Citibank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 14, 2024
Complaints 1855

File a complaint to Citibank

Having problems with Citibank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Citibank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Citibank reviews & complaints page 37

Villma
Apr 7, 2017

Address: 600002

I hold a Citibank savings account for more than 8 yrs. I have 2 loans running from Hdfc and ECS will be debited from my Citi account every month. Recently moved from India to Canada but still I ensured every month that my Citi account has enough funds for the ECS. Citi has now locked my account saying that I don't have address updated in my Citi account. Due to this I can't deposit or withdraw or transfer money to my Citi account and my Hdfc cheques are returned saying insufficient funds. When I tried to update my address online, the OAC code is being sent to my India mobile number which is not currently in use with me and so I couldn't update the address online. When I talked to Citi customer care, they are asking me to come in person with the address proof in order to unlock my account. This solution is ridiculous. When I say I can't come, they told me to convert my Indian account to NRI account so the account will be unlocked. This process actually takes more than a month but still I started with the process. In order to validate all my ID proofs they asked me to do Notarization with Canada lawyers and I did it by spending 10000 Rs. And now they say that I need to close my Citi credit card and only then NRI account can be opened. When I say that I was paying my monthly bill every month ie., minimum due until it was blocked. Still they say I need to close my credit card bills and only then they can proceed. However unless my account is unlocked I am not sure how I am supposed to pay my credit card bill. When I ask this question they are asking me to get in touch with credit care customer care to check for any possible solutions available in order to pay the bill having the account locked. This is keep going for more than a month and I am very much frustrated about the process which Citibank is following which is of no use to customers. Even if credit card customer care gives me a solution, I have more than 150000 due in my credit card and how am I supposed to pay it at one shot. This is completely insane. I keep asking the customer care guys for any alternative solution but they are keep saying that this is the process and they are supposed to follow. I am totally worried that a big bank like Citi does not have process to be followed for any exception situations like mine
Citibank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Md Afzal.
    Apr 6, 2017

Address: 560103

On 4th april, 2017 i withdraw money from citi bank atm, ecoworld, bellandur, bangalore. I received the money but i don't have any transaction entry in my account. Later on same day i checked with another atm, the money was not deducted from my account but i got cash.
    As i am willing to return the money which not debited from my sbi account, kindly guide me on the same.

My account details are as follows.
    Account no. [protected]
    Account holder name. Md minhaj
    Contact no. [protected]

debal123
      Apr 6, 2017

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700160

Dear Sir/Mam,
      This is to bring to your kind notice that one of your customer care executive bearing mobile No. – [protected]/[protected], has been communicating with me for a life time free credit card.
      After repeated communication by your customer care, I got convinced and applied for the credit card in the month of Feb’17 sometime.
      There after a number of verification calls followed from Citi Bank Credit Card.
      During verification calls, in one of the calls, the person started forcing me to share my saving account details, which I had denied.
      Now, neither I have received my credit card nor I have been returned with my documents.
      I would request you to let me know the status of the same, as we from corporate MNC organization don’t expect such unprofessional service from your organization.
      Card number is [protected].
      I am being billed for Suraksha accident for the last 23 years. This is not only not authorised by me but had to be stopped after I reached the age of 65 which was 5 years back.
      All amounts with interest should be refunded, to avoid litigation.
      Oberoi

varunsinghal31
        Apr 5, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 201010

I had tried to do a transaction on 30th March 2017 on a website with my Citi bank credit card and i was really very shocked that how can a transaction can be completed without entering the OTP or my I-PIN. Before placing a order, i wanted to edit my cart but Rs. 10005/- already deducted from my account. It was completely a fraud transaction. Instantly, i made a call to your customer care department and bring this complete issue into her notice and that lady simply logged a call and said that our back-end processing team will take care of this and suggested me to replace your old card with a new one which i already did.

I am still not believing on this that how can this level of fault present in the system of citi group. It clearly stated that if in a case, my card get lost in a way, then the person who got my card easily take the benefits of my card no matter, nationally or internationally or in a second instance, if a person is able to read /copy the details of my card, he can take the benefit too. Then, what is the benefit of all these security layers like OTP, M-PIN, I-PIN. It also gives a impression that your technical team members (Ethical hackers, penetration testers) are not proficient in his field.

At the last, as it is completely the fault in your system, I am not going to pay for this. Jigar, as discussed, raised this concern to the merchant or to the RBI and waived off this amount.

