American Express India Complaints & Reviews

Updated: May 15, 2024
Complaints 184

File a complaint to American Express India

Having problems with American Express India?

File a complaint and get it resolved by American Express India customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

American Express India reviews & complaints page 9

ging11
Nov 27, 2010

I am very disappointed with the callous services from American Express overall.

I signed up for American Express platinum cards in Feb 2010 and paid Rs 5000 for the annual fee, however within few months all my 3 credit cards - primary, secondary and dependent were compromised and fradulent transactions took place. On hearing this i complained to Amex, my cards were cancelled and new cards reissued. so far Amex has not got back to me about details of how ALL my cards could be compromized. I can understand one but not three.

Now, Amex reissued my card and has slapped a new Annual fee. Though at the time of my complaint it was told to me that all charges will be reversed and my rights including my rewward point will be restored to make sure I wouldnt suffer. None of this happened.

Amex is now claiming that i need to pay a full 1 year renewal fee again to make sure I get back my reward points.

This is completely dirty tricks by Amex.

Did you know that the Customer Grievance Email addresses dont work and you cannot write to anybody at Amex.

This is world class service take it.

maheshrshetty
    Oct 6, 2010

I booked an airline ticket from the website www.expedia.co.in in the month of April' 2010. The company overcharged my credit card by about Rs. 3365/- . After registering a complaint with them they are claiming that they have processed the refund but it is still not come on my credit card. Now I am stuck between the website comapny and the credit card company where no one is able to accept thier mistake. They are involved in a blame game with each other and no one is accepting thier fault.

vikas gadhoke
      Jun 18, 2010

Address: Central Delhi, Delhi

Pls Be awair,,, Their is some internal scam going on within their call center employees.. Few days back I had got redeem my reward points against Shoppers stop gift vouchers.. They took the request of mine but till date I haven't recive the same.. As per my last communication they are sill Investagating the case as to whom Blue Dart Courer had delivered, ... All is fake... Some one has already taken the vouchers on my behaf and no one it able to provide me the solution.

sunilnakra
        May 4, 2010

I am unable to contact American Express Bank as they do not provide email address for addressing complaints. Their so called 24hour online service are a pain in the neck and you can never put across your problem?
        My credit card has been debited an amount without my authorisation but I am unable to bring it to the notice of AMEX for last more than one week.

Is this the type of service they provide in India or is it the same all over the world?
        I have to take recourse to an external channel to communicate with them as they have not provided a direct communication channel.
        It is about time Reserve Bank of India took notice of this deficiency in service by a Bank in India.

RANAJIT GOOPTU
          from Jalalpur, Gujarat
          Mar 6, 2010

Wrongfully entered my name in CIBL

This is reference to subject matter - my personal loan from American Express.

I have closed this personal loanaccount and got a final settlement from American Express, which states clearly that this final and last settlement and this account stand closed along with foreclosure charges

To my shock, we find from CIBIL report, which was sent to us from CIBIL on our request, that American Express Bank has shown this personal loan have a current balance of Rs.95,820/- and the details of what is inscribed in CIBIL is detailed below for your information;

Account type: PERSONAL LOAN
          Amount CURRENT BALANCE: RS.95,820/-
          Reported by: AMERICAN EXPRESS
          Account Information: 31225069
          Date Reported: 31.12.2006

I have been denied to take a loan, because of this CURRENT BALANCE shown by American Express in CIBIL.

Hence I request you to kindly arrange to remove from CIBIL.

Awaiting to hear from you at the earliest

Warm regards,

Ranajit Gooptu

Address:

87/55A,Bosepukur Road
          Jayshree Apartment
          3rd Floor
          Kolkata-700 042

Mobile No:[protected]

RAMAN KAIRA
            Feb 8, 2010

I appeared in person before the Hon'ble Ld. Judge at Lok Adalat on[protected] in Patiala House Court, New Delhi.
            The dispute was settled in the Lok Adalat for American Express card no.[protected] in Rs.11,500/
            (Eleven thousand five hundred only)
            The same amount was deposited in cash by me wide reciept no. 2828 dated:[protected] .
            The bank issued me a settlement letter no. 2006148/AEBL TRS/LOK/RCPOA_LOKLOK dated[protected]
            in the hon'ble court.
            But the recovery amount is still reflecting in Credit Information Bureau (India) Limited against my name.
            This matter is already informed/requested by telephone to American Express Bank Ltd. but nobody is hearing my complaint.
            Hi Sir,

Can u tell me plz what was the original amount against which u settled for 11500/-...waiting for ur reply deeply appreciated.

