Idea Cellular Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 7, 2025
Complaints 16717

File a complaint to Idea Cellular

Having problems with Idea Cellular?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Idea Cellular customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Idea Cellular reviews & complaints page 593

GandhiRahul
from Rajgarh, Madhya Pradesh
Mar 23, 2015

Address: Indore, Madhya Pradesh

Charges of Rs 297 + Rs 155 Total 452 has been charged flatly in my bill no [protected]. 297 for SMS-MT and 155 for 2GGPRS although my no. is already having a combo plan of 275 in which I have sufficient data for internet and I never activated an additional pack for internet. I made a complaint for the same and received a call form company.But she was not ready to listen to my problem. I visited idea centre and got my compliment processed twice. As per their instructions I had paid my bill excluding the above fault charges of Rs 452/-. I humbly want you to pay attention on my complaint.
Idea Cellular customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

We deeply regret the inconvenience. We have noted your concern and we have your contact details. We will get back to you at the earliest.

Customer Care, Idea Cellular

We have thoroughly checked your Idea account details and it is found that the charges are levied correctly in your bill towards WAP plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

mohankottur
    Mar 23, 2015

ON 21 march 2015 around 4.40 pm I inserted my simcard into a new smart phone. It has automatically conncted to your 55456-‘Say idea’ contact downloaded from your system through simcard. I realised this only when I received SMS at 6.08 pm. from IDEA thanking me for calling this no. Then immediately I checked call details and observed that ithas run for almost 59 minutes i.e. since I started my new phone after inserting your simcard. Then immediately I called your phone [protected] . The fellow who attended my call at about 6.10 pm on 21 march 2015 was not open about explaining this your no 55456. On persisting I was shocked to know that this is entertainment no and the charges are Rs 6.99 per minute. Then I told him that I did not dial this no and it automatically connected on my new smart phone. He was not willing to take the complaint saying that bill is not generated and disconnected the line Since I was disturbed by this fraud by you, Again I called same no and this time one Sachin answered and he was also saying same. Summary of my complaint : I have been tricked by you using / manipulating my Karbonn smart phone to connect to this your premium line .you callously and unscrupulously using a malaware frauded me. I hereby call upon you not to bill this amount and refrain from loading this no/ malaware in our phones. Sir, as a senior citizen it pains me that i am cheated by an Aditya Birla company whom i had trust that is why i poted my no frm Aircel Earlier i.e. before 21 march 2015 4.40 pm I was using an ordinary phone.
    Mar 25, 2015
    Updated by mohankottur
    No solution still from IDEA

In continuation of my earlier mails on this complaint ( your customercare team still not given a complaint no giving doubt whether are you a ISO compliant company)

Please note following:

1.I received an SMS from you yesterday 23 March 2015 at 08.35 am saying :

” your usage for the month has exceeded the credit limit so pay immediately Rs.708.54 to avoid restriction of services”

The said amount Rs 708 comprises Rs 261 monthly payment due on[protected] which I had paid as usual through my netbanking HDFC Bank on[protected]. Details are as follow and this information was sent to Idea customercare vide mail dated[protected] . details :

"Kindly note that we have made the payment by netbanking HDFC Bank

details : HDFC 19460295 Bill pay ref no [protected] fr amount 260.84 on 21 March 2015

The money was deducted from my account on 21 march 2015"

The remaining part of Rs 708-261 = Rs 447 includes the fraudulent charge of Rs 6.99 per minute music charges for 60 minutes= Rs 420 which is the disputed complaint. So the actual usage amount is only Rs 27.

So you note that this company IDEA is harassing me by indulging in bowbeating and arm twistingand blackmailing me to cough up their fraudulent charges.

Please restrain them from stooping to such level and sending threatening messages.

3.Also kindly see the double standard and inconsistency of their actions

On one hand they are refusing to acknowledge my complaint Vide my talk with Sachin on phone [protected]on[protected] and their SMS on[protected] at 7.41pm([protected]) saying that bill is not still generated for this disputed Rs 420 for entertainment music and it may not appear in bill also.

