Lakme Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jun 11, 2024
Complaints 514

File a complaint to Lakme

Having problems with Lakme?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Lakme customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Lakme reviews & complaints page 24

appuammu
Feb 13, 2012

Address: Pondicherry, Puducherry

VIJAYAGANAPATHY STORES,PUDUCHERRY has a sales counter at its place.tThe sales girls are always giving the wrong shades of beauty products like lipstiks,foundation,compact,etc.the wheatish and dark shades are always interchanged and given.Please ensure proper service and can i exchange the products?Please let me know.

mayurikakataria
    Jan 21, 2012

Address: Vadodara, Gujarat

It is stated my daughter bridal oura make up has been decided amointing Rs. 9800. And payment was done wide bill number 0323 dated 26/11/2011/
    at Lakme Salon, Old padra road, Vadodara.

Now my daughter is not satisfied by trial makeup dated on 19/02/2011. so kindly cancel our sittings and package program of dated 27/1/2012. And refund out amount by debiting trial makeup amount.

Kindly do the needful for the same and give us refund withing two days.

Advance payment against the package is Rs. 9800 wide bill number 0323 dated 26/11/2011 of Lakme salon old padra road, Vadodara.

Complain for the same is also submitted by application at Lakme Salon, Vadodara on dated 21/1/2012.

Mayurika Kataria
    Mobile No: [protected]

ShaifaliKhera
      Dec 6, 2011

Address: West Delhi, Delhi

I bought new lip gloss of lakme twice and both the time the tube broke from the top and spoiled everything in my bag, i stopped buying it. And i was buying lakme sindoor since two years but recently they changed the packaging of it to make it difficult for the customers, on opening the cap the plastic part comes out and even the golden body of the cap comes out. Had really bad experiences with the packaging of all the products in recent 5-6 months, i hope they change it back to old containers or make the new containers better otherwise it would be difficult to continue with lakme.

vennu
        Dec 1, 2011

Address: Uttar Pradesh

I purchased Lakme Mascara for Rs.225 from a dealer named SHIV SHAKTI, AISHBAGH ROAD, LUCKNOW . i ask to dealer to open and check the mascara The shop owner has not allowed me to open the case from shop . When i open the same in home then find that it was fully dried up. I went back to the shop and showed the product to the dealer. Dealer inform me that if company replace it , i will also replace and taken back the product but one week elapsed no replacement or refund of money was made by dealer.

NOORIN KHAN
          Nov 20, 2011

Address: Nagpur, Maharashtra

i bought a lakme lipstick 7 months back, named 9 to 5 berrylicious 27, when it was finished i again bought the same lipstick but found that its of different shade as it was before, this time the shade is quite dark and it does not suits me, why they keep the same name when they changed the shade,its a cheating with the costumer, it was of 375 rs and the whole money gone waste, i want my money back or a replacement.
          noorin bux

nehami2
            Nov 8, 2011

Address: North Delhi, Delhi

I wanted to get my hair straight and I chose Lakme Salon believing to get best services from this reputed brand.

I got hair straight therapy,Schwarzkopf done from Lakme Salon, Kapil Vihar,Pitampura on 13th October 2011.They called me for head wash after 3 days.After wash I noticed that the there were waves in my hair.When I told this to the guy (Dinesh) who did my straightening he completely refused to admit and tried to cut my hair again.I was shocked by his this action and complained about this to owner Mr. Ushpinder Singh.An appointment was fixed on 31st October with their trainer Mr. Nitin who accepted their mistake and said that their guy Dinesh could not done the process properly.He suggested me to go for chemical treatment again.I denied to go for it as it will harm my hair.Even the experts don't recommend it.I requested for the refund.But the owner Mr. Ushpinder refused very rudely.Same thing was happened with another girl on the same day.

I didn't get the service done properly for which I paid Rs. 7,000.Even the behaviour of the staff and owner was rude and unhelpful. I didn’t expect this from Lakme.I would appreciate if I can get help on this issue.I don't want to damage my hair at any cost by under going the chemical procedure again.

Neha Mittal
            Lakme guys are fake!!!
            Beleive me, their hair therapies are Garbage. They turn your hair into GARBAGE and shell put huge money too. I wasted INR 10000 and they yurnef my hair into garbage. No refund¡¡¡ no additional jair treatment provided by them further¡¡ not even courteous enough to talk politely to customrs on problems.