Ranjit Sengupta

Also till recently even i[censored] have settled the amount the bank reports the difference to CIBIL. So for eg i[censored] have original outstanding of 20000/- as per bank records and u settle it at 10000/-...then u will stop getting calls from that bank however the bank will report ur status as 10000 remaining but settled and u may or mat not get a new loan dependin upon the other bank review system...but the good news is the RBI is issuing a directive which will probably be effected in the new financial year stating that once the account is settled for any amount it will not be reported as negative to cibil..so have patience it will work out in ur favour..kindly read the financial times daily...on a personal note be very careful with banks

Sanjay Agrawal
              from Darwha, Maharashtra
              Nov 23, 2009

We have tried to communicate with American Express credit card through letters but there is no response from their side. I have even talked on phone with bank personnel and they assured me that all my charges will be taken back that are levied on my card. Till date, there is no action taken from your side. Continuously they are sending me the statements and increasing the balances by imposing late fees on the due for which I do not have any liability.

I was unable to continue with this card as they did not pay for one of my airline booking. I have considered the proportional service charges and other booking amount to clear all my dues. So with payment of Rs. 1,707/- on 18/10/2007 in proper time, I cleared all my dues but still they charged late fees in my statements. They can check that the balance which they are showing is only of late fees and service charges. As I have closed all my account on 21/10/2007, there is no question of paying any late fees and service charges.

This is not the first time I am complaining about the matter, even earlier I have given the letters to them for solving this latter. If still the matter is not solved from them then I do not have any other option but to approach Banking Ombudsman /RBI.

Credit Card — unnecessary charges

DEAR SIR / MADAM
              I AM A CUSTOMER OF SBI CREDIT CARD NO [protected]
              WITH OUT MY KNOWLEDGE THE BANK HAS CHARGED ANNUAL CARD FEE AND LIMIT EXCEED CHARGES.
              WHEN THE CARD WAS OFFERED I WAS TOLD THE DOES NOT CARRY ANY CHARGES AND WHEN I SPOKEN TO THEIR CUSTOMER THEY REPLIED IN ARRAGANT MANNER
              KINDLY HELP TO ME TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE

SURYAKANTH

animesh dasgupta
                Nov 13, 2009

One Supreet Singh Assistant Manager,(North India) American Express Bank Ltd - called me up several times on a Written Off amount as per CBIL report - for a credit card due of my son - The card does nt belong to me.The amount of 38642/ collected forcefully on 28th October, 2009 giving with threat to my life if I do not pay . He also mentioned that a NBW will be issued on you
                He came with three four acuantences - when I mentioned it isnot my due... he forcefully mentioned that we shall recover from you. The amount was reflected from 2003...

Since I work in a prestigious organisation, I was compelled to pay though a cheaque from my wife's savings. I am 60 years of age

I want you to take up this case
                Supreet Singh's Contact no [protected]...[protected]

Shivaram
                  Aug 19, 2009

I used American express credit card during 2006 -07 and clossed all transactions in 2007 itself.
                  Last month I trier to transfer my home loan from ICICI to SBI.
                  SBI people told me that my name is in CIBIL report as Rs 13/- "written-off"
                  I got the details from CIBIL it was American express card reported Rs 13 /- as "written off"
                  AMEX never contacyed me about this due & there is no comminication till date from AMEX to me.
                  3 weeks before I contacted AMEX asking them to issue NOC & No due letter.
                  Every day I am calling them to, & I get only promise by tomorrow you get it.
                  I spent more than rs 2000 to call their Noida/delhi call center everyday!

I needed this letter very urgently but there is no way I contact them except to call center,
                  This call center persons only promise me it will be done by tomorrow, every day same answer.

Please help me to get it resolved.

