HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 16, 2025
Complaints 32890

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 770

bajpaiee
Feb 16, 2019

lic smart payment

Address: Howrah, West Bengal, 711103

1. Lic plan for mother at entry age done 59 dt 24/12/2011 (Policyno[protected] from 442 branch by agent (S. Fadikar-[protected]) of an amount rs 3670/-

2. Lic tied with hdfc smartpay from 2017 (Document attached)

3. Disputed started from 2017 to 2018 yrs (2 yrs) when hdfc smart pay fails to pay lic as per policy no[protected]
4 hdfc smart payment not intimated faliure report to customer as non payment policy...
Ravinder Pasula
Feb 16, 2019

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500079

Dt. 16th feb, 2019.

P. Ravinder,
Plot no.49, vijaya homes,
Jillelguda, balapur mandal,
Hyderabad city-500079.
Mobile no. [protected].

https://www.consumercomplaints.in

Sub: —
Cancellation/closure of my credit card no. [protected]
Credit card department not cancelling my credit card not giving
Noc, though i am ready to pay the total outstanding due amount
Of rs. 12, 552/- the department is playing mischief, fraud and cheating
Against me-reg.

1. I am practicing advocate in and around hyderabad city in all courts having 20 years experience. I have been using the hdfc credit card since long time.in the beginning there was no problem. But recently, the credit card department is doing mischiefs, frauds and cheating. Hence, i got disgusted and frustrated with their attitude and decided to close the above said credit card. The reasons for closing the credit cards are detailed as follows:

A). The credit card department have debited a sum of rs. 1899/- on 11th sept, 2018 from my credit card account without informing me for one assist (Insurance for all credit cards and debit cards). They have activated auto renewal system without informing me. And after several requests, they have deactivated the auto renewal system and they have refunded the above amount of rs.1899/- to my credit card account on 4th october, 2018.

B). The credit card department usually send the e-bill of my credit card monthly statement details to my email id regularly. Whenever i try to open e-bill by entering the password it will not open. I made some 10 to 15 complaints to the department regarding the above issue. Every time they are patching up the issue by pacifying me but they are not rectifying the above said problem permanently. I also requested them to atleast send the e-bill to my email id without any password locking. But even for that also they did not responded and said that there is no such facility. The department intention is to put me in dark so that i ignore to see the credit card statement. The department would add several types of interests and charges and levies to escalate the debt. Usually, the interest amount in credit card will be monthly compoundable. Thus, within a sort period the debt will be doubled.

C) there will not be any head office nor any branch office/s of credit card department in the city. Thus, i could not even meet them personally to collect the credit card account statement or to explain my grievance.

D) when i have any clarifications or doubts i usually make call to[protected] to the customer care number through ivr system. This system is very cumbersome and disgusting. I could not get the representative so easily. Sometimes i will get the contact of the representative with great difficulty after trying for 5 minutes, but suddenly it will disconnect. Again i have to make call.in this process i am losing about 15 to 20 minutes every time. As i am a practicing advocate, i cannot spare much time for ivr calls. Hence, i requested the personnel to give me direct number (Non ivr). But they did not gave me any direct number.

(E) on 16th oct, 2018, i called the customer care no.[protected] at 6.50 pm to clarify my credit card account details. As per the representative of credit card, my outstanding balance was rs. 12, 223/-. I have sent a letter through regd post on the same day i. E. 16th oct, 2018 to the credit card department, chennai informing that i was ready to pay the above said amount of rs. 12, 223/- with a condition that they should give me a confirmation to my email stating that the account of credit card is closed and there are no dues or claims pending against me relating to the credit card subject to payment of due amount. But till now they have not replied to my letter not sent me any confirmation that they are closing my account. Later when i called them on customer care the representative told me that my account was closed. But surprisingly since 3 to 4 days the people from collection department was calling me repeatedly over phone and insisting me to pay either the minimum due amount of rs. 1200/- or the total outstanding due amount of rs. 12, 552/-. I told them i am ready to pay the outstanding due amount of rs. 12, 552/- and asked them to give me noc. I even went to the hdfc credit card settlement department at maruthi next building, opp: secretariat, hyderabad, 5 and 6th floors on 15th feb, 2019. I tried to contact the concerned manager. But the receptionist and other staff members are not allowing me to meet the concerned manager and advised me to contact customer care people. The collection department and the settlement department are playing football with me by advising me to contact each other vice versa. To avoid continuous calls to me and having no other way i have paid rs. 1200/- minimum due amount to the credit card account in hdfc bank, saleemnagar branch on 16th feb, 2019. Simulatneouly i closed even my bank account of saleemnagar branch on the same day i. E. 16th feb, 2019.