The most experienced hair artist by the nameTasleem is a gay who flirts with every other lady. He turned my hair inyo Garbage by keeping me occupied with his rubbish talks and then tirned his back when my hair were messed up due to their strightening hair therapy

Now o can never dream of good hair.They have spoiled it completely.
            Beware of Lakme¡¡¡¡

Annu_ mukesh
              Oct 20, 2011

Address: Maharashtra

I had visited Lakme salon,Kandivali (Mumbai ) some 4 months back , I got the straighting done by mahesh ( the hair dresser), but developed waves in some portion of my hair..... I was told the straighting I'm getting is the best & gives the best result. But the result I got was pretty different . Then, they re- did my hair in just one month time.... Now , the result was even worst .... So , the owener herself said, they will do again after sometime this time may be in 3 months, so when I went to them after 3 months , they still want time, still want to consult their trainer.... What I want to say is was is not important for them to consult their trainer when I first reported the waves, or the 2nd time when their rebounding failed.... Now, after 3 months they want to consult the trainer.... They are not having enough trained person then why use us to experiment .....& when they have promised then they should do the correction , but give guarantee that what they have done twice won't be repeated for the third time..... And above all they have just destroyed my hair ....
              The owner is playing hide& seek, she says she'll do defiantly do something but when I ask her to adjust or give back the money, she tells she is out of Mumbai, now I wd like to do no adjustments neither the rebounding, I just want my money back...
              Gist of legal notice sent to The Chief Executive Officer, Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd., First Floor, Shreeniwas House,
              H. Somani Marg, (behind Bombay Gymkhana), Fort, Mumbai - 400001 in November 2011.

Ref: improper treatment by untrained staff causing permanent damage to hair

I am concerned for my client Mrs. Vartika Bal Krishna Gupta, presently residing at 73 East gate, Macclesfield, Manchester, United Kingdom, and having permanent residence at C/o Shri. Bal Krishna Gupta, 604 - B2, Samriddhi, SBI Flats, opp. Old Sion Fort, Sion (East), Mumbai - 400022 represented by and through her father Shri Bal Krishna Gupta under whose instructions I am addressing you as under:
              1) My client states that in November 2010, she desired to get a treatment commonly known as straightening done to her hair. After due deliberation she decided to get the said cosmetic treatment from 'Lakme' as it appeared to be a well known and household name. Accordingly she flew down from UK where she is presently residing for her employment purpose and visited your saloon's branch at Sion on 10th November 2010.

2) My client further states that upon her visit, she was informed by the manager/staff that the said treatment known as "Rebonding" could be successfully carried out on her hair. This was after the said persons duly checked my client's hair in detail.

3) My client further states that She was given the time of 11am on 11th November 2010. Accordingly my client was on time on 11th November 2010 and she paid the entire amount of Rs. 7, 000/- which was the charges as told to her in cash. The manager of the said branch Ms. Renuka assigned Ms. Shahnaz one of the employees present in the salon with my client's treatment. My client observed that the said staff was frequently inquiring with the manager about the entire procedure. At that time my client did not for once doubt that there would be something hazardous to herself and patiently sat while this entire process was going on, with a hope that 'Lakme' being a good and reputed brand would take proper care of its customer. Alas, my client's hopes have been brutally shattered including her morale and self esteem.

4) My client further states that after the treatment was complete at about 4 pm, she was advised by the said staff to keep the hair unwashed for next 72 hours. My client was also advised to wash her hair with 'Schewarzkopf Repair Shampoo', which was available at a costemics outlet 'View' opposite Matunga Railway station. My client purchased the said product at cost of Rs. 1, 100/-. This outlet was recommended by your staff.

5) My client states that she applied the shampoo on her hair after the lapse of 72 hours as per your staff's advice. After the wash, my client noticed that her hair had not been fully straightened but had become dull and lifeless. This was on 14th November 2010. My client waited for a whole day to see if there was any change in the texture of the hair and when she noticed none, she visited your saloon on 16th November 2010 along with her mother. She complained to the saloon's manager about the condition of her hair. The manager Ms. Renuka examined my client's hair and assured her that all was well with the treatment done. My client repeatedly tried to tell Ms Renuka about the damaged texture of her hair, but she kept on insisting that the treatment and the hair was normal and there was nothing wrong with the hair as the job was done by a trained professional. She also informed my client that the staff was fully competent and professionally qualified and certified to undertake the application of the chemical treatment. My client was not convinced as the texture of her hair was totally dull and lifeless contrary to what it ought to have been after the treatment. Your salon manager assured my client that they would treat my client's hair by a 'Spa treatment' to put life back into her hair and further strengthen them. My client was given an appointment for 20th November 2010.

6) My client states that the words of the manager were not convincing enough and sought another expert opinion. She was informed that the condition of her hair indicated "overdose and long exposure to harsh chemicals" i.e. the quantity of chemical used was more than required and the application on her hair was for more time than necessary and required. She was also informed that there was a likelihood of massive hair fall in the future. The expert also added that due to overdose of chemicals for longer than recommended period, the hair near the scalp had become brittle and weak which would be leading to massive hair fall. My client was advised protein treatment. Words cannot explain the mental and emotional trauma that my client underwent when she came to know that there would be massive hair loss. Deeply traumatized and shaken she visited your salon on 17th November 2010.

