Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Sony — Poor customer care

A new Z-series laptop purchased in October 2008 went blink end-Jan 2009. It was given to the Sony Collection center in Lajpat Nagar on 02 Feb. They diagnosed it as a hard disk problem and returned the laptop and hard disk separately for data recovery as they dont provide this service. A search around town revealed that no one knew how to recover data from this hard disk (a Toshiba SATA 320GB) due to non-availability of some "kit". Sony said they will provide a new hard disk for Rs 22, 000/- if I did not want to return the old one. Since the laptop was just 3 months old, I returned the disk (without data recovery) on 12 Feb.

On 16 Feb, when checking with their 66006600 customer care, I was told that the laptop was ready for collection. I went to the collection center on 21 Feb only to be told that the laptop was ready but cannot be collected as the hard disk had not been replaced. Their reason - since I returned the defective disk on 12 Feb, the new disk could not be flown in from Japan. In other words - Sony India did not stock hard disks for the new Z-series laptops costing 124k a piece in India!

If you are thinking of buying a laptop in India - my suggestion is that you look at someone with a better service record than Sony India. If you expect to be getting better after sales service because you paid a premium for a Sony laptop, you can kiss your sanity, money, laptop and time goodbye.
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  19 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

To
The Cutomer Relationship Manager,
Sony India Pvt Ltd
Kolkata

Sir, I purchased a sony T77 cybershot camera on 03/09/2009.After that on 07/06/2009 I make a request to customer care for a free demo.Your representtative told me that your engineer will come possitively within next two working days.But within next two days I havent get any service.On 9/06/09 evening again I called you and your customer care executive told me that surely I get this service on 10th before 5 pm.Even I asked him on 11/06/09 (Ph no[protected]n your person told that today Surely I get the demo.But unfotunately your representative have not come.After a demo request 4 working days over but till now I havenot get any kind of service.
Being a reputed company this kind of customer service is never expected from you.

I hereby request you to take the following actions that I can get the minimum services from your company.



Yours faithfully,
Aniruddha Sarkar.
Ph- [protected]

sony snap shot camera — demo

i have purched sony snap shot camera from hans electronics camp pune on[protected] from that day
any one of the dealer or company has not contact us for newly purchased camera for demo.
i didn't know the co.responsilbility is over after the product is sale.
I bought a Home theatre for 30000 and after 6 months it is not working. After going around to customer care for 2 months they said it would cost around 27000 to repair the HT. Can u believe this? It’s seriously my big mistake to purchase Sony product. I’m always frustrated because of Sony HT. No thanks to Sony.
ADVERTISEMENT
To
The Cutomer Relationship Manager,
Sony India Pvt Ltd,
Chennai,
India


I have purchased Sony Video Player – Model No. NWZ-E435F/E436F/E438F on 20th Feb, 2008 through my friend in US (now he is in UK). See the below attached mail for the purchase details in US. The player worked previously well and good and I used to charge via system USB cable. That cable too came along with the product. Now when I connect the USB cable it displays message as “USB device cannot be recognized”. So its not all detected and wont charge at all… I tried resetting the player also, but its not working…I directly went and asked the SONY customer service centre in Adayar, Chennai about this issue. They replied that the main board has gone and I have to replace the board for Rs 4000. For this price of repairing, I can buy a new one.

This is to make it to your kind attention that either replace my SONY video player with the new one or give back my money.

