Mumbai Traffic Police Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 14, 2023
Complaints 2142

File a complaint to Mumbai Traffic Police

Having problems with Mumbai Traffic Police?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Mumbai Traffic Police customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Mumbai Traffic Police reviews & complaints page 105

highwayresidency
Oct 17, 2016

Address: 400099

I book this taxi from domestic airport counter after comes out from airport he give me bad words that time if I had guest with me otherwise I had take law in hand and in that something different happened. I want to know what action you have taken against taxi driver else we know what to do
Taxi no mho3ax425 booked at 17/10 1.15 pm from domestic airport
Mumbai Traffic Police customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Dipesh Dhoka
    Oct 17, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400012

Inspite of numerous complaints this Tempo nuisance at Nagpada isn't stopping, everyday we have struggle to park our vehicle just because they have created Tempo stand. Some corporate some on asking to move abuse and fight with us. On calling traffic department before towing van comes all Tempo vanishes and they say "Humara setting hai aap kuch nahi kar sakte"

It's my sincere request to traffic department to take strict action against this. We shop owners face lots of trouble everyday.

DIPESH DHOKA

BAITUL AMAN CHS,
    2 MAULANA AZAD ROAD, NAGPADA JUNCTION,
    MUMBAI - 12
    TEL - [protected]
    Mumbai Traffic Police customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Vipul Punetha
      Oct 15, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400094

We all are united towards the noble cause of eradicating corruption, but lets be honest, there are occasions when we decide to pay that constable a bribe rather than loosing our licence to them. Who wants to visit the traffic police station filled with corrupt rude and disrespectful people with government uniforms. Majority o[censored]s are also aware about the charges for common offences, but somehow the constables who stop you will ALWAYS quote something completely irrelevant and 10 times the actual charge. Such perfect presentation leaves the common motorist with two options, either pay the bribe and walk away or pay the higher amount and also loose your licence. Rather than standing by the right side, most o[censored]s decide to feed the hungry constables.
      On 15th of October 2016, I was riding home from work, exiting the eastern express highway onto the Ghatkopar-Mankhurd link road (Jeejabai Bhosale Marg). Being low on fuel, i decided to join onto the freeway from under the flyover. i made the decision as it cut shorts about 1.5 km to reach the nearest fuel station. However, I was wrong and was aware of this fact too. It was riding at a maximum of 50 kmph. As I was merging from the entry ramp, i was signaled to stop by two constables. I indicated, rode onto the marked safe side and parked behind them.I had my helmet on, along with my riding gloves. And was carrying all my documents.
      Before you question, yes I was in the wrong to take the freeway. I was asked the same by the constable, I explained the situation, admitting to the wrong, And was very polite and respectful . I was then asked to produce my licence. Which i did without hesitation, but from previous experiences, I knew it was a start of MONEY EXTRACTION. I proactively informed them, that my father is in the Government Services and that I reside not very far away. I was then educated how difficult it is to get a job in government services, and how I should thank my dad for gifting me this bike and my clothes. Additionally I was asked to be more careful while riding. To which i nodded and agreed to. They also added that the fine would be Rs.1200, and I'l[ have to submit my licence. I apologized again, asking to be left without a charge. I was then asked to pay a bribe, which I refused to. The constable asked me to pay the bribe about 20 times in 20 different ways, even commenting "you are dressed well and riding a new bike, you should have atleast 100-200 in your wallet". I refused all of the 20 times. At this, i knew the inevitable was coming. So after a little more discussion, I looked the other way while i was being charged. They took about 2 minutes, with the other constable continuously nagging "187..., 187..., ..." and some other things in Marathi. When handed over the receipt, I quietly folded it and rode off.
      On my way home and after fueling up, I visited a local traffic police beat and referred to a chart of fines. I quickly learned I was charged Rs.1200, a 200 rupee charge(174RRR) for riding on the wrong side/wrong road and a 1000 rupee charge(184MA) for rash/rough riding. RASH RIDING. For once, a charge of irresponsible riding would have come slightly close.

After a moment of thought, I laughed to myself, feeling amused how tricky the constables were. I can never allow myself to pay a bribe, even though i ended up paying 1000 more than what i could have gotten away with.