7) My client further states that she visited your salon along with her parents on 17th November 2010 and informed your manager about the advice that she had been given. Your manager agreed that instead of hair spa, protein treatment would be given to her on 19th November 2010 at 11 am. Your manager assured my client that this protein treatment would set her hair right back again. Once again my client trusted the words of your manager as your company is of repute. Little did she realize what further emotional misery she would be facing due to the sheer negligence of your staff.

8) My client further states that she visited your salon on 19th November 2010, at the agreed time she was given the protein treatment and assured that her hair would become straight and the damage done to her hair would be undone in few days. My client returned home with the hope that the damage done would be healed and her hair would be protected. My client being employed in Manchester UK, had come on a short visit and had to leave on 21st November 2010.

9) My client states that even after ten days after the protein treatment she did not find any change in the dryness and dullness of her treated hair. She corresponded to you accordingly. There were repeated assurances given which have ultimately proved to be words in air which have vanished.

10) My client further states that after repeated requests from her side, your company sent her some products assuring her that it would solve the damage caused to her. Since then it has been a series of emails, letters, phones, meetings and waiting period with no change in the damage done to my client's hair.

11) My client herself and through her father had corresponded with you on number of occasions. Each time there has been assurances from your side. I refer to and rely upon all the correspondence between my client, her father and your office. I am not repeating the details of these correspondences in this notice for the sake brevity.

12) It is pertinent to note here that your company has accepted responsibility for the damage done, but my client's grievance remains unsolved. You have refunded my client's money but vide a cheque, but there has been no covering letter along with it. My client's father too has not been spared the mental harassment as he has been made to call several times and there have been meetings with assurances which have not resolved the main issued.
              13) I am instructed by my client to state here that her grievance has been treated in an inhuman manner and it is not acceptable from your office. You will agree that the matter can be resolved in an amicable manner and with this peaceful intention my client had restrained herself from seeking legal course. However your lack of commitment to this whole issue has compelled my client to seek legal opinion.

14) I am therefore addressing you with this notice asking upon your office to compensate my client for the mental and emotional trauma undergone by herself and her parents not to mention the public humiliation and agony she faced due to the damaged hair which were visible much to the dismay of my client. She has had to cover them with a scarf to avoid stares, but it made her look awful which added agony to her turmoil. There have been numerous meetings between you and my client's father, but all have been futile as you are not taking concrete steps to resolve the issue and address the agony of my client. Simply sending the payment cheque does not make your company unliable from the responsibility of paying damages to my client for the sufferings she has endured in these last few months which will now turn into one year.

15) a. Lakme Lever did not advise my client verbally or in writing that the process may go wrong.
              There was no such Notice in big letters in the Lakme Salons so that the customers are fore- warned.
              b. Post damage, the Lakme top management’s attitude of has been couldn’t care less type and in many ways humiliating and arrogant, proof of which would be submitted in the consumer Forum.
              c. Lakme has failed to provide worthwhile documentary proof of the operators’s technical competence, training and experience to handle a chemical process like this thus putting my client’s hair in the hands of a person totally unfit to handle the case.

16. I, therefore, call upon you to pay compensation charges of Rs. 2 lakh to my client with a public apology and detailed description as to how the damage was caused thereby accepting full responsibility of the damage done. My client through her father is willing for one more meeting to try and bring about an amicable settlement and a meeting can be arranged between her father, her advocate and yourself.

17. Kindly address the issue with seriousness. You can contact me on my mobile phone number +[protected] or my client's father on his mobile number +[protected] within 8 days of receipt of this letter, failing which my client will have no alternative but to approach the consumer protection forum to seek justice as to your costs and consequences, which please note.

a. Lakme Lever did not adviseverbally or in writing that the process may go wrong. There was no such Notice in big letters in the Lakme Salons so that the customers are fore- warned.
              b. Post damage, the attitude of the Lakme top management has been "couldn’t care less type" and in many ways humiliating and arrogant proof of which would be submitted in the consumer Forum.
              c. Lakme has failed to provide worthwhile documentary proof of the operator's technical competence, training and experience to handle a chemical process thus putting my client’s hair in the hands of a person totally unfit to handle the case.

meenakshi84
                Sep 19, 2011

Address: West Delhi, Delhi

Recently, I booked Bridal Platinum glow package + 1 reception Mac makeup @ 19300/- at 164, Ist floor, Kapil Vihar, Pitam Pura. Since your Rajouri Garden branch is near to my current house, so I had told to that girl Hema that I will take my pre-bridal services at your Rajouri garden & rest 2 make-up’s at Pitam Pura. She was ready to do that since your both parlor’s belongs to the same owner.
                Now when I visited to take my Ist sittings of pre-bridal at Rajouri garden and their owner Ms. Gurleen Kaur had given me worst services by lakme. And also on every service she asked me to pay extra i.e. waxing I paid Rs. 700 extra. Thus, I was misguided regarding the Lakme Salon service packages. If I knew it earlier I would have never spent Rs. 20000/- on your worst services. But I was not at all satisfied with the service in recent times. Really their service is no worth for the money.Now I want to get back the money. I have my wedding on 11th October. Now I don’t want to ruin my wedding day just because of your worst services by lakme. Totally frustrated. Please help me as soon as possible otherwise I will go to consumer court.