Thank you,

By
Chinnathambi M
Mobile :+[protected]
Chennai,
India.
respected sir
i have purchased w580i from chennai mobile on 1.1.2007.Fom that day i had many complaints like speaker problem and display problem. So i gave my mobile to the service station situated at peelemedu of Coimbatore. But still I have complaints in my mobile..so l like to have a replacement for my mobile. I have the service bills. then i have asked for key pad replacement on my last service i.e on september 3 rd. they said that there is no stock.and my friend have paid an advance for the full panel set for k550 on last month.still there is no proper from the service station.. i need a quick response.Or else i would like to file a case on consumer court for improper customer service...
respected sir
i have purchased w580i from chennai mobile on 1.1.2007.Fom that day i had many complaints like speaker problem and display problem. So i gave my mobile to the service station situated at peelemedu of Coimbatore. But still I have complaints in my mobile..so l like to have a replacement for my mobile. I have the service bills. then i have asked for key pad replacement on my last service i.e on september 3 rd. they said that there is no stock.and my friend have paid an advance for the full panel set for k550 on last month.still there is no proper from the service station.. i need a quick response.Or else i would like to file a case on consumer court for improper customer service...
contact no:[protected]
I have sony music system HCD-RV20S no 536553 deposited for repair on 04 Nov 2009 at authorized sony service centre M/s HIMTECH Electronics Neal Bhawan, Opp Mehta Petrol Pump Sanjauli, Shimla 171006 (HP) but till date it has not been repaired. I do not know the reason every time they reply engr is not available. so please instruct the service centre to repair it or take action against the centre.
NAME : SHAH SHILPESH KIRITKUMAR

PURCHASED A LCD TV
PRODUCT : KLV-32S550A IN5A
PURCHASED FROM : SONY CENTER
SHREE PARSHWANATH ENTERPRISE
INVOICE NO B-2115
DATED[protected]

INSTALLATION OF LCD DONE NO 18/11/2009
ENGINEER
CAME FROM SONY FOR WALL MOUNTING AND TO EXPLAIN THE FEATURES ON DATED
[protected] MR NAINESH ALREADY EXPLAIN ALL THE FEATURES
ON 20TH NOV I FOUND THE PROBLEM ON THE SCREEN WHEN I SWITCH ON LCD
I
IMMEDIATELY INFORMED TO SONY CENTER[protected] AND DESCRIBE THE
PROBLEM VERBALLY BUT MY PROBLEM WAS NOT UNDERSTOOD BY THE SONY
REPRESENTATINVE
SO HE REFRESH THE CALL FOR COMMISSIONING OF LCD
ON THE SAME DAY PROBLEMS OCCURS FREQUENTLY
ON
21ST I SWITCH ON THE LCD I FOUND THE SAME PROBLEM ON SCREEN (IMAGE
NAMED ON 21ST NOV AND CLIP ON 21ST NOV) I HAVE TAKEN THAT IMAGE AND
PHOTO THROUGH MY AND MY FATHERS MOBILE BEFORE THE SONY REPRESENTATIVE
COME TO MY HOME I HAVE SHOWN THE IMAGES AND CLIPS TO HIM AFTER SHOWING
THE PROBLEM BACK UP HE SUGGESTED TO UP GRADE THE SOFTWARE OF LCD AND HE
SUGGESTED TO COME BACK WITH SOFTWARE IN PEN DRIVE AND HE WILL INSTALL
IT IN CONVINIENCY
ON 23RD SOFTWARE WAS UPGRADED AS PER HIM (I DONT HAVE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT IT)
ON
THE SAME DAY PROBLEMS OCCURS AFTER INSTALLATION OF THE NEW SOFTWARE I
HAVE INFORMED SONY SERVICE CENTER TO CHECK THE PROBLEM AGAIN
ON
24 THE SONY REPRESENTATIVE CAME TO MY HOME HE SUGGESTED TO TAKE LCD TO
THE SERVICE CENTER FOR OBSERVATION WHETHER THE PROBLEM IS COMING AT
THERE OR NOT
BUT HE DONT BELIEVE THE BACK UP IMAGES AND CLIPS WHICH IS SHOWN TO HIM ON MY MOBILE
ON
25TH I CALLED SONY CENTER AND SERVICE CENTER REGARDING THE SAME PROBLEM
AFTER OCCURRING IT AGAING THEY STRONGLY DEMANDED TO TAKE LCD AT SERVICE
CENTER (I WAS NOT GIVEN ANY JOB CARD AS WELL AS ANY BACK UP DOCUMENTS
THAT THEY ARE TAKING MY LCD TO SERVICE CENTER)
ON 25TH LCD WAS GIVEN TO SERVICE CENTER FOR OBSERVATION (AS PER THEM)
THEY DEMANDED FOR TWO DAYS FOR OBSERVATION I WAS AGREE ALTHOUGH I DONOT HAVE ANY BACK UP DOCUMENTS
ON 26TH AND 27TH I WAS NOT CONTACTED BY SERVICE CENTER
I
GOT TIRED ON 28TH NOV AND CALL THE SERVICE CENTER IN THE MORNING THEY
STILL NOT GOT ANY PROBLEM AT THERE END AND THEY ARE GIVING THE
REPETADLY ANSWER THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT COMING AT SERVICE CENTER
ON
28TH EVENING I WENT TO SERVICE CENTER TO GIVE ALL THE IMAGES AND CLIPS
WHICH I HAVE TAKEN TO SHOW THE PROBLEM TO THE CONCERN PERSON I INSISTED
MR RAKESH AT SONY SERVICE CENTER TO TAKE THE IMAGES AND CLIPS TO HIS
END AS THE PROBLEM WAS NOT OCCURED AT SERVICE STATION
AT
THE SAME TIME MR RAKESH INTERACT WITH ME AND AS PER HIM IF THE PROBLEM
OCCURS AGAIN WHEN EVER I CALL HIM AND KEEP THE LCD ON TILL SONY
REPRESENTATIVE DONOT COME AND SEE THE PROBLEM
ON 29TH MORNING AS I STARTED LCD THE PROBLEM COMES AGAIN I CALLED MR RAKESH AND HE SEND MR JIGNESH TO CHECK THE PROBLEM
I HAVE KEPT LCD ON FOR MORE THAN 45 MINS TILL MR JIGNESH COME
HE CAME AND SEE THAT THE SCREEN IS BLACK
HE DISCONNECTED THE CABLE BUT STILL SCREEN IS BALCK
HE DISCONNECTED THE DVD CABLES BUT STILL SCREEN IS BLACK
HE DO SOMETHING BACK SIDE OF THE LCD STILL SCREEN IS BLACK
IN SHORT HE DO ALL THE ALTERNATES IN THAT WAY THAT THE PROBLEM COULD
SOLVE BUT IT WAS NOT DONE
HE SUGGESTED INDIGESTABLE
I HAVE ATTATCHED ALL THE BACK UP IMAGES AND CLIPS WITH THIS EMAIL