Contact number : +91-[protected]
                  Name : Shivaram
                  American Express card number : 3769 **** **** 001

KN Suresh Babu
                    Jul 22, 2009

While obtaining my credit information from M/s. Credit Information Bureau India Ltd, it is noted that AMEX has reported about an overdue amount of Rs.5445/- in my name. The details furnished by CIBIL is given below for your ready reference:-

Account Num : 3846883
                    Reported By : AMEX
                    Account Type : CREDITCARD
                    Ownership : INDIVIDUAL
                    Date Reported : [protected]
                    Open Date : [protected]
                    Amount Overdue : 5, 445
                    Account Status : Written Off

Please note that no AMEX Credit Card has been issued to me till date.

I had sent two letters to AMEX at the following address and it is more 1 month have elapsed I have not received any response from AMEX:

Ms. Ahima Chopra
                    Executive Correspondence Unit
                    American Express Banking Corporation
                    Cyber City, Tower C, DLF Bldg No.8
                    Sector 25, DLF City Phase II
                    Gurgaon – 122 002 (Haryana)
                    [protected]@aexp.com

Please look into the matter and provide correct information to CBIL.

KN Suresh Babu

credit cards — cbil

i have made payments to all my credit cards and personal loans of various banks. even then my name is appearing in CBIL records, when i have contacted the banks they say settlement accounts will remain in CBIL.
                    what is the procedure to take out my name from CBIL
                    srini.Dokka
                    I have cleared all my debts and sattled the dues but than also my name is there in c bil, so please tell me the way to remove my name from there.

with regards,
                    karan singh shekhawat
                    Jaipur

Credit Card — wrong information about credit card

i had applied LIC loan it is rejected because of CIBIL showing overdue of around Rs11400. but i am having any card other than HDFC bank.my card number is [protected] and my name is M.DHINAKARAN. in this (HDFC) card there is nil balance. In this regare i have already send one complaint in 7/8/10.but i didnt get any reply from your side.so kindly take necessery action (change my status on CIBIL) and solve my problem immetiatly.

Thanking you sir

M.Dhinakaran
                    Mobile No. [protected]

ashokkumar
                      Jul 17, 2009

I had a card of this bank since 7 years which I returned by cutting into pieces 2 years back.credit limit Rs.71000.They want me to pay still Rs.84000/- I am called for conciliation under sec.62 of arbitration and conciliation act of 1996.
                      transaction details in Rs.
                      pruchases 22812
                      cash withdrawl 62200
                      Transaction fee 2960
                      late payment fee 1525
                      financial charges and interest 53000
                      annual fee 7700
                      service fee 200
                      AMOUNT ALREADY PAID THROUGH CHEQUES 154000/-
                      do I have to pay more?do I have to meet the arbitrator?
                      what option I have? I a retired person with no income.the quickest help will help me from agony.

manjit singh angoter
                        Jun 6, 2009

sir this is to inform you that iwas working with american express india limited.(emp code re:1335) in 2005 iam not able to recived my pf amount. becoz my account was deactivate from hdfc bank.please tell me how ican recive my pf amount. and can i settel this pf amount from mumbai

manjit singh

american express service india limited — not received pf amount

dear sir/madam,
                        i have submitted my pf widrawl form on 12/02/2007.pf code no.DL/26991/1233-MANJIT SINGH ANGOTER
                        still i have not recived my pf amount so please do the need full as soon as possible

best regards
                        manjit singh angoter
                        HI,

With heavy heart I say I today called in to cancel my 10yr + relationship with AMEX…. NO and never has been an issue with ur agents but its ur system and supervisors who have been a concerns….

I started as add on in 1999 on my father's card and in 2001 I got my solo card … Trust me from that day it's been amazing and proud feeling to be with Amex. I worked for diff financial institutions, never saw this kind of great service and customer valuation. Working for competitors I was loyal to AMEX and always gaga abt the service….

In 2004 I was offered to either take gold credit card or gold charge card…. Coming from background of family who ran with the citi diners charge I card I opted to gold charge card, paid up a 2500 annual fee to start my horrifying exp. Since the day I got upgraded, worse customer service started, no statements, lack of commitment compared to what I was told was just the beginning. I was told ill have flexible credit limit but my card got blocked after 50K… and that was it ….I Decided to cancel it and moved back to gold credit card ….