Now on the otherhand you are asking me to pay same threatening disconnection of services.

I do not know how TRAI is allowing IDEA such companies do such blatant misuse and harassment of customers.

4.Also is there any ethical policy at corporate level for an Aditya Birla company

5.I am also puzzled how TRAI is permitting IDEA to have a service 55456-‘Say idea’ charging Rs7 per minute for music. I do not think any sensible customer will use this service voluntarily. So this service is kept by IDEA for frauding hapless customers involuntarily and stealthily as happened in my case. TRAI should ban this services.

6.I was trying to contact Appellate Mumbai on mobile no given in your web site whole day yesterday. but no contact could be establishrd. Could you please contact me Mr. Appellate or take action in resolving the issue

7.Also tell me what is the next authority and give details of contact

kind regards

k Mohan

[protected] or [protected]
    Mar 25, 2015
    Updated by mohankottur
    IDEA should delete the charges Rs 420 (Rs 6.99 x 60) minutes for premium entertainment services from my account which was not used by me and it is grossly unfair and fraudulent
    kind regards Mohan
    Apr 12, 2015
    Updated by mohankottur
    Idea Cellular customer care and also Appellate are not responding to my complaint regarding disputed Rs 420. Now the bill is sent to me due by 22 April 2015.

I have lodged my complaint again and now they have given a complaint no CI-[protected]. As informed earlier they were refusing to give complaint no since bill was not issued.

Also i have sent complaint to appellate in Mumbai vide my registered speedpost EM[protected] IN dated 8 April 2015 and delivered on 9 April.

I will pay the bill amount after deducting the disputed amount Rs 420 . The amount payable is Rs 740- 420= rs 320

Customercare- please do needful

We deeply regret the inconvenience. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you at the earliest.

We tried calling you on your provided number however, were unable to reach you. Please share your alternate contact details.

mohankottur
      Mar 23, 2015

ON 21 march 2015 around 4.40 pm I inserted my simcard into a new smart phone. It has automatically conncted to your 55456-‘Say idea’ contact downloaded from your system through simcard. I realised this only when I received SMS at 6.08 pm. from IDEA thanking me for calling this no and utilising services. Then immediately I checked call details and observed that it has run for almost 59 minutes i.e. since I started my new phone after inserting your simcard. Then immediately I called your phone [protected] . The fellow who attended my call at about 6.10 pm on 21 march 2015 was not open about explaining this your no 55456. On persisting I was shocked to know that this is an entertainment no and the charges are Rs 6.99 per minute. Then I told him that I did not dial this no and it automatically connected on my new smart phone. He was not willing to take the complaint saying that bill is not generated and disconnected the line Since I was disturbed by this fraud by you, Again I called same no and this time one Sachin answered and he was also saying same to me and frustrating me by not taking complaint. the whole thing looks deliberate. Summary of my complaint : I have been / cheated by you using / manipulating my Karbonn smart phone to connect to this your premium line .you callously and unscrupulously using a malaware frauded me. I hereby call upon you not to bill this amount and refrain from loading this no/ malaware in our phones. I will be compelled to take appropriate action including writing to forums/ TRAI /legal for your fraudulent action. Kindly take a serious note Please acknowledge thiscomplaint since I am determined to escalate this and fight for justice. note :Earlier i.e. before 21 march 2015 4.40 pm I was using an ordinary phone. mohan

maurya2509
        Mar 22, 2015

1. Reference is made to my Idea Mobile # [protected]. I submit the following for your kind necessary action:- i. I have been charged Rs.1198.40 extra in the name of Prorated Overage Charges, whereas the GPRS Usage is already charged as Rs.904.36 along with the Data Pack rentals on prorata basis as follows:- Feature Description Period Amount GPRS Core Service_SB_0_Acc_98_307 15-Feb[protected]Feb-2015 21 GPRS Core Service_SB_0_Acc_250_289 21-Feb[protected]Mar-2015 125 New-3G HH 299 QOS(1GB UL)-TN 07-Mar[protected]Mar-2015 85.43 ii. In view of the above you are requested to kindly rectify the billing error and present the correct bill enabling me to pay the same ASAP. I Look forward to receiving a rectified bill. Regards Pradeep Kumar Maurya [protected]

We deeply regret the inconvenience. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you at the earliest.