KINDLY DO NEEDFUL IN THIS CASE

SHILPESH SHAH
[protected]
[protected]

TODAY ON 30TH OF NOVEMBER THIS PROBLEM IS OCCURED IN MY LCD
TWICE IN DAY TIME TILL 7.00 PM ABOUT THIS MR RAKESH WAS ALSO INFORMED
AND STILL AFTER 36 HRS NO FEED BACK FROM YOUR SIDE AS WELL AS FROM
LOCAL SONY SERVICE CENTER I HAVE ATTATCHED A FILE WHICH I HAVE TAKEN
YESTERDAY SAME WAS HAPPENED TODAY.

WHERE I SHOULD COMPLAIN FURTHER IF A PROBLEM COULD NOT BE SOLVED


again sent a email to sonycare but no reply from their side
From: [protected]@yahoo.co.in
To: sonyindia.[protected]@ap.sony.com
To: sonyindia.[protected]@ap.sony.com
Sent: Mon, 30 Nov 2009 19:06 IST
Subject: FAULTY LCD

NAME : SHAH SHILPESH KIRITKUMAR

PURCHASED A LCD TV
PRODUCT : KLV-32S550A IN5A
PURCHASED FROM : SONY CENTER
SHREE PARSHWANATH ENTERPRISE
INVOICE NO B-2115
DATED[protected]