2. By the above acts, it is crystal clear that the hdfc credit card department is resorting to all types of mischiefs, frauds and cheating with me. Being a senior advocate, i could not tackle the atrocities of credit card personnel. Then what will be the fate of general and gullible persons. The credit card department appoint persons of criminal nature and rude behavior to extract the monies from the general public at any cost. They play all cheap tricks and gimmicks. Because of the fraudulent nature of the credit card department, the good will of the bank is damaging. Because of the attitude of the credit card department against me, i have to close even my bank account bearing no. [protected]. I am having good credibility and credit score in the bank and cibil.

3. First of all they offer to allot credit card in a pleasing way. Later they will put all types of interests and charges, levies etc. And when it comes for the collection stage they will apply all types of pressures on the gullible people. The collection and recovery department are very rude and cruel and they know how to extract money either by hook or crook and suck the blood of the people. It is much advised to put some regulatory authority of central government for all the credit card departments to control, regulate and monitor the atrocities and over action of the credit card departments.

Hence, i request your goodself to take action against the hdfc credit card department and see that justice is done to the general people.

— p. Ravinder, l. B. Nagar, hyderabad.
Mobile no. [protected].
Mar 21, 2019
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Feb 18, 2019
HDFC Bank Customer Care's response

With regard to your credit card we request you to contact our Debt manager at[protected].

-Zubin
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

Sonal Chakraborty
    Feb 16, 2019

I have been receiving card statements of my dues which i have already cleared moreover, i have stopped using the card since 2017.

I did clear the amount of rs 50400. On september 2018 again i paid an amount of rs 5832.00 which was not required but still, i paid them to get it fixed and get rid of it.

This is the second time again i am being unnecessarily charged and harassed for making the payment of rs 792.00 (As per mail received on 17th feb 2019) which is impossible.

Please help.
    Mar 23, 2019
    Feb 16, 2019

Let us look into it for you. Please share your Card No. with registered contact info, charges details & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

Sreeni85
      Feb 16, 2019

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600002

Team,

I have sent 3 mails to foodcardsupport. [protected]@hdfcbank.com an also submitted my documents online 3 months ago, till now you pppl not responsed not updated kyc, due to which i am not getting funds in card.

It shows you incapability to handle client mails. If you re not ready to respond to mails, why do you give it as contact in first place - please inform tcs that you do not want business and move out

From id - sreenivasan. 1 @tcs.com
      Mar 21, 2019
      Feb 18, 2019

We request you to confirm the e-mail address from and to which you have written the mail to enable us to check and assist you further.

-Nadia
      Sir - please go through the mail again and do not send a standard reply for everything

i already mentioned my mail id

From id - sreenivasan. 1 @tcs.com

akrai45
        from Bolpur, West Bengal
        Feb 16, 2019

I am a credit card holder of hdfc bank. The bank has debited rs 2999/- on 8/2/19 from my credit card ending 4065 on account of fee for one assist membership.
        I do not want this membership. Requested to cancel the membership and credit rs 2999/- to my credit card.

Name - ashutosh kumar rai
        One assist relationship no - 1703435
        Holder of credit card ending 4065
        Aug 8, 2021
        Dear Ashutosh,

Greetings from OneAssist!

We're sorry for the trouble caused. Your membership cancellation is processed vide service request number 3988713. Your amount 2999/- will be credited in bank account within 5 to 7 working days. However, we have forwarded your case to the concerned team, they will get back to you shortly.

Devendra,

OneAssist, Social Media Team.
        Dear Ashutosh,

We tried calling you but your number was busy. Please be informed, your membership cancellation is processed and amount will be credited in your bank account within 5 to 7 working days. However, we request you to share your email ID on ([protected]@oneassist.in) and a convenient time to speak with you.

Devendra,

Adrisa Vaz
          Feb 16, 2019

I have an account with hdfc bank, the account was made in indi, however i have now moved to the uae and i do not have access to the indian no. That was provided. I cant make any transaction with my card since i do not get any otp's. I want all my otp's to come on my email if not i will have to discontinue with this bank account.

It has been a real issue lately. Please revert to me as soon as possible.

