of 9 nos. Few months back we have noticed that our meter box module is in a very critical condition and while your team came from your end after the last cyclone (Umpun) for repairing purpose advised to complaint immediately, as sometimes we have observed flashes came out from the meter box. Accordingly, we have approached to your office at kamarhati for the said purpose with application, but they again advised us to complaint online. Considering the monsoon period there may be a chance of short circuit in case of leakage of water and there is also a chance of falling of the module as it is already temporarily supported on bricks.

                        Pl understand that, the situation is extremely critical and requesting immediate needful action for rectifying the meter box module.

                        Complaint Status


                        [Jun 20, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                        Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Neighbours

                        Post your Comment

                          I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                          Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                          code

                           BISWABRATA SARKAR on Jun 20, 2020
                          Dear sir,
                          The current bill i received from cesc is unbelievable. It shows a consumption of 449 units. Never in my history of consumption history, have i seen such a high bill. There was no one who came for taking meter reading since lockdown 1. The bills generated were assumed values. This current bill for may 2020 shows an unbelievable amount of rs. 3220. Also i have stayed this home as rented. My customer id. : [protected] name of the bill ajit das
                          I have not added any gadget for electricity consumption recently only 2 room and one room daily 3to 4 hr ac running another room maximum time light and fan switch of why this is happened it not fare please revise my bill asap
                          Regards,
                          Biswabrata sarkar
                          C/o ajit das

                          Complaint Status


                          [Jun 20, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                          Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Unauthorized charges

                          Post your Comment

                            I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                            Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                            code

                             Sunayanade on Jun 20, 2020
                            Customer id-[protected]
                            Consumer no-[protected]
                            Customer name - kakali mandal
                            I got a huge bill this month. Thus i want to verify my meter once. Please take the necessary steps at the earliest.


                            Bill amount

                            Complaint Status


                            [Jun 21, 2020] Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                            Complaint comments  Add a commentComplaint category Unauthorized charges

                            Post your Comment

                              I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
                              Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
                              code

                              Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] — unbelievable billing even after 7 days of no supply, post amphan.

                               Indra Nath Bagchi on Jun 18, 2020
                              Dear sir,
                              The current bill i received from cesc is unbelievable. It shows a consumption of 864 units. Never in my...
                              Complaint category Utility Services

                              Recently Discussed

                              (9 minutes ago)
                              Indian Army
                              Fraud in Honda Activa 5g from olx
                              (9 minutes ago)
                              Military Courier Service
                              Vivo s1
                              (16 minutes ago)
                              Vasai Cable
                              All the channels are encrypted, even after paying the monthly subscription fee
                              (19 minutes ago)
                              Indian Army
                              Indian army personnel did fraud with me
                              (20 minutes ago)
                              Indian Army
                              Bike sale fraud

                              Featured Complaints