The Hindu Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Sep 30, 2025
Complaints 801

File a complaint to The Hindu

Having problems with The Hindu?

File a complaint and get it resolved by The Hindu customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

The Hindu reviews & complaints page 17

prabhap
Jul 17, 2018

Address: 560100

We are not receiving News Paper past One and half month, we have enrolled for one year period, which will close only On August 15th 2018 only, but our area distributor stooped supplying the news paper from June 1st 2018 on wards only, same thing happened last year also, after repeated phone calls to our distributor and customer care two months later we received, but this year repeating.
Please do the needful as early as possible
our address:
No:54, Premier Park
Gubbi Main Road, Byrathi,
Bangalore -560100
The Hindu customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Sharath Chander.s
    Jul 15, 2018

Address: 600049

Hello sir we are from south thirumalai nagar 3rd street villivakkam near icf we have been walking and living in this area with overflowing of sewer water since one year and no action is been taken after several complaints to Chennai corporation. Kindly publish this news in your paper so that it might reach the higher officials and take necessary action

Sharath Chander
    I subscribed for students weekly tabloid, from the beginning it delivered late/not delivered. my compliant nos.A170226, A173092, A176477, still now i am not getting the tabloid, i already told to close and settle my amount. But its not corrected. so take necessary action to close the issue and settle the amount at the earliest.

Rakhi Kochupurayil Retnamma
      Jul 7, 2018

Address: 691030

Last year i had enrolled and paid the specified amount for young world. Sadly i had not got a single issue till yet.A lady had rung up last year once asking for my vendors name which i could not provide. i would have expected a refund at least from your prestigious paper.
      Please look into the matter and if it can be utilized for this years issue, i would be grateful.
      Hoping for a positive feedback

sikindar parikshit
        from Cuddapah, Andhra Pradesh
        Jun 18, 2018

Address: Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh, 518005

My name is p. Sikindar parikshit
        Address flat no.305
        Sai lakshmi apartments (West)
        Palakottala
        Ashok nagar
        Kurnool-518005 (Ap)

I am a regular reader of the hindu daily news paper since mid seventies. Yesterday[protected] i called the paper agent sri. A. Kranthi kumar reddy
        News paper agent for over billing and irregular supply of paper. There was some rash answer and from today he stopped the supply of the news paper. The problem arose because of over billing and irregular suply of the paper for the month of may 2018. Now i am in late sixties. Please ask the paper agent with cell no.[protected] to supply the news paper as usual regularly and with exact billing.

With regards'
        Sikindar

Yadav Murti Sankaran
          from Raipur, Chhattisgarh
          Jun 6, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600014

The only time promptness was displayed was until i swiped my credit card to make payment of sub
          Thereafter your toll free number response reminded me of calling a government department
          Thoroughly indifferent and after 48 hours i have not had a decent human responding
          All i received was a call from an obnoxious caller claiming to be from your office and he banged the phone on me
          Disappointing
          I have subscribed to The Hindu after paying the necessary amount, but from last 10 days, i am not getting the supply, no action has been taken to my complaints. toll free number is useless.
          I have not recieved the hindu news paper from past 1 month. I have renewed my subscription for 1 year in the month of January 2018 by paying the amount through cheque. I want to know the reason why the daily news paper is not getting delivered and compesation for the same.

Ph. No: [protected]

Jpjpkakhk
            Jun 6, 2018

Last year in the month of november, i ordered two copies of editorials from the website of the hindu. I did not receive those yet. Also, i made the online payment of rs. 759. No on e responds on the customer care toll free number and the same goes with the emails. I have sent atleast 15 emails but i didn't get a reliable response. Either, i want my payment to be refunded or my order delivered.

Sakthiraj S
              Jun 2, 2018

I have subscribed for tamil hindu, details given below:

Payment information:
              Name of the subscriber: yasodha sakthiraj
              Subscriber id: [protected]
              Hindu reference id: w20180512esub0005
              Billdesk si reference id: nsbi[protected]
              Date of transaction: 12th may 2018 (08:31:28 am)

Also i have sent a mail to customer care they have assured to distribute from 01st june 2018 onwards (Mail date 13/05/2018, the mail received from gayathri), but yet not received the paper (Tamil hindu).

Yesterday booked a complaint over phone, the complaint reference number: a205588.

Mrudul Vijayan
                May 30, 2018

Hindu online subscription - no paper & no refund despite of multiple requests.

Its been 3 months since i subscribed for the hindu news paper online.
                Not a single paper has been delivered till date.
                I had requested for a refund of my money 2 months ago.
                From then - the customer care keeps telling me that i will get the refund in the next 10 days. Whenever i call them - they keep repeating the same statement.
                How can a news paper like hindu loot money from people like this?

