India Today Book Club — Advance made but book not received!

 
57 Reviews
India
 C S Prabhakar
I had booked for the CDs offered by you on 16 Sep (1:33:46pm)after paying by credit card. On 23 Oct (after almost 7 weeks) the mail delivery man informed that I have a VPP Parcel from India Today book club But I need to make payment. The membership Num that I have recieved is ITBCO7308717.
My Complaints are
(a) The consignment which was promised within two to three weeks came after seven weeks.
(b) My emails to your company have not been responded by anyone.
(c) I have a email confirming the payment made to you which I have forwarded in all my mails. I also have confirmation from my credit card that the amount has been paid to your company on 16 Sep. I really donot understand why, firstly, such a shabby service is being provided by you and then insted of compensating for the bad service you are charging me again.
Please reply at the earliest otherwise I would be forced to go to consumer court.
Complaint comments  56 Comments     Updated: Share0Tweet0

Comments

i never knew such a big brand name will be doing a big online fraud wherein it neither respects the customers neither it is bothering to listen to their problem and inspite of all COLLECTING MONEY ONLINE AND THEN NOT DELIVERING THE ORDER ON TIME... ITS BEEN A MONTHS TIME AND TILL NOW I HAVE NOT RECD THE ORDERS AND CUSTOMER CARE PEOPLE TELL ME SOME OTHER ORDER OF MINE TILL NOW WHICH I HAVE NEVER PLACED... how Rubbish... ITS HIGH TIME THAT STRICT ACTION TO BE TAKEN AND BAN THESE PEOPLE FROM DOING ANY KIND OF BUSINESS
E-mail sent by me on 17.1.08 reproduced below, I have not heard any reply as yet:

Dear Sir,
I requested to you for your offer in my e-mail and the order no. is MITBC-WEB-1552560.

Since I have just received the PC CD rom for 1. Human Body and 2. Nature.

The CD of Nature is not working at all, kindly advice how I can collect the another one in place of the existing CD.

An early response is highly reciprocated.

Thanking you,

Dinesh Kumar Kanungo
Hi,

I have received the books order (MITBC-WEB[protected] last week. Alongwith this I am expecting the free membership number for Books club.
Please send the same.

Thanks,
Aman
I ORDERED THE ENCYLOPEDIA- BRITANNICA NATURE AND SPACE.. I RECEIVED ON 31/01/2008. BUT BOTH THE CDS ARE NOT WORKING... SO MANY CRACKS IN THE CDS.... THE COST OF THE CDS ARE RS.200/-... CLEAVER CHEATING... FROM THIS I AGREE THAT INDIA TODAY BOOK CLUB COMPANY IS A FRAUD..

Brittania 3 CD pack — No delivery in 2 months

On 10 December 2007, I placed an order of Rs. 574.00 to Living Media India Ltd. DELHI (Indiatodaybookclub.com) for a 3 CD pack. I used my ICICI Bank Credit card for making this payment.

The Order details are as follows:
MITBC-WEB-0554492: Membership No. ITBC[protected]; Order No. 0G08025018.
While confirming the order the company suggested a period of 2-3 weeks for processing the order.

The payment details are as follows:

Date Ref. Number Transaction Details Transaction Amount

10/12/2007 74477487344003702202075 Living Media India Ltd. DELHI Rs. 574.00(DR)



Despite of my several requests on phone (no.[protected] and e-mails at [protected]@indiatodaybookclub.com, the company has failed in providing me the ordered material. Please see that it has nearly become 2 months now since I ordered the material.
Dear Sir
I received mail from IRTC Promotion as shown below , and I have already paid through City Bank credit card for Rs. 199/- , but yet I am not received any thing.

Thanks

Navin Srivastava

India Today Book Club
FREE for All Offer!