Please contact me on my email below [protected]@gmail.com
          Mar 20, 2019
          Feb 16, 2019

We can help with that. Please write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your Account No. or Customer ID & registered contact details. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Manoj

Naomi1011
            from Angamali, Kerala
            Feb 16, 2019

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560100

I have been using hdfc money back credit card for which i was told that there's no annual fee whatsoever. When i am receive my monthly credit card statement, the amount is always 500-1500 more than what i actually used from the cc. Also they update wrong credit limit information to the customer when the bill is cleared and also when a transaction is made. Say suppose i originally have a credit limit of rs.31, 945 and made a transaction of rs.3132 i don't know which algorithm or arithmatic logic the bank uses, but it updates to the customer that the available credit limit is now rs.27574. How is that even possible? Where is that extra rs.1239 which i didn't use? And when i try contacting the customer care they are least bothered to make the customer understand the statement rather rudely asks to check it on the netbanking website or say bunch of banking jargons which an ordinary person doesn't understand. Very disappointed with hdfc service. I am cancelling my credit card. Note to people: please never ever use hdfc credit cards else you'd be trapped in debt forever.
            Mar 29, 2019
            Feb 18, 2019

We observe that your credit card ending 5183 is a Life time free credit card card. For further clarification, please feel free to contact our Phone Banking officers at any of our 24 hour Phone Banking numbers mentioned in the below URL. https://goo.gl/FgYrRZ

-Nadia

Bhavesh Senghani
              Feb 16, 2019

Address: Mehsana, Gujarat, 384002

Resp sir/ma'm

My fastag cust id :[protected]
              Mo: [protected]

Debited adjustment enrty total amount 265/- on date 14/02/2019

I have checked all transactions on WWW.TIS.NHAI.GOV.IN

All transaction on tall are accurte equal amount debited at every toll plazza as sown in WWW.TIS.NHAI.GOV.IN

So kidly refund same 265/- in my fastg id.

Thanks in advance

My all transation from issuing fastag in attechment
              Mar 25, 2019
              Feb 21, 2019

We understand that our fastag team has contacted you and informed you that we have initiated chargeback dispute on the said transaction. They will revert to you in 7-10 working days with the status of dispute. For further assistance, you may write to them at fastag.[protected]@insolutionsglobal.com.

-Manoj
              Mar 09, 2019
              Updated by Bhavesh Senghani
              No one at hdfc fastag or at insolutionsglobal albe to answer which toll gate has debited mu money. or short payment on which toll gate.
              as customer i has right to know where my money debited.
              but no one at hdfc fastag customer care or insolutionsglobal able to reply my question about duduction.
              finaly i closed my fastag id.

thkans for best service.
              but closing my fastag only for deduction that not clarified by HDFC.

Bald
                Feb 16, 2019

Address: Ludhiana, Punjab, 141002

Hdfc credit card — cancellation of one assist membership

Submit a complaint
                Cancellation of one assist membership
                I am a hdfc bank credit card holder. The bank has auto debited rs. 1899/- from my credit card number ending with 6069 without my concern on date:24/10/2018. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership any more. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of rs.1899/-

Oneassist relationship number : [protected]
                Name :- baldev singh
                Mobile no. :-[protected]
                Credit card number ending :-6069
                Dear Baldev,

We're sorry for the inconvenience caused. Your membership cancellation is processed vide service request number 3992584. Your amount 1899/- will be credited in bank account within 5 to 7 working days. However, we have forwarded your case to the concerned team, they will get back to you shortly.

Devendra,

Dear Baldev,

As per the telephonic conversation. Your membership cancellation is processed and your amount will be credited in bank account within 5 to 7 working days.

Devendra,

candy8789
                  Feb 16, 2019

Address: 520007

Hi, i have salary account in hdfc 3 years back when i was working at that time. I have resign my job. But my hdfc exsisted old salary account showing -10000 balance.
                  The bank converts my salary account converted into savings account & charged monthly.. Now its 10000 negative balance. Without my permission how can the bank convert my salary account into savings account? Even they are not intimated verbally... According to rbi guidlines on savings account banks not charge even its negative balance.

Plz juistice to me. 10000 is huge amount to me. What is the solution?
                  How can i close the account plz suggest me. Im not working in present i cant bare 10000 plz suggest me.
                  Mar 24, 2019
                  Feb 18, 2019