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for billing has been already initiated by us, under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

As per your telecon with our customer service associate on 25th March 2015, we wish to affirm that your aforesaid concern has been discussed and addressed. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

This is to bring the following to your notice that:-

1 The customer service associate was unable to address the issue (Billing Discrepancy). Hence the same is not yet addressed.

2. I have asked for correction in the bill for erroneous charging of Rs.1198.40/- as the "PRORATED OVERAGE CHARGES", which has been wrongly charged for data usage in duplication to the GPRS charges of Rs.904.36/-

In view of the above I request that the same may be rectified and a corrected bill may be presented enabling me to make the payment

I look forward to receiving rectified bill.

Pradeep Kumar Maurya

eag
          Mar 22, 2015

Address: Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Hi this is ashish gautam from rewa mp.Twelve days ago i had purchased idea 3g sim cast of 120 rupees with required document from distributer (which has instoll ) at mpnagar zone 1 in bhopal but sim couldn't active i am thinking that document hasn't submitted. i lose my 120 ruppess . so plz give me 1 gb data for which i paid. if idea have responsibility with user . I want benefit or refond my 120 in my acc and i will provide acc no if this cond occur becoz i am true ..i can't mention my idea mob no bcz mob no nt show in packet of idea sim no @[protected]H-2 wanted to send photo of sim for proof that i was saying true .but i couldn't if any option i will also send .that i had already complained but no responce from idea so plz again do and give me solution me

We understand your concern and deeply regret the inconvenience. Kindly share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact details. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

ab kya proof send karu sim no bi bhej diya pr koi fayada nai hua .
          refund my 120 and call me

3g  data  issue complained - Comment #2146004 - Image #0

krakesh89
            Mar 22, 2015

Address: Raipur, Chhattisgarh

I have recharge of 251 for 2G on 6 march 2015 but I again Recharge 3g plan for One day on 21 march 2015 and what?? My 2G recharges was laps.I ask customer care they replied its a recharge overlapping so pl z recharge again and I said please message me that you have overlapped the plan but they are not responsed. Idea should give me 251 2G data plan back to me.
            Mobile no. Is [protected]

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. Please give us some time so that we can get in touch with you and discuss your concern.

We wish to inform you that your complaint for recharge has been resolved and benefit of the recharge has been updated for your Idea number. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Idea cellular you people only updated data plan date.its 3 GB pack and I just used 1.2 GB, where is my remaining 1.8 GB.Dont make people fool..my problem not resolved.

overlapping of plans. - Comment #2132000 - Image #0

Our efforts in contacting you could not be established. Please share your suitable time for us to reach you and address your concern.

Today between 8 to 10 pm

ritesh1978
              from Anand, Gujarat
              Mar 22, 2015

Sir, I have already lodged a complaint for settlement of execess billing amount for the month of Feb 15 of mobile no. [protected] (Not in use). I have also emailed to customer care in this regard that the bill amount you have sent is not adjact as per your plan, while taking connection. As the Plan is NO BILL SOCK - 249 and its limit is RS.500/-. Further i have also told customer care that i have taken this matter to consumer complaints and after their approval i will pay the bill. But on 22 Mar 15 a lady named PRIYA stating herself a customer care executive rang up from contact no. [protected] and made a very irresponsible talk i.e used DADAGIRI TYPE WORD. She said that AAP RITESH SINGH BOOL RAHE HO, MAINE BOLA HA. TO BILL KYU NAHI PAY KAR RAHE HO? Another thing sir, they are picking contact no. from my bill and calling to them i.e my office, realatives stating that this man has not paid the mobile bill. Which is leaving a bad image of mine in my office and may effect on my service carrier. So it is my humble request that kindly do needful action against them.

