India Today Book Club — amount charged but no delivery...

 
35 Reviews
India
 kuldeep ratnoo
I am possibly one of thousands of people cheated by India Today Book Club. I purchased few books on Internet and paid online using my Credit Card many weeks ago but books never reached me. Since the site didn't have any contact number, I sent few emails but then no response is forthcoming.

I think these cheaters need to be taught a lesson.
Unfortunately I am based in a small town and good legal help is not available. Could someone from legal profession guide about the possible course of action that people like us could take against this ongoing fraud by Living Media Group? Is it a simple consumer forum case or cyber crime is also involved in it, kindly let us know.
Complaint comments  34 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

India Today Book Club — Amount Paid but Books not delivered

I have ordered books and on 22 Sep 2007 with
OREDER NO : 0G07005387
INVOICE : 0R[protected]

The amount was deducted from by Bank account but I am still (12-Nov-2007) waiting for book delivery. I hav followed up on Phone and mails without any success.

I really doubt about this company.

I have done mistake as the offer mail was sent through IRCTC which is very reliable.
Hi,
Its realy bad, its been a long period . we have'nt go our money back
PLease find mail rail below:

Dear Vandana,



Have not received any response from you till date. You had promised in your mail dated 29/10/07 that the issue is being sorted out and the reimbursement is being arranged in 10/12 days time.



Kindly clarify the status per return.



Thanks,



Girija

PS – have been trying to get in touch with you over telephone but am not getting any response.


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Girija Hariharan [mailto:[protected]@connecturf.com]
Sent: Monday, November 05, 2007 2:50 PM
To: 'vandana'
Cc: 'Rakesh Kumar'
Subject: RE: regarding cleopatra



Dear Vandana,



Hope you have been able to figure out the problem at your end and are arranging for the refund at the earliest.



Thanks and regards,



Girija




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: vandana [mailto:vandana.[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com]
Sent: Monday, October 29, 2007 3:02 PM
To: Girija Hariharan
Subject: Re: regarding cleopatra



Dear Member,



Apologies for the delay and the inconveience caused to you.



I'll try to figure out everything from my end and the refund process will take another 10-12 days.



Thanks and Regards



Vandana

India Today Book Club

----- Original Message -----

From: Girija Hariharan

To: 'vandana'

Cc: 'Rakesh Kumar'

Sent: Monday, October 29, 2007 2:22 PM

Subject: FW: regarding cleopatra



Dear Ms. Saluja,



This has reference to my various emails and telephone calls to your office during last one month for refund of the extra amount of Rs.585/- charged towards Cleopatra which has not been received by us. You had also sent a VPP parcel of encyclopedia which we had not ordered for and for which we paid Rs.550/-. I have been regularly following up with your office on email and phone but unfortunately no action has been taken by your office (in fact I have nearly spent the cost of the book on telephone calls made during the past one month).



Would appreciate if you could look into the matter on urgent basis and arrange to refund the amount of Rs.585 + 550 at the earliest.



Your acknowledgement to my mail will be appreciated.



Thanks,



Girija




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Girija Hariharan [mailto:[protected]@connecturf.com]
Sent: Saturday, October 27, 2007 1:03 PM
To: 'Shubham'; '[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com'
Cc: 'Rakesh Kumar'
Subject: FW: regarding cleopatra



We have not received any response from you till date inspite of writing various emails to you . Have been trying to reach your office over phone without much success.



Would appreciate receiving your prompt response to our email below.



Thanks,



Girija




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Girija Hariharan [mailto:[protected]@connecturf.com]
Sent: Wednesday, October 17, 2007 5:41 PM
To: 'Shubham'; '[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com'
Cc: 'Rakesh Kumar'
Subject: FW: regarding cleopatra





Looking forward to your response.



Thanks,

Girija




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Girija Hariharan [mailto:[protected]@connecturf.com]
Sent: Tuesday, October 16, 2007 4:25 PM
To: 'Shubham'; '[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com'
Cc: 'Rakesh Kumar'
Subject: RE: regarding cleopatra



Dear Shubham,



I had called up your office short while ago but was informed that you were not available.