INSTALLATION OF LCD DONE NO 18/11/2009
ENGINEER CAME FROM SONY FOR WALL MOUNTING AND TO EXPLAIN THE FEATURES ON DATED[protected] MR NAINESH ALREADY EXPLAIN ALL THE FEATURES
ON 20TH NOV I FOUND THE PROBLEM ON THE SCREEN WHEN I SWITCH ON LCD
I IMMEDIATELY INFORMED TO SONY CENTER[protected] AND DESCRIBE THE PROBLEM VERBALLY BUT MY PROBLEM WAS NOT UNDERSTOOD BY THE SONY REPRESENTATINVE
SO HE REFRESH THE CALL FOR COMMISSIONING OF LCD
ON THE SAME DAY PROBLEMS OCCURS FREQUENTLY
ON 21ST I SWITCH ON THE LCD I FOUND THE SAME PROBLEM ON SCREEN (IMAGE NAMED ON 21ST NOV AND CLIP ON 21ST NOV) I HAVE TAKEN THAT IMAGE AND PHOTO THROUGH MY AND MY FATHERS MOBILE BEFORE THE SONY REPRESENTATIVE COME TO MY HOME I HAVE SHOWN THE IMAGES AND CLIPS TO HIM AFTER SHOWING THE PROBLEM BACK UP HE SUGGESTED TO UP GRADE THE SOFTWARE OF LCD AND HE SUGGESTED TO COME BACK WITH SOFTWARE IN PEN DRIVE AND HE WILL INSTALL IT IN CONVINIENCY
ON 23RD SOFTWARE WAS UPGRADED AS PER HIM (I DONT HAVE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT IT)
ON THE SAME DAY PROBLEMS OCCURS AFTER INSTALLATION OF THE NEW SOFTWARE I HAVE INFORMED SONY SERVICE CENTER TO CHECK THE PROBLEM AGAIN
ON 24 THE SONY REPRESENTATIVE CAME TO MY HOME HE SUGGESTED TO TAKE LCD TO THE SERVICE CENTER FOR OBSERVATION WHETHER THE PROBLEM IS COMING AT THERE OR NOT
BUT HE DONT BELIEVE THE BACK UP IMAGES AND CLIPS WHICH IS SHOWN TO HIM ON MY MOBILE
ON 25TH I CALLED SONY CENTER AND SERVICE CENTER REGARDING THE SAME PROBLEM AFTER OCCURRING IT AGAING THEY STRONGLY DEMANDED TO TAKE LCD AT SERVICE CENTER (I WAS NOT GIVEN ANY JOB CARD AS WELL AS ANY BACK UP DOCUMENTS THAT THEY ARE TAKING MY LCD TO SERVICE CENTER)
ON 25TH LCD WAS GIVEN TO SERVICE CENTER FOR OBSERVATION (AS PER THEM)
THEY DEMANDED FOR TWO DAYS FOR OBSERVATION I WAS AGREE ALTHOUGH I DONOT HAVE ANY BACK UP DOCUMENTS
ON 26TH AND 27TH I WAS NOT CONTACTED BY SERVICE CENTER
I GOT TIRED ON 28TH NOV AND CALL THE SERVICE CENTER IN THE MORNING THEY STILL NOT GOT ANY PROBLEM AT THERE END AND THEY ARE GIVING THE REPETADLY ANSWER THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT COMING AT SERVICE CENTER
ON 28TH EVENING I WENT TO SERVICE CENTER TO GIVE ALL THE IMAGES AND CLIPS WHICH I HAVE TAKEN TO SHOW THE PROBLEM TO THE CONCERN PERSON I INSISTED MR RAKESH AT SONY SERVICE CENTER TO TAKE THE IMAGES AND CLIPS TO HIS END AS THE PROBLEM WAS NOT OCCURED AT SERVICE STATION
AT THE SAME TIME MR RAKESH INTERACT WITH ME AND AS PER HIM IF THE PROBLEM OCCURS AGAIN WHEN EVER I CALL HIM AND KEEP THE LCD ON TILL SONY REPRESENTATIVE DONOT COME AND SEE THE PROBLEM
ON 29TH MORNING AS I STARTED LCD THE PROBLEM COMES AGAIN I CALLED MR RAKESH AND HE SEND MR JIGNESH TO CHECK THE PROBLEM
I HAVE KEPT LCD ON FOR MORE THAN 45 MINS TILL MR JIGNESH COME
HE CAME AND SEE THAT THE SCREEN IS BLACK
HE DISCONNECTED THE CABLE BUT STILL SCREEN IS BALCK
HE DISCONNECTED THE DVD CABLES BUT STILL SCREEN IS BLACK
HE DO SOMETHING BACK SIDE OF THE LCD STILL SCREEN IS BLACK
IN SHORT HE DO ALL THE ALTERNATES IN THAT WAY THAT THE PROBLEM COULD
SOLVE BUT IT WAS NOT DONE
HE SUGGESTED INDIGESTABLE
I HAVE ATTATCHED ALL THE BACK UP IMAGES AND CLIPS WITH THIS EMAIL