All was well till April 2011….. Actually I never bothered to look into my card, , , was so happy with CITI plt that my usage on amex went down day on day, month on month… then suddenly I decided to switch back in 2006, bec of a grt exp I had with respect to card replacement for my wife ( add on) while she was in USA>..

She lost her card and was alone in NY … she called me and I told ill check .. I called AMEX, they sd don't worry before even ur wife finds out we will have card replaced there in USA…

AND they did she was delivered a replacement in 24 hrs IN USA and also someone from states cust serv called me and confirmed the delivery … I was back and never looked back … So happy and used my amex again and again …

In april 2011 a sales team guy called Kirti from Bangalore team approached me and sd u have been long with us and we have pre-approved card on platinum and I can choose from regular or KF first card …. I have had this offer twice earlier since 2 yrs but didn’t take as it reminds me of my upgrade exp from gold to gold charge…. but I was assured that it will be all well…

Now that's where I fell, , , , I believed in U - AMEX….

I was told my gold card will continue and ill pay one annual fee( highest among both cards ) I was ok I as wanted to keep one for personal and one for business use….
                        Applied in 2nd week of April, got alert that its approved and will come in 5 days .. never happened….. I felt its starting again ….
                        I was to leave for Delhi on 5th and 7th to USA …. got to know card got delivered after I had left for Delhi … so believing that my gold is still working I took that along to USA…
                        Didn’t get chance to use it until on 23rd I went to buy coffee and I was told card not working … ( I had called and made travel notification also)
                        I come back on Monday eve ion hotel and check online( I registered member ) status says card CANCELED….

Now few things :

• U send me alert for my due date on GOLD card as mess on cell …. why was there no alert for GOLD card being cancelled..
                        • U sent me alert for card approved… BUT no alert that my NEW card statement generated and my due date is ?????

So when I got to know that my gold card is canceled online…. I pointless and aimless journey to get connected to cust service started…. U DON’T have ANY direct num to reach … I called all possible India numbers toll and toll free … " THIS no cannot be connected …" heard this mess from Monday eve 4 pm EST till 2 pm wed EST…….

Tried USA cust service, they sd cant help as its offshore account, cant transfer either …..

Finally I tried and got connected to KF corporate card direct num @[protected] whr a lady took my details and got me transferred to personal card line …
                        I was on HOLD for 15 min before someone came online ….

DO U EVEN know what it costs to call International and be on hold … I have wasted, mind it wasted ~ 40US $ today to get to u all guys…… who will pay for that …..

I spoke to Mr gaurav, who I gave heads up that I am frustrated .. explained my journey ion last 48 hrs, the stress I have gone through….. BUT U all in India don’t bother abt it… so u customer stress is nothing … if I was a US cust and talking to someone here … I WOULD have SUED ur asses up. For the torture and stress u all caused in 48 hrs.

After talking to him for 25 min .. ( mind it 25 nmin after 15 min of hold) we are talking huge money here …. 40 Minutes of ISD calling ……
                        He sd max he can do is, set urgent call back and I can pay as my due date if tom 26th… and ether will be no late fee…
                        If I can agree to pay 5k as annual fee I don’t care of fee, I CARE ABT my CREDIT RATING being affected if I get noted late….
                        This was no solution and I was not happy…………… Not happy to pay 5K as fee for a card which never got delivered when I needed, old card canceled without intimation and 48 hrs of stress and torture….

I offered that either he checks with supervisor or anyone in system and does something for my inconvenience OR I would have to apply for cancelation ( so that when retention calls I can take this up)

He kept me hold and came back stating that he can't do anything right now AS" NO manager works in night" it was 11pm local time India… I DON’T believe that ….
                        NO call center in India or anywhere works without an team leader/ manager or ops manager …
                        I have worked in one in some part of my life and NOT ready to believe that lie… and if that’s true I will call ( personally) ur site director at gurgaon center and tell that his shop is working with managers at 11 pm in night…..

so with manager to take a call on this issue, I was told best option is cancel my card….. and I had to make the tough and not willing decide ion to go ahead and cancel my 10 + yr long relation with AMEX…

REF num :[protected]
                        card :[protected]

I[censored] can do and want customers to be with u : change this and call me back……

I represent a card company of 30 Mill, and post downturn across globe people want to retain as many cust as possible as u cant churn new one the way u loose them…. so loosing cust like me doesn’t help….
                        I will take this exp to the most public forum I can….. make sure AS MANY PEOPLE come to know how AMEX treat their PLATINUM - 10 Yr old customer who has excellent payment history….