Meenakshi Bhatia
                Email Id- [protected]@gmail.com

pallavi_535
                  Sep 6, 2011

This is to inform that i purchased Lakme nine to five Forever Silk Eyeliner for rupees 395/- . The moment i applied this to my eyes they started buring and became red. Water started flowing out from my eyes continuously and lasted for around 2 hours. I washed my eyes and removed the kajal, thats the time when situation came back to normal.

This is absoultely not acceptable to my surprise my friend applied the same kajal in the morning and encountered the same symptoms.

I regret to inform that I have encountered such an experience with you brand and have lost trust in the products quality. It could have a lethal effect on my eyes and have created a problem which i would have to bear all my life.

Pallavi Aggarwal
                  Is the product duplicate one ? Please match the same product with another one from another good Mall/Store without buying the same. Try to match !

RamiSan
                    Aug 7, 2011

Gift Voucher of Lakme Salon of Rs 200 given in association with W brand.Ordinary Customer will feel that it can be utilized for any service worth Rs 200.

Lakme Salone Providers are missleading customer and making money out it saying that such voucher can be utilized only for services worth 1000 and above.They are fooling customers by Providing gift Vouchers.if that is the case then it must be clearly mention that 200 Rs Reduction will be done for 1000 and above service .because of this misguidence i lost 1600 Rs.
                    I need justice .Customers are not fools to play .

This has to be strictly taken care .

rosyrals
                      Jul 5, 2011

Address: Vadodara, Gujarat

This is a complaint against Lakme beauty salon, Vadodara.

The lady Kalpana ben had offered me a package for treatment for which I had to pay the full amount but the services could be used anytime within a period of 2 years. But before the 2 yrs could pass and before I could use my services the salon was closed down due to some reason and I was not informed about it even though they had my contact number. I kept calling them for more than 6 months and most of the times the phone was not answered and on rare occasion when the lady answered her phone she kept telling me that they had plans of re-opening next week or within 15 days (which never happened.) Now I can't get through her phone as well. I have just used 2 services out of the 6 services for which I have paid. How can I get my money back?
                      It is unfortunate that the salon had been shut down due to a legal issue which was very much clear in the newspapers and brought into attention to almost every loyal customer of the salon, however surprisingly you were missed out. If you are a genuine customer why would you be afraid of disclosing your name...?? Secondary to your utmost attention lakme salon has been restarted at the same venue i.e, old padra road, next to kaya skin clininc since last 3 months...!! The owner Kalpana ben had taken special efforts to call upon each and every customer whose services were pending to regain with left out services.

Still the salon is welcoming such customers whose services are pending and would be ready to help you out in the best possible manner.

Awaiting for your reply...!

lakme eyeconic kajal brought found defective

i brought a kajal but when i unpacked it at home, its lead was already broken. kindly give me its replacement as soon as possible. please take some action in this regard. Megha gupta J-3/46 Apna Ghar Shalimar Alwar(Raj.) 301001

surabhipandey14
                        Jun 27, 2011

Address: Uttar Pradesh

i visited lakme salon today in the afternoon.alongwith a peppermint facial i also opted for a bikini wax.i read the pamphlet and accordingly assumed the price for the service of bikini wax to be 100 rupees.but when it was time for the payment i was charged ten times the price and that is 1000 rupees for my bikini wax.the pamphlet that i was holding was taken away from me,literally snatched,saying its an old pamphlet,despite d fact that it was given to me there only.
                        later on they refused to give me the price saying that its against their company policy,although am just a customer who was asking for the price of the service she had taken.
                        it was the salon's responsibility to make sure i dont have the wrong price list in my hand.they were aware that i was carrying the old price list,if it was old,as said by them.
                        u r requested to look in to the matter because i is not the first time that lakme has behaved this way.
                        please look into the matter.

Deepu1983
                          Jun 24, 2011

I have been to Lakme saloon on 18th June 2011 for Hair Smoothening Treatment. The guy who has done the treatment was found to be unprofessional and he doesn't no abc of Hair treatments. And he has burnt the entire hair while ironing. And now my hair is breaking very badly and its too frizzy and I need to cover my hair while I am in office. I would like to file a case against this parlour and proceed legally for justice. Can someone help me with process.

