Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Apr 8, 2026
Complaints 2262

File a complaint to Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]

Having problems with Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC]?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] reviews & complaints page 4

Sonam
Jan 6, 2012

UNAUTHORIZED Excessive electric bill DUE TO FAULTY METER

Address: West Bengal

Excessive electric bill
I have filed a complain against CESC Limited many months ago, in regards to excessive bill against our home AC consumption. An engineer came & found the meter to be jumping on counts & even though the AC is turned off , the meter still reads units. He confirmed us about faulty meter verbally also told us that someone again would soon respond towards this fault through CESC.Now, its been 2 months that...
sarikagupta
Dec 19, 2011

electricity theft

Address: Howrah, West Bengal

This is with regard to electricity theft and high electricity bills by CESC ltd and inability to register a complaint online ( once u type ur complaint, the submit button doesnt work) and even at phone no-one picks up or when they pick up a consumer call, they disconnect it

I am a working professional and reside at Flat no.11/05, tower 4 ruchira residensy, 369, purbachal,Kalitala Main road, Kolkata...
20 Comments
sudipta22
from Mainpuri, Uttar Pradesh
Aug 21, 2011

CHANGE OF BILLING ADDRESS

Address: South 24 Parganas, West Bengal

I want to change my CESC billing address to as below,
SUBIR ROY
11, THAKUR BARI ROAD
P.O-KALIGHAT
KOLKATA- 700026
My consumer no-[protected], LP No-109/32, present account address-
Flat no. 3A, Floor No. 3
249A, MOTILAL GUPTA ROAD
KOLKATA 700082.
account is with-Mr SUDIPTA NANDI
please do this at the earliest as i am finding it difficult...
18 other people found this review helpful
18 found this helpful
46 Comments
compani
from Chittaranjan, West Bengal
Jun 25, 2011

excess billing

respected sir,
my consumer no is [protected] in the name of anamika sonkar and i stay here as a tenant and i have complaint in the concerned dept several times regarding my excess billing through mail and physically also visited their office but it does not make any difference to my billing so i am giving the details of the appliances used in my residence below, please look after it that whether this billing is right or not, and if...
mandal.pratap
Oct 5, 2010

Change of Name & Address

Ref: Consumer No.[protected]
Sub: Correction of Name & address

I Mr. PRATAP MANDAL request your goodself to rectify my name and address in your records as mentioned below:-

CORRECT NAME AND ADDRESS:

PRATAP MANDAL

Flat No. 4C
6 D.N. Mukherjee Road
Bally, Howrah
PIN: 711205
Near 54 Bus Stand

Request u to rectify...
52 Comments
saurav de1
Aug 26, 2010

EXCESS BILL

Address: South 24 Parganas, West Bengal

My self Sri kesto ch sadhukhan residing at 34 ejazatullah lane,kolkata 700033. in the month of august my electric bill is about RS,1200. which is very high as per my usage.my consumer no is [protected]. I hope necessary steps will be taken to solve my problem.and in next month i will get d bill with correct amount as per my usage....
17 Comments
DIBYENDU DAS
Oct 6, 2009

BILLING PROBLEM

I am Dibyendu Das. My consumer no [protected].100 units extra which are adding my bill. I am already complain to CESE ltd on 07.09.09 ( complain no LT/13/20995 ). but till now it is not solve.

Pls do the needful asap.

Dibyendu Das...
48 Comments
Vishal Jaiswal
Jul 24, 2009

non receipt of bill for last 2 month

we have not been receiving the Bill for Last 2 month (may-june) at our resident.

Consumer no - [protected] & [protected]

Can we expect immediate resolution by providing us the Bill on my above given mail ID, for clearing dues.

vishal....
10 Comments
Joy Kumar Pal
Jul 2, 2009

Meter Box is broken

Regarding the Consumer Number: [protected] I lodged a complain 2 weeks ago (appx) at the CESC . I wrote the complain as:

“Meter box jutted out from the wall.
Meter condition is horrible (about to break).
Please come & repair this.
Thank you.”

For this complain I got a Docket Number : LT/41/19046

As I was not getting any response from CESC so I lodge the same...
13 other people found this review helpful
13 found this helpful
14 Comments
Abhishek Banerjee
Apr 7, 2009

New Connection

I applied for new connection on 6.2.09, reference no 14/[protected], but after the inspection is over by the Calcutta Electric Supply Team, inspite of having sufficient space, i got a letter that it is not possible to provide connection as there are no sufficient space in my flat . Now i am chasing them for the last one month . Can you please help me in this regard.
I will be greatful if you kindly assist me in this...
72 Comments
Balchand Shaw
Nov 25, 2008

High electricity bill

Since last 3 months I am receiving very high electricity bill from CESC Kolkata.Actually we are using 2 fans & 2 Tube lights but the Electic bills are coming above 700/month which is very much high than what it should be.
I have a doubt in my mind that either Electric Metre is not working properly or someone is doing Electric theft from our metre as we are unable to check what exactly happening because the metres are locked in...
69 Comments
INDRANATH DAS
Aug 29, 2024