GREAT WORK>> AMEX…..

U can reach me till sat morning 2 am ( 28th may) on US num :[protected]

CALL ME I[censored] LIKE ….

Ranjit1000
                          Apr 7, 2009

I have recd ur statement for credit card No[protected] american express credit card charging interest of 647/- which is invalid I m not the defaultr in payment o[censored]r card u can verify the same with my earlier records,
                          I[censored] force me then im sorry that iwill pay tha amount and send u ur cards cut in to two, because i dont to continue as a customer with u,
                          also i have not recd ur bills on time and u dont give any time limit to pay the bills as other credit cards offer.
                          kindly let me know.

Ranjit sardar
                          We are holding Corporate ID 008582 using Credit Card Nos.[protected] in the of K K Kohli and[protected] in the name of Anita kohli.The names which we could hardly use during the last year. However, an amount of Rs.3933/- on our cards separately debited to our account towards Annual Fee, which we feel is too much when we compare it with the service obtained. It will be very nice of you if you could waive off the annual fee. In such a case, can can consider purchasing diesel and petrol and make other major purchases on behalf of our Company M/s. Venus Buildtech india pvt. Ltd. from this Corporate Credit Card which we could not do without any plausible reason.

we are the Directors of the our Company and can direct our staff and workers to draw diesel and petrol from the designated fuel vends (Pumps). Our annual requirement of diesel & petrol is approximately Rs.5.0 million and Rs. 1.0 million respectively. Other expenses like Air-tickets, telecoms and electricity charges (about Rs.1.5 million) can also be directed through the Corporate Credit Card.

So, we are requesting to you please waive of the whole amount of annual fees on all our corporates cards. Otherwise stopped our all corporates cards with immedetes effects. Your possitive response will be highly appriciated.

Looking forward your reply soon.

Rohit Chhibbar
                            Mar 31, 2009

There were 2 transactions that happended through my spouse Kotak's debit card on 26th Feb 09.I got the information on my mobile about the transaction ( money widthdrawl ) almost after 5- 6 hours of the incidence taking place.I was told that the transaction took place in Kotak's ATM in East Patel Nager, New Delhi.
                            I called the call centre to deactivate the services on her Debit card along with the request for the footage of the ATM for the time the transaction took place.Till about this time I was not even told that the transaction took place in the ATM of another bank.
                            I regulary followed up with the concern authorities with the same reply that we will get back to me in about 3-4 days which eventually turned into a week and on escalating the matter I got a surprise of my life when I was told after a span of 25 days that the transaction took place in some other bank's ATM which is Bank of India.
                            Still waiting for the reply, i got a told after a week of trying and regular follwup that the particular ATM doesnot have a CCTV camera at the time of transaction and the same been installed after 26th Feb which was really very surprising.I went to the ATM and on asking the guard, I was told that there are 3 CCTV camera's in the ATM and the same were installed approx a yr before.

I would request you to take this up with the concerned authorities and help us get the footage.

Rohit
                            We are holding Corporate ID 008582 using Credit Card Nos.[protected] in the of K K Kohli and[protected] in the name of Anita kohli.The names which we could hardly use during the last year. However, an amount of Rs.3933/- on our cards separately debited to our account towards Annual Fee, which we feel is too much when we compare it with the service obtained. It will be very nice of you if you could waive off the annual fee. In such a case, can can consider purchasing diesel and petrol and make other major purchases on behalf of our Company M/s. Venus Buildtech india pvt. Ltd. from this Corporate Credit Card which we could not do without any plausible reason.

we are the Directors of the our Company and can direct our staff and workers to draw diesel and petrol from the designated fuel vends (Pumps). Our annual requirement of diesel & petrol is approximately Rs.5.0 million and Rs. 1.0 million respectively. Other expenses like Air-tickets, telecoms and electricity charges (about Rs.1.5 million) can also be directed through the Corporate Credit Card.