If anybody knows about how to act against these then kindly let us know because these types of parlours charges heavily and then spoils our hair too.
                          they don't give any invoice as well. So its a request to all if anybody can guide us that how to take legal action against them that will be very very helpful

tamanna sharma
                            Jun 6, 2011

Address: North East Delhi, Delhi

i have bought lakme eye liner from agarwal cosmetic shop madhu vihar 2 months ago. when i opened the liner i felt the the quantity of the liner is very shorter. i have gone to the shopkeeper & said that i am using lakme product since 10-15 years and lakme eye liner since 6-7 years so i know the what is quantity. he said u give me one complaint letter & i will replace it.

after 1 week i received new lakme black impact liner but this time the liner is like water. means it just like mixing of water in liner..
                            i dont know what is reason behind it..but i never face a this type of problem in lakme product..
                            may be the shopkeeper has a duplicate product of lakme..
                            kindly get me the solution.

dishatoorray
                              May 31, 2011

I took appointment and they denied service with pathetic excuse
                              Greetings,

We have seen a posting from you on the web site www.consumercomplaints.in stating feedback on our product /advertisement.

We thank you for sharing the feedback and request you to share few details ( Name, address, contact number and e mail id) about you so that we can support you better. You may kindly contact our consumer care toll free line @[protected] /[protected] or send e mail to lever.[protected]@unilever.com. You may please find information about our consumer care services on every pack of all our products.

We request you to kindly revert at your earliest. We thank you once again.

Levercare

drsaxena
                                May 20, 2011

Address: East Delhi, Delhi

I Had booked a package for my engagement ceremony at lakme salon in cross river mall,shahdara,east delhi. the whole package included waxing,bleach,facial,pedicure,manicure,hair spa and the final make up,saree drape,hair do ,nail paint change on the day of my engagement. i went to lakme twice before the final day for my prebridal services.i was treated well and i kept giving part payments and i told them i wanted to discuss my look for my engagement .. but nobody paid heed to my repeated requests.the final day came and i went.at first a girl came and started doing my make up , she concealed my face with her fingers tapping my face so hard that i became so annoyed and then the eyes were done so badly that it gave me a chinky look.the whole kajal went in for a toss.it was a disaster and i had tears in my eyes.nobody knew exactly how a saree is being tied.the whole saree was tied too badly.then a guy came up to do up my hair , n he had no idea what to do . a girl then back combed my hair from front n tucked them at the back and the left hair were badly curled with a stupid curling rod.by the time i reached the hotel ..all the curls had gone haywire.... such a stupid set of beauticians and staff . i would never recommend anybody in the world to go to lakme beauty salon,cross river mall,east delhi. but i kept my dignity and paid those their full payment without losing my temper.i sumhow managed to look beautiful by keeping my smile intact at the big day of my life.i just thank god for everything.but the experience was horrifying and never wish that any gal goes through the same pain..
                                Greetings,

We have seen a posting from you on the web site www.consumercomplaints.in stating feedback on our product /advertisement. We thank you for sharing the feedback and request you to share few details ( Name, address, contact number and e mail id) about you so that we can support you better.

You may kindly contact our consumer care toll free line @[protected] /[protected] or send e mail to lever.[protected]@unilever.com. You may please find information about our consumer care services on every pack of all our products.

We request you to kindly revert at your earliest. We thank you once again.

Levercare

Zahira Shaikh
                                  May 13, 2011

Address: Mumbai Suburban, Maharashtra

This is my visit to a Bandra Lakhme Salon. I called them up for the prior appointment in the evening for facial & eyebrows to which they told me they are running full & wont be able to provide the service since the appointments are running full but somehow they will accomadate me for the eyebrows. So i fix an appointment for the eyebrow & i leave my cell number asking them incase there is any cancellation for the facial then please call me & let me know.

When i reach there in the evening for my eyebrows i see all the ladies who does facial are sitting idle when i was told that the appointments are full. when i am done with my eyebrow service the lady ask me whether do i want any other service i told her yes i wanted to do my facial as well but i was told that the appointments are full to which she said no i am available & can do the facial. I was glad since the next day i was suppose to leave for goa.

After i was done with my facial I gave a debit card for the payment. thou i was given the slip to sign but my card was never returned to me back. It sliped my mind too, to collect the card since they were in a hurry to close. Once i left the salon i reliased that i dont have my debit card when i reached the salon back it was closed.