For further information, you can contact me via e-mail or on my phone no; [protected].

Best Regards

Varun Singhal

navratri
          Mar 31, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 382001

I have credit card (ending with 9514) of citibank that I am using since more than past 6 Years. I have paid all the dues regularly.Citi bank service call centre reps are also accepting that I have paid all the dues regularly and some times I have paid more than due amount anticipating my next month expenditure in advance.

since last for days when my online transaction declined by Citibank, I called citi bank customer service staff they replied me that although you have paid all dues on time. Your card status is showing permanently closed in our system and gave me following phone no to ask the reason:[protected].
          After calling that No I came to know that although I have paid all the amount of my card ending with 9514 card is blocked because of due amt of other credit card ending with 7085 which I never used and got cancelled as it was given to me by citicard reps free of cost. But some processing fee charges were due.
          The man to which I had spoken was accepting that whatever was done was wrong and by mistake, but still refused to revoke the credit card.
          He told that first I have to make payment of all dues .( My credit card payment due date is 12 April 2017.)
          After payment of dues also my card will remain permanently closed I have to apply separately for revocation of my card.
          It is causing grave discomfort and distress to me.
          I have been harassed by citibank for no reason.
          I request you to help me so that my card is revoked and Unless it is not revoked I will not pay the amount which is due on 12 April.
          They should not lavy any charge and interest over that amount as their action has caused lot of problem for me.

SyedZameeruddin
            Mar 30, 2017

Address: 500086

I worked in a renowned software organization and had my salary account with Citibank for almost 8 years...

I quit the organization and its no more a salary account ...

Citibank has now changed my account to non-salary account and i need to maintain Net Relationship Value (NRV) of 1 Lakhs ...

In any case, asking a minimum balance or relationship value of 1 Lakhs is insanely high ...

Is there any Suvidha (convenience) they are providing to justify this huge NRV value on a monthly basis? I am considering to shift my account in some other bank.

sonu jarwal
              from Sarwar, Rajasthan
              Mar 30, 2017

Address: Jaipur, Rajasthan, 302018

I worked in Sapient and had my salary account with Citibank ...

I quit Sapient and its no more a salary account ...

Citibank has now changed my account to non-salary account and i need to maintain Net Relationship Value (NRV) of 2 Lakhs ...

In any case, asking a minimum balance or relationship value of 2 Lakhs is insanely high ...

Is there any Suvidha (convenience) they are providing to justify this huge NRV value on a monthly basis? I am considering to shift my account in some other bank.

Giriesh
                Mar 28, 2017

Address: 603110

My account has been blocked without my notice and when I checked with Customer care they said it is blocked. I haven't paid my amount for 3 months and I have paid it with interest but when I tried to use the card after paying, it is showing error to contact customer care. When I checked, they said that my card is blocked because of not reaching me. They tried to call my number, hence I am in abroad they cant reach me but they haven't tried to contact through email. Now my card is not in use and I cant retain my card and the redeem points. Kindly explain me how can you do without reaching my mail or not contacting my home.
                Mar 28, 2017
                Updated by Giriesh
                It is a credit card account
                my card was blocked due to account takeover.im 89 years old and my id expired 7 years ago, ive been in the office a few times and showed my id and got what i needed. i was told to get a new id so they can see if i am who i say i am have to stand in the dmv line. im scared to catch the covid. and ive told citi bank my account is not being hacked ive been down to the building called citibank fraud and theyve all been rude to me. im going crazy because its my money i need to pay my bills and dont have a ride to any of these places and i have no money to pay for my id since my account is blocked

loda89
                  Mar 28, 2017

Address: 110075

I have applied citi bank credit card online successfully .I got a mail from citi bank for documents collection for credit card on 22/03/17 But still I have not received any call or SMS for collecting the documents from citi bank.
                  I received mail from :- CitiAlert.[protected]@citicorp.com
                  [protected]@citicorp.com
                  My details are :
                  Name- Raj Kumar sharma
                  Mob no [protected]
                  I got Account 3 months back still i did nt get Credit card. There is no proper response from Bank.I need it Immediately. I'm Getting calls like "You need to refer atleast two members otherwise you Won't get Credit card". Why this Bloody rules to make me irritated alot. Please get me Card as soon as possible.