Address: 39/1 SARKHEL PARA LANE. BALLY, HOWRAH. PIN--711201

Customer id-- [protected].
Consumer no. [protected].
Meter no.[protected]
Previous reading -- 45608.
Present reading --45808.
Unit consumed-- 200.
Reading taken date by your meter reader --20/08/2024
But actual reading taken by me on 29/08/[protected].
Difference of reading= 79 units. which was not billed.
Effect I will fall in higher slab on the coming month i.e August 2024 due to faulty reading taken by your side.
A snap shot is attached herewith taken by me on 29/08/2024.
Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Jun 9, 2024
    Jun 13, 2024
    This thread was updated on Jun 13, 2024

Address: Kolkata

Cesc intentionally putting phase down for seconds minitues and even for hours for no reason even after complaining they just say local network issues, they charge big and continue this notoriety since 2019, [protected] this is latest complaint for which they put the power down unless i talk to them, they are doing this with connecting local theaves and thugs, our area sodepur wb kol 700114 panihati near gurunanak eng college, thousands of complaints but this tantrums running, cesc consumer no [protected] and [protected], check them
    Jul 14, 2024
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    Jun 13, 2024
    Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation [CESC] Customer Care's response

We are concerned to hear about the issue you have raised. To enable us to resolve the matter at the earliest, kindly share your Customer ID and Contact Number.

Team CESC Limited

Chandra Nath Das
      May 1, 2024
      May 3, 2024
      This thread was updated on May 3, 2024

Address: Kolkata 700002, dumdum chiriamore

Today is 1st may its already more than 3 hours no electric supply and also no support team responding. No technical team came in our location. In this pathetic situation no one responding
      Jun 3, 2024
      May 03, 2024
      Dear Consumer,

We are concerned to hear about the issue you have raised. To enable us to resolve the matter at the earliest, kindly share your consumer number and contact number.

Team CESC Limited

Mou000
        Jun 29, 2023

I want to complain about my high bill in the month of May'2023 .
        unit consumption 664, and in last 6 months my unit consumption is high.
        Please check my meter for solve the issue .
        Consumer No. [protected]
        Meter No. 4830171
        May 10, 2024
        Jul 01, 2023
        Dear Consumer,

Please let us know your consumer number and contact details.

Cesc Limited

Mou000
          Jun 29, 2023

I want to change my CESC billing address to as below,
          Mousumi Bose
          Sourav Das
          A/21, Laxmi Narayan Colon,
          1st Floor,
          NSC Bose Road
          Kolkata- 700047
          My consumer no- [protected], Meter No-4830171, present account address-
          Sourav Das
          Mousumi Bose
          Manju Apartment
          1st Floor,
          400A/2C, NSC Bose Road
          Laxminarayan Colony
          Kolkata- 700047
          please do this at the earliest as i am finding it difficult to pay my bill monthly.

Joy Karmakar 1997
            from Serampore, West Bengal
            Jun 16, 2023

I am writing this letter to bring to your attention the issue of constant voltage fluctuations in my area. I reside at Dey Bagan, Serampore -712201, and for the past few months, I have been experiencing constant voltage fluctuations from 5 pm to 3-4 am daily. These fluctuations are causing a lot of inconvenience to me and the entire neighbourhood.
            The voltage fluctuations are not only affecting our daily routine but also damaging our electrical appliances. We have already experienced the damage caused to all our light and heavy electrical appliances due to the sudden voltage fluctuations. We have also noticed that the voltage drops significantly during peak hours i.e., from evening 5 pm to late midnight 3-4 am, making it difficult to carry out simple tasks, especially in this hot and humid weather.
            We request that you take immediate action to resolve this issue. We believe that this problem is not limited to my house alone but is also affecting several households in the surrounding areas. Therefore, I urge you to investigate this matter and take the necessary steps to ensure a stable power supply in our area.

My consumer number is :-[protected]
            May 10, 2024
            Jun 18, 2023
            Dear Consumer,

Please let us know your contact details.

Cesc Limited

Solarsiiw
              Jun 15, 2023

Address: Chowringhee Square, Dalhousie, Kolkata - 700001

We have been suffering from the issues of power cuts and voltage fluctuations since April 2023 which is still continuing 15th June, 2023. As I am writing this complaint down, we are facing power cuts. Our elderly parents are getting sick because of such heat. We have been complaining about voltage fluctuation problem since 12th April 2023 and CESC is yet to solve it. They did not even came to look into the matter or tried to contact us. I have lost two well-working ceiling fans due to this. As well as I am also losing some important medicines which has to refrigerated but due to power cuts even that has become impossible as well. We cannot sleep well at nights and it has been going on for months without any proper solution.

Yogendra Ram Singh
                Jun 12, 2023

Address: Kamarhati

In 1995 some members of CESC Had taken money and A man named Jay Prasad Mishra was nominated for the job and currently in 2023 he was doing his job but he was not well qualified, the education & exam tests which was taken for the job but he had given no Exams and no jobs and he was not well educated please take action against him or either I have to make a legal complaint against him and our company that your company had given him job by taking money and now he was not taking against him please take action against him as soon as possible
                May 8, 2024
                Jun 13, 2023
                Dear Yogendra,

Please let us know your contact details.

Cesc Limited

sankar banik,
                  Jun 9, 2023

Address: Baguiati Joramandir Kolkata 700059

We are facing everyday current loss due to failure in transformer operation.
                  My area is Baguiati Joramandir Kolkata 700059. We have children in home and aged people, they are suffering and it is not acceptable