KINDLY DO NEEDFUL IN THIS CASE

SHILPESH SHAH
[protected]
[protected]

TODAY ON 30TH OF NOVEMBER THIS PROBLEM IS OCCURED IN MY LCD TWICE IN DAY TIME TILL 7.00 PM ABOUT THIS MR RAKESH WAS ALSO INFORMED AND STILL AFTER 36 HRS NO FEED BACK FROM YOUR SIDE AS WELL AS FROM LOCAL SONY SERVICE CENTER I HAVE ATTATCHED A FILE WHICH I HAVE TAKEN YESTERDAY SAME WAS HAPPENED TODAY.

WHERE I SHOULD COMPLAIN FURTHER IF A PROBLEM COULD NOT BE SOLVED
i have contacted local sony service station for this but no satisfactory answer
now i want the whole replacement of the lcd
what i should do
SONY DVD RW, DVD/CD ROM, it works for 6 - 7 months correctly with no issues, maximum of 10 months, then is stats the problems. I have got writing problems, i always use sony disks to write Datas. When we go the dealer shops to ask about the services of sony, they will say sony servicing are too bad, if you got the problem within the warrenty period then they will look. Otherwise they wont!!! My SONY DVD RW, DVD/CD ROM is only 18 months old. Now onwards i suggest to every one, not to buy SONY DVD RW, DVD/CD ROM. They only got a good brand names, the other things are really bad. Buy some other burnner. If you ask to the dealers also, they will say Sony DVD RW, DVD/CD ROM is good, but buy other other DVD RW, DVD/CD ROM thats good for you. What is this means?
Uneducated Executives in SONY

This happened in October-2009 (Diwali Time). When I purchased a High End digital camera (DSC-HX1) from SONY World Shipra Mall, Indira Puram Ghaziabad, the executives in the showroom promise me for a demonstration on the Digital Camera on the very next day.
Even I got the call from the SONY that we will provide you the demonstration on the DSC-HX1 (after two day of purchase), but which never really happens.

When i send a mail to the customer care, i got an acknowledgment mail after one day and they were saying that we don't provide demonstration on digital cameras and i also got an call from customer care[protected] and the executives was not interested to listen to my problem.
The behavior of executive was so rude like it seems that they have never attend any KINTER GARTEN and talk like an illiterate one.SONY is spending so much money for promoting its products, making ads with highly paid Models, i don't know why don't they hire some educated customer care executives who have manners, ethics, etiquettes, patience to talk to their valued customers.

I purchased DSC-HX1 camera, SONY was no way near to compromise on the price and I haven’t got discount of a single rupees and spend INR 29800 but everybody assures me that SONY neither compromise on price nor on Services, but now is totally is a different story.

So being a valued customer it is really a harsh experience for and I never recommend anybody for SONY as there are other players in the market which provides very good services unlike SONY and with reasonable price.
The Cutomer Relationship Manager,
Sony India Pvt Ltd
Dear Sir,
we have placed an order under DUSSERA FESTIVAL OFFER for KDL HX800-46" LED TV with an offer announced by you (speaker bar with woofers, 3D frames=2, DVD'S 9no, 3D BLUE RAY DVD) the cost of Rs.1, 40, 000/- promised the above offer and delivery will be in 10days. I paid as advance Rs.70, 000/- to SONY CENTER, SUN TRADING & MARKETING SERVICES, VIJAYAWADA copy of receipt is enclosed for your information.

After 10 days we remained the dealer for consignment and they postphoned for another 10days. on 29th oct we demanded our consignment, they said that the TV is ready but handover the product with out speaker bar and woofer OR ready to refund the advance. so i request you justfy and get the TV with offer items as for agreement with dealer.
thanking you
with regards
Y.A.Chowdary
[protected]
Guntur

nainesh shah — disconnection request

Respected Sir,

Myself is Kainesh N.Shah having my tata indicom landline no.[protected]. Inspite of sending several reminder i am getting any response, due to that i want to disconnect my landline phone at the earliest.

Please disconnet the phone at the ealiest and oblige.


