IDP IELTS Complaints & Reviews

Updated: May 3, 2024
Complaints 720

File a complaint to IDP IELTS

Having problems with IDP IELTS?

File a complaint and get it resolved by IDP IELTS customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

IDP IELTS reviews & complaints page 35

Kady Kayne
Oct 19, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110018

I am writing this mail to express my deep grievances in connection with counselling by ms priti (preeti) of newly opened rajouri garden branch of idp delhi. i would like to register my complaint for her rude behaviour and vague reasons for refusing to accept/process my application.

I was told that she is an experienced counsellor for canada studies. however, to my dismay, she turned out to be very disappointing to me. her first sentence, after reviewing my candidate form details, was quote "i can not help you with canada student visa, your profile is 110% ineligible". it was not the content of her statement but her rude tone which baffled me. personally i expect an experienced counsellor to have some patience in explaining the reasons for rejection. but the only reason she told me was that she had processed many candidates and by experience she can tell me 110% that my visa for canada will be denied. moreover, when i requested her to process my application, she again out rightly denied to accept my application and told me that idp does not process poor profile candidates, such as mine and also personally suggested me to not even try by myself as it would be a wasted effort.

My profile:-
5 years work experience
M.com (distance learning; only 1 backlog; 2yrs program completed in 5yrs due to busy work schedule) - 57%
Cfa level 1 cleared (usa aimr, chartered financial analyst) - 75%
B.com (regular college, delhi university; only 1 backlog) - 56%
12th cbse (commerce) - 84%
* ielts score:- overall 6.5 (with no less than 6 band in any module)

I took a leave from office to personally visit and waited half an hour in the idp rajouri garden office to experience a 10 minute counselling-cum-embarrassment. i believe my profile is not poor and i can be considered for student visa. i wondered what could be the reason for her behaviour, may be the previous meeting of her did not go well or may be she is disturbed or unsatisfied with her new branch work. so, it is my humble request to kindly look into the matter and provide counselling to ms priti on how to greet and treat applicants.

I hope my complaint will be taken into account and such irresponsible behaviour of counsellors could be monitored and prevented in the future, so that prospective candidates may not face such harassment in hands of such disturbed counsellors.

IDP IELTS customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
The same thing happened with me, why can't the counsellor of canada of nagpur, MS/MRS Bhagyeshri behave nice. she openly said to the front desk officer to not to give my call to her again. Seems like idp is bhagyeshri's father's company. The issue was' She just shut me down saying that i cannot pursue anything apart from MBA from canada, where in my profile i don't have any education regarding commerce, i requested her to check on some IT courses, but she just completely denied saying the same. I told her that i m eligible for the certain IT diploma course according to the university website. But she becomes rude and starts saying all the nonsense like' never to give my call to her etc.
This just creates mistrust on idp. I don't know what is the main goal of idp.

Aakash Augustine
    Oct 18, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110093

I am Aakash Augsutine form Delhi. I called IDP to cancel my exam which is on 19 November. The customer agent told me that it is only possible before 34 days and told me that is 31 days left. After the call I actually counted the days and later acknowledged that its was still 34 days remaining but still they are not ready to cancel my exam and returned my fee
    Very very dumb company not giving bands to students... only half band they are not giving shame on you

gps singh
      Sep 29, 2016

Address: Sangrur, Punjab, 148031

I gaganpreet singh bedi, I had given my ielts exam on 14july 2016. I result was supposed to be announced on 27july 2016 but on that day I got a mail that my result is on hold due to investigation purpose. After almost 2 months on 5 sept 2016 I got mail from IDP india with a pdf attached document in which it is mentioned that my result has been cancelled. I was surprised at that time and they didn't give any proper reason of cancellation. When did call to consumer helpline they also talk rudely with me. I also visited to the head office at gurgaon, there they didn't provide me proper information why result is cancelled without giving any reason. IDP is a fraud company, playing with futures of students and wants to make money by destroying the career of youth. they told me to forward your questions to verification.[protected]@idp.com. I also did that but didn't get any reply yet. They took almost two months for investigation so why didn't give me proper proof of cancellation. I they don't have any reason because I didn't do anything wrong. I'm innocent. Now I am decided to lodge complaint against IDP in consumer court and I will challenge them. They making it as a business . They don't care about the future of students.