Claim Your Free Gift Package
NOW!!! worth Rs 1350 or more*
Get Offer

Gift packages includes
2 bestseller Music CDs or knowledge & reference CD-ROMs worth Rs 590 or more FREE


a adidas bag worth Rs 699 FREE


1 year membership to BooksBuddy service worth Rs 299 FREE

Only Pay Order Delivery and Handling Charges
Get Offer




You have
om IRCTC promotion about free offer
my memb no ITBC07296390
THE ADDRESS MENTIONED IS NOT COMPLETE
PLEASE RECORD THE FULL ADDRESS

MR. VIKAS KASLIWAL
106, KIRAN CH SINGHA ROAD SHIBPUR
GANGES GARDEN BLOCK B-10 1ST FLOOR
HOWRAH 711102
WEST BENGAL INDIA
Few days ago I received an email from your office quoting that there is an offer from India Today Book Club. The offer is that
Britannia Encyclopedia with free gifs. The cost of the Encyclopedia
is Rs. 1739/-, but the offer is Rs.574/- including free 3 CD roms. and the free gifts are adidas bag worth Rs.699/- travel tickets to anywhere in India. and 1 year membership to books buddy service woth Rs.299/-free. According to that I have sent my address saying to sent the parcel to my address below. But today they have sent an e.mail saying we have cancelled your address.
My order no. is MITBC-WEB-1649936. My address.

Paliyath Krishna Kumar
C/o. Reliance Corporation
2nd Floor, Krishnanjali Bldg.
P.O. Guruvayur - 680101
Trichur Dist. Kerala.
Respected sir,

My membership no. ITBC08458784

Yesterday I have received my order by Indian Post.

I have paid Rs 603 including Rs 574 as your charges and Rs 29 as Indian Post fees.

Your offer was,
On Encyclopedia Britannica jumbo-pack (3 multimedia CD ROMs) worth Rs 1793/- for Rs 499/- your were offerring adidas bag worth Rs 499/-, exciting holidays worth Rs 2990/- and 1 year BooksBuddy membership worth Rs 300 free.

I have received 3 CDs But did not receive adidas bag ang exciting holidays worth Rs 2990/- and 1 year BooksBuddy membership worth Rs 300.
Please kindly check for it.

Waiting for your reply.

Thanks and Regards,
Shailesh Kanani
Mobile- [protected]
I have ordered for encyclopedias. i could receive 3 cds but i am not able to enter into the website which they have given for claiming the free gifts. what is this?? Is it s fraud I am left no option but to approach consumer court
Sir,
Sub: VPP package to me and saving of Rs 5990
Ref: your letter to me 2 weeks back (ITBC[protected] signed by Mr. Nitin Sawhney
I had received a mail containing an assured savings offer of Rs 5990 if i receive a VPP package of Rs599. Some details on the savings of Rs5990 were also there in the mail. Now postman has informed me that the package has come.
Before accepting the package, may i know what this package contains? I tried and tried again to see whether ur mail mentions anything on the package contains- but nothing clear is mentioned...How can anybody accept such an offer/package/VPP w/o any knowledge of its contents?
Besides, your offer talks about booksbuddy bestseller packet- is it books or CD? Because you have enclosed some CD labels and your savings offer refers to 'books'...
And no email id for ITBC?
It would be helpful to people if you could clarify. Meanwhile the package is waiting at the PO.
Btw, pls update my home address as
TC 54/173, PRA-61, Sreelakshmi, Sreedharapillai road, Pappanamcode PO, Trivandrum 695018, Tel[protected]
hello,
good evening sir,
its abhishek...
i had received the envelope from you. so what i should do further.
please tell me as soon as possible and i hope u will send reply message soon on my e-mail.
thank you...
Subject: Wrong Parcel.

Dear Sir/Madam,

I ordered for Britannica Encyclopedia Jumbo Pack and I received Bestsellers package. I have not got any assured gifts also. My order number is MITBC-WEB-1682670. I would urge you to look into matter and send me the correct parcel. Hope to hear from you very soon.

Regards,

Chirag A. Stampwala
Id code:0235699
Dear sir,
I received the packet in Vandita Kapoor's name, who is my dughter, and the books I received were not the ones, jackets of which you have sent. Instead I got "Witch of portobello", "World famous serial killers". "Survival of the sickest', and"world famous weird news stories". These books I may not possess, does not matter, but the issue is that the jackets were different and the books different. I personally was waiting for the ones which you have sent with the addidas bag and shoes offer.
Varnika

India Today Book Club — VPP content

Dear all

As normal security Measures and the consumer rights the person receiving the vpp from Indian Postal services must know the content of the parcel before receiving.

India Today club packing with complete covering without any packing list attached to it. Most of the time repeatedly sending the same book.

Also the Membership No given in their Invoice always wrong. So you can't login to their site what they are going sent.

