HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 9, 2025
Complaints 32881

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 1344

rrrav34
Mar 16, 2016

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500001

I paid my credit card with the delay of 4 days, so the bank has charged me the financial charges, tax and all. but actually they should charge. please kindly look into this.
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

I request you to share your card and contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will revert to you.

-Bejoy
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

DeepakDarshan
    Mar 16, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600096

A fraud transaction happened in my "food plus prepaid food card" of hdfc bank in between 21st / 22nd january, 2016 for an amount of 2080 rupees. I always get an sms and an email even on using the card for rs. 10/-, but for this specific transaction of rs. 2080/- i never received any intimation. Only after i doubted of something fishy that after 6-7 days did i call up the customer care for getting all the transaction details of my card.

I had raised a request for blocking the card on 28th january, 2016. I was informed that i would be getting a report of the investigation after 30 days of raising this complaint.

Now on 16th march, 2016 when i call up for updates, i am being informed that i need to submit a cdf - consumer dispute form & a copy of fir report in their bank to get any action from their side.

Please share your card and contact details at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will check and revert to you.

-Anay
    Its over 10 days now and no more updates have I got from HDFC. Isn't there anything like SLA for resolution of Complaints in HDFC?

prudent_sourav
      Mar 16, 2016

Address: 400076

Getting threatening calls & mails from HDFC after loan disbursement regarding the completion of IGR process.

There are multiple issues here:
      1) I am not informed about the IGR charges and ownership till the loan has been disbursed & first EMI has been deducted so as per banking ombudsman guidelines, with prior information no process & charges can be imposed on customer.

2) I have the mails from HDFC Ltd where it’s stated that no other charges are involved after the loan approval since I have loan approvals from multiple banks like ICICI & HSBC
      & wanted to go with the bank having minimal charges involved.

I have been clearly told there are no other process/charges involved & with that confirmation only I went ahead with loan disbursement from HDFC.

Now after loan disbursement & 1st emi payment, I have been told about the IGR process.
      I am getting threatening mails now to get that process completed else 30k penalty will be applied.

Checked with other banks have been informed that its sole responsibility of bank to complet the IGR process & not the customer.
      In order to get rid of threatening calls & mails from hdfc executive Ranjeet Shetty (Mumbai hdfc head), I paid the required amount for IGR but that was not the end of harassment.

Now they are asking me to go to registrar office & get the loan registered with hdfc which I have no idea.

I am facing unnecessary harassment from hdfc officials, have raised the issue to higher officials but did not get any reply since 20 days.

Can anyone suggest the way out.

We request you to kindly send us your details like home loan account number, mobile number and email id through a private message so that we can address your concerns effectively.

Team HDFC Home Loans.
      Mail has already been sent multiple times to hdfc care, grievance officer, nodal officer & even managing director but did not get a single reply yet.
      I have faced the similar issue with HDFC bank, I advise to stay away from such fraudulent bank.
      HDFC bank executives can not be trusted, I too stay in Mumbai & have very bad experience after taking loan from HDFC.

Subir Jha
        Mar 16, 2016

Address: 110037

In the last 2 years hdfc bank and its agencies are contacting me for personal loans and pre approved loans. I have applied 3-4 times.All the times they have declined it due to anonymous reason. I have approached the bank and the customer care but was unable to find any reason. I have already a relationship with hdfc from the last 4 years with a credit card and salary a/c. Apart from that i use 3 more credit cards of other banks . have also been sanctioned a personal loan of 3.5 lacs by other bank. But i don't why HDfc is not giving me a loan provided these all relationship with other banks n hdfc . please look into the matter . i want to file a legal complaint against hdfc bank and ask for compensation. Please guide me how to do that.
        Subir Kant Jha

As we are unable to locate details of your application, please mail us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line, with the below details.

Loan Reference Number/ Application Number
        Name of the Applicant (as it appears in your Loan application form)
        HDFC bank account number ( In case you hold account with HDFC Bank)
        Your Address
        Your contact number(s)
        Type of Loan (e.g. Personal/Express Loan Plus/Auto )
        Amount of Loan
        Name of the Direct Selling Associate/Sales person (if available)
        Contact Numbers of the DSA/Sales person (if available)
        Date on which Loan Application was collected
        List of other Documents Collected
        Any communication from the DSA
        Providing a quick update and satisfactory resolution is a matter of commitment for our Bank. We will revert very quickly once the information is provided in the given format.

-Bejoy

raj1803
          Mar 16, 2016

Address: Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh, 204102

I have many time call hdfc bank for full final settlement from last 4 month but there is no response.
          I have received one call from hdfc he told me for payment and I deposit 3300 for full final settlement but still I m waiting for latter.

