[Resolved]  DTC — DTC services: A tale of corruption

I've been living in Delhi since 2006 but my experience with Delhi's transport is very pathetic. According to me, transportation means, Autos, Taxies, Blue Line buses, DTC Buses which is a growing eclipse on the face of beautiful capital of India, Delhi. Now, I want to lighten the poor transportation system accordingly.

Firstly, let us talk about the Auto Rikshaws. As we all know that thousands of autos are being run in Delhi NCR and the auto rikshaw drivers charge the passenger as per their wish instead of meter reading. If somebody objects, they refuse to go. In such conditions a common man is helpless to do anything. If somebody calls the police to register a complaint, he is tortured by police personnel because they usually take bribes from them. Though, didn't ever traveled through taxi, but the same case might be there. Isn't it?

Now let us move towards the Blue Line buses, the biggest curse on Delhi's transportation system which has even made our DTC most corrupt department, I think. As I've written above that I've commuting in Delhi since 2005, so I found the poorest transportation being provided by Blue Line buses. Most of the people believe that these killer buses are of our politicians and can not be stopped however; DTC can be blocked by the owners of these blue line buses. The service of Blue Line buses is poorest service in the world. These buses are being run on the road without permit. There is no law and order for them because they pay commission to police department as well as to DTC officials. The condition of the Blue Line buses is very poor however there is nobody to check them out. Here are some bullets points which are really worry for:

1. Jerking condition of Blue line buses.

2. Rude behaviors by blue line bus staff. They use very ruff wording like; teri bahan ko chodun aage ho jaa, bahan ke lode yahin utar ke nanga kar ke marunga.

3. In fact, the conductors of these buses are real rebels who are responsible to spread terror on the road.

4. Gives hush money to DTC staff and Police so that they can not interfere in there way. If somebody does not accept bribe, is beaten bitterly. They dare to beat the govt. staff because they know that their owners will save them from any critical situation because they have very high links with high profile officials.

5. Irresponsibility: The blue line bus staff is very irresponsible. To earn money they fill the bus like garbage and stop anywhere they wish and refuse to go to its destination. The main problem is in Noida which has become a hub of criminal activities and these culprits are prevailing in NCR areas because the law and order is just zero here and corruption is in full swing.

6. Smoking: Though there is a that smoking is banned in public places however it seems that, that rule is not for Blue Line bus staffs.

Now let us move forwards towards Delhi Transport Corruption which has become a most corrupt department in Delhi followed by Delhi NCR police. Here are some bullet points which have made DTC the poorest service in the world:

1. No time table: Though, in papers, every bus is running on the road on time but in reality DTC bus drivers and conductors are the owner of the buses. They can stop buses anywhere on the road by saying; bus kharab ho gayi hai utar jao.

But, within the span of 3 year I didn’t any Blue Line bus broken down in between. If these buses are really out of service then why are being run on the road?

2. Acceptation of bribe from Blue Line staff: I have caught red handed Government servants accepting hush money from Blue Line staff. Unfortunately, I do not have a camera mobile else I would have made a video. According to a DTC driver if they do not accept bribe they are beaten. They allege that their complaints are not paid any heed by their DTC officials who have made them corrupt too. The matter becomes quite worrisome when they afraid of police and do not register their complaint against culprits.

3. No Complaint Books: Whenever, DTC drivers refuse to take the bus as per their schedule commuters ask for complaint book but the DTC bus conductors do not provide any type of complaint book.

4. Worst helpline service: if any commuter tries to make complaint on the DTC helpline number e.i.[protected] he finds it out of service or engaged. If fortunately, he gets connected, the representative sitting on the other end talks very rudely. Their squawk voice makes the commuter more aggressive.

5. Tickets are reused by DTC conductors: This is that fact which wouldn’t ever come in your mind. DTC bus conductors cuts the tickets for passengers and when he sees that commuter are getting down from the bus at their destination he asks for the ticket as a checker and gives those same tickets to the fresh commuters which is main cause of DTC loss.

6. Shortage of DTC buses: though DTC claims that it has sufficient buses on its routes but the reality can be seen on the road. Here, I would like to draw attention towards the Noida route (Route no – 392). I reach at bus stand at 7:50 AM but do not find any DTC from 7:50 to 8:30 AM. In eye of common man there is shortage of buses on this route but the fact is that Blue Line has bought DTC personnel’s honesty. Nonetheless, whatever the fact is; masses look for a better service from DTC.

7. No security to DTC bus staffs: many times I have snubbed and scolded the DTC bus drivers and conductors but they give excuses that they (Blue Line rebels) will beat them to death. They ever complain that their officials do not take any action to save them from these rebels (gundas); even police do not take any action against these Blue Line gundas because they have protégé of their owners.

The points given above are really worrisome. I would appeal to the nation’s young generation be alert to take rigid action those who are making our society dull.

8. Crowd in Buses: Usually a bus contains 42 seats however; more that 100 commuters are packed in a single bus whether it is DTC or Blue Line. Patients, Pregnant ladies, Old persons can not travel in such a crowded bus. A commuter can not ever carry his luggage with him in such a huge crowd.

Here are some suggestions by which the transportation system in Delhi can be improved enough.

1. DTC bus staff should be given proper protection from Blue Line gundas.

2. The timing of the buses must be written on the outer part as well inside the buses. So that buses could set out in time and reach in time at its destinations. DTC bus drivers and conductors make their own timings because nobody knows the actual timing of these buses. If the timings would remain written on the buses then the culprits would not be able to give any excuse.

3. There must be DTC bus service within the span of every 5 – 10 minutes.

4. Every DTC bus must be checked whether all the components of the buses are working well. If not, these components must be changed earliest so that hassles on the road can be avoided.

5. If anyone found guilty in corruption must be suspended from his service at earliest. It will make the DTC officials and staff responsible towards their duties.

6. The Blue Line buses must not be on the road because blue line fertility is the only cause of corruption among DTC. I would say; even terrorism is being produced by these blue line gundas.

7. Politician’s or leader’s buses shouldn’t be run on the road because they people usually show their monopoly which is dangerous to any democracy.

8. Every complaint should be written and proper follow up should be on it and every compliant should be given proper reply with a great solution.

9. Media would have to play a pivotal role in this regards.

If our government takes step forward to eliminate scars of the DTC it would have to implement the points given above. Otherwise, we would never be able to compete with the developed countries.

Yes there are so many problems which creates chaos all round to travel on DTC buses. I want to register a complaint against the checker Jeet(ATI) on bus number 1310 route no.729 on 31/07/09. The bus is fully crowded with passangers and there is even no place to stand out there and due to this my ticket flies off. I said to Jeet ATI that due to this chaos ticket flies away, but he starts using abusive language even i have given penalty, I want immediate action regarding this from DTC department or from govt side. There shall be some first warning if anybody doesnot aware traffic rules.
Since its very difficult for me to read hindi so instructions should be written in English also. So please help me to get my penalty back and also I am here to get subbsidence from wastage of precious time.

Karambir Singh
I leaving in nangloi and, nangloi depot condition is so bedly for the curent time . when we asking to time kipper where is the bus 947A ( Bhati mains) he is saying "bus haumne bhej di hai aa jayegi" and last bus not complet own rout. and passenger are freaze in problam what he will do because no direct DTC bus available for Bhati maines. and no diverted DTC bus available. and your information Bombay is the better then delhi in Buses service. i only request please solve the matter and provide the regular bus service to us.
Dear reader

Here i post my bitter experience with DTC on spot ticket checker.

on 16-10-09 at about 9 .05 am i got down at Nehru Nagar PG DAV college, from DTC bus Route no 460 from the front gate . I saw as usual no ticket checker standing in front of me or intercepting me. I was getting late so rushed towards my hospital after crossing the bus stop i dropped my ticket ( Rs 5) which i had taken for that travel. Suddenly i heard from behind someone calling me. i stopped, came back, there was a fellow in civil dress. He asked me for the ticket. I became astonished that from where he came. I told him that i have dropped the ticket as i found no one. He asked me for fine and blamed me that i have not bought the ticket. genuinely speaking every time i travel in DTC or Blueline I buy my ticket. So it hurt me. I found my ticket was laying on ground i picked it and showed them. they were three none of them tried to check the number of the ticket only asked me for fine. There language was very rough. one of them even told me that cost of ticket would have been Rs 3 instead of Rs 5. It was one more shocking thing being the ticket checker they were not knowing the actual cost of ticket from South extension to PG DAV College. After a bit of argument i had to pay fine of Rs 100. What genuinely speaking I was true I paid my heard earned money for their mistake, rude behaviour and lethargic attitude for their duty.

i could have shown them my ticket before dropping (as they were expecting)
Had any one of them was standing in front of front gate of the bus
or
had intercepted me before i crossed the bus stop
or
had they were in uniform to attract my attention

i wrote above experience

for other commuters : To be alert towards the rude, lethargic, NON-UNIFORMED, indecent on spot DTC ticket Checker.