Would appreciate if you could let me know when the cheque in respect of the excess charged amount as indicated in the correspondence exchanged below will be sent to us..



Further would like to state that last week we received a packet from your club by VPP for which we paid an amount of Rs.550/-. There was no invoice available with the packet. On opening we found that the pack contained CD on encyclopaedia and women power. We have not ordered any CD on this subject. On checking with your office today we were told that this was a promotional offer and we can send back the same and you will return the money. Would request you to kindly return the amount for this pack also as we had not ordered for the same.



Would request you not to send any item in future for which we have not placed an order.



Kindly acknowledge receipt of this mail.



Thanking you



Girija




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: rakeshkumar [mailto:[protected]@mediaturf.com]
Sent: Thursday, October 04, 2007 5:06 PM
To: Shubham
Cc: Girija Hariharan
Subject: Re: regarding cleopatra
Importance: High



Dear Shubham,

Thanks for your mail.

Please find the attached, Kindly make the cheque in the favour of V.Ramani, the cheque is gono clear in bombay. you can send us the A/P cheque in our Bombay office or in our Delhi office, find Address below.



Bombay Office :

2nd Floor, D.T.C. Building ,Sitaram Mills Compound .Delisle Road .N M Joshi Marg ,Lower Parel (E) .Mumbai 400011

Tel :[protected], Fax No[protected]



Delhi Office :



E-47, 1st floor, Saket , New Delhi-110017 ,

Tel : +[protected]/224, Fax no - +[protected]



Kindly revert back,& let us know that on which address you are gono send the cheque .



thanxx







REGARDS
RAKESH KUMAR
ASST. ADMINISTRATION
MOBILE-[protected]
[protected]@mediaturf.com
Visit us at : www.connecturf.com





----- Original Message -----

From: Shubham

To: rakeshkumar

Sent: Thursday, October 04, 2007 4:02 PM

Subject: Re: regarding cleopatra



Hi Sir,



Thanks for your concern to us.



In this regards I would like to inform you, that kindly send us your last correspondence along with this e-mail, which reflects that you have not got the desired book and, send us a covering letter asking for refund.



Also mention under whose name the cheque shall be issued and should be payble at which city.



Thanks & regards.



Shubham Jaiswal

India Today Book Club.



----- Original Message -----

From: rakeshkumar

To: Shubham

Cc: Girija Hariharan

Sent: Thursday, October 04, 2007 2:41 PM

Subject: Re: regarding cleopatra



Dear Shubham,

If you are out of cleporta, will prefer to get our money back. Kindly let us know the process & do the needful.

Feel free to call me incase you need.



Shall wait for your revert.





REGARDS
RAKESH KUMAR
ASST. ADMINISTRATION
MOBILE-[protected]
[protected]@mediaturf.com
Visit us at : www.connecturf.com





----- Original Message -----

From: Shubham

To: [protected]@mediaturf.com

Cc: Girija Hariharan

Sent: Thursday, October 04, 2007 11:49 AM

Subject: Re: regarding cleopatra



Hi Sir,



As have informed you, that we will try to procoure the books showing special concern in this regards.



So I would like to let you know that the tittle Cleopatra, which was pending since long time back, we regret to inform you that we would not be able to procure the same, as presently the book status is OUT of Print.



I this regards, we request you to have the ammount refunded or to get the same adjusted in any of your further orders.



Thanking and assuring for the best of services at all times.



For further assistance/queries feel free to get back to us.





Regards,



Shubham Jaiswal

India Today Book Club.

----- Original Message -----

From: Shubham

To: [protected]@mediaturf.com

Cc: Girija Hariharan

Sent: Wednesday, October 03, 2007 4:32 PM

Subject: regarding cleopatra



Hi Sir,



Thanks for your concern with us at our Book Club.



This is in regards to conversation with M/s Vandana Saluja, I have looked into the warehouse, and so regret to inform you that the tittle you have asked for has currently run out of stock.



So in this regards, I would like to request you, It you can wait, I will try my best to get the same book procoured from the procurement department, other wise you can have the refund or adjustment of the same, in any of your futther order.



Thanking and assuring for the best of the services at all times.



For further assistance/queries feel free to get back to us.