Nany Capri Gurlz
                    Mar 27, 2017

Address: 41000

I'm sure my income is high and i am eligible to apply a credit card, i went to sunway and they had a roadshow and ask for my ic and everything to apply, after a week i got a sms stated its unsuccessful.As a customer, we need to know the reason, i called bank negara they said my account is okay n no blacklisted.when i called citibank, they said they dont know.the girl who answered just mentioned we rejected and cant let u know.U mean u rejected for no reason?what an useless citibank, stupid customer service.And simply reject cases.this really makes me fire and end up i will not recommend citibank to anyone!

juliasmithcare
                      Mar 24, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110028

Hello sir/madam

I am alok Ranjan ranjan I using citibank credit card from last 2 month, but i regret to inform your that i have continuously fined by bank from last 3 month But i did not notice the the previously, I request to you please reverse my payment.

My detail
                      Alok Ranjan
                      BOd- 15/02/1985
                      Mobile no- [protected]
                      Last four digit of card- 2507

PFA and take look of dec16, jan2017 statement

Bennetj
                        Mar 21, 2017

Citibank is telling that Government has introduced New Rule that they should charge 15 % tax on the interest for old loan ST 14%, SBC 0.5%, KKC 0.5%. But they are referring an existing rule 65B(44) of the finance act for the period 1.07.012. Actually the rule exists at the time of loan sanction itself, but they are not said anything about this in the loan agreement. Now all of a sudden from November 2016, they put extra tax on the prompt payers like me. They are not at all agreeing for reducing interest on the EMI at all. They are simply charging extra and extra interest. This is against the Banking rule and the loan agreement . I am not liable to pay this extra tax and related charges.

I have made feb 2017 bill payment and still the feb month bill amount have been included in march 2017 bill amount. Ref no for the bill payment is attached . Please validate this asap...

Excess billing on card No: 5546 3702 2689 1486 - Comment #2689302 - Image #0

Neelamagarwal
                          Mar 17, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400098

Credit Card Fraud Scam-VERY BAD SERVICE & FOLLOW UPS

Dear team I had received a call from[protected] on 3:30pm (Dated 16.3.2017), where she said we are calling from bank online reward points department and she asked the credit card details for the purpose of giving additional reward points and cash back.. they had details of my card and CVV number which they wanted to get verified again with me. With in few minutes, I received SMS about the amount of rs.4800 debited in my card .Ichecked with bank, they told the amount transaction done in some other merchant, immediately i blocked my card with help of bank executive. I tried to contact that person but they are not picking calls. Time of sms is 3:43 pm from citi Bank to Vodafone Bill Desk MPESA 4800/ - The incident has happened today and i am sure the payment to the vendor is pending, please don't release the payments to the vendor, I want my money back.
                          When contacted the Citi bank to cancel the transaction they said it is not possible unless the Merchant denies it and when contacted MPESA regarding the same, they confirmed that the mobile number from which I got the call is Vodafone customer, but they refused to provide the customer details and said they cant deny the transaction too and said the bank has to cancel the transaction, both bank and Vodafone refuses to help and since it is not settled they can block this transaction.
                          Such service from Citibank is not expected as they aren't cooperating in stopping the transaction to be settled.

Neelam Agrawal
                          Neelam.[protected]@gmail.com
                          The Manager,
                          Citi Bank,
                          NEW DELHIi.
                          Subject: (ATM cash withdrawal 2000 ke note per pen chala hua hai)
                          today aaj meine atm se cash nikle hai 2000 ke note per pen chala hua hai aur wo chal nahi raha pls help

ATM-Citi Banak
                          ADDRESS MOMENTS MALL KIRIT NAGAR NEW DELHI -110015

YOUR TRULY

SOHAN

maddula v v s srinivas
                            Mar 13, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600037
                            Website: Regarding taxes and loan pre closures amounts charged

5546 ***2 ***3 8657 card holder named (MADDULA V V S SRINIVAS) had charged by citi credit card department, of Rs.5139.93Ps.(Five thousand one hundred thirty nine rupees and ninety three paise. The amount please return as early as possible and do me needful.