Alka Thakur
        from Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
        Sep 26, 2016

Address: Gurgaon, Haryana, 91

On 23sept2016 i attended a ielts speaking test held by idp center in855 at hotel crown palace indore.when i enter the room for speaking test mrs.rekha gupta sitting posture surprised me . she was sitting putting her one leg on the chair. during my test she hold me for number of times with annoying facial impression, which distracted me and put mental pressure on my mind. her body language was totally unprofessional.
        In the last section she was quite rude with me, even her annoyance voice tone is recorded in the recorder.i request you to please consider all these points while doing my speaking evaluation.

Alka

Ajit Ajit
          Sep 3, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400058

Very Inappropriate Behaviour of staff name (Jha) at church-gate Mumbai branch .I Called on 3rd september 2016 to ask weather counselor for Australia is there and weather i can visit branch but Person name Jha picked up the call and said no one is there for Counseling and every one is busy .I been calling branch since 11 am but all the time he was saying every one is not available so finally after calling 15 times till 3 PM i asked him can you please call counselor for at least 5 min or can you ask weather i can visit for counciling today. his reply was i cant call counselor and nor i can ask .I dont understand how come counselor cant even give 2 min to talk to person while every time i visit the branch all are doing timepass and not even brother to pick up the call. Also counselor are inexperience and dont know about any good university they will tell you that you cant apply for top universities before checking any requirement and they will show there self too busy like they been working there from 15 hours.Specially Andheri branch where they will never pick up your call and when you go there no one is interested to pick up phone even if its ringing front of them they all are busy in chatting.

Trina Jayendran
            Aug 22, 2016

Address: 560043

I took my IELTS through IDP on 4th of August, 2016 in Bangalore . The exam day showed us how unprofessional and cheap money making crooks IDP people are. Total exam duration was about 10 hours . It was a mockery of the candidates who turned up as early as 10 or 11 in the morning, when at 1 o clock they tell us that the courier with question papers have not arrived the test venue! They start their test finally at about 3 o clock and give us 2 biscuits for lunch ! For writing test we are told that the hall is booked for another occasion and we got to move to the terrace of the hotel where it was being conducted. Yes you all read it right. We went to the terrace, arranged our own chairs, fought over places to sit and finally finished writing module at 9:30 PM . After all this drama, I get to know that my results are withheld and IDP has the 'courtesy' to inform me about this 15 days after the test date. Moreover, to my shock and utter disgust, they can't even commit a date by when I will get my results ! And oh yes they can't even give a clear reason why my answers are selected for this so called 'quality check' / 'integrity check' scrutiny. IDP India, I seriously believe you guys should close your shop here and get lost. Cheaters!
            Aug 22, 2016
            Updated by Trina Jayendran
            This is complete waste of time and money as this indefinite delay has put my immigrations plans at stake. If at all some papers are being sent for review, why can't the candidates be told as to by what date they will get their results. Leaving aside the harassment and drama we had to face during the day of exam, which was utterly disgusting and uncalled for, keeping the candidates guessing about the date of results shows your apathy and failure in delivering the service you claim to deliver. 11k+ rupees are what we have paid. At least show some professionalism.
            IELTS the conducts language test is ok but the way the test is conducted and managed by IDP raises concern and causing great distress to candidates and their parents.
            My daughter took the test and I registered for her test paying by credit card (my credit card charged Rs 11300 a large sum of money but though we chose the date 26th of November 2016 as test date there should be advance intimation if there is change in date or any change in exam conducted by IDP (including additional test if any) however to our surprise IDP sends a mail (that went to spam folder) that there is a oral/ viva exam before 26th that would be held in 24th (the mail arrived very late, just 48 hours before the exam.
            Accidentally the mail as it went to spam folder could not be noticed by us, also Candidate suffered from fever and severe tonsillitis so it was very distressing as both delay in noticing the mail and candidates physical condition made candidate miss the test, however candidate tried to call IDP (no one from IDP answered call despite repeated attempt) next at the test center on 26th Nov 2016, even candidate tried to seek help from Test taker for the same and test taker also considered the issue sympathetically and said yes the same will be re conducted in suitable date (that will be intimated) however as no call came from IDP we called and they said as candidate could not take exam on 24th Aug (oral exam) she must reappear the test however no examiner available to take exam in Pune (place where candidate stays) and no refund will be possible as candidate marked absent. This causes great distress to both candidate and parents.
            This shows how casually the examiners/IDP who conduct IELTS (supposed to be professional body) behave without responsibility and accountability, this not only causes inconvenience to all concerned but also causes huge mental agony and financial loss for parents of candidate. This must stop.