gunjan-9
                Mar 21, 2015

Address: Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh

I heard on radio to dail *150*600# for more info on net pack and i did the same immediately 25rs deducted from my account and got one msg that 600mb credit and final vol this n this, val 7th april and prp exp date 26th march. When i called on customer care for complain he said 600mb credited in ur acc. And last net pack got lapsed. I told him dat i got d msg of exp of 7th april but he said u r lying, moreover i hv nt rcvd evn 600mb too. Wat a pathetic service by service provide. Even they dont know how to talk with their customer.

We understand your concern and deeply regret the inconvenience. Kindly share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact details. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

amit06212
                  Mar 20, 2015

Address: Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh

Sir, My name is Amit srivastava and i have lost my Idea Prepaid Sim Card. so, i want to block my sim card immediately, so that anyone cannot make use of it illelegly. Please acknowledge me ASAP. i shall be highly obliged to you for this kind work. My idea no was [protected] my alternate no is [protected]

We are sorry to hear the loss of your SIM card. SIM deactivation requires validation of your details. We request you to contact Idea customer care helpline to block the SIM. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 12345 from your Idea mobile.

pranshu electricals pvt.ltd
                    from Aurangabad, Maharashtra
                    Mar 20, 2015

Address: Aurangabad, Maharashtra

Dear sir, This refers to our request made in the August 2014 for change of group plan. We at Pranshu Electriclas pvt. ltd, midc waluj Aueangabad have taken your service for group plans since last 3 years. Last year in the month of August 2014 we have placed a request for change of plan through e mail to your office "Parijat enterprises" in garkheda area. Except our directors number [protected], plan for all other numbers was changed as per our request. After our several reminders also the plan for [protected] was not changed and due to which we were getting heavy bill every month. We have requested your office to reverse the excess amount and change the plan at earliest. If this problem is not resolved immediately, we will be forced to take legal action against it and will be forced to change over to other service providers.

Gangadhar Vemulapalli
                      Mar 20, 2015

sir my name is gangadhar.mobile number [protected] i am an idea customer since 10years today i called to our customer care number due to the cutting of my balance one of our customer agent named kalyan had misleaded me and when i am calling to our customer care number it responds that they are busy every time he kept my number in auto reject so then whom should i call for queries

We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern. Please give us some time so that we can get in touch with you and discuss your concern.

We have thoroughly checked your Idea account details and it is found that the charges applied to you are correct as per the VAS plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Raju Krishnamurthy
                        Mar 20, 2015

Hello Team, Please note that i am a Idea Post paid user and my post paid mobile number is [protected]. I have stopped using the above mentioned number since from six months and I had previously asked Idea Customer care people to disconnect my post paid number as i was not at all satisfied with their services. Later i was asked to pay my due bill amount of INR 610.76 on 24-Feb-2015, i tried to pay the due amount through online and faced website error always, So I mailed Mr Sendhil Kumar (sendhil.[protected]@idea.adityabirla.com ) to arrange for payment pickup on 03-Mar-2014 and had no response for it. Yesterday I recieved a Lok Adalat notice for payment of my due amount and i am totally frustrated of this as i was ready to pay the amount and still receiving the notice because of their mistake / ignorance. on the email Mr Sendil Kumar has mentioned to contact him through his e-mail id or call Gayathri on [protected] for settling the dispute out of court. I have sent en number of mails from yesterday to Sendhil kumar stating that I am ready to settle this out of court and also called Gayathri but she always says that she is out of office and MR sendhil kumar is not at all replying to my mails. This shows how they are least concerned about the consumers, I am mentally harassed by this. Kindly help me to resolve this issue as i am feeling sad on myself for choosing Idea Network. Kindly assist on priority. Regards, Raju.

ritesh1978
                          from Anand, Gujarat
                          Mar 20, 2015

Sir, I MPN my Aircel No. [protected] to IDEA POSTPAID in the month of Dec 14 under plan NO BILL SHOCK-249 and the talk limit of this plan was Rs.500/. I paid the bills of Dec 14 and Jan 15, but the bill of the month of Feb 15 is Rs.1943/- which is approximately four times greater than my talk limit. I want to say that if my limit had exceeded more than Rs.500 they should have stopped my service at once. I interacted with customer care idea service through mail and told the same story but they are pressuring me to pay the amount which is not justified. kindly take necessary and suitable action to settle the issue.