I agree its a difficult job to stand in the sun monitoring traffic. Gets worse when its raining for months. Or when manual labor is required to keep the traffic moving. But being charged for something that you have not done! What a shame! Just recently the fines were increased too! Its a great thought to increase fines for offences, but what misses is a regulatory body to monitor the charges being made. but who has time for that, or maybe corruption has seeped so deep into the roots that India can never see a positive change.

Please share if you have come across a similar incident. Make others aware of the same too. Let us truly devote ourselves to eradicate corruption.
      I agree with you Vipul... Corruption in Mumbai Traffic police has become a standard way of operating, a business rule. Seems like they aren't paid enough or may be not fully motivated/informed about the moral values, respect, critical nature of their jobs so they usually target public (& their hard earned money ) who are generally not aware of the traffic rule violation & like your instance, they are used to scare people by stopping on any violation of their choice like crossing on yellow light/entering a one-way & impose you big add-ons on rash driving, etc. (though you might not even involved with either of these offenses) to either get bribes or their challan targets completed... It's a big scam... Only one way that could save us from this illegal Hafta-vasooli. All the violations should be recorded (traffic police to actually use some evidences, Mumbai eye project having 6000 CCTV cameras monitoring Mumbai may help) & then the violating individual to be charged only for the amount of violation being made... It should not be a misuse of power by traffic police but a transparent & citizen centric public service

Avinash Kumar
        Oct 15, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400076

Dear Sir-

My bike was picked up on 14-Oct-2016 outside of Pawai Supreme Business park. I have parked my bike within Yellow Line zone. But even they took my bike to the L&T Stand in Pawai Traffic office. When I reached there around 14-Oct-2016 10:35 PM approx I got the lady officer and explained her situation. but she denied all and kept telling on receipt it is mentioned bike was parked cross and in front of Gate Finally Checking my Doc she asked me to pay Rs 2100/-. As I paid her Rs 2100/- but she was not ready to provide complete receipt for the same and said if I want receipt come tomorrow at 8AM. I asked her again if I would get complete Rs 2100/- amount receipt tomorrow, she denied and said it will be around Rs 1200/- Receipt I will get. I argument with her again and she asked me come tomorrow if I want half amount receipt at the same time by paying Rs 2100/- At last she took 1500/- Rs and did not provide me any receipt. I recognize the Lady officer by face. Kindly Check the issue.

Bike number is MH-8497 Activa Black color

Avinash Kumar

Indra59
          Oct 6, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400018

We are working in poonam chamber, worli, mumbai. The traffic signal adjacent to atria mall is not working since last few months. We all the staff working in poonam chamber side are taking tremendous risk of our life to cross the same during morning & evening rush hours. Earlier bmc had constructed a fob to facilitate us but that also removed due to some legal issue.in this scenario you are requested to at least repair the signal to facilitate us for crossing the road.

Indrajit dutta
          502 a, poonam chamber

There is so much of traffic on daily basis between ghansoli to airoli.

Please do something for the same, as travelling is very diificult now a days.

Distance between both is just of 20-30min. whereas it takes 1-1.30 hours on daily basis.

Please look into the issue.
          Vehiclw parked in no parking outside gate at Om Prathamesh building, near gourmet house, link road borivali west. Please tow vehicle away.

sundeep j bhawsar
            Oct 5, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400074

Inspite of no parking boards there is haphazard parking all over chembur camp. Traffic cops are seen only on non operating signal taking extracting money from tanker drivers and commercial vehicles. Complaints have fallen on deaf ears and no action has been initiated
            with so many schools in the area there is accident waiting to happen every day. Why do these cops not station themselves at key locations where there are traffic jams daily
            Oct 08, 2016
            Updated by sundeep j bhawsar
            What is the line of action initiated. I will forward to Fadnavis for further action

manoj812
              Oct 4, 2016

Address: 400080

R T O officer holds the signal of traffic moving from airoli towards mulund, bombay and thane

It takes 45 minutes to travel from airoli bridge to mulund

The signals are been manually operate by the officers

Please do the needful this is harresement

It is the routine of everyday it takes lots of pain to drive in such a traffic

Please resolve the problem

Nipam Shah
                Oct 2, 2016

Address: 400064

Two weeler with out helmet ka kya find hi ye muje jan na hi kya find me pulish ko de sakta hu ya court me hi jana pade ga polish men very rudely bat karte hi une mane licence jama karva ya hi muje janna hi ki find ka amount kya hi with out helment ka police only two weller vale ko hi kyu pakad ti hi kya two weeler rider hi ruels ko todte hi four weeler wele kya rule ko mante hi kyaplz muje ye batav ki find kya hi with out helment ka
                Https://youtu.be/Z6mlajsNcXQ