We deeply regre for the inconvenience caused to you in this regards.







Thanks,



Shubham Jaiswal
India Today Book Club .
ilkelytoinform u that ihave received 3packages in this month whose INVOICE no;ORB[protected], 0RA[protected], 0RB[protected] AND MY MEMBER SHIPNO;ITBCO7332276

MYUNIQUE TO CLAIM TO GO INDIGO FLIGHT NUMBERS ARE [protected]A[protected],[protected]B[protected],[protected]B[protected]

the web site which was given by u {HTTP://OFFERS.INDIATODAYBOOKCLUB.COM/GREATOFFERS.HTM} is not responding KINDLY SEND US THE DETAILS OF THE PROCESS TO GET GIFTS & HOLIDAY VOUCHER.AS FAST AS YOU CAN.

i.eYESTERDAY I HAD SENT A COMPLAINT TO IN WHICH THE EMAIL ADDRESS HAVE SOME MISTAKE

THANKING YOU,

YOURS SINCERELY,
MA AZIZ
I want your contact number so that we could confirm about product and payment.
As per yuor add seen by me and order for the Purchase of 1. Britannica Concise 2007, 2. Encyclopedia of Britannica - Guide to Shakespeare, and 3. Quiz masters all of these in CD- Roms my Order No. is MITBC-WEB-066858 on 10th June, 2008,

Mean while I have recived the All above mention three CD- Roms on[protected], by Courior,
As per Your add CD-Roms along with ADD-Das Bag also mentioned but i will not received any Bags,

So, verify my oreder and delivery status then, immediatly send the ADD-das Bag to Me,

I will hope you, you do not take more time for delivery of the Bag, in same time very hope in india today book club for take the necessary actions rearding this issue.

Thanking you,

Elayaraja Boovaragasamy
21st June, 2008
Your Order is : MITBC-WEB-1672059
Thank you for your order.
Please note the above order id. no. for future reference.
Give us 2-3 weeks for processing of your order.
For any Queries :Mail us at [protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com
quoting the above mentioned order id.

The above was my order code/no for which i was supposed to receive Cd's-tupper ware set of 3 boxes ect for a vpp of Rs 575.
I have received only the3 Cd's and nothing else and plus order no does not match with the one stated above. Plus i had ti pay Rs603/- instead of 575 .complaint already lodged but no response .Recently i received a VPP of Rs 299 without placing any orders.kindly clearify

Santosh

India Today Book Club — amount payed through credit card but till now no delivery and no reply for email

amount charged but no delivery...
I am possibly one of thousands of people cheated by India Today Book Club. I purchased few books on Internet and paid online using my Credit Card many weeks ago but books never reached me. Since the site didn't have any contact number, I sent few emails but then no response is forthcoming.

I think these cheaters need to be taught a lesson.
Unfortunately I am based in a small town and good legal help is not available. Could someone from legal profession guide about the possible course of action that people like us could take against this ongoing fraud by Living Media Group? Is it a simple consumer forum case or cyber crime is also involved in it, kindly let us know.
dear sir/madam
i request to you due to some problem i want to cancel my order. my order no.MITBC-WEB[protected].
PLZ SIR CANCEL MY ORDER.
THANK YOU
Dear Mr.Mamta Singh,
Your complaint has been resolved on 06/12/2008.
Please refer to the email sent to you on your id. If you have any further queries, please mail back to us on the given id:

[protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com

Would request you to kindly mention this subject: ONLINE COMPLAINTS
Whenever you mail us,

or call us on our customer care No.

[protected]
i am Arun kumar i received parsel on[protected]
I can't receive my product also now, Then i, want to cancel my order and refund money which debited from my creadit card No: [protected]' as early as possiable.


Thank You
Manoj Debnath
Sir, My special offer unique claim no.[protected]A[protected] and my membership no. is ITBC08453163 I buy a book budy offer with free asidas shoe i recieve book budy packet on03/10/08 after this date isend a many massege for adidas shoe but i did not recieve any massege regarding shoe please give me a replay. this is fare

India Book Club — NO PROPER RESPONSE FOR AMOUNT REFUND

Dear Sir / Madam

With so much painful, I am writing this below mail.