Thanks a lot for your quick concern, Sir.

We tried calling you on your given number however, were unable to reach you. Please share your alternate contact details.

when my billed amount reached to a sum of Rs.600/- plus the barred my outgoing call, folowed by GPRS, SMS and lastly incoming call also.

Sir, my alternate no. is [protected].

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for billing has been initiated by us, under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Refer your comment on reference No.C1-[protected]. Did not hear any fruitful comment on the referred subject as my concern has been acknowledged earlier.
                          Ritesh Kunmar Singh

Balusankar Wavess
                            Mar 20, 2015

Address: Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

why are you detecting the money with out taking any permission of customer actually yesterday u detected my money without my permission & idea signal was not getting in home, idea Internet offers to worst. my family members all are using idea customer only, but idea was decreasing there level day by day

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

Saravanan Subburaman
                              Mar 20, 2015

Dear Friends, Please don't choice idea cellular and datacard. They are cheater after two or three months they will added unknow charges and say they are correct and force you to pay bill by disconnecting, what ever they are charging will be correct and we have to pay. So never go with idea Dear Idea Team, Please find the attached screen shot, i had cleared my bills of rupee 1628. You cheater refused to disconnect the service and forceing to pay unwanted bills, I hope now you can disconnect Whatever you do, I won’t mind but should not receive any unwanted bills like saying pro rate basis charges etc. or some stupid policy which your company use to cheat the customer and earn money which they are earning by theirs hard work. Please stop my services and billing immediately. My attached screen shot will show you, how much bill I use to get ever month before and what is the bill this month. I activated 1GB 3G for 250 rupee for topup. But never thinked idea company is a cheats and theirs stupid charging policy. I am happy with my alternate Airtel number, which i using for 10year and never faced any issue or called customer care for an issue. My plan was Rs.299 and activated 1 GB 3G data for Rs.250. So including tax etc bill should be Rs.650. But you cheated me Rs.1000 and saying its correctly charged.

Shailesbhai
                                from AHMEDABAD, Gujarat
                                Mar 20, 2015

Dear Sir, We are having to your kind attention towards following 1. We are having CUG facility for following Nos. 2. Our Cell phone are not working in time of showing full towers kindly Chang to look into the mater seriously and do need full. If you do not take any complain altered over shall be compelled to change from idea to any other agency. Regards, For, Waterforce Pumps, Sr. Accountant

shindeamol
                                  Mar 20, 2015

I am using Idea cellular service over 3 years but didn't face 3G network issue. In recent days I am unable to connect 3G network from area in Vidya Nagar, Krishna Chowk, Pimple Gurav, New Sangavi, Pune. To resolve this issue I suggest you to install one more tower in this area. Kindly look into it asap. Thanks in advance.

We regret the inconvenience caused. Please share your Idea mobile number and alternate contact number and we will be glad to assist you. You can also visit our website, www.ideacellular.com or call 198 from your Idea mobile.

jayshine
                                    Mar 19, 2015

Address: Kozhikode, Kerala

sir, By mistake i have purchase one idea postpaid mobile connection . That was my biggest mistake. At very next month i was start getting bill of rs 980. sir i was surprised and decided to discontinue the services. When i visited idea showroom. they asked me to call some other officer. i told them you are having my security deposit balance you take and settle the bill and disconnect the mobile no. but thay refused. after that i removed the sim card and lost it somewhere. after 3 month thay have sent one letter and continuously sending till date. I am illiterate in Malayalam what thay write i dont know. thay are treating me by these letter. Kindly see the attached letter and help me to solve this problem. The puchase mobile no was: [protected]. email Id: shamshine.e(at)gmail.com Thanks and regards - Anil kumar vishvakarma

We deeply regret the inconvenience. We have noted your concern and we have your contact details. We will get back to you at the earliest.