But they have cheated me - no refund till date - its been more than 2 months.
                Please help.
                May 29, 2018
                Updated by Mrudul Vijayan
                Subscriber ID: R[protected]

I had opted for Hindu Online Subscription 3 months ago. An unfortunate decision. They never delivered a single paper till date and moreover when I requested for a refund - they have cheated me - till date no refund !!

There is no point talking to the useless dumbos in the CUSTOMER CARE - they just keep repeating the same words like a ### robot !!
                May 30, 2018
                Updated by Mrudul Vijayan
                Subscriber ID: R[protected]
                Paid 999/-
                On March 16th, 2018.
                Complain reference no# A173018
                (pending since 2 months)
                I work in kullu himachal pradesh. Here we people have to suffer one day delay in The Hindu distribution.
                Please take some measures for timely distribution of most needed newspaper her. Pls .
                The newspaper is not delivered on Sundays .This has been observed when we didn't get the paper continuously for the 4 consecutive Sundays.The area is SR Nagar . Please look into this matter kindly and resolve it as soon as possible.
                There is an ad on page 5 dtd 30th June 2018 in your newspaper asking for an application for Managing Director in National Handloom Development Corporation Ltd. When I login into website http://www.pesb.gov.in; for details, the browser blocks this website stating the security certificate could not be authenticated.

Ajprakash
                  May 27, 2018

Address: Salem, Tamil Nadu, 636302

I am annual subscriber for your tamil hindu my subcription no;[protected] ido not appear to have supplied by your agent in the following days 19/5/18, 25/5/18, and 27/5/18. Ihavebeen call your agent he never responded. Your tollfreeno voice call as the no is not contact our customer care service. Your local office at salem never responded for the past 4 years frequently want to change your agent there is no fruitful result. Iam oldest customer from 1964 english hindu. Please taken up the matter immediately and help. Also please verify your tollfreenumber.

Preyas Sathiandran
                    May 25, 2018

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600016

I have subscribed for hindu from 16th of may and paid subscription amount for 6 months in advance. Till date i. E. 25th of may i havent received a single copy. Whenever i call the customer care, they repeat the same words that it will be resolved in 24hrs. I want the subscription cancelled and a full refund of my money. Details below

Your online payment - inr 899 transaction has been successfully completed.

Transaction details:

Order id: w20180508esub0048
                    Bank transaction id: nhdf[protected]
                    Transaction status: transaction successful
                    Amount: inr 899
                    Date of transaction: tue may 08 16:30:13 ist 2018
                    Subr. Name: preyas
                    Subr. Phone: [protected]
                    Subr. E-mail: preyas.[protected]@gmail.com
                    Payment towards: the hindu group of publications

Khushi123mnp
                      May 21, 2018

Address: Kolar, Karnataka, 563101

I am sharing something very personal thing in social media bcoz its need to be share to everyone so that everyone should know about one person whose one sided face is great n so respected but other side face is so cheap and dirty...His name is Mr. Syed Mujahid Pasha, Father Name: Mr. Muneer Chaudhri, He is from Kolar (Karnattka), Contact no. [protected],[protected], [protected], [protected].Email id: [protected]@gmail.com., mujahid.[protected]@gmail.com..(#1036 K.G Mohalla, 1st Main, 3rd Cross, Kolar, karnattka[protected], 1st Main 3rd cross, Dargah Mohalla, Doorvani Nagar Tin Factory Banglore 560016)Pan no. CNTPS1250A Mr. pasha ji has made his image in kolar is so great that no one is believing on me...he used to help people n used to do many things for society...but people dont know that he is addicted to sex...he used girl for his enjoyment.
                      I was working in one private bpo company in Bangalore where i met wd Mr. syed Mujahid Pasha. He proposed me ...i accepted..he did all false promises to me that he will marry me n all that drama. I was having blindly trust on him. Whatever he was telling me i was doing. We became so close like husband wife. we were doing night shift in office where he was taking me to dark place for romance n all...many times he was asking me on phone to show my body...If i was denying he was getting angry...Many times he asked me to make physical relationship but i was refusing, then everyday morning he was doing phone sex wd me.After three years of our relationship now i came to know that he is already in physical relationship wd one girl who is from Kolar nly..Her name is Arbina Tabbasum ([protected], [protected])...she is staying next to Mr. pasha house..she is a teacher in madarsa..(why i have shared her no. bcoz she told me that she has slept wd Mr. mujahid Pasha so she has only right to get marry her not me i want you all to ask her why is that???)but that girl is 7 years younger than him...he made physical relationship wd that girl when she was only in PUC n this man was in bcom final year...they were in physical relationship fro last 7 years. For her also he was calling n asking her to show her private part on phone...When i asked him why the hell he came to my life if he was already in physical relationship wd one girl from last 7 years then he stopped to replying me ... he stopped to pick my calls, he blocked me on whats app...When i called him from different no. then he picked my call n replied me only one thing that ...i[censored] r matured then go from my life, i can not marry you..n then he disconnected my call...After that he never picked my calls n never replied for my messages...I have shred my story to you people so that at least you people can ask this thing to him that why the hell he played with my emotions n felling...Does not he have any concern for a girl's respect or emotions???Please ask him once... I know this this is very simple in our society. A man can do anything with girl but we girl have to be keep quite bcoz og our n our family reputation in society...even Mr syed Mujahid pasha also told me same thing that think about your family n go n get marry as soon as possible...he told me bcoz i have not sleep wd you so i am not done anything bad with you...I just want to ask from everyone that girls are there only for sex?? Just bcoz he has not sleep wd me he can leave me aram se and he can enjoy his life?? There is no any place for a girl emotions n feelings?? There is no place for trust?? There is no place for love??? I have wasted Three years of my life behind him just bcoz of his all false promises, What about that?? There is no place for all that my times??And he is telling me that if really you would have love me then you would have never refused me when i asked you to make relationship with me...?Is it me??? I mean love means to make physical relationdhip??Please ask him why the hell he came to my life if he was already in physical relationship wd one girl?/why d hell he proposed me?? why he did that all false promises??why he became so close to me??
                      I am going to share all his conversation wd that girl(other girl)wtevr they have done on whatsapp and m going to share mine and his pics...and therev is some conversation wt he has done wd me from office mails..plz see it and ask him why he did this all?
                      I am requesting you all please share this thing as much as you can so that everyone can see the real face of such a fraud person..and all girls can learn from my story that they should not trust anyone one blindly...first check whether they r loyal for you or not...
                      +56 photos
                      May 31, 2018
                      Jun 03, 2018
                      Updated by Khushi123mnp
                      I want to delete my complain whatevr i have posted
                      Jun 06, 2018
                      Updated by Khushi123mnp
                      I want to delete all my previous complain whatever i have raised from registered id khushi123mnp. complain is I am complaining about someone who has cheated me on 1 Mar 2018, I am complaining about mr syed mujahid pasha.. who has cheated me.. on 6 Mar 2018, complain about one person (mr. syed mujahid pasha) who has cheated me.. on 17 May 2018, complain about mr. syed mujahid pasha (manna) kolar karnattka on 21 May 2018, please contact to mr. syed mujahid pasha kolar karnattka for my issue on 21 may 2018, I want to delete my complain whatevr I have posted 3 june 2018...and please delete all that attachment whatevr is there with these complaints because it has been uploaded in google wd the name of syed mujahid pasha...any one can misuse it...plz delete all that attachment
                      I have subscribed for Hindu newspaper for 1 year beginning from 16th May 2018. I have paid for 12 months. I also lodged a phone complaint. A person from Hindu told me that the problem would be resolved within 48 hours. But it hasn't resolved.
                      The above orders has not reached us and don't accept this from the Hindu publishers... Appreciate action from your office.

Few mails written on this subject to Hindu with no reply

RANISH

vijisukumar
                        from Namagiripettai, Tamil Nadu
                        May 17, 2018

I am vijayakumari from velachery. I was residing at 103/1, 86th street, 18th avenue ashok nagar and two weeks before shifted to velachery. I have subscribed for the hindu for one year and informed the boy who was delivering the news paper about the change of address. He has given me an office number which i tried many times. But nobody was responding. I am giving my new address. Please arrange for giving the news paper from tomorrow. The paper delivery stopped two weeks before. My address is, vijayakumari, om muruga homes, gangai amman koil street, near sangeetha hotel, erikkarai, velachery.

Vijayakumari

Khushi123mnp
                          May 17, 2018

Address: Kolar, Karnataka, 56303

I am sharing something very personal thing in social media bcoz its need to be share to everyone so that everyone should know about one persoa whose one sided face is great n so respected but other side face is so cheap and dirty... His name is mr. Syed mujahid pasha, father name: mr. Muneer chaudhri, he is from kolar (Karnattka), contact no. [protected],[protected], [protected], [protected]. Email id: [protected]@gmail.com., mujahid. [protected]@gmail.com.. Mr. Pasha ji has made his image in kolar is so great that no one is believing on me... He used to help people n used to do many things for society... But people dont know that he is addicted to sex... He used girl for his enjoyment.
                          I was working in one private bpo company in bangalore where i met wd mr. Syed mujahid pasha. He proposed me... I accepted.. He did all false promises to me that he will marry me n all that drama. I was having blindly trust on him. Whatever he was telling me i was doing. We became so close like husband wife. We were doing night shift in office where he was taking me to dark place for romance n all... Many times he was asking me on phone to show my body... If i was denying he was getting angry... Many times he asked me to make physical relationship but i was refusing, then everyday morning he was doing phone sex wd me. After three years of our relationship now i came to know that he is already in physical relationship wd one girl who is from kolar nly.. Her name is arbina tabbasum ([protected], [protected])... She is staying next to mr. Pasha house.. She is a teacher in madarsa.. (Why i have shared her no. Bcoz she told me that she has slept wd mr. Mujahid pasha so she has only right to get marry her not me i want you all to ask her why is that???) but that girl is 7 years younger than him... He made physical relationship wd that girl when she was only in puc n this man was in bcom final year... They were in physical relationship fro last 7 years. For her also he was calling n asking her to show her private part on phone... When i asked him why the hell he came to my life if he was already in physical relationship wd one girl from last 7 years then he stopped to replying me... He stopped to pick my calls, he blocked me on whats app... When i called him from different no. Then he picked my call n replied me only one thing that... I[censored] r matured then go from my life, i can not marry you.. N then he disconnected my call... After that he never picked my calls n never replied for my messages... I have shred my story to you people so that at least you people can ask this thing to him that why the hell he played with my emotions n felling... Does not he have any concern for a girl's respect or emotions??? Please ask him once... I know this this is very simple in our society. A man can do anything with girl but we girl have to be keep quite bcoz og our n our family reputation in society... Even mr syed mujahid pasha also told me same thing that think about your family n go n get marry as soon as possible... He told me bcoz i have not sleep wd you so i am not done anything bad with you... I just want to ask from everyone that girls are there only for sex?? Just bcoz he has not sleep wd me he can leave me aram se and he can enjoy his life?? There is no any place for a girl emotions n feelings?? There is no place for trust?? There is no place for love??? I have wasted three years of my life behind him just bcoz of his all false promises, what about that?? There is no place for all that my times?? And he is telling me that if really you would have love me then you would have never refused me when i asked you to make relationship with me...? Is it me??? I mean love means to make physical relationdhip?? Please ask him why the hell he came to my life if he was already in physical relationship wd one girl?/why d hell he proposed me?? Why he did that all false promises?? Why he became so close to me??
                          I am going to share all his conversation wd that girl (Other girl) wtevr they have done on whatsapp and m going to share mine and his pics... And therev is some conversation wt he has done wd me from office mails.. Plz see it and ask him why he did this all?
                          I am requesting you all please share this thing as much as you can so that everyone can see the real face of such a fraud person.. And all girls can learn from my story that they should not trust anyone one blindly... First check whether they r loyal for you or not... M requesting from all my brother plz dont use girl just for enjoyment n time pass bcoz we have heart n we do have emotions... It used to get hurt us a lot... For we girl its too difficult to forget that all moments n feelings...
                          +24 photos
                          May 17, 2018
                          Updated by Khushi123mnp
                          plz call him and ask him why he did like this and he has cheated my id pasword and he is deleting my post from google..plz check it...

Mithunjohns
                            May 16, 2018

The hindu is the only news paper that is not providing home delivery at thidanadu puchayath of kottayam district which is the land of letters. Even if complaints were lodged through proper channels no action was initiated by the news paper authorities. When other newspaper companies are serving their customers with all facilities the hindu is not giving any attention for its customers. I think this is a mismanagement in this company which hurts the customers a lot.

Gita Ramanu
                              May 16, 2018

Address: 560077

I would like to bring to your notice that i have not received my “the hindu on sunday in school” magazine for the past 4 and half months which i have subscribed for and the subscription no. Is [protected]. I have spoken to your customer care people and have been in touch with them for 4 months and my complainant no. Is a160216. Inspite of continuous follow up and repeated requests to solve the issue it still remains the same.

Regarding my subscription, i recd the edition till january 2018 2nd week and after that did not receive the weekly editions. On complaining to the customer care i was told the problem will be resolved within 48hours and all my previous editions will be sent by courier. After repeated follow ups i received two editions of feb 22nd and feb 27th and was told i will get regularly after this. But did not receive any editions till date. The representatives from hindu tell us that they are not responsible as the courier might have not delivered properly.

I have been following up without any results and would like to know the reason in writing regarding the issue. This is something that was not expected from “the hindu” group. We really trusted the name and enrolled for this newsletter.

I hope after this email a proper step will be taken and ensure to solve the problem asap. I would also be happy if all my previous missed editions papers are delivered and continue proper with the delivery of the future editions.

Also would like to let you know that if this problem cannot be solved and we do not get the editions then we would expect "the hindu” to refund our money asap.

Hope strict action will be taken and hope to get a positive answer from your side.

Sara Kumarasamy
                                May 15, 2018

Address: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, 641006

Rspected sir/madam,

I paid for subcription through online net banking of (Rs. 999/- for half yearly only) without the knowledge of "subcription renewal".

Since we family are subscribers of hindu for the past 45 yrs. We come under subscription renewal category.

Now because of this online payment now we are considered as new subscribers for which rs.999/- are paid just for half-yearly.

Here with this mail i have sent all my transaction details. I request you to kindly revert the subscrption amount. So that i can renew my existing subscription in my coimbatore office itself.

Since i am retired 70 yrs old man and run my life with few pennies. I request you to kindly consider my situation and re-process my transaction as soon as possible.

By mistake i made online subscription for rs. 999/- for half yearly subscription, instead of opting subscription renewal. Since i am hindu subscriber for more than 45 yrs, i can opt for rs. 1279/- for annual or yearly.
                                Though i am request to cancel my half yearly subscription so that i can renew my old subcription. I have not been attended so far.

My registered phone is [protected]. I request you to kindly attend my subscription cancellations very soon.

Shilpa John
                                  May 14, 2018

Address: 560029

Refer my the hindu in school weekend tabliod subscription id s[protected] and hindu reference id :s20180408esub0003.
                                  I had subscribed the same from 08 apr 2018. I have received only the first 3 issues. But subsequently i have not received any more issues starting from the month of may 2018.
                                  Kindly look in to the matter and provide the missing issues and ensure continuous supply of the same.

Roshan john

I have subscribed for The Hindu In School Tabloid and I have received the first edition dated 18th March 2018. From then onwards, it has been very irregular. I have already raised one complaint earlier and after that it was regular for 2 weeks. Post that it was back to normal.Going by the dates, I should have received 24 issues till date but, I have got only 14. Out of 14, they have repeated the same date twice.

It is highly disappointing to see such a worst supply process by such a reputed group.

I hope someone will look into it and ensure regular supply of the tabloid. I don't know whether they have any process for compensation for the issues we have not received.

Raju
                                  Subscriber ID : S[protected]

Ajay Kumar Saluvadi
                                    May 8, 2018

I s. Ajaykumar submitting this 2nd complaint as i have not received any response from you side.

I have paid the subscription amount on 22.9.2017 vide cheque no.631028 dt25.9.2017 favouring m/s. Kasturi & sons ltd. The starting date of service was 1.10.2017 and closing date is 30.9.2018.

Surprisingly, from30.4.2017 onwards the service is stopped by the news agent. I. Mediately i asked the paper boy about stopping of paper and in turn he replied stating that my subscription period is over, though there is sufficient time i. E., 30.9.2018.

Earlier i send a complaint through indian consumer complaints.in but no answer from your side. Because of insufficient service i am not receiving the hindu daily news paper i am suffering with humiliation because of irresponsible attitude of your staff. Hence this notice.

Henceforth you are here by requested to continue to supply the hindu daily news paper regularly by extending the closing date by calculating the days of non supplying the hindu daily news paper.

I also requesting your good selves to treat this complaint as legal notice and if your good selves not acted upon my notice i will be constrained to approach an appropriate forum for proper service and suitable costs and damaged for insufficient service at your costs and consequenses, in accordance with law

Thanking you, your sincerely

S. Ajay kumar

parithimal
                                      May 5, 2018

The hindu newspaper - english and tamil - have not been delivered today (5th may, 2018) so far - it is already 10 am. The mobile phone of vennila newspaper, who deliver the newspaper daily by 6.15 am, is not reachable and the sms i sent them at 8-15 am about the non-delivery of the newspaper has not produced any result so far.
                                      Subscriber : s. S. Suryanarayanan, k 703, metrozone apts., 44, pillayar koil street, anna nagar, chennai 40.

issu123
                                        May 4, 2018

cancellation of subscription and refund

Address: Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu, 603103

I had cancelled my subscription and requested refund few months back. They customer service team keep saying that there will be a call back from Hindu and refund will come in 2 weeks. But nothing had happened. My complaint request no are A123123, A162279, A162395. I have requested many times. I have sent my account details also to customer care email . But still no response. Always they say, we will get back in 2 days. I have subscribed in...
                                        22 other people found this review helpful
                                        22 found this helpful