Citibank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 14, 2024
Complaints 1855

File a complaint to Citibank

Having problems with Citibank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Citibank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Citibank reviews & complaints page 39

rajneeshkumarsingh03
Feb 1, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110044

This is to bring in your kind notice that Miss. Divya, Mo no: +[protected], who apparently called me for the application of Citibank credit card, got all my documents collected from a runner boy, whose mobile no is : [protected].
After 2 3 days when I did not receive any feedback from them, I tried calling on these nos, but both were switched off. It is now more than a month that these nos are still unreachable, and I am afraid that my documents can be misused. I would request you to please sort this matter, and see that why these kind of calls are linked to your prestigious bank.

Rajneesh Kr. Singh
Citibank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

lulbi
    from Maudaha, Uttar Pradesh
    Feb 1, 2017

Address: 121003

I have transferred my city loan no. 02LBNTOP8415840 to hdfc bank. I have deposited a Cheque of Rs. 140000/- at Crown Plaza branch on 116/01/17. Cheque no. is 569547.
    But you have deducted EMI of Rs. 6958/- which you should not. Because my loan is cleared. So, you are requested to please reverse this amt. in my hdfc bank a/c.
    Regards.
    Rakesh Sharma.

dj2017
      Jan 24, 2017

My documents had been taken by one of the citibank executive and after that till now i did not receive any update whether loan has been processed or not. I have already told them that in my cibil there was in issue in 2013 but they assured me that we are concerned only about last one year.
      Now they took the documents and no response.Atleast they should told me the reason why they have been rejected the personal loan. The issue with my cibil regarding that i have submitted all the necessary documents. I have already taken one car loan and if cibil issue is that much critical then car loan should also been rejected earlier.
      Some one named Selva Kumar([protected]) had called me for new credit card, and forced to me to apply for new credit card, when i asked him i need sometime to think about it, he inappropriately abused me in different language.

I have his voice recorded in my phone.

kedarkamthe
        Jan 23, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411002

2 weeks i got a call regarding Citibank credit card based on their request i have provided addhar card, pan card photocopies and salary slip . then on next day i got their call asking address where i want my card to be delivered . i have given that information then they told me that i will get a verification call in next 2 days . but it is a week now, i haven't received any verification call . Then application number received receipt shared by representative is having application number of length 10 which is showing invalid when checked on online portal . they required application number of length 11 . I would like to check whether my application is correctly received by Citibank or it is fraud ?

Kedar

surajman verma
          Jan 21, 2017

Address: 411043

Dear Sir /Madam, ,
          I want you to inform that i had been apply for citi bank credit card, my card ref no. is -[protected] and my card approved with your site. but i am unable to collect my card due to some mistake in my residential address with your site.
          My Correct Address- Himgiri Society, Flat No.-11, second floor, Above Mamta Super Market, Beside of Bharati Hospital, Dhankawadi pune - 411043

Surajman Verma
          Mob.- [protected]
          Mail id- [protected]@gmail.com

vijaymalhotra77737
            Jan 20, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110009

Dated: 20/01/2017

The Branch Manager
            Citibank

Sub: Intimation of Lost Credit Card & request for issuance of New Credit Card

I, Vijay Malhotra, Primary Credit Card holder of Citibank bearing No. [protected] has lost my card.

It is to request you to Re-issue a new Credit Card in my name at the earliest.

Please acknowledge the receipt of the same & oblige.

Yours Truly

VIJAY MALHOTRA
            B-84, Gujranwala Town, Part-1
            New Delhi-110009
            # [protected]
            E-mail: [protected]@gmail.com

rchaudhary711
              Jan 19, 2017

Address: 140603

As per my CIBIL report there is shown a written off (Total) Rs. 1, 13, 313/- and Written off (Principal) Rs. 69946/- for credit card no. [protected]. Kindly clarify or advise where to approach for removal of this from my cibil history? Kindly advise me to get it removed from my credit history, since i have already paid the amount. This is tarnishing my image. you are requested to expedite it soon.

Deeksha k.m.
                Jan 17, 2017

I got a call from CITI bank on my birthday offering so called special "reward Credit card". Since it was my company shutdown time & birthday I had no access to get few documents & that is why I could not submit my documents on the same day. But I was assured stating the executive will be collecting documents after a day two. They troubled me on my birthday calling continuously 12 times and I have responded to all the calls. Funniest part is as my birthday was coming to an end even CITI bank lost interest on me & not even bothered to respond to my calls nor emails.

Citi bank doesn't have an etiquette to respond