For Administator : To make your Ticket checker more educated, Polished, Good Behaving, Active, UNIFORMED.

For Ticket Checker : Rectify yourself, Find out The proper defaulter

if any action is not taken i would say it is better for me NOT to BUY Ticket daily and pay fine once in 2 month in average.

With regrds
satyan
U hv a point there, Satyan...i experienced likely the same type of accident and hd to pay fine for Rs. 200. As the youth of d country, we should take some concrete actions against these types of corruption and acts of negligence; which can only be achievd through widespread awreness among d common commuters and thr strong determination 2 solve these problems !!
I am a regular commuter of a DTC Bus which starts from Anand Vihar ISBT to Gurgaon via Badarpur. I am boarding the Bus at Noida Maur, Delhi at 8.30 am daily (Bus No.DL-IP B-2927) dt.19.4.2011 and gets down at Badarpur. But the Driver of the Bus is not taking usual route i.e. it should run below the Badarpur Flyover when it reaches near Badarpur. The Driver of the Bus is usually riding the Bus over the Flyover which starts at Ali Gaon or before NTPC Thermal Power Station Gate thereby resulting in causing the passengers of the Bus to geting down at next stop from NTPC Badarpur and Badarpur crossing stop i.e. Mahrauli-Badarpur Road skipping two main bus stops whereas we the passengers need to get down at Badarpur since the maximum passegers usally go to Faridabad or nearby areas. We have requested the Driver so many times to take the Bus via Badarpur (to ply under the Flyover of Badarpur). We have asked for the Complaint Book from Conductor, but he is reluctant to give the Complaint Book.

It is requested that the Drivers deputed by DTC on the said route may kindly be instructed to ply the Bus under Flyover of Badarpur so that the passengers can avoid daily hardships.
Action initiated may kindly be informed to me.

Santwant Singh Dhillon
I am strongly agree with the above posted comment.

i also have a very bad experience of DTC service.
DTC Driver, conductor and CHECKER are “Uncivilized and Uneducated”. They don't have any manner, they even do not know how to talk with people.

Delhi government recruiting the DTC Checker, who strongly full- fill the below criteria:-
(A) Uncivilized, rude, Bad-Mannered, low-bred, Abrupt, Mad
(B) they belong from far flung area (who never seen/meet with human)
(C) They do not have way to talk.
(D)Speak with a abuse/dirty word. They must use at lease 2-3 abuse/dirty word in each sentence.
(E) They are able to abuse his own Mother – Father, Brother-Sister also.
(F) ignoramus (Uneducated person), never goes to school

On the based of above criteria all DTC Checker are recruiting by Delhi government/ Delhi Transport Dept.

Hope most of the DTC Checker are by birth MadarChod and MUTT.

I am requesting to Government/Administratin Please improve/cultivate the DTC Checker.

Rajeev
HI sir

. u r AC RED BUS ROTE NO RL 77 DTC bus conductors are not Avernus for FOR HANDICAPPED BUS PASS IS ALLOW IN RED AC BUS

WAY, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

conductors IS VARY Rude behaviors ME HE say Abby Langley Tu is 15 Kay pass sa all Delhi travel Kayrga Kay Tu Green bus ma ja

ay jaty ha is bus ma ac ki cooling lany...

I am requesting to Government/Administration Please

DTC bus conductors are not Avernus for FOR HANDICAPPED BUS PASS IS ALLOW IN RED AC BUS

RAKESH KUMAR

MOB. [protected]

Delhi Transport Corporation [DTC]
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    12%
    Delhi Transport Corporation [DTC] Phone
    +91 90 3912 9100
    Delhi Transport Corporation [DTC] Address
    Sector 8 Dwarka, New Delhi, Delhi, India
    View all Delhi Transport Corporation [DTC] contact information