beingharis
              Aug 20, 2016

Address: 560001

I am taking up an ielts exam for the second time and was shocked to see the results of individual bands. Having already taken up an academic test earlier and scoring above 7.5 in all bands, i was devastated to see a 5.5 during the second time.
              Firstly, i don't understand the concept of a two-year validity for the certificate; not like a person would lose his primary language skills in such time.
              Secondly, the cost for registrations or even applying for a revaluation is simply pathetic. Talking about revaluation, we understand it's only an english language test and there wouldn't really be a necessity to verify scores or corrections. But after hearing about how carelessly the evaluation is done and how applicants are often kept at the receiving end, i can only imagine where my true scores lie. All these ridicules are merely a money minting strategy to keep the pockets stacked while people like me land up in such helpless situations. I urge everybody to take an initiative in bringing a change to the system so that justice is equally served.
              Same here bro i got 6.5 in british council But when second time for improvement i sit in idp ielts and i expected 7 band but result was 5.5. IDP is totally fraud agency. They just making money from ielts tests. I think we have to file case against idp for these frauds.The court must make order for rechecking of these tests from another authority like British Council.
              Yes, We must file case against IDP for not giving propar result.

Manojitdas
                from Belgaum, Karnataka
                Aug 18, 2016

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560001

I was totally exhausted when exam delayed. I was mentally stressed while writing the exam. During the reading test external people from hotel created a lot of noise which impacted my performance. IDP in the mid of the exam declared to schedule the test in terrace where there was no sufficient light. Though the decision was take after the 1st two tests were were not sure about the decision taken by IDP. We were not given any written assurance from the management and no body was there to take the ownership and responsibility to take proper decision. Because of this my results were obiously below expectation.The environment was not at all exam friendly. I want my hard earned money back which I borrowed from my retired father.Refund the money or allow me to rewrite the exam with free of cost.
                After such chaos in movenpick hotel bangalore on 4th Aug 2016, IDP send out the results in which everyone got default rating of 5 or 6 and (all the tests like listening reading writing speaking had same result of 5 or 6 which is highly impossible to score same in all tests). Which shows fraud IDP India didn't even did a correction of our papers.

Prakash
                Same here, faced the same issue.

Received apology mail with no action.

Expecting the action should be taken seriously else we might publish this issue in social media.

Kishore

D Bajaj
                  Aug 17, 2016

Address: 560001

One of the idp test center in on 4th aug 2016 bangalore, it turned out to be a nightmare for us. Test was scheduled at 11:15 am but finished by 10:30 pm.

1. Listening and reading test delayed by 2 hours due to non-receipt of questions papers
                  2. Test venue shifted from ground floor to terrace in windy and cold environment with no proper lighting
                  3. No lunch or dinner was provided for about 8 hrs and writing exam was end up at around 9:30 pm

On top of all these, idp staff handled whole chaos immaturely that kept on changing decisions in every few minutes. It has not only caused a lot of inconvenience but left most o[censored]s with no option than to pursue the examination.

Half of the candidates didn’t bother to react to the situation on that day.

Unless it is made a big issue nothing is going to work out. The scores are out and how many of you scored well?

Each o[censored]s had a mind set to write the exam properly and due to the pathetic staff and organizers the test happened in a shabby way.

If this is way to make money then let them take little more than 11k and give good marks.

Kindly contact me people who have suffered. [protected]@gmail.com
                  i also had the the exact same exam, i have not received my results yet. pls respond if you have an relevant information on the matter.
                  Same with me . I have not received my results and they are saying my results are sent for investigation. I don't get this at all . 4th august, 2016 experience was the worst ever exam day experience in my life.
                  Dear IDP Officer,

My sister went to the Ielts Exam center for her exam today in Moga, Punjab, India.

In her Ielts reading part she was inspected by two examiners because they thought that she is having electronic device. She told me that it harrased her a lot and the examiners behaved very badly with her. It wasted her time and she could not foucus on her reading. She was assaulted very badly and the first person to inspect her even pressed her face very hard. Kindly help us with this assault.

Pam sooch
                    Aug 9, 2016

I had attended the test for academic category on 25th june 2016 from the exam center in jalandhar, the result of which was anticipated on 8th july, 2016. On the day of the result, i received a mail that my result was withheld for investigation.
                    It is really late. Please let me know about my result.
                    My details
                    Name parwinder kaur
                    Passport number l5840260
                    Date of birth 30/12/1974

Jyot Singh
                      Jul 21, 2016

Respected sir/mam
                      I want to bring under your notice the delay in declaration of results for ielts exam scheduled on 25/6/16. As per idp rules, the results are declared within 13 days of examination i. E.8/7/16. But an email dated for the same day informed that the results have been withheld owing to security concerns and hence the result date has been postponed by 2-3 days.