Rajendra Jadh
                  Oct 1, 2016

Address: 400071

This is with regards to parking cars in no parking zone @ chembur bezzola complex,
                  There are 2 dealer VW & Honda they have parked the cars in no parking zone & traffic police is not taking any action like not picking their cars i dont understand why is happening is it that the traffic police @ chembur is taking bribe from them ?? Otherwise there is no option that they will not work as per their working sheduled, they pick our bikes from parking zone also so would this happen,
                  Kindly look into it as this is a clear picture of taking bribe from the car dealer.
                  As a resident of chembur we face a lot of problem while passing under flyover (Suman Nagar).
                  We have a trust in our traffic police department but due to some morrons we are facing a lot of problem.
                  Kindly look into it.

Rajendra Jadhav
                  My bike was towed inside lane Ghatkopar east. When I went to release I was told to pay rs.300. I paid n receipt was given for Rs.100/-.
                  I knew all but I interned to non aware only to find these kind of corrupt man.

Bike no. MH03BQ4766 TIME OF PAID FINE arround 8:30pm date 30/09/2016. VTC Ghatkopar Depot
                  I can recognize the person.

Vasanthi12aug
                    Sep 28, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400074

Hello team,

This is regarding the signal timings changing from green to red. Past 2-3 weeks the timing between the two has drastically reduced to seconds which has led to tremendous traffic jamm. The area is Chembur Amar mahal junction and the signal showing for the road from Chembur to ghatkopar I.e from fine art flyover towards ghatkopar. Please take immediate action as the time taken to reach the destination has increased from 30 mins to 1 hour

Thanku

Maninder singh28
                      Sep 27, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400060

Today I was driving my bike and accidentally i jumped signal and when cop (Shivaji jadav badge no:-25893) asked me to stop so i stopped my vehicle and i was co operating with him.he ask me to pay him 1200 rs. for signal jump.Since i was not having any cash to pay him at the moment so he got irritated on me and asked me to attend court and pay amount in court. Officer gave me the receipt with offence 239/A and 184. as per offence 239/A is for signal jump charges RS 100. but offence 184 means for rash riding charges rs 1000. which i didnt do it and he denied to cut the offence and told do whatever you want to do.

now anyhow i have to pay 1200 rs.for no reason.is this the way traffic police are doing their duty and replied which i got from police officer do whatever you want to do..please help me in this situation.

maninder Singh

krupalkhot
                        Sep 27, 2016

I purchased 5 small steel tanks from the shop of fanaswadi which were weighing up to max 7.5 kg & same was to haul at bit chawl, mumbai central, when he refused to ferry & demanded lump sum non metered money i. E. 250 rs for the distance between fanaswadi girgaon to mumbai central bit which is not more than 3.5 km.
                        Taxi no is mh01/x/779/98 written on front glass.
                        Incident took on 20.08.2016

Vk12
                          Sep 26, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400053

Hi, The lokhandwala main market lane is a menace for drivers. people do double parking, some leave the car running and go shopping. its a pain to drive and most of them dont even bother for the BEST buses or other vehicles driving through. I am a resident of lokhandwala and am surprised that for past two years there are no towing vans in this area which can create a little order out of this mess.. the lokhandwala vyapari mandal seems to be taking care to it that no towing vehicles enter this zone.also beyond the circle signal no traffic police man is there in the lane to look into this chaos.
                          It would great to see people being disciplined on not using the roads as their own home property and having respect for other citizens as well.

Anil Christopher Amanna
                            Sep 23, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400058

On the road from D. N. Nagsr (Andheri W) to Cosmopolitan School, there are 2 lanes from where traffic emerges and just blocks the entire traffic on the main road.

Traffic remains stuck for 15 minutes on this stretch, for no reason.

This problem is prevalent for so long and nothing is being done about it.

Please make one lane one way and post a traffic cop on the other Lane from where the traffic emerges, to save time, fuel and so much pollution.

ehteshamshaikh2013
                              Sep 22, 2016

This is to raise a complaint for the heavy traffic jam in shilphata area.
                              Shilphata area is a prime junction where it connects to,
                              1. mumbra
                              2. thane
                              3. kalwa
                              4. kalyan
                              5. ambernath, badlapur etc
                              6. khardi gaon, etc.