I called the IDBI Bank & blocked the debit card. The next day i received no calls from the salon. When i call them in the afternoon to check on my debit card they said yes they have the card with them to which i asked them arent they suppose to inform me about my card to which there is this lady called Esthar (who also act like as if she is the boss of the salon) who replies to me saying that madam we did not had your number. I told her that usually when you take an appointment you also take our cell number to which she tells me that since it was just for eyebrows we did not register your number. I later on remembered that i had left the number with them incase of there is any facial service cancellation. So the second time i called up there is another lady who picks up the phone & tells me yes the debit card is there with them. I ask her when i had come yesterday there were so many girls sitting idle who do facial she tells me ya the apppointment got cancelled & i did try your number but was coming busy. To which i told her it very disappointing to learn this that a reputed salon like Lakhme provides such a bad service & also tell lies to cover up their mess. Human error is quiet genuine but instead of accepting things you tell further lies to cover it up. I have stopped going to this salon as i was disgusted with their behaviour & way of handling things.

balkrishna gupta
                                    May 2, 2011

PERMANENT HAIR DAMAGE AT LAKME LEVER SALON SION WEST MUMBAI
                                    HAIR STRAIGHTENING PROCEDURE
                                    Vartika, daughter of Mrs. Alka gupta and Sh. B K Gupta, went for hair straightening on 11th Nov ’10 to Lakme Salon, Sion West, Mumbai. The job was assigned to one Ms. Shahnaz. During the process, she frequently consulted the Manager at various steps.

2. Ms Shahnaz advised her to keep the hair in unwashed condition for next 72 hours. After shampooing on the fourth day, she found that my hair had not been straightened fully and had become lifeless and dull as well.

3. She (along with her mom Mrs. Alka Gupta) visited Lakme Salon on 16th Nov ‘10. Their Manager, Ms. Renukka told her that there was nothing wrong with the hair She assured her that they would give me hair spa treatment to put life back into her hair and further straighten them and gave her an appointment for 20th Nov ‘10.

4. Vartika was, however, not convinced with her response. We consulted another hair expert who told us that the condition of the hair indicated overdose and long exposure to harsh chemicals and there was a likelihood of massive hair fall in the coming future. He said that the hair near the scalp had become brittle and weaker. He also advised against spa treatment and suggested protein treatment. She along with us visited Lakme Salon again on 17th Nov and the Manager agreed to give protein treatment instead of hair spa, on 19th Nov..

5. Vartika was assured that the damage done to her hair will be undone in some days. Se works in UK and had come for a fortnight, she left on 21st Novr ‘10 for Manchester (UK).

6. But there was no straightening of her hair and it remains brittle near the scalp and started falling too at the rate of 15-20 hair whenever she combed it. Their treatment has actually damaged her hair to a great extent. She rues the moment she decided to patroniset Lakme Salon. She is emotionally and socially in a traumatic and embarrassing state because of this.

7. She is not even sure of the quality of chemical solutions used. Our guess is that Ms Shehnaz is not a professionally trained and qualified specialist with sufficient experience in the line for conducting the said procedure.

i) We went to Lakme Sion on 25 Nov ‘10 and 28 Nov ’10 to request your Manager (Ms. Renukka) to arrange a talk with the senior people. She told us that they would talk to us in next few days. But nobody called. We went again on 5 Dec, ‘10 and delivered Vartika’s letter dated 30 Nov ’10.

ii) As there was no response till 11th Dec ‘10, we again went there on 12 Dec, ‘10 and demanded to know the outcome/response to our letter. Finally, on 14th Dec, ‘10 (after one month delay) Ms. Kabra arranged a meeting for 17 Dec, ‘10. Lakme Salon, Sion in its email dated 12.12.10 finally admitted the damage to hair.

ii. Their Area Sales Head, Ms. Suman Kabra in her email dtd 20 Dec ‘10 wrote: “We express our sincere apologies for the unexpected outcome of this chemical treatment.” She asked Vartika to send snaps of damaged hair. Vartika sent the same to her on 21 Dec, 10 thru mail.

8. On 28/12/2010, Lakme’s Zara talked to Vartika and promised to send some products to control the damage. The chemicals sent by Lakme received on 17/01/2011, four weeks after promise. On 25/01/2011, we received a cheque of Rs. 10000 without any details.

9. After repeated applications of the products, there is no perceptible improvement in the condition. Vartika consulted a hair expert in Manchester. His opinion is that:
                                    The damage caused to the hair is irreversible. The only solution now is to shear the damaged hair when it grows long enough in the long run.
                                    10. Mr. Alpesh Ashar, National Business Head Franchise Network talked to the undersigned on 4th March, 2011, three weeks after Ms. Kabra’s promise in mid- Feb 2011. He talked without knowing the details. He told me that my daughter has suffered from some reaction of the chemicals applied for straightening. In his letter dated 17th March 11, also he admits:

“.. rebonding.. is a chemical intensive treatment. It is critical to state that type of hair differs from one person to another and that different treatments can have different results on different individuals.”

11. If your people at even national level are so confused and uncertain about rebonding treatment one can imagine the level of knowledge at the grass roots levels. Pray why do you then carry out potentially hazardous procedures with uncertain outcomes on hapless customers?