Thanking you,

Kainesh Shah
Sir,

I request you to please disconnect my landline tata indicom no.66688237 at the earliest and oblige.


Kainesh shah
please do the disconnection
sir i bought sony brevia 22'' lcd model 22 bx300 sl no 2441242. there is a offer in that nodel. that is a pendrive free with that model. i need a software mpeg 1 or mpeg2. but they not give to me a driver disk. you tell me how i use the pendrive. 1 month ago i bought that lcd. please help me.

yours faithfully
soumitra kundu
mobile no- [protected]
I bought one LCD-TV Two years back[protected]MODEL NO. KLV -32V400A SERIAL NO . 1224484. I got some problem that is some negative picture are found while running the television. When I contacted the Sony dealer they send one service Engineer .He checked the LCD-TV and taken some photos (i.e.Displaying Negative picture & Serial No.)He suggested that LCD Control panel has some problem.
He told after receiving the parts from Singapore he will make the call to us that it cost Rs 11, 000(spare & service charge) approx and he told that they will change the control panel & the LCD Screen completely. I feel the screen is in good condition . But they are telling may be it will good but they will change both the screen and panel as per Sony technical rules
I always love the Sony products. I am having SONY LCD TV, SONY VAIO LAP TOP, SONY CYBER SHOT CAMERA So please try to under stand my problem and minimize the amount .(Please contact me by mobile or e.mail

yours faithfully
M.YEAMAKUMAR
[protected]@gmail.com
mobile No [protected]
chennai
Dear Sir,

This is in connection to my complain no.[protected],[protected] and several telephonic conversation.

Let me make clear the following few things.


I purchased a Sony 5.1 system id no SAID 5000 ME 19 serial no 330699 on 05.03.20111.

It develpoed a problem on 03.04.2011 & it did notwork.

I enquired through your site about availability of service center. A mail received by me on 04.04.2011 stating that there is no service center in SAMBALPUR(ODISHA)..

Then I received a call from your Customer Care Center on 05.04.2011. They advised me to bring the product to Rourkela or Bhubaneswar.

Anoyed with the service I took up the matter with the vendor. To my utter surprise my vendor confirmed me that ther is a service center is Sambalpur. He took the product and deposited it with M/S. Balaji Service, Sambalpur on 06.04.2011.The Service Center told me that the AMP BOARD TO be replaced.

After a lot of follow up and calls I could get my system on 10.05.2011 vide job no WS[protected].

I again made a mail to check the authenticity of the service center on 10.05.2011. and warranty to be extended by the period As the product was there in service center for more than a month.

I received a call on the same date with two cotradictory message.
a) There is no service center at Sambalpur.
b) The job no is a valid Sony Job no.
&
c) The warranty will not be extended.

I then argue can a service center keep a product as long as they wish. unfortunately the fellow who was making the call told me that service center can keep it for any period. Again when I insisted about the authenticity of the service center he told me that they will make me a call. Since I was verry much annoyed with the quality of service by such a big brand I even told him not to disturb me on my phone instead mail me. So that I can show it in consumer court.


Today i.e. on 11.05.2011 again I received a call from the same person. This time he confirm that there is a service center named Balaji Serivce in Sambalpur. But erogantly shows his inability to extend the waranty period. When I asked him contact no of higher official he handed over me the same telephone no from which he made the call.

I am extremely sorry to mention here that such a poor standard of service from such a huge organisation is mentained. I would like to mention here that if my case is not properly dealt with I will be forced to take shelter of Consumer Court.

Gopal Krishna Bohidar
Mohantypara
Sambalpur
[protected]

varying costs of the same defective parts in different service centers

xperia sp touch panel shattered. it costs 4500 in jamshedpur, while it costs 8000 in raipur

customer service center

Hello sir, I am anant raut I bought your product 16 gb pendrive, now its dead during use. when i came to your service center they are not accepting my pd and give me reasons plz help me...i am from ahmednagar, maharashtra.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Sony India
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    29%
    Complaints
    7600
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    2173
    Sony India Phone
    +91 99 6793 9629
    +91 90 2912 0629
    Sony India Address
    No 14/43 Hameedia Centre 2nd Floor, Haddows Road, Nungambakkam, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India - 600034
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT