Show menu
Ask a Question FAQ Sign in

[Resolved]  State Bank of India — Harrassment

I have taken Home Loan from SBI, Kolkata Airport Branch, Kolkata-52, (A/C No.[protected]) and a sum of Rs.6238/- is being deducted towards EMI of above Home Loan on 7th of every month. As per SI, EMI is debited from my SB A/C and the same is credited to my above Home Loan A/C on 7th of every month, moreover both the A/Cs are with SBI, Kolkata Airport Branch. I think this is the most safest and transparent system and as on date no EMI is lying unpaid whatsoever. In spite of this safest system of paying EMI, I am receiving telephone calls from SBI Delhi or Mumbai Office frequently, requesting me to clear two outstanding EMIs immediately, which is lying unpaid as per their record. When I explained them categorically that there is no change of non payment of EMI as per the existing system, they advised me to resolve the issue with my home loan branch. This is second time I am experiencing this kind of harrassment from SBI though I never be defaulted any loan EMI in my life time.
In view of above, you are requested to kindly take up the matter with SBI and ensure to avoid this type o[censored]nwanted harrassment of common and genuine people like me.
Regards,
Biswajit Chattopadhyay
Space Valley, Flat-2D
8/72, East Mall Road,
Kolkata-700 080.
Mobile: [protected]
Complaint marked as Resolved 2020-08-13 19:50:49
Complaint comments  19 CommentsShare0Tweet0

Comments

I am a director of Pvt. Ltd co. at Bhavnagar. I was using SBI card. I am also a current bank a/c holder of SBI Bhavnagar the cheques of which I was mostly using for repayment of my card dues. I am a regular payer of my card dues. I normally used the drop box of the SBI A-Zone Branch Bhavnagar.

Meanwhile I am being harassed for last one and half year ruthlessly by SBI Cards employees and local agent Mr Mahendrasinh Jadeja who does not have his own any SBI Card emploee/agent authentic identification on telephone and person. They are very rough in their dealings. I have received such a impolite call from the telephone no[protected]/909/12/21/[protected]. These people have no idea how to talk to respectable people. It seems they have responsibility to collect and none regarding the payment received. Being a Public sector employee myself I feel sad about the state of affairs of the company.

I am eager to make my payment but they should settle the issue first and help me by relieving me from this mental trauma.
Registered Post

Ref: - SBI/Dec/Regd/01
Dated – 28-Dec-2007

To,
SBI Legal Cell

Madam/Sir,

SUB – Reply to Demand Notice – SBI Card Account No – xxxxxxxxxxxx81576

This letter has a reference to the letter # QL/90/DEC/07/2099 received from Mr. Rajeev Agarwal (Advocate) who is working in Lawyers Inc dated 07-Dec-07.

The letter requires me to make a payment of Rs. 62261.70 against the due standing on my card no – xxxxxxxxx35252 within 7 days of receiving the letter failing to which I am supposed to be liable for legal proceedings to initiate my prosecution under the relevant provisions of the IPC.

The following scenarios are for your kind information, which lead to but be not the only reason for not making the payments in time –

a. I have not been getting the account statement for since Feb 2007 for which I have called customer care so many times and asked them to send the statements. Their commitments to send the statement within three working days every time went null and void. But neglecting this, I continued making the payments in for 2-3 months.
b. I even asked the Bank to cancel my card in sometime in the month of April 2007 and inform me the remaining dues. The Bank replied to this that this will happen in 7 working days and I will get a written note from the Bank stating my standing dues and the required date of payment. The bank failed to do this as well. But neglecting this too, I made a payment of Rs. 5300in the month of July and a payment of Rs. 2500 in the month of July.
c. Whenever I tried to reach out to bank, the Bank replied to me that they have arranged to send me the statements via Courier, which I may receive in a week’s time. I have not received any of those statements till now. When I contacted bank (not only once or twice, but around 15-20 times) to help me with the AWB (Airway Bill Number) of the consignment through which the bank sent the statements, the bank didn’t replied. I even said that if the bank provides me AWB number, I will agree/understand that they have sent the statements, but the Bank failed even doing that.
d. Of very latest, I got a call from some collection executive, the name for whom I don’t remember. He asked my to make the payments to which I replied that I need at least last 10-11 months statement because I stopped using the card around a year back and the bank has not been sending statements to me and just levying late payment fine and interest charges over me, which are nothing but the monopoly and sole discretion of bank. (please see the points below)



a. This person-arranged to send me the statements from July 2007. But the way he delivered the statements is totally against the Policies of the bank, Indian human right commission and Indian Penal Code. He delivered the same in open (without envelope) to the security person standing at main gate of my building which was not only against the client confidentiality and credibility but also against the stated norms of the Bank as well as to Privacy statements in Indian Human Right Commission as well as Indian Penal Code.
b. This person called me today (28-Dec-07) around 2:30PM IST from a local Mumbai number - +[protected]. When I asked him why did he send me the statements without privacy, he started shouting at me. And to mention a few word that he used, have a glance at the following utterances of that person –

1. “Jab tumhari paise wapas karne ki aukaat nahi hai to fir card use kyu karte ho”
2. “Ya to payment kar de, warna bahut tarike hain bank ke paas paise lene ke”
3. “Ek o tu payment nahi kar raha hai, aur upar se pooch raha hai ki statement envelope main kyu nahi bheja”.

These are not the only statements that the bank executive used, but were also accompanied by an offensive and abusive behavior and language, which is legally and ethically against the Human Rights and Indian Penal Code.

When I asked the executive his full name and employee ID, he disconnected the phone. I then tried contacting

c. I then tried reaching out to SBI Card officer – Ms Bhumika @ [protected] to whom I was supposed to contact as mentioned in the letter received. Ms. Asifa Patel received the phone informing me that Ms Bhumika do not have time to talk and I should talk to her regarding my case. Again I do not understand if the bank’s person do not have time to talk to customer, why the Bank then provide with their contact numbers. I again failed to contact the bank.

Also when I tried top navigate through net, I found that I am not the only one facing this trouble. There are a lot of people who have to repeat the same or the worse story than did I. Please have a look at some of the following snapshots collected from internet (URL – http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/sbi-credit-card-c3162.html )







Complaints on "SBI Credit Card"
Read more complaints on this Company

SBI Credit Card
Posted:[protected] by Chandra Shekhar Reddy [send email]

Keep on charging after cancellation!

Complaint Rating:
I am frustrated with SBI Credit Card. I don't know about Insurance Charges and all. After 4 months they charged me like 600 rupees. I asked customer care Guy who promised me that he is going to reverse all the Insurance charges and they he transferred 16000 rupees DD to me as a easy transfer. After that I payed that amount by 1 month interest for that and I left the Insurance amount. I asked Customer care once again about the reversal of this amount he said that he is going to do that but he never did. Now that amount goes to 2340 rupees. So please don't go for SBI Credit Card It is very bad experience I don't know what to do now.
Comments
India
Banks

Share with others:

Was the above complaint useful to you?


More complaints on "SBI Credit Card"

SBI Credit Card - wrong billing

SBI Credit Card - Harassment by SBI Credit Card people

SBI Credit Card - Wrong charges!

SBI Credit Card - Charging of bill without card via SMS

SBI Credit Card - fake bills

SBI Credit Card - Card Statement not received

SBI Credit Card - customer service

SBI Credit Card - nothing Custimer care response

SBI Credit Card - Regarding the unfair bills of my credit card no. [protected]

SBI Credit Card - Poor service!



345 days ago by Phaneendra Reddy [send email]

I have a serious problem with SBI cards. I got pissed of because of the drop box unavailability and used to pay a late payment fee every time I pay my credit card bill. So I have requested SBI cards to close the credit card. But the problem is that I still receive the account statement after 6 months of closure, by email with attached PDF which I cannot open until I have the card number, Unfortunately i disposed the card and most frustrating part is the customer care number doesn't work (both toll free and a land line number given on their site). When I sent a mail to this id feedback.[protected]@ge.com I just get an auto reply saying please call the customer care for urgent assistance. Can some one guide me, what to do with this problem?
325 days ago by Prashant Pilewan [send email]

The SBI credit card is the most worst card i have ever used. Even after cancelling the Protection Plus plan on the card i am being charged for that for 2 months. The customer care no. is always busy & they have only one number Toll free for communications there is no other no.If anyone is going for that card PLZ avoid it.

325 days ago by Prashant Pilewan [send email]

The SBI credit card is the most worst card i have ever used. Even after cancelling the Protection Plus plan on the card i am being charged for that for 2 months. The customer care no. is always busy & they have only one number Toll free for communications there is no other no. If anyone is going for that card PLZ avoid it.
163 days ago by Rajesh Malohtra [send email]

SBI card service and the people engaged in this business are thieves. They are harassing people by charging them for no fault of the customer. So no one should Go for SBI cards or any other card even by mistake. If some agent from SBI comes just kick him and throw him out so that he will never turn back again.These agents come and sale you the card but do not give proper information and after that just keep on harassing you for money in the name of late fee charge, settlement charge, etc. So to all the people of india who are working NEVER GO FOR SBI CARDS.


I view of all the incidents mentioned above, I am totally morally and emotionally hurt and I am planning to move to consumer forum and print and communication media for their necessary help and coverage on this matter.

I would therefore be more interested in hearing form the Bank how they the Bank want me to go forward. I still do not deny making the payments, provided bank has a response to the points above and could explain me where my fault was for not making the payments.

A copy of his letter is being sent to following people/email ID’s –

a. Shri S.K. Bhattacharyya, Managing Director and Chief Credit & Risk Officer - md.[protected]@sbi.co.in – for your information/necessary action please.
d. feedback.[protected]@ge.com – for necessary action
e. [protected]@aajtak.com - for necessary coverage
f. [protected]@indiatv.com - for necessary coverage
g. [protected]@zeenews.com - for necessary coverage
h. Ms Bhumika, SBI Collection Department - for necessary action
i. Mr. Rajeev Agrawal (Advocte), Lawyers Inc, Tis Hazari Courts, Delhi – 110054 – for information

Waiting for your response/action.


Yours’ Sincerely,

Sandeep
I agree that the SBI Bank is not capable in handeling the credit card business and dispite of their mistake they dont listen to the customers and often threaten the customers with court notice or by making their recovery agencys call the customer continuously.

I too am a victim of this bank. please guide me what to do. I had given the bank 4 cheques and closed my credit card account with them for this i also got a full and final settlement letter. They have deposited only one cheque and rest they are not banking and asking me to pay more and are not accepting the full and final letter given by the bank itself.

I told them to give me in writing that the cheques were lost by their agents so that i can reissue the cheques and cancel the old cheques by the bank is not willing to do so and are threating me with court notices.

Pls guide me what to do. Kindly reply to me on my email id " rakesh.[protected]@gmail.com" or call me on [protected].

Regards,
M.K.Rakesh
Mumbai.
IF YOUR TIME IS IMPORTANT TO YOU, NEVER USE CAPITAL ONE CREDIT CARD. They are the worst in the industry! For the 4th or 5th time in a few months, they have put a hold on my credit card for no reason. It is so embarrasing! I am waiting in line to pay the cashier at a supermarket and the card gets declined. I know that there is plenty of money on the card, so I called the customer service number. Guess what? I am transferred to India, where I could barely understand the customer rep's thick Indian accent. I had to repeat my card number several times, then she argues that the number I gave is not a legitimate number. I said, "What?!" I am reading the card that you, guys issued me and I have been using this same card for years. Then, she puts me on hold for several minutes. Upon her return, I remind her that I am still holding up the line at the supermarket and people are starting to glare at me like it's my fault that my credit card is having problems. The service rep asks me to repeat the credit card number 2 more times, puts me on hold for 3 more minutes and then says that there is no hold on the card and for the cashier to try to run it again. For the 4th time, the store cashier runs the card and again, the computer screen says that the card is declined. I tell the service rep this, and she still insists that it is not on their end, but on the store's end. The cashier runs the card 2 more times. Same thing. I ask the service rep to be transferred to a supervisor and she says in "an-i-don't-give-a-crap" voice, "I can't transfer you until I exhaust all the troubleshooting possibilities. What are the last 3 digits on the back of your card?" I give her the number and she says, "That is an invalid code". Again, I shriek, '"What?! I am simply reading the back of my card and I have used this code and this card for years? What is going on?" She says (amused), "Hold the line..." Again, I was on hold for several minutes, then she comes back on the line and said, "I don't see any problem on the card. Run the card again... Maybe this time it will work." I ask the cashier (who at this time, is now glaring at ME), to run the card one last time. Guess what? Card is still declined and the phone goes dead!

SBI Credit card india — Sending notice after cancellation

SBI Credit cards is a big issue and giving vast problems for no reason.. I cancelled my credit card 1.5 years back clearing all the dues and after 1 year I am getting a legal notice for to pay Rs.7000.

There is no response from the Customer service and response from authorties are very bad and speaking in terrror mode.. kind advise is not to choose this card any further...don't have any hint what is happening there .. so far with out spending any amoun I end up paying aorund Rs.10000 other than in Rs.7000.
Please some one advise how to take legal action against these authorities.
The same problem repeats with so many people. They threaten from one legal cell in Tis hazari court. IS this fair?

There shud be a PIL against it and the perpetrators shud be taken up.
go to rbi and register ur complaint there

SBI Credit Card — Unfair bill statement

Sir,

I closed my my SBI credit card account no. [protected], after paying the Rs.5, 688.00 against the total outstanding amount of Rupees 5687.37on 4th October 2008. But still I received the A/C Statements from your side with fine. Regrding this i asked to Mr. Ajay also. But still i have not recive any mail from their side. Kindly look in to the matter and do the needful as earlist.

Thanking you

Yours sincerely

Anil Pandey
Dear Sir,
I am holding a SBI Credit Card ([protected]) form around last 7 months and never ever used. I was never getting the statements also, I did not bother that moment as I was not using the card. In the meantime I started getting calls from SBI about payment of around Rs 5000/- . I was surprised and shocked. So I logged on internet and subscribed for online statements and when I saw the statement was again a shock as in the month of August there was Insurance Policy on my account ( Rs 3468/-) and after that some late payment charges. I immediately called up the customer care but they infromed me that this policy is based on VERBAL consent from me and if you dnt agree you could have denied in first month only but as I was not getting statements I never knew this and also how any policy can be charged on my name without my knowledge forget about verbal consent but there has to be my signature somewhere as it involved money.
Now most frustrating part is although I am fighting my case with SBI Card I am getting daily atleast 5-6 calls from collection dept and twice they reached to my doorstep for which I am really furious . While SBI Insurance is not at all responding to my mail, SBI card saying they cant help is as this is matter from SBI Insurance.
But how SBI Insurance and SBI Credit Card put charges without my knowledge initially.

Kindly help me, do you think I should launch a Police Complaint against SBI ?

Thank You

Mangesh Joshi
[protected]
Dear Sir,

I was forced with a SBI credit card offer from lifestyle in 2007 and added to that was a preapproved amount of 30, 000 rupees as loan and a valid cheque was despatched to my home address. I refused the offer and returned the cheque and called up the customer service center to confirm the same. The customer care agreed to the receipt of the returned check and we thought that we are done and over with the issue.

Two years after this incident, there has been constant harrassing calls to my old parents at home and my pending dues for non-payment and surcharges stands at 30, 000 Rs. They are even hesitant to send a statement. It is unfortunate to bear with the agents who talk nonasense over the phone. Neither do they know banking nor do they care to serve the customers. Their ruthless attitude hurts my old age parents at home. My incessant calls to them have been a major failure.

What can I do? Can I go to the consumer protection cell and lodge a police complaint.

Regards,
GT
I have been a victim of SBI credit card for the last 2 yrs and have just faced problems in dealing with this card provider. To my biggest surprise, came to know that this card cannot accept payment from my HDFC bak account chq because this account was opened in Pune. However never ever faced problems in making any kind of payment for anything before as the HDFC bank account is payable at par across any city.
Then i was suggested online payment but the site never works, you cannot spend entire day trying to open Sbi site, Also they dont even have a system whrer you can pay in their ATM if you are not an account holder. I am sure all this is never imagined by a customer before he takes the card and told by their marketing executives when they sell it! so finally managed to pay most of the outstandings to a collections executive who would take his own time to come for the same. This anyway led to delay and bank interest charges. I am a user of Citibak card and have never faced this kind of back gradedsystem problems to deal with a credit card. I dont think they are capable of handling credit card business with such outdated systems.
However after they kept insisting i paid more than min balance for my last outstanding of 4000 Rs and to my disappointment the card remained deactivated. For the last one year I was not allowed to use this card even on an emergency, then what is the point paying for it? On top of that when writing to the customer care they call up and repeat the same thing as all collections executive that I need to pay entire amount of 5000 ( with late payment charges) in order to activate the card and he has no solution or answer to their so frustrating service or as to why they kept my card deactivated. IThis is sheer punishment for not bieng able to use a card even after payment!
If this is how trhey have only learnt to penalise customers, they should not be in this business, i never have such sad experiences when I have complianed to customer care os citibank, atleast they have some solution!

Please suggest how to go about this.
My e mail id is [protected]@yahoo.co.in, my contact no is [protected]

regards
Suchismita
i am a customer of sbi but i don't know why you can't understnd problem of customer after the settelement you harresment to customer when the settlement is fullfill after then settelement why not clear the ac agaiN & again call after three months again after two three months harrese then they will say your settelement letter is not valid you we are giving you a new setlement letteryou pay more amount then your ac will clear and say you will be blacklist from bank

Waiting for your response/action. Kindly reply to me on my email id
i am a customer of sbi but i don't know why you can't understnd problem of customer after the settelement you harresment to customer when the settlement is fullfill after then settelement why not clear the ac WHEN ALREADY I HAVE GIVEN THE LETTER TRACER NO.., & RECEIPT NO. WITH BOOK NO
after then again & again call after three months again after two three months harrese then they will say your settelement letter is not valid you we are giving you a new setlement letteryou pay more amount then your ac will clear and say you will be blacklist from bank

Waiting for your response/action. Kindly reply to me on my email id
i am holding sbi credit card no [protected]. i have accumulated 1835 point upto 03/05/2009, kindly help me redeem the points into free gifts. let me know the gifts you have to offer through post or contact me on my mobile at the earliest.
mailing add SEKHAR BISWAS,
5B, RAJANI SEN ROAD,
CALCUTTA 700026.
MOBILE NO :- [protected]
In case Bankers wish to ensure that Fake Indian Currency Notes are not being handled at their counters or ATM, the Banks should sincerely deliberate on and give due consideration for deploying effective and 100 % accurate Automatic Desk Top Fake Currency Notes Detector instate of Desk Top Note Sorters which have been not compatible at Bank branches for having other than Detection functions as basic functions and detection of fake not being secondary and inaccurate.

There have been no accurate Desk Top Sorters available on the globs which can been fitted inbuilt on the ATMs for Back office uses of filling and refilling notes for maintaining stock of notes in the ATM machine for ensuring continuity of withdrawal service to the public without issuing Fake Indian Currency Notes.

Most of the Banks have hired private agencies for refilling genuine notes to ensure no fake note being issued from ATM. The reasons of issuance of fake notes from the ATM probably could be the involvement of human elements either from within the Banks or from the outside agencies.

The investment in such 100 % accurate Automatic Desk Top Fake Currency Notes Detector can be recovered in terms of avoiding losses and hassles of much complicated legal formalities involving large number of legal agencies as also for avoiding situations of loosing goodwill in the eyes of general public at large on account of Fake Indian Currency Notes being handle erroneously or by human dishonesty at different level.

Paradigm EXC 6700 –I, have emerged as 100% Accurate Automatic Desk Top Fake Currency Notes Detector. Bankers should invariably refer to www.paradigmcashsystems.com and they sure will get much awaited solutions for serving nation by detecting fake notes that are likely to be handled intentionally or un intentionally by involved human elements.
dear sir,

SUB:harassing by sending notices from R Narayan & associates.
dear sir,
I MD Salahuddin is getting letters,notices and calls from M/s sbi cards& payments services pvt. ltd., disturbing me mentally,
SBI card account no:[protected]
Credit card bearing no:[protected]
one day, nearly 4 to 5 years before a representative from sbi card came at my office and taken my signatures on the documents of the credit card and told that the card will be getting on my address but i have not got the card after one month also so i have given the complaint by dialing the customer care and by writing the complaint after giving complaint also they are sending notices and complaints and in recently they send the notice with R narayan & associates advocates, new Delhi, they are telling to pay me the amount of rs 27899.31 which i not got the card,they are only trying to get the money from wrong means,
so,sir please help me to sort out this matter as soon as possible.

yours faithfully,
MD SALAHUDDIN.
I m also using the card from 1 year.My payment got delayed last month due to online transfer error.

But those guys called me several times per day from 6.30 AM to 10 pm continuously even after giving genuine reason.

First these collection exes should learn how to talk vt the customers. They are behaving as Kabulivalas in collecting the money.
Majority of the problems mentioned are very common problems faced by many regularly, but rather than measuring the degree of the serious ness of the complaint, more effeorts have to be put in to resolve the complaints by taking up with the respective authority.
bank should look into the matter of poor banking system like late payment, harassments of account holders & business account

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Customer satisfaction rating
    30%
    Complaints
    22442
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    6731
    phone
    +91 80 2659 9990
    location
    No.65, St Marks Road, Bangalore, Karnataka, India - 560001