We wish to inform you that as per the terms and conditions applicable for salary account holders, if salary is not credited into the account for 3 consecutive months, the account will be converted from a zero balance salary account to a regular savings account. The special facilities offered on the Salary Account is pursuant to the arrangement between the employer / company and the Bank. These benefits are extended by virtue of your employment in the organization, on whose request the account is opened with the bank and subject to regular salary credit. We had observed that there were no salary credits in your account and under these circumstances the special benefits offered under the Corporate Salary Program were withdrawn. Hence, the requisite Average Monthly Balance of Rs. 10000.00 will need to be maintained in your account. In the absence of the same the applicable AMB non-maintenance charges will be levied in your account. In the event of no salary credits in the Salary Account for any continuous three months, the Bank reserves the right to change the status of Salary Account to Savings Regular Account without any intimation to the account holder/me and the Terms & Conditions as applicable to the HDFC Bank Savings Regular Account shall apply to this account from the date of change of status. The Terms & Conditions and features applicable to Savings Regular Account are published on the website of the Bank. Please visit the URL below to know the fees and charges applicable to your account: https://goo.gl/NbkVam In case of change in employment, you can continue with the same account provided the new employer has an arrangement with the bank for the corporate salary account program. In case an arrangement exists, request you to visit the nearest branch along with your latest employment details for updation to continue with the existing account. We trust your issue has been resolved to your satisfaction. Please feel free to speak to our Branch Manager Mr. Kishore Mangu on Kishore Mangu or write to him at Kishore.[protected]@hdfcbank.com for any further clarification or assistance.

-Nadia
                  Feb 20, 2019

We understand that our branch official Mr. Pritesh Jhawar has contacted you and requested you to visit the nearest branch and submit account closure request. Meanwhile, our branch has process waiver of pending charges. Please visit the below URL in order to locate the nearest branch: https://bit.ly/2Hqff0y

-Zubin

Sammy031288
                    Feb 16, 2019

Hi i have just got a threatening call from your collections team. Its illegal and i am going to report this now. Since you are not doing anything. And this is a kind of extortion that you people are doing. Can somebody call and settle this with me. This is regarding personal loan. Koi hai jo help kar sake ya apne logo to fdcpa rule sikha sake. Or else i guess i need to report this to police
                    Mar 23, 2019
                    Feb 20, 2019

We understand that our collection manager Mr. Amit Shokee has contacted you and offered you the settlement amount. For further clarification, you may contact him on [protected].

-Zubin
                    Feb 20, 2019
                    Updated by Sammy031288
                    The only thing is that why the hell do tou hire goons and illmannered uneducated people.. Anyway I am reporting it to police and I have all the proofs to show to police about kind of extortion that they were asking and threatening me they they will torture my family .. This is illegal as per the law . You better stop this .

Ramkumar Rajendran
                      Feb 16, 2019

Address: 600016

I am a hdfc bank credit card holder. The bank has auto debited rs. 2599 /- from my credit card number ending with 1319 without my concern on date: 13.02.2019. I am not interested about this service and don't want this membership any more. So cancel the membership and refund this debited amount of rs.2599 /-

Oneassist relationship number : 1713691
                      Name :- r. Ramkumar
                      Mobile no. :- [protected]
                      Credit card number ending :- 1319
                      Membership id [protected]
                      Feb 16, 2019
                      Updated by Ramkumar Rajendran
                      Please cancel my One Assist membership
                      Dear Rajkumar,

We're sorry for the unpleasant experience. Your membership cancellation is under process vide service request number 3988461. You will receive payment in 2 parts, your amount 1500/- which will be credited in bank account within 4 to 5 working days and remaining amount 1099/- will be credited after 5 to 7 working days. However, we have forwarded your case to the concerned team. They will get back to you shortly.

Devendra,

Dear Ramkumar,

As per the telephonic conversation. Please be informed, your membership cancellation is processed and your amount will be refunded in bank within 5 to 7 working days.

Devendra,

dilipprasad
                        Feb 16, 2019

Address: Ratnagiri, Maharashtra, 410501

On jan 2019's credit card bill, there was unauthorized transaction amount rs 750 from amazon sellers service, mumbai, that i had to pay, without knowing
                        Anything about that transaction.
                        I complained to hdfc bank through its own net banking email service. But the bank is claiming, its a authorized transaction done with authorized otp by me.
                        But i didn't make any transaction in last few months from amazon.in. I am not aware of amazon sellers service at all. And amazon.in and amazon sellers service are not same.
                        Hdfc bank is just sending the same reply every time to my query.

Please do the needful to get back my money.
                        Mar 23, 2019
                        Feb 18, 2019

We confirm that, we had already responded to your e-mail on February 05, 2019. We regret to note the same missed your attention. For further clarifications please reply to our e-mail. The reference number for this interaction is[protected].