12. Calling vartika to India from UK within a week to examine her hair
                                    First botching up the procedure and then the culprit asking the victim to spend a couple of thousand Pound Sterling to visit India from in UK is the cruellest joke not only on her but on the entire female clientele of Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd.. How can National Branding Manager, Mr. Alpesh Ashar and the CEO, Mr Chopra be so callous so as to even suggest to that effect. If their family women were meted out a similar treatment, would they still expect a similar uncouth and unreasonable stance? That is adding salt to injury. This remark is fit for reference to National Commission for Women which we are doing. Where were their experts and why did they not examine the condition when she was here in from November 14th till November 20, 2010 when the damage was caused. Were Lakme Sion people not even competent to gauge the intensity of damage?

13. After failing to seek an appointment during 21 to 26 March, I went to Lakme Lever’s office at Fort, Mumbai on 28 March ’11 to take an appointment with the CEO. His secretary, Ms. Jennifer Disawala, had told me over telephone during the week (21-26 march 2011) that the entire senior staff of Lakme Lever was out of India from 21st to 31st March 2011. On reaching their office, I found out about the presence of the CEO and insisted on meeting him.

14. Mr. Chopra was in hurry and could spare only two minutes. He blankly told me that as a CEO he was ‘only concerned with strategy and planning. Customer complaints were being looked after by Mr. Alpesh Ashar.’ I then asked him as to how do he got customer feedback about their services. His reply again was the same.

However, on my insisting and he being in hurry to shift his residence, he promised to call for a meeting with all concerned on April 6, ‘11 and settle the issue finally as he did not believe in unnecessary paper work. He also mentioned that the problem arose because Vartika had extremely curly hair. This is patently incorrect and not borne out by facts.

15. As brought out, the tone and tenor of the CEO’s letter and arrogant attitude with a client, even after permanently damaging her hair, amply shows that they look at the customer with disdain and indifference. Claim of compensation by a customer whose hair has been damaged by their incompetent and unprofessional people is her natural and legal right.

They do not want to discuss this because they have no case to defend the incompetence of their operators and inaction on their own part to oversee the working of more than 125 Lakme Pvt. Ltd. Salons.

16. Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. must advise the customers in writing and take an undertaking from them that if anything goes wrong during the process they only will be liable. Also put a big Notice in big letters in all Lakme Salons so that the customers are fore- warned.

17. The relevant correspondence (emails and letters exchanged) has been given to a competent lawyer for drafting a complaint to the Distt Consumer Grievances Redressal Forum, Mumbai. In due course, a complaint will be filed in this regard.

To do so more effectively, we sought Lakme Lever’s reply in our letter dated 17.04.11 following queries which are legally important :

a. Who hires such operators, Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. or the franchisees themselves. We demand certified copies of Ms. Shehnaz’s technical training and professional competence and experience and certificate to use chemicals on clients. Please also furnish list of customers on whom she has carried out hair straightening treatment in the last two years to know their level of satisfaction.

b. What are the technical qualifications and certifications required by Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. for operators for hair straightening treatment involving hazardous chemicals in their Salons? Are these operators trained at Centres approved by The Director General of Technical Training or some Medical Council of India?

c. Does Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. make it clear to the customer before carrying out potentially hazardous procedures that if anything goes wrong it would not be responsible in any way? If yes, was such undertaking taken from Vartika?

d. When some procedure goes wrong, are the Lakme Salons required to refer the matter to Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd.? How does Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. respond to such cases? What are the turn around times for the same? In our case, we visited them and requested for their response many times between 20th November till 12th Dec ‘10. We were not even provided with the contact numbers of the higher ups despite repeated demands to Lakme Sion and Ms. Suman Kabra for long.

e. What is the laid down policy of Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. for payment of compensation/damage to customers who suffer permanent damage to their hair /skin due to wrong/incompetent handling?

f. Is there a process of monitoring and auditing Lakme Salons? What is the frequency and record of such visits, if any? Are any suggestions/complaints books available at such Lakme Salons? If so why are these not made available to customers when they complain?

g. Seeing their callous and indifferent response and approach to a matter of very serious concern for lakhs of clients like Vartika, who visit Salons like Lakme, we are seriously thinking of filing a class action complaint in concert with some NGOs engaged in the field of consumer protection.

h. We, inter alia, will demand and framing of stringent punitive and compensation provisions in case of damage caused to any part of the customers’ body due to negligence, inexperience or incompetence of their staff or incomplete disclosure of adverse outcomes by the chains at the time of sale, and strict regulation on Cosmetics, Beauty and Hair Care business.

Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. has so far not cared to respond to this letter.