We tried contacting you on your given numbers however, were unable to get through. In order to proceed further, please provide your alternate contact details together with suitable date/time to contact you.

sir thanks for your quick response. my contact no is[protected]. thanks again
                                    sir thanks for your quick response. my contact no is[protected]. thanks again.

We wish to affirm that your concern has been acknowledged and your complaint for billing has been initiated by us, under reference number C1-[protected] and you shall hear on the same at the earliest. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Sorry sir, no response from your end so far. what i need to do.

ChandraSekhar Duggirala
                                      Mar 19, 2015

I have a datacard with no:[protected] and i tried to reach customer care regarding the change of plan but the guy who answered asked me to try on another number and dropped the call. I tried to reach on three different numbers but no one helped me out that day. I was frustrated and asked him to raise a complaint, he said they were not supposed to do that. I don't understand why do we need customer care if they are not able to answer or resolve or raise a complaint for the same and then the call got disconnected. I have called again then a lady apologized on his behalf for not raising a complaint and she said she will raise a complaint for me and she has given me the complaint and she gave me number "C1- [protected]". it was 10 days since i raised this complaint. I dint get any call from the concerned team till date and hence i have called the customer care again today and i came to know that there was no such complaint on my number. even today it took 4 calls to reach the customer care. They are asking me to be on hold and at last it says please check the number you have dialled. I dont know who can answer me or help me on this issue. Today they have given me a complaint ID again with :C1-[protected]. PLEASE BEAWARE OF IDEA. THIS IS THE WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER SEEN. you can reach me on my handy for any further details

We regret the inconvenience caused. We have noted your concern. We will get back to you shortly.

We tried calling you on your provided numbers however, were unable to reach you. Please share your alternate contact details and suitable date/time to contact you.

Saravanan Subburaman
                                        Mar 19, 2015

i requested for 1 GB additional 3G data in-between the billing cycle for my post paid because my free data of 750MB was finished in-between. But instead of top-up there was same issue in system and it charged me for free 750 MB data and additional 80 rupees for using more than 750 MB and again 80 rupees for activating 1GB data in between the billing cycle. Even all outgoing call, SMS and data were stopped by idea for four days and forced me to pay some amount after paying 500 it got activate again. Every month i get bill around 350, but this month got 1600 rupee bill.

We have thoroughly checked your Idea account details and it is found that the charges are levied correctly in your bill towards GPRS plan assigned. For further assistance, kindly contact our Idea customer care helpline.

Dear Friends, Please don't choice idea cellular and datacard. They are cheater after two or three months they will added unknow charges and say they are correct and force you to pay bill by disconnecting what ever they are charging. So never go with idea, i use Airtel and they are always good in service and billing.

Dear Idea Team,

Please find the attached screen shot, i had cleared my bills of rupee 1628. You cheater refused to disconnect the service and forceing to pay unwanted bills, I hope now you can disconnect Whatever you do, I won’t mind but should not receive any unwanted bills like saying pro rate basis charges etc. or some stupid policy which your company use to cheat the customer and earn money which they are earning by theirs hard work. Please stop my services and billing immediately.

My attached screen shot will show you, how much bill I use to get ever month before and what is the bill this month. I activated 1GB 3G for 250 rupee for topup. But never thinked idea company is a cheats and theirs stupid charging policy. I am happy with my alternate Airtel number, which i using for 10year and never faced any issue or called customer care for an issue.

My plan was Rs.299 and activated 1 GB 3G data for Rs.250. So including tax etc bill should be Rs.650. But you cheated me Rs.1000 and saying its correctly charged.

7720045677 - Comment #2130883 - Image #0