They keep on changing their website and login procedure without consume's Knowledge
It is my mistake to beleive in their letters. I did not get my delivery of books and other offers after the payment has made .
Kindly send all the stuff immediately . You lost your impression as these complaint board looks.
Hi,

I just got a message to my mobile saying that "Your BooksBuddy pack with savings of Rs 5900 is on its way. Look out for postman. Enjoy bestsellers; free Diamond Jewellery Voucher & Tupperware Box. T&C apply".

I never made any order / payment to send this to my address.

After reading this blog, I lost the credibility about this company and offer. A big NO to this.

Regards,
Senthil Kumaravel
Dear Sir/Madam,
I want to tell you that still I am not able to submit the claim.After filling, when I try to submit it is not getting submitted.
Still the same problem.
Pl check at your end.
The time is getting delayed.
And you would say that the time has expired .If you want to give the free gifts, pl do so.Otherwise leave it.
Pl dont trouble us.
Thanks
Rgrds
Raj...
On Wed, 20 Aug 2008 16:28:14 +0530 Response wrote










Dear Member,

We thank you for your E-mail to us. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused.

With reference to your mail we would like to inform you that for your free gift you have to visit to our site-(www.offers.indiatodaybookclub.com/greatoffer.htm
) and enter the details needed from your invoice and to claim your gift.

1-Unique
no
2-Membership
no
3-Invoice
no
4-E-Mail
id

Kindly intimate if you want to change your address.


For further query or assistance please feel free to mail us.
Or call at our customer care[protected].

We assure to provide you with best service always.

Thanks & Regards,
India
Today Book Club






From: mohan raj [mailto:[protected]@rediffmail.com]


Sent: Sunday, August 17, 2008 4:42 PM

To: response (ITBC)

Cc: mohanraj65

Subject: Free gifts not able to claim


Dear Sir/Madam,

Recently I got your CDs.

I am not able to submit the free gift claim thro your web address.

It is not getting submitted.

Pl advise.

Your Invoice No.ORA[protected]

Order No. 0GA[protected]

Invoice Date.21 Jun-08

Order Date

18-Jun-08

Membership No.ITBC08374506



You addressed the CDs to this address:(My old address)

A.Mohan Raj

42/132 Thanthai Periyar Nagar

I Street

Ayanavaram

Chennai-600 023

Tamil Nadu



I received the CDs at my My New address below (Redirected by Postal Dept.)

A.Mohan Raj

No.New 7/Old 4

3rd Cross Street

Ramakrishna Nagar

Mandaveli

Chennai-600 028



My Cell No [protected]

Landline No[protected]



Pl repond me immediately.

Thank you

Raj...




For up-to-the-minute news & entertainment coverage visit http://www.itgo.in



This e-mail communication and any attachments may be privileged and confidential to Living Media India Limited and are intended only for the use of the recipients named above. If you are not the intended recipient, please do not review, disclose, disseminate,
distribute or copy this e-mail and attachments. If you have received this email in error, please delete the same along with all attachments there to and notify us immediately at [protected]@intoday.com.
A sum of Rs 450/- was taken by your club for the books not delivered owing to 'out of stock'. A balance of 150 points is also pending for redemption, and allthis for" time immemorial".

And you are sending these unwanted VPPs, ( misusing the members money on postal charges}.

A letter bearing postal stamp[franking] dt 8.8.08 was delivered on 9/9/08 declaring that a vpp has been sent to your address, which had already been returned by the postal authorities.

16 cd saaz pack with offer — not recived corrior

My Complaints are
(a) The consignment which was promised within two to three weeks came after seven weeks.
(b) My emails to your company have not been responded by anyone.
(c) I have a email confirming the payment made to you which I have forwarded in all my mails. I also have confirmation from my credit card that the amount has been paid to your company on 30 Sep. I really donot understand why, firstly, such a shabby service is being provided by you and then insted of compensating for the bad service you are charging me again.
Please reply at the earliest otherwise I would be forced to go to consumer court.

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    Your Rating (1 star is bad, 5 stars is good)
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    6%
    Complaints
    877
    Pending
    158
    Resolved
    11
    phone
    +91 12 0407 8000
    location
    Mediaplex, FC-8, Sector - 16A, Film City, Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India - 201301
    India Today Book Club - Advance made but book not received!