18. Deficiencies in service: The deficiencies on the following counts are attributed to Lakme Lever:

a. Deficiency: No delivery of promised service
                                    I had paid Lakme salon for straightening my hair which they have failed to carry out. In the bargain, they have damaged my hair permanently.

b. Deficiency: Hiring o[censored]ntrained manpower for sophisticated high end treatment
                                    The treatment to hair has to be handled by a highly qualified, trained and certified experienced person. You are charging @Rs. 2000 per hour for her services (higher than even the fees of a PG dentist of 10-15 years of practice.
                                    I have specifically raised doubts on the technical and professional qualifications, certification and experience of the personnel at Lakme Salon Sion who merrily messed up with my healthy hair. Lakme Lever have still not come out with her technical and professional profile raising suspicion that she was not competent to handle such a job.
                                    c. Deficiency: Casual response to the grievance all through
                                    Even after realising the extent of damage to my hair, Lakme Salon personnel took no suo motto corrective/proactive action.
                                    Only after repeated visits by my parents to Lakme Sion and raising the issue with Lakme Lever and on internet and threatening to move the Consumer Forum was a meeting arranged on 17th December 2010. (that is five weeks after the damage).
                                    d. Deficiency: No Post Sales Proactive Response
                                    Utter lack of any post service salvage of the messy situation on their own or even after my taking up the matter with the Co. for so long. Deficiency in not bringing the customer’s hair’s condition to the notice of senior functionaries. If that has been done, the senior functionaries’ reluctance to tackle the issue at their level. Apparently, they want to remain out of any customer interaction how so ever big the damage to the customer is.
                                    e. Deficiency: Grievous nature of damage to an important body part:
                                    This is not related to some defective garment or shoe. Lakme Lever have spoiled the most visible body and important part of a young girl. Vartika has become a human advertisement of your “creative accomplishment” for the last 6 months and how long more it would continue, nobody knows. Till that period she has been made to carry the burden of your Salon’s deficient and unprofessional treatment as a monumental folly on her head. That is against all canons of customer service or natural justice. Only she has been the sole sufferer in the whole episode, and the Lakme Salon is going scot free in the process.
                                    Their awfully bad treatment of her hair has trodden on Vartika’s emotions and continues to do so in the absence of any remedial action. These are empty emotionless corporate phrases just trying to cover up the abject and unprofessional handling of the case at all levels in your multinational organisation.
                                    19. In this case o[censored]tter customer neglect and continued customer dissatisfaction over a long period, mere individual apology does not suffice. Lakme Lever need to compensate the sufferer adequately for her agony. On the internet, a large number of complaints regarding wrong treatment of hair at various Lakme Salons across India are posted.
                                    As Lakme Lever have spoilied her hair, they are liable for the damages as well especially when they have miserably failed in the last 23 weeks. We demand a compensation of Rs. 1 lakh + Rs. 230,000 (Rs. 10,000 per week for 23 weeks after 18th November ‘10 till date) of her continued suffering till you settle the claim.
                                    We understand that standing up to a Multinational Company with a battery of costly lawyers is a tough task. But at some time, somebody has to accept the challenge and expose the true state of affairs at such salons to the women of this country who spend crores of rupees every month and are still meted out an indifferent behaviour and deficient service.
                                    We shall continue our struggle till Lakme Lever Pvt. Ltd. Accepts its mistake and sets a precedent by compensating Vartika for gross deficiency of service at one of their Salons.
                                    Any customers who have been meted out a bad treatment at any Lakme Lever Salons anywhere in India or any other such Salon, may kindly get in touch with us through email, so that a collective action can be taken.

For Vartika Gupta

(B K Gupta)
                                    Authorised Representative

drmeghna
                                      Apr 14, 2011

Hi, I am Dr. Meghna, I have been regularly using Lakme 9 to 5 lipsticks since last 3 years as am a Business Head into coperate. Also I have been very choosy about my shades and often buy only those always. The shades that I usally buy are Garnet Spray, Satin Ruby, Jewel pink and sometimes toasted brown.
                                      Recently, I bought Garnet Spray, Satin Ruby, Jewel pink from the D mart stores in Seawoods, Navi Mumbai. But this time the lipstick is not long lasting, it is very much like an ordinary lipstick which goes off in an hour or two.
                                      Hence, I kindly request Lakme India to send some one or tell me the details where I can drop these lipsticks and give me a replacement with the original long lasting 9 to 5 lipsticks. You may mail me on drmkb.[protected]@gmail.com.
                                      Hope this complaint would be read and an action would be taken against it as I am a regular customer for these lipsticks and would not like to change my brand or shades.
                                      Looking forward for a positive response.

Dr. Meghna

archume02
                                        Mar 27, 2011

I purchased a lakme Radiance Compact Natural Pearl from a shop nearby. After using it I got rashes on my skin and when I checked the compact I saw that there was no trademark in it. I have a strong feeling this is a duplicate material. There are lots of compact and other product which are not having trade mark o[censored]nilever in the market as I had checked in many outlets. The distributor for the same is Chawra Tradings Dhankawadi Ph no 24360029, The product is still with me and I am planning to go to the consumer court for this and even to the media,

Lakme Compact — not available

I am not getting none of the lakme product in Gholghar market near Jagaddal Station(Kankinara North 24 Parganas).I have tried several times.But every time most of the shop in that areas is telling product is not available.