So, we are requesting to you please waive of the whole amount of annual fees on all our corporates cards. Otherwise stopped our all corporates cards with immedetes effects. Your possitive response will be highly appriciated.

Looking forward your reply soon.

M.Babu
                              Mar 10, 2009

Dear Officer,
                              I was employed with AESIL-Chennai during the period feb 2006 to Dec 2006. My employee code nos was 106 RE 2126. I request you to kindly email me the copies of form 16 for the period april 2006 to Dec 2006, Relieving letter & My PF A/c Nos, so that i can mail the signed forms 10(C) & 19 ( PF claim forms) along with the above copies & other relevant supportings to your Delhi office for processing my Pf Claim.
                              M. Babu.

AMERICAN EXPRESS SERVICES LTD — PF SETTLEMENT DUE

I complained to RPFC, Wazirpur for delay in settlement of PF due from AESIL who have shown documents of deposit of PF claim docs with RPFC by 2006. Sent 2-3 reminders to RPFC but they are not responding. Help.

ASHOK BHUTANI
                                Feb 19, 2009

DEAR SIR/MA'AM,
                                I HAD A CREDIT CARD WITH AMERICAN EXPRESS HAVING NO.[protected] THROUGH WHICH I PURCHASED DIESEL ON 12.10.01 FOR RS. 798.72/- AFTER THAT THE STATEMENT CAME, AND AT THAT TIME I WAS OUT OF STATION ON MY BEHALF MY MANAGER WENT TO DEPOSIT THE CASH BUT AT THAT TIME AMEX DIDNT USE TO ACCEPT CASH PAYMENT.
                                SO WHEN I CAME BACK I SAW THE STATEMENT, I MADE THE PAYMENT OF RS.1, 208/- ON 07.09.02 THROUGH CHEQUE NO. 955765 WITH PENALTY.
                                BUT THE BANK HAS NOT UPDATED ITS RECORD TILL DATE AND IN CIBIL TILL DATE I AM BEING SHOWN AS A DEFAULTER, DUE TO THIS BANK'S MISTAKE I HAVE SUFFERED A LOT.
                                I REQUEST YOU TO KINDLY TAKE ACTION IMMEDIATELY.

REGARDS,
                                ASHOK BHUTANI
                                ADD: 295, 1st FLOOR, SANT NAGAR,
                                EAST OF KAILASH, NEW DELHI - 110065
                                MOB: +91 [protected]
                                TEL: +[protected]/26467175
                                26294222/555
                                FAX: +[protected]

Credit card payments — Default in Payment of Credit Card

Standard chartered Bank has given a credit to me , which i never utlised and on one day they send me cheque of rs 25000/- as interst free loan to me , which i have duly piad to them in installment , and they have send me the settelment copy of the same, and now i was shoked when my loan got rejected from hdfc bank as my name appear in the defalter list , so i want you to help me out so that may name can be removed from the same & i m agree to pay whatever steelment amount they are agrreing , so sir, please tell me procedure to get out from

my contact no [protected]
                                email ID [protected]@gmail.com

Venkatesh.S
                                  Jan 9, 2009

This is reference to subject matter - my credit card from American Express.

I have closed this card and have got a final settlement letter from American Express, which states clearly that this final and last settlement and this account stand closed.

To our shock, we find from CIBIL report, which was sent to us from CIBIL on our request, that American Express Bank has shown this card as write-off and the details of what is inscribed in CIBIL is detailed below for your information;

Account type: CREDIT CARD
                                  Amount Overdue: 55, 828
                                  Reported by: AMERICAN EXPRESS
                                  Account Status: POST (WO) SETTLED
                                  Account Information: 3921236
                                  Date Reported:[protected]

We have been denied our right to take a loan, because of this write-off shown by American Express in CIBIL.We can even send you the scanned copy of the settlement letter we got from American Express.

Hence we request you to kindly use your good office and see whether this write-off can be removed from CIBIL.

Awaiting to hear from you at the earliest.