But unfortunately even after a month the situation remains hapless. The concerned authorities must realize the importance of the test results as any loopholes may lead the students being worsened off! Furthermore there has been total negligence by idp without stating the reason for lopsided delays. The long delay has put students future into jeopardy, especially students going abroad for undergraduate courses. The so called helplines have made the scenario more grim by not disclosing the details and not paying attention to the customer calls. The only help they provide is transfer to other customer care desks, just to avoid themselves being scrutinized. Keeping all these factors in mind it has become quite difficult to cope up with the anxiousness and the tension! It's high time the idp improvises and carries out necessary measures to revamp the situation, otherwise the students would be forced to carry out steps which might hamper the reputation of the institution.

Yours truly
                      An aggravated student.
                      I attended two Idp tests on July 30th and august4thand for both exam I got one examiner for speaking. I am waiting for my results. It is not good to get same examiner so there will not be improvement in my score.please consider this request.

Manpreet MarkanDe
                        from Adampur, Punjab
                        Jul 16, 2016

Address: Bathinda, Punjab, 151001

This is in regard to the delayed ietls result. i gave the test on 18/06/1998 and was told that the result would be released by july 1, 2016. but now i have been told my result is under investigation. i totally fail to understand the reason for the investigation and the fact that a student's whole future is at risk because of this so called investigation, i failed to meet my college's deadline to submit my result. i sent a number of emails to ielts.[protected]@idp.com describing my situation, but they yet did not tell me about the exact time period by which they would release the result. the agency should adopt transparent policies regatding the result. atleast, the student must know what went wrong. if they doubt my calibre or something of that sort then why don't you simply declare the results with a notice saying i've to give a retest or something like that? what's the point in keeping the students hanging like this? and why would you guys care, because it ain't your future. do you realize there are a number of students like me who had no backup plans for staying here and thought they'd join their colleges on time because they were too confident that the result would be released on time and they won't miss the september intake? who is to be held responsible if i fail to make to the january intake as well because of the education gap as i have not enrolled myself in any of the local colleges.

sai rahul kumar
                          Jul 15, 2016

Address: 600089

I have booked the ielts exam date for 25th aug 2016... So i hve paid the money on 15th july 16.. My approval was rejected but money was debited from my bank acc of rs.11450/-... What i want to doo please reply as soon as possible... Otherwise please contact directly once to me. My ph no is [protected] otherwise please send me your contact no to my mail adress

Shrikrishna Naik
                            Jul 12, 2016

Address: Thane, Maharashtra, 400601

I had attended the test for general category on 25th june 2016 from the exam center in mumbai, the result of which was anticipated on 8th july, 2016. On the day of the result, i received a mail that my result was withheld for investigation.

On an enquiry with your central call center, i was surprised at the insensitivity shown by the call center team when they said that they cannot commit on the date by which results would be declared. I asked for a commitment on the rime, there was no response.

I intend to move to australia and hence had appeared for this exam. There is a real urgency in my case as i will be crossing the prescribed age limit this year. Hence the urgency.

I would request your good self to look into my case and assist me in expediting the matter.

My details are as below

1. Name :- shrikrishna jairam naik
                            2. Passport no :- h6745348
                            3. D. O. B :- 30/09/1973

Thanking you for your support in advance
                            I am also facing the same issue. I called them up and they say we cannot commit on the timelines as to when the invesigation will get over. This is just ridiculous, how can some one act so irresponsibly and what kind of investigations these people are doing with hardly 4 sheets of paper in all.
                            Same here with me. IDP customer support refuses to commit any date for issuance of results that are withheld. This organisation should have its licence cancelled in India because they are reduced to a money minting agency with zero level of professionalism, honesty and commitment towards the service they are supposed to be delivering. We are paying 11k+ for each test and we don't seem to have the right to know about the test result ! Is this a joke or something?
                            Anissha Chaudhari's reply, Jan 3, 2019
                            This is pathetic,

And now my result has been withheld without any time or date. Have you got your issue resolved ??

Anisha Chaudhari

AnuMandeep
                              Jul 10, 2016

Address: Mohali, Punjab

My ielts test was held on 16th june 2016.
                              Result supposed to release on 1st of july 2016.
                              But i am still waiting for and real satisfactory update form idp.
                              I did receive one an email from idp about investigation which was being performed by idp partners due to some security reason.
                              But i am very disappointed with the service provided by this international company.
                              I have not received any fixed result declaration date.
                              I am struggling to get more clear information form their customer service. as their customer service is foolishly reply my phone calls and seems like passing ball to other branches.