I request you to share your card and contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will revert to you.

-Bejoy

Ponmudi Krishnan
            Mar 16, 2016

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600024

I am having account with HDFC bank more than 8 years, hdfc banker not maintained confidentiality my personal information, so dear viewers don't open account them, they have shared my mobile number to multiple business utilization of their subsidies company.( like loan, Home Loan insurance), i felt many time, they are calling me regarding loan i was quit explained no need, but every day getting call from new guy as well as explained same answer, i plan to stop the marketing call to enquirer from customer care their simply telling me register with our website DND, i told them iam already register with NDNC, they said again register their website why don't i register their website ? but now i feel shame whether having account with hdfc .

in my personal experience don't open account .

Please share your customer id and contact details at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will check and revert to you.

-Anay

Latasha Sharma
              Mar 16, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110051

This is to inform you that i was using my debit card at canara bank atm (Nehru palace metro station new delhi) using hdfc debit card on 30th november 2015. I punched 6, 500 to withdraw but only 5, 500 came out which contains 5 notes of 1000 and 1 note of 500.After so many complaints, i have received a letter from hdfc bank in which they have mentioned details of ledger balances. This is already with us in different forms like bank passbook, online bank statement, receipt generated at the time of withdrawal. How does it signify that amount withdrawn is matching amount dispensed by atm machine. In first e-mail, i have clearly mentioned transaction details along with the series of notes dispensed.
              Please let me know how can i get my money back or what actions should be taken on this.

Request you to share the complaint/ref. no., customer id and contact details at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will check and revert to you.

-Anay

upal majumder
                Mar 15, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400059

I have an issue with personal loan account settlement. One of your third party agent (Contact No. [protected]) from SB Enterprise came to my house and harassed my wife for loan settlement while she is alone. I had talked to him so many times to reschedule his visit and inform him to come on Saturday or call me before coming but he was behaving like an . After the same issue repeated thrice on the same day[protected], I asked him that I will take legal action if he harasses my wife again. My wife has a fracture in her lag and she is under treatment. The agent came again and was trying to enter into my home and asked her to accompany him to the police station. Then he was abusing on my name to security guards and neighbors. This is not the way of communicating customers.

Please take the necessary step against that third party agent or give me the reason behind this behavior. Is it the right way? He is saying he is doing this with the permission of his superior Amina (Third Party agent), Mr. Safi Khan (HDFC, Kanjurmarg Branch, Mumbai).

Please look into this issue and take the necessary step to prevent this type of activities by Bank of third party agents.

Dhrubajyoti Majumder

I request you to share your loan/customer Id executive and contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better .

-Bejoy

Vinod Pawar
                  Mar 15, 2016

Address: 411027

The whole world is moving paperless and what a bull process you have which is asking me to send paper application to Chennai office. So I already sent my credit card with application to Chennai office in last week and still am struggling to cancel my card.

I haven't received any response on this so when I called customer care to take update on this he is not giving any proper update nor ready to transfer call to supervisor/manager. This kind of service I never expected from HDFC.
                  Jul 12, 2016

Please share the complaint/ref. no., customer id and contact details at [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will check and revert to you.

-Bejoy

sandy@78
                    Mar 15, 2016

Address: Thane, Maharashtra, 401506

I have above mentioned credit card with your bank. Due to my financial crisis, I am not able to pay my dues. So their is continuous reminder giving to me by your pH. Baking executive. Near bout 3 - 4 months before your executive suggeste me to settled down credit card, as I am unable to pay the dues.So I request him for settlement. He told me that bank will confirmed & send you letter, how much amount you to pay & in how many installment. Then you pay the amount.
                    So I didn't pay any amount & wait for your approval letter. Mean while form your executive again call me for payment, I told them that I request for settlement & waiting for your approval letter.But she didn't listening me & continuous hamper me to pay the payment.Then she start calling on my company landline, but I am deputed 17km away from my company, other division in rural area.
                    I request her to don't call on company landline only, but she not listening, she threatened me that she keep calling on my company landline. She again call on my company landline & talk with our account dept. She keep calling continuously 3-4 days & make disrupted to my colleagues. Our telephone Oprator & account dept. Persons get to much distributed & get harassed by her.

She make me guilty & ashamed with my colleagues. I request her frequently to don't call on company landline & stop disturbing them because they have their own work to do, they are companies employees not mine, but she not listening me & keep calling on company landline, make irritated to them. Then my colleagues star blaming & fighting with me that because of you that lady is disturbing us & even she not listening us.