Yours Faithfully,

S.Venkatesh

Ankur Sanghi
                                    Dec 9, 2008

Dear Sir/ Madam, I was working with american express services india limited. I left that company in July 2006 and i have submited my provident fund withdrawl form to my company and they have given me confirmation that they have submitted to provident fund department. My pf no. L/26991/507. I have contacted to my company they told me to do the enquiry in pf department as they have already send the form to pf department. My contact no. [protected] and my permenant address is: 303, royal palace, 3rd floor, 12/2 new palasia, indore (m.p.)-456001. Request you to guide me what should i do.

Waiting for your positive response.

Thanks & Regrads

Ankur Sanghi

Loretta Derby
                                      Oct 24, 2008

I have been with American Express for 14 years and have always been on time with my payments. A few years ago I was offered the extended payment option, so that any charge over $100 would go on the revolving account. In the last couple of years I have had to put some car repair bills on the extended payment. My balance is about $9000. We have limited ourselves with our every day spending on the card so that know we will be able to pay the bill each month. My father passed away a couple of months ago and my husband and I have been traveling back and forth from Texas to Washington state to help my mom move near us in Texas. We did not get the American Express bill paid until Oct 15th. Exactly three days late, I was contacted on Monday Oct 13 at work asking me about the payment and I told them about my father and that I would get the payment to them. They said that was not a problem this time. On Oct 15th I received a letter from them that was dated Oct 3rd (so it took 12 days to get to me) that due to my debt to income ratio from the reporting agency Experian they were suspending my extended plan. Then on Oct 22nd I received my statement for which a $500 payment is due by Nov 11th, and I also received in another separate letter from American Express. It said due to me being a valued customer with American Express they wanted to sign me up for the extended payment plan. Of course I got on the phone to try to understand what was going on with both letters. The first girl I talked to transferred me to that department. Well that department is in India, the connection was so poor and she could not speak English very well that she had to hang up and call me back for a better connection. The connection still was not very good, but she asked me what date was on the letter to sign me up for extended payment plan. I told her there was no date on it just a reply by November 30, 2008. She said it was sent to me in error, even though it said Dear Ms Derby, I was not suppose to receive it, and basically the joke was on me. I asked to speak with a supervisor and held for about 20 minutes and just hung up. Then I called the regular customer service back and asked for a supervisor. A Mr. Robert Carr talked to me I thought we had a rather good talk. He also told me that I received it in error. It seems that it comes from their marketing department and American Express has not informed their marketing department about my account. So once again ha ha the joke is on me. I asked him if he could explain to me why American Express for the last two years has looked at my overall credit every month and sometimes twice a week. He said he did not know the answer but would call me the next night with the answer. Okay, on to the next evening, I get a phone call from American Express about 8pm from a Tamika and she tells me that I have to come up with my minimum payment due of $500 that night or American Express would cut off my account. I explained that I just got my statement the day before and the $500 wasn’t due until Nov 11th. So once again I asked to talk to a supervisor and his name was Chris Ball, and he did not have very good customer service skills to say the least. He told me due to my debt to income ratio I was out of luck and either I pay the $500 then or my account would be cut off. I asked him if I had ever not paid AX and he said that didn’t matter and according to their agreement page they can do whatever they want, whenever they want to me and that I just have to sit back and take everything they dish out to me. I asked him that I wanted it in writing about the $500 payment that night and he refused saying it is all in the agreement and he could send me another copy of the agreement. I just told him to close my account and that due to how they have treated me they just might go to the bottom of my list. They are determined to ruin my credit anyways with suspending my account because I wouldn’t pay them the bill the next day after it arrives. I am just really fed up with AX and after reading all the stories they must be in a world of hurt right now. The supervisor Chris Ball told me that AX was one of the few that was making money. Boy, he sure needs to do some research on his company. Oh, and I could hear the little clicks in the call with him and I told him that I knew they were recording me and he of course denied it. And today in my mail was a offer from American Express for the Black card which carries $450 per year. And another letter stating that because I am such a valued customer with American Express they are offering me a Blue card with 0% interest on balances for 12 months. How many more am I going to receive from their marketing department before they relay the message to them. Thank You for listening and at least I know I’m not in this alone. Loretta Derby
                                      American Express
                                      Posted:[protected] by Loretta Derby [send email]
                                      AMERICAN EXPRESS MUST BE IN TROUBLE