Can anybody understand my simple query and sovle this problem??

In short, once again I am reminding my query, I have booked Rebock kit through online against Unique privilaged no. R-17457. but against this order I made two payments in two different cards due to online technicle problems. For which I asked for the REFUND of amount.

In this regard immediately on 22-01-09 I wrote a mail to your department. From that day onwards I am giving the clarificactions and following your advises. Each and everytime one new officer (like Mr. Rohit kumar / Mohit nagpal / Amit kumar etc., ) will be looking into this matter asking again and again clarifications.

Even I informed several times my query and asked for assistance over phone to your customer care helpline but no use.

At last as per advice of Mr. Amit kumar's e-mail dated[protected] we have refused the parcel recd. from BLUE DART vide AWB NO.[protected] against order no. 0GA[protected]. expecting the refund will be done immediately, but unfortunately again one more officer asking entire details on 04-02-09

For your easy reference & understanding, I have given the full mail details below.

Kindly look into this matter and please REFUND Rs.3, 198/- to my ICICI credit card no.
[protected].

Hope my problem will be solved by this mail and I will be very thankful and appreciate for your prompt reply.

Regards
vasudevan
[protected]
I had a similar experience, your case is not an abberation, Living media is into organized online fraud, nobody is there to question them.
sir,

i am feeling no reply from your phone services[protected] as ordered book has been
received but for free gift no unique id is given in the invoice or no reply from telephone only music heard on the line no attandance

not good customer service

harshad
i too agree..for.india today...reebok pack i paid rs.3199 /- through my credit card.. on 31 st jan 2009. and now they r telling that they did nt get it and have to pay again really cheating people..
i have had a similar experience.i never got delivery of the goods after paying for the 16-CD Saaz CD's by them.fortunately, they had drawn only one instalment using my Credit Card .I pursued the matter with Citi Bank and fortunately, they helped me by crediting the amount to my account.Yes, i agree that India Today are perpetuating a fraud on us in the name of ITBC.in fact, they never repond to the e-mails sent to them.i am a subscriber of India Today also, but i am not getting this magazine since past three months- i have written three e-mails, but have not received any reply from them till date.
i live in Noida which is near Delhi, but i do not know how to tackle my problem.now, i am in capacitated temporarily due to Stroke from which i am recovering.wish we had some way to tackle such problems.
ITBC fraud on us customers needs to be stopped immediately.wish i knew how to do this.i would have taken the initiative had i known!
I had paid Rs. 3198 by my credit card, they sent me incomlete reebok kit, i returned the entire packet to them which has been received by them as confirmed by the courier company (Overnite Express) despite of several phone calls, e-mails. No one is showing interest to return the correct packet to me, every time they say the same answer " their system is not updated".
If I order a product they try their levelk best to collect the payment by means of phone calls, sms, e-mail, but for complaints no one is bothered.
I've just come back from www.wexe.com for gold, ordered 5000g and paid through my dad's paypal, they delivered the gold in 2 times in 1 hour, anyhow, the service was quite satisfactory. After that, they gave me the code “ JN007 ”, saying that I can get at least 10% discount. I tried and it was true! Friends, feel free to try with JN007, their prices are quite low, believe me, pay by paypal and if you are not happy with their service, just file a dispute is ok, lollll.
I have placed and order for Watch through ITBC worth Rs 3199.00 and payment was done through Credit card. This order was placed in month of december 2008 and order no is [protected]. I have folowed up a number of times on their no [protected]. I get the same reply saying that the courior has been sent to you. But it was returned back.
i have followed up a number of times . I took the consignment no and enquired with TNT couriors. They said tht it has been returned back to ITBC.

Its has became a round robin game where no one is ready to take responsibilty and give me proper reply . I have spent more than Rs 500 on calls and other tracking.
Can any one look into this issue so that i get my order at earliest or any suggestions so that it can be esclated to higher level.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    6%
    Complaints
    877
    Pending
    158
    Resolved
    11
    phone
    +91 12 0407 8000
    location
    Mediaplex, FC-8, Sector - 16A, Film City, Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India - 201301
    India Today Book Club - amount charged but no delivery...