-Nadia

Shardul Agarwal
                          Feb 16, 2019

Address: 560076

I have been charged finance charges on my hdfc credit card for two months. I have not defaulted on any of my payments and payed the minimum due amount in time. Imposing the finance charges is against the rule. Also, the amout charged is highly unreasonable. I contacted hdfc customer care but received no support. Please help in this issue and waive off the finance charges.
                          Mar 25, 2019
                          Feb 17, 2019

Let us look into it for you. Please share your Card No. with registered contact info, charges details & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

Shardul Agarwal
                            Feb 16, 2019

Address: 560076

I have received a text message reporting payment of rs. 199 from my credit card to amazon1258399 withut otp/pin. Please investigate this and initiate a refund. This is in clear violation of rbi mandated rule of requiring otp/pin for any successful transaction. I contacted hdfc customer care but received no support on this issue. Please help.
                            Mar 23, 2019
                            Feb 17, 2019

Let us look into it for you. Please share your Card No. with registered contact info, transaction details & the issue on [protected]@hdfcbank.com. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

Q
                              QUICKEI
                              Feb 15, 2019

Address: 425001

I have been charged rs 590 10 times and no one is helping me out. We earn money with grave and extreme efforts and hdfc just takes it away terming it as charges.

The charges are for SIP payment failure. the incident happened on 14th of feb.

Kindly reverse the charges so we continue to have faith in the bank.

Contact me on [protected]@gmail.com.

sagardk_9
                                Feb 15, 2019

Address: 410206

I had paid premium 175000, 25000 yearly for 7 years. As i can see online sum assured showing 135000. Maturity payout of my policy is only 195000 in which 20000 is bonus. This bonus is not even 3% interest. Branch executive told me maturity amount will be in between 225000 to 25000. This is big cheating.

I have send email to customer service for breakup but there is no reply from executive. If I was deposited same amount to bank in saving account i would get interest of 4%.

Policy details
                                Policy Number[protected]
                                Premium Paid - 175000
                                Maturity- 195000
                                Bonus- 20000
                                Interest rate - less than 3%
                                If i invest same amount in LIC then return will be at 7 % is 45000.
                                Mar 23, 2019
                                HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
                                Feb 19, 2019
                                HDFC Life Customer Care's response
                                Hi, if policyholder have any unresolved concern with respect to his/her HDFC Life policy. Kindly inform to the customer that write to us at [protected]@hdfclife.com from his / her registered id to have the same look into and addressed. If the concern is already raised on service Id, our team will check and post assessment response will be shared with policyholder.

Vikash Limbachiya
                                  Feb 15, 2019

Address: Banaskantha, Gujarat, 385001

I have open saving account in hdfc bank cozy branch from palanpur district - banaskantha via pankaj who also employe in bank for 20 days ago. He told me i m getting my passbook in one week. But unfortunately i can't get my passbook. I call him but he can't receive my call last 10 days. So i going bank and inquiry for my passbook. Employee said me passbook not available in bank. I[censored] won't passbook u will wait for 20 days. My life first bad experience in hdfc bank. So i request u plz u told ur bank staff to get my passbook.
                                  Mar 21, 2019
                                  Feb 15, 2019

We can help with that. Please write your issue to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your Account No. or Customer ID & registered contact details. Mention this Ref No. TTU[protected] in the subject of your mail so it'll help us track your e-mail.

-Anay

AnjaliMenon177
                                    Feb 15, 2019

loan recovery goons harassing

Address: Malappuram, Kerala, 673637

My name is Anjali Menon and before I got married my husband had some issues with the credit card and had some due amount that needed to be paid and eventually the interest amount kept piling up. So lately instead of contacting him these HDFC goons have been calling and harassing me and my family. I have been a loyal HDFC customer for the past 3 years and have never missed a payment be it the credit card or personal loan....
                                    Atul Jagotra
                                    Feb 15, 2019

Address: 400706

Good day,

[protected] Fasttag customer id

At Kusgoan toll plaza the fast tag had an error and debited 778 inr from my account. The toll guy also took 138 inr as cash for passing my car throu the gate. He said that the fastag had an error.
                                    So I have been wrongly charged with 778 inr from my fast tag account. Kindly arrange the 778 inr to be returned to my account. See below msg rcvd via sms.

Dear Customer, Your FasTag A/c has been debited for Rs. 778 for transaction by Vehicle MH43BE9004 at Toll Kusgaon Toll Plaza on[protected]T14:53:05. Balance amount in the A/c is Rs. 0 - HDFC Bank Ltd.

I called Hdfc fast tag on toll free number same day and reported the incident, however he could not do anything and asked me to email to fasttag.[protected]@insolutionsglobal.com. Till date on 15th Feb 2019, the hdfc guys have not cared to reply to me. This is pure lack of customer service by hdfc.

Please file my complaint.
                                    Feb 28, 2019
                                    Not resolved...money of 778 has not come to my fastag account