Now it has been a daily practice that we face a problem at the junction for traffic jam for minimum about 30 min. every other day, it’s a usual practice we face jam for 1 hour, 2 hours, yesterday 21/09/2016 it was for 4 hours.
                              Main point or locations,
                              1. the turning towards kalyan phata from the mahape shil road while going toward shilphata.
                              2. shil phata junction turning towards mumbra by-pass.
                              3. shil phata junction turning towards kalyan/dombivali.

The main reason which is quite evident visually is the heavy vehicle traffic. there seems to be no rules or regulations being followed for allowing heavy vehicles to pass (there is a time slot during night time in which they can move), or driving in only first or second lane. heavy trucks drive in the third lane along with rickshaws and two wheelers. pot holes are something in fate of mumbaikars so let’s not discuss or mention that. we have heard yesterday jam was due to closing down of vasai bridge for repair work, so all heavy traffic is being diverted here. but cant the heavy traffic be controlled, why no lane divided, why no service roads, why no fine on truck drivers, why no action against any authority, isn’t smooth running of traffic a part of job description?
                              The entire mumbra bypass is jam packed 24*7. if we are lucky, we somehow manage to drive in third lane through the potholes and reach our destination towards navi mumbai.
                              Thousand of peoples get affected in one single day because of this traffic jam in and around shilphata, but it seems no authority even bother to look into this or even come on site actually. most of the times, common commuters get down on the road and try manage this disastrously managed traffic.
                              What can happen in case an ambulance is stuck in this traffic at this junction (since its connecting so many main area), is something we have seen in many movies and even actually once in a while at this location.
                              I request a competent authority to look into this and revert back with a reply that till when are we suppose to face this traffic jams at shilphata, 1 week, 1 year or it’s our fate so start living with it.
                              I hope this complain would reach at some window and i could see some action taken.
                              Ehtesham shaikh
                              Ms const mangmt. be civil
                              Mumbra.
                              This is high time that no one looks after such things. I am travelling all the way from Saki naka to Palava. since last two days it is taking 4 hrs to reach home. Pathetic. Someone please look into this.
                              Now daily Traffic Jam at Shilphata. Daily require minimum 30 min to 1 hr to cross shilphata 2km area
                              i shifted to palava last week and after seeing the traffic on shilphata junction i cant help but repent my decision... just thinking what happens when the rest of the 15-20k families take possession... this will be living hell on earth... the situation is so hopeless i can only laugh at it now.. no use posting these complaints, i searched for any proposed flyover or bridge over this area and found articles explaining since 2011 that some 45000 cr project or 21-km bridge is going to be constructed.. but it is 2016 and there is 0 sign of it.. i wonder why i bother searching these things up.. its better to accept the fate and start living this way... god help us all...
                              There are lot of Illegal shops on both sides of road near shilphata and kalyan phata junction. TMC is not bothered to take action against these shops.

Also lot o[censored]nused cars parked on both sides of the roads. This is adding more pain.

Now the possession of the newly constructed buildings near shilphata are nearing the traffic situation may worsen as the residents will use more private vehicles.

If TMC not takes proper action well in time life of the people live on that area will become hell.
                              hello everyone... this is my worst experience with traffic jam near the shilphata kalyan road .everyday we stuck at the same place for 15 mins minimum, its very tough time for us! i just wanna ask why these things are going to be continued from long time, who is responsible personally for such type of traffic related issues. The government had decided to make dombivali as a smart city . however, one suggestion must be consider from my side please tag a signal machine near shilphata mumbra circle, it will be helpful for all o[censored]s. As many times observed one way closed for long time & rest open many times so, its difficult way to wait for a one way vechile.
                              alone with our traffic police also can feel good with these traffic signal machines.

jiteshr
                                Sep 22, 2016

Why is the rto office not trying and finding out ways to get rid of the traffic.
                                For eg:
                                1) for aarey, can we not make it one way during the peak hours (8-10 am) and (6-8 pm)? i feel this will definitely help in curbing the traffic issues.
                                2) the highway flyovers should have barriers from atleast 400 m before the flyover starts so that bottlenecks are not created near the start.
                                3) illegal parking of three wheelers tempos, bikes etc in the slum areas should be dealt with strictly. when a new person parks his car in such areas, the officials tow it immediately, whereas if it the car belongs to the shop owner nearby the officials do not take actions.