Well I will not believe the above story because at then she expressed AX sent her an invitation for the "Black" card at $450 per year. Well madame you may want to research your story before making it up. The "black" card is $2500 with an initiation fee of $5500. Keep dreaming baby and pay your damn bill and stop partying like a rock star in this economy

American Express — Delay in Transfer

My name is Aman Sehgal and my PF no is HR/GGN/26352/769 . I submitted my PF form in March, 2008 and i was told that the amount will be transferred in 45 working days or a max of 3 months, however I haven't heard of anything about the same till date.

I would request you to kindly look into the matter and do the needful ASAP.

Aman
                                      I was thiking them a good banker having good systems in place, now a days they are doing excercise called KYC (know you customer) now they canceled my one card becuase as per them they dont have my identificatio proof with them and as I am holding two cards from them the second one is still active as they have all the proof for that card, Now this is ridicolous How can you have for one card complete identification proof of mine for another you dont have any thing, This reflect how careless they are in their working and how loose the controls there.
                                      Only GOD can help these bankers if they work in such a week internal controls and careless envoirnment.

Akhilesh Miglani
                                        Oct 23, 2008

American express collection agency called Linear Financial services executives have been making a abusive and filthy language calls to me at my cell and my residential ph nos. and the oddest of hours and have been regularly calling and abusing. There may be any amount of payment pending against me. but in no way they have the right to make those nasty calls.
                                        My husband has two AMEX credit cards. He has paid his card dues regularly, but this month due to certain circumstances, he could not pay his dues on time. As such, we are getting repeated reminders from the company's collection department.

I recieved one such call today morning (16 dec, 2008) at 10.30. a woman was on the phone and she asked for my husband . the entire conversation was carried out in hindi. i told her he had left for work. at this point, she gave the phone to another woman who asked my quite rudely as to what my husband's problem was. I did not know who had called and so i asked her to identify herself. she said she's from AMEX, and that she wanted to know why the payment has been delayed. i told her she would have to speak to him as i am not the cardholder and i dont know what his plans of payment were.

this lady gets abusive. she says : saali, kutti, harami, MUSLIM PAIDAYISH, paise dene ki aukaad nahi to card kyon lete ho!

needless to say i was totally shocked. i could not believe that she had insulted me racially for such a trivial matter. i replied to her in kind, using expletives as i was so angry at her i couldnt think straight.she too, was continuously abusing and yelling at me. this went on for a few minutes

i asked for her name and where she has called from, and she returned the phone to the first woman and who gave me a name (which i wont divulge yet) that actually belongs to a high level employee of the company in Delhi! the address she provided was the address of the american express branch in bandra-kurla complex. upon my informing her that i would initiate police proceedings on them for harassment, i was told: kab leke aayegi police ko saali, leke aa.

i would like to know why i was racially abused by this woman. can our banks and credit card companies get away with this kind of behaviour? i am not evven a cardholder or account holder in this bank. why was i insulted in such a horriic manner?

i immediately got a call from thr hr of that company(whose name i still dont know) and she begged and pleaded with me not to make it an issue as her job was on the line. hadnt her colleague already made it an issue?

i would like to know what steps i can take to ensure that suitable treatment is meted out to this woman and her colleague. american express isnt forthcoming with the name and address of this company yet so i dont know where to press charges.

i would also like to ask the powers that be that when can we expect a strict law that ensures that such kind of racial slurring and insulting stops taking place at all levels in our society? and i would like to ask our "prestigeous" banks when they will put in place a law that wont let thies collection departments, outsourced or otherwise cross their limts with their customers.

if i have upset any readers with the abusive language used in this post, i apologise, but it was necessary to bring forward to this forum the level of insults a credit card company can mete out to you whenever they feel like.
                                        I feel your pain. AMX has never used abusive language with me, but they have called me on many occasion in relation to an account that is not mine and is in no way associated with me other than it seems to have my phone number on file. This has has been happening sporadically for about a year and a half now. They supposedly put me on a list of numbers to never call. But, they still call.