MADDULA V V S SRINIVAS
                            email: [protected]@yahoo.com

ravijoglekar
                              Mar 13, 2017

Address: 400706

Citibank is telling that Government has introduced New Rule that they should charge 15 % tax on the interest for old loan ST 14%, SBC 0.5%, KKC 0.5%. They putting extra tax on the prompt payers like me. They are not at all reducing intrest on the EMI at all. They are simply charging extra and extra interest. Now they are charging extra tax on the old loan EMI. This is against the Banking rule.

vis_blr
                                Mar 13, 2017

Address: 560099

I was given loan based my Citibank credit card transactions which is over the credit card limit on DEC-2014.While taking loan they confirmed that this is kind of personal loan as it is not against the card limit.This loan taken over phone and without any paper documentation but voice recording as an agreement. At the time of taking loan I asked the executive minimum three times regarding service tax and she said there is no service tax at all. But starting from November-2016 they suddenly started charging service tax on loan EMI’s which in turn increases the EMI Amount, which is additional charge on customer. I called the customer care and they told me that the RBI has directed with notification to the bank to charge the customer service tax. When I asked them to show the notification they are not providing tithe service tax concept is there from long back while other banks have charging customers Service tax with prior informing them before providing the loan. Also, I told them since this loan is not against the credit limit they cannot charge service tax and was also not communicated while taking the loan.Here Citibank people are telling lies because they didn't follow the law properly in order to sell their product, ones RBI tightened the rule they passed the penalty to customers. So here for CITI bank mistake customers like me are paying the penalty in the form of service tax. And also senior executives of Citibank (third class idiots) who are responsible for this mess are hiding but their level 1 executives (slaves of senior executives) are facing the wrath of the customers. I asked many times to transfer the call to senior executive but that lady didn’t do instead she placed the call on hold and gone to the shameless idiot (refer as senior executive/manager) and back with same nonsense blabbering. I asked for 3 options either waive of pre closure penalty or waive of service tax or reduce interest rate to adjust for service tax. The reply I got was we are unable to do any of the above. After many calls to customer care I find nothing going to work other than to stop making further payments towards loan EMI and let’s have confrontation. I called them and informed that I am not making further payments till my concern is comprehensively resolved as a result of this I am not responsible for any late payment charges or interest charges. I request all peoples who are facing the problem like me should protest this and stand up to our rights until senior executive’s staff of Citibank who are responsible for this mess comes out . i was calling customer care for 4 months, but no proper response. This is daylight cheat by citibank.

nks14
                                  Mar 13, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110049

I raised dispute against a merchant that billed me twice. The customer care executive promised to provide updates on the investigation over phone and through email, that actually never happened. The decision was in favor of merchant, and ultimately I had to end up in paying twice the bill, even after providing proofs. Every time I had to call Citibank, the CCE will verify detail, ask the reason, show their inability to support and transfer call to dispute department. When no one picks up the call, they promise for a call back within 2 hours or 24 hours, just to end the conversation, and ignore somehow. The call will never come. Worst customer care, worst customer relations. Hopeless support.
                                  My name is Deepak and due to bad financial situation i have not been able to pay my credit card bills and they are calling every day and they are sending people to my home and i told them i will pay as soon as i have money to pay but dont listen. Please help me

nilesh.2787
                                    Mar 9, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400001

One of Citibank employee has told me false information about the card and now i am getting message that my credit card has been dispatched. I asked that person about the card and he has told me that this is not the credit card and given wrong information.
                                    When I am calling to citi bank customer care no body is receiving the call and the customer care service is worlds worst service. not even able to reach to the customer care person.

help me with that otherwise i ll take a legal action and go to the consumer court with all recordings and proofs. I want a call from citibank regarding that!!!

kgsiddappa
                                      Mar 8, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560001

Yesterday ie on 08.03.17 in the evening I have remitted the cheque bearing No: 888796 to an a/c bearing No: [protected] on behalf of my son Sanjay Siddappa (K S Sanjay) in ATM machine Citibank m G road, bangalore.But after submitting the format the gone in side the ATM machine, but not received the transaction slip. Till now the cheque is not remitted to Citibank m G road, bangalore. It is requested to look in and oblige
                                      Siddappa K G, father of Sanjay Siddappa

chandanbanerjee
                                        Mar 8, 2017

Address: 713420

I Chandan Banerjee owner of Hero Honda Passion + vehicle no.WB40N 3360 request for the said loan clearance certificate against loan sanctioned from your branch office at Durgapur (W.B.) in year 2008.
                                        After all installment of loan had been paid, so I request for sending of my NOC as soon as possible.
                                        Kindly forward the said requirement to the following address:
                                        Chandan Banerjeee
                                        C/O-Prabhat Chattaraj
                                        PO-panagarh, sarada pally, rail par
                                        Dist-Burdwan (W.B.)
                                        Mo. [protected] / [protected]