This delay has disturbed by future plan.
                              I am not sure how can i make proper complaint about this issue.
                              My result ought to be out on 1st july but it got delayed. I called head office they just told me to wait.whenever i call thm they just say wait wait. My family is in tension No information is being provided to us regarding result.plz publish my result its humble request

Jasdeep Benipal
                                from Kapurthala, Punjab
                                Jul 9, 2016

My result was to be declared on 1st of july but now it is 10th of july i have not yet received any information regarding my result so please contact me on phone or send a message on phone because i am getting late for september intake and everytime i look for my result i shows just my name or no candidate result found and sometimes invalid and facing my problems due to delay in result so give me some information regarding my result.

Manju Pratheesh
                                  Jul 8, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110037

I Manju pratheesh (passport No -Z3465725) attended ielts exam trough Idp 4 times. Last l attended the test on 25 jun and my result is L-7.0, S-6.5, W-5.5, R-7.5. Now l am darm sure that idp ielts is fake or fraud.We are giving for re-evaluation which coasts aprox- Rs -8500. I want to see the answer sheets also. For idp it may be a business but for us it is our life. So we will just wait and see.

Simarjitsingh
                                    Jul 2, 2016

Address: 143409

Good morning
                                    I gave test on 18th of june at humble hotel amritsar. There a teacher announced that our results will be posted on 1st july at the adress we've given when filled the test. So, now i m trying to get my result online, but nothing is to be going good. The website ( ur official website ) is irritating me a lot. I m very disappointed with your system, neither my result is posted at given adress nor, it is been showed on internet. I want my result as soon as u can.

mr.gagandeep11
                                      Jun 23, 2016

Address: Hoshiarpur, Punjab, 146001

My name is Gagan Deep and i am from India City Hoshiarpur.Recently on 19th may 2016, I have taken the IDP General exam.After 13th day, they have not given my result.Then i call to Customer care, and after long Conversation for 5 days.They sent me a mail that You are have arranged another person to sit on exam on your behalf.They raised allegation on me that you have done malpractice on 19th may date.
                                      Then next day i went to head office gurgaon and discuss with them the issue, And they told me that your face is actually not matching with passport photo.
                                      I raised a question that when i was entering into exam hall for both dates(Speaking and LWR), your staff member took my snapshot and finger print.so that before you gave my result you have to properly match all the evidence.
                                      They are simply declaring me a fraud person.After hundred of calls i have done, Then today they release my result, that was totally fake.They given me overall5.5band(R=6, L=5.5 W=5.5 S=5.5). They are not publish my result on Internet and not sent me a SMS also.After many calls, they publish my result on IELTS website.I think they had misplace my answer sheets or they are transferring my result to another person.
                                      Again i call to IDP official, they suggest me that you have to pay 8475INR to re evaluate your exam.
                                      The qustion is that if they really misplace my sheets then after re evaluation they sent me the same result even not display my exam sheets tp me.
                                      At the last, a normal person have no right to raise a voice, these money makers agencies making only money even don't try to understand the career of someone.
                                      My suggestion to all, that please don't take the IDP ielts exam, They totally threat the Exam takers.

Gagan Deep
                                      mr.[protected]@gmail.com
                                      Nov 22, 2017
                                      i too felt same, i know my wife's band score is 7 and above but they don't want to give 7 they just stick with 6.7 or 6 she do correction from Blog.com she practice online speaking since 3 years.
                                      Chriselle Della D'souza's reply, Sep 22, 2017
                                      i too felt same, i know my wife's band score is 7 and above but they don't want to give 7 they just stick with 6.5 or 6 she do correction from Blog.com she practice online speaking since 3 years.

Jaspreet Dhawan
                                        from Jalandhar, Punjab
                                        Jun 16, 2016

Address: Ludhiana, Punjab, 141001

On 7th of June, 2016, I attended IELTS speaking test held by IDP in their Ludhiana center at Gulmor Hotel.

When my turn came they ask me to go in hotel room#210 where examiner told me that Air Conditioner is not working, but w ill be start working in next 10 minutes, i interviewed in sweltering afternoon without any fan and AC that impacted my speaking test as i was sweating a lot.

Examiner did not wait for AC to come up rather they called me and started my speaking test, hence make me suffer and interviewed in bad weather condition.

That test itself is about 10-15 minutes, why they did not understand that 10 minutes are crucial and can impact huge on someone's future.

I am not sure why they charge so much money for the IELTS exam, if they are not providing the proper facilities to the students on exam day, rather they harass the students and that leads to student not performing well in exam.

I hope proper action should be taken by IDP in near future correspond to this issue.

Thanks!!