These are few issues which if dealt with properly can help reduce the traffic issues. please run a feedback program where people like me will come out with some more better ways. the department only needs to experiment them and see.

Sumesh Satyam
                                  Sep 18, 2016

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400010

This is to inform you that we are facing lot of problem due to illegal bus parking, tempo and car parking next to my house.due to this we are unable to go out of the house we have spoken to bus driver about this .Still they park over there due to this they drink inside next to that people come and smoke drugs our family ladies member are feeling uncomfortable to go outside.

advtsgshaikh786
                                    Sep 15, 2016
                                    Jul 13, 2023
                                    This thread was updated on Jul 13, 2023

Address: 400060

I'm resident at Jogeshwari west mumbai . I, want to bring into your notice that outside of Goregaon station east, there is Restaurant and Bar named JAY PRAKASH ( Near Borivali Biryani Junction), many bikes are parked in front of the Bar. It is difficult to see any vehicle coming as the road is blocked. As the road is blocked garbage van and busses also getting trouble to turn many times and it is dangerous to walking people’s life. These are generally bikes are parked by only customers of Restaurant and Bar. They are not listening to us too. Many times they refuse to park other bikes if they are not their customer and the owner of the Restaurant openly say that nobody will stop me to do so. Restaurant owner shows his money and muscle powers to the complainant so There is a question that if the footpath parking is not allowed in traffic rule then why the local RTO office has not yet taken any action against illegal parking? If the parking has been allotted to restaurant owner on footpath then is there any record of permission from local authority? for this complaint many times traffic control room was called but they do not attend the complaint. Most of the station in Mumbai location is always facing traffic jam problems because of not taking of any action against illegal activities.
                                    So I humbly request you to take strong action against them and make us a proud to be AAMCHI MUMBAI SWACHH MUMBAI.

Advocate Siraaj G. Shaikh
                                    [protected]/[protected]
                                    madam .
                                    i stay at delisle road, N.M.Joshi marg, Bawla Masjid, mumbai .13. i seen many two wheeler park in front of bawla masjid main gate at Road side, even on foothpath too, sir it is very inconvenient for the public to come and purchased medicine or other people to offer namaz, even i had seen aged man and women are facing big trouble to cross foothpath, even Hawker siting in right in front masjid gate which is agaist law of indian Pinal code.i hope you will focous on my complaint soon as possible.

THANKING YOUR.

COMMON MUMBAIKER.
                                    JAY HIND . JAY MAHARASHTRA.

Shilpa Athavale
                                      Sep 14, 2016

My office is at Mittal Estate nr. Marol Metro stn. The lane next to my office is being used by motorist to come in the opposite direction of onging traffic. This causes huge snarl n honking nr Cafe Coffee Day Junction. Can I request you to kindly send one of your officers to the spot so that he can view the situation in reality. I can be contacted on [protected].

shohel 85
                                        Sep 10, 2016

Address: 400095
                                        Website: encrochment and harssment by mechnic

this to make you notice about unathourize parking and encrochment by, mechnic throwing there waste on road, oil spils, garbage by them. there are family staying ahead in locality . there some mechnics harssing and passing lure comments to girl students and ladies who passing bye and they encroched full road by there nusiance.with scrap vehicals ( auto, cars, tempos and trucks ) parked there .
                                        when people try oppose them they do fight and give bad words to them like" tere baap ka road hai kya" and many more things
                                        please take very strict action on very urgent basis so that our students and family members are safe and surrouding get clean with there mess and road is operational

Address:- logoon road mahakali nagar off marve road malad west mumbai 400095

waitng for your response
                                        Sep 10, 2016
                                        Updated by shohel 85
                                        this to make you notice about unathourize parking and encrochment by, mechnic throwing there waste on road, oil spils, garbage by them. there are family staying ahead in locality . there some mechnics harssing and passing lure comments to girl students and ladies who passing bye and they encroched full road by there nusiance.with scrap vehicals ( auto, cars, tempos and trucks ) parked there .
                                        when people try oppose them they do fight and give bad words to them like" tere baap ka road hai kya" and many more things
                                        please take very strict action on very urgent basis so that our students and family members are safe and surrouding get clean with there mess and road is operational

waitng for your response