Then I called customer care & launched a complaint against her. Then also she not calling me on my mobile, she continued calling on my company landline. Then I again call customer care & give complaint against her, (Mrs. Ramila, 28304).
                    I request her that I have not got conformation for my settlement from your side yet. She threatened me that she keep calling me on my company landline 100_300 times a day.Then I call to customer care & told the situation that your executive is harassing & taouchering me mentally.
                    I am not paying money to you for getting harassed or get mentally torched. So I request you to clear my all dues & give me clean note by letter or by mail because it is your fault that I request you 3-4 months before for settlement but till date no any action taken. So I request you to clear my all dues immediately. Actually you should credit Rs.20000/ to me as a penalty because your executive damage my image in my company & harrased, mentally torched to us.

So I again humbly request you to clear my all dues & issue me money back credit card so I can reburas my points into cash. kindly issue me Rs.100000/- limit credit card only.

I think you understand my feelings & take immigiate action & do the needful.

Sandesh Bendre.

I request you to share your card/customer Id and contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better .

-Bejoy

sairanjandas
                      Mar 15, 2016

Address: 400701

Dear SIr, As per bank confirmation i ave paid the total outstanding amount and as per customer care instruction i have blocked that card and send application to HO for close the application, but today i got another mail that u have outstanding of Rs3900/-, when i called the customer care they are saying yes that is your outstanding u have to pay. Please help in this regards.

Sairanjan das
                      Dear Mr. Das,

We have taken note of your comments expressed with regard to your credit card and the same is being reviewed as appropriate. You may look forward to receive a response to your e-mail id in 3 working days. We request you to bear with us in the interim. For any further clarifications, You may write to us at: [protected]@hdfcbank.com and we shall assist you. The reference number for this interaction is [protected].

-Anay
                      I have not got any call or mail in this regards till now.

-SAI

ganibhaaai
                        Mar 15, 2016

Address: Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, 530026

This is ganesh Kumar kopparrhi.and my policy number is[protected] I want cancel this policy. Please take my complaint and cancel my policy.
                        Thanking you sir
                        HDFC ERGO General Insurance customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Ravi dinni
                          from Bantval, Karnataka
                          Mar 15, 2016

Address: Gulbarga, Karnataka, 585105

I have HDFC bank a/c. this is my salary account. But I left the company 1 and half years ago. Now HDFC bank converted salary a/c to saving a/c so this time it's running negative balance.. So give me suggestion what can I do... Please help me... Immediately...I want to Close the account.

Waiting for your good response...

Ravi dinni

Incase you wish to close your account held with HDFC Bank, please submit the account closure form (available on www.hdfcbank.com> Forms Center> Personal Banking) at any of our nearest Bank branches.

Kindly refer the below link for contact details of branch :

http://www.hdfcbank.com/personal/find-your-nearest/find-nearest-branch/all-facil...

Addressing your concern we wish to clarify that Combined closure form is a common form which is required to fill in by an account holder incase he holds more than a single product with the Bank.

By filling this form our customers can close all other accounts/products and delink the same along with Savings account held with the bank. For ex : ISA account/ Depository account / Credit card etc.

You will need to tick the relevant boxes mentioned on the form.

This application must be signed by all Joint Holders where the account is held jointly in the same order of names as appearing on the account or by sole holder in case of sole ownership account to be closed. In case the account is in debit balance, please request the Branch Manager to consider waiving the pending charges.

In case the account is dormant, please submit a letter at the branch for activation of your account. Your account closure request can be processed only post activation of your account.

We regret that we are unable to process the request for account closure received through PhoneBanking, NetBanking, e-mail, scanned or faxed copy for security and authentication purposes. In case you are unable to visit the branch, you can send the account closure application to the branch by postal service or courier.

We also request you to destroy or surrender the cheque book and Debit Card at the time of account closure.

We look forward to opportunities to serve you in the future.
                          a
                          -Bejoy

november01 2013
                            Mar 14, 2016

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500041
                            Website: netbanking.hdfcbank.com/netbanking/CCLogin.html

I have and HDFC Credit Card. The last month arrears were Rs. 10861. I paid the minimum amount to avoid the late fee charges and paid the amount Rupees 10861 on 5th of March. For various reasons the amount reached the bank on 9th of March. My billing date is 9th March. I am supposed to pay the due amount on or before 9th of every month so as to avoid Interest charges on the unpaid amount. As mentioned, I have paid it on 5th and the bank received it on 9th. But the bank charged me with 309.93 Rupees as interest on the unbilled amount which is inappropriate and an absolute breach of trust. I have written the same thing to the HDFC bank but there is no response in return. I request that the issue is looked into.

Jun 22, 2016
                            The issue got resolved. Thanks for the support.
                            I request you to write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with your card, contact and details of the charges with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will revert on priority.

-Anay
                            HDFC Bank Assistance

sagar1712
                              Mar 14, 2016

Address: 500059

I hold an account in hdfc wanaparthy.recently i had a fund transfered from lic of india amount of RS 180000 and HDFC bank charged me 1088 RS without prior imformation .How can a bank people do that .
                              Please let me know the process to retrive my amount.

I am shocked to look at the service of hdfc bank.
                              my contact details [protected]

SAGAR KULKARNI
                              Dear Sagar,
                              Request you to write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with your account details, charges details, contact details and issue details. Please mention Ref ID:TTU[protected] in the subject line for me to track your mail and assist you better.

-Anay
                              HDFC bank Assistance.

Vimal Boudh
                                Mar 14, 2016

Address: Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh, 474006

Sir i m not able to continue my policy. I have deposited 6 istament of rs 5006 rs per month, when i request to compny to refund my paid amount he ignored and said your amount is not refundable due to lapse your policy.
                                Please sir help me.
                                Company deduct his file charge but he should refund my sum.
                                HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                                bad service provider or making fool to customer

Arijit Upadhyay
                                  Mar 14, 2016

Not giving photo passbook required for passport application address proof

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700107

Ministry of External affairs vide its circular http://passportindia.gov.in/AppOnlineProject/pdf/Circular_Add_Proof.pdf dated Feb 19, 2015 has approved of photo passbooks from private banks as valid address proof. It has named HDFC bank as one of the eligible bank. Fine. Now as I went to Dhakuria, Kolkata bank asking for same, even after 1 hour of arguing I could not get one. They gave been just a passbook without any photo attested. I had...
                                  Ansari mohammed
                                  Mar 14, 2016

Address: 600118

My name M.SHAFIUDDEEN. My credit card no. [protected]. I am issuing my credit card statement every month. I am submitting my account to auditing. So please kindly issue my statement every month. I already make a complaint in phone banking last month. But there is no use. So please make a need as soon as possible from this month. Thank you.

We have taken note of your comments expressed with regard statements and the same is being reviewed as appropriate. You may look forward to receive a response to your e-mail id in 2 working days. We request you to bear with us in the interim. For any further clarifications, You may write to us at: [protected]@hdfcbank.com and we shall assist you. The reference number for this interaction is [protected].

-Bejoy

dipan1
                                    Mar 14, 2016

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411028

Some relationship manager calls me up and offers Credit card upgrade, to which I agreed.

After few days someone calls back again referring above conversation and asking my personal information for verification. I denied to give the info and lady arrogantly says that if I do not give information she cannot process app and hungs up the phone.

I do not know whether that was legitimate call from HDFC or not. If it was legitimate then its a pathetic process where in some calls you and asks for personal information like date of birth.

I want to escalate on the process and persons who called up and spoke arrogantly.

Request you to raise your issue at [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with the details of the number from which you received calls, above mentioned details and contact details. Please mention Ref ID: TTU[protected] in the subject line for me to track your mail and assist you better.

-Bejoy
                                    HDFC Bank Assistance

prudent_sourav
                                      Mar 14, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400060

Faced multiple issues after taking loan from HDFC
                                      1) Am not informed about the IGR charges and ownership till the loan has been disbursed

2) I have the mails from HDFC Ltd where I cross checked about any sort of other government charges involved after the loan approval since I have loan approvals from multiple banks like ICICI & HSBC & wanted to go with bank having minimal charges involved.I have been clearly told there are no other process/charges involved & with that confirmation only I went ahead with loan disbursement from HDFC.

Now after loan disbursement & 1st emi payment, I have been told about the IGR process. I have been kept in dark by hdfc though ICICI bank do inform me about this & provided me in writing that IGR charges & ownership will lie with ICICI but HDFC deny any such process during loan approval & confirmed in the mail that no other charges/process will be applicable after the loan disbursement.

With these set of commitments, I went ahead with HDFC.Now I am facing harassment from HDFC, getting mails if IGR is not carried out I have to pay 30, 000 penalty.Even though I agreed & paid the IGR charges of 1100, still they are pushing me to do the registration process myself which I have no idea.

HDFC here clearly duping the customers by providing false information & wrong assurances which is no less than a fraud.

Thank you for writing to us with your feedback. It remains our priority to redress your concerns. We would request you to post the details of your concern at http://bit.ly/1GG54RP to help us address the same effectively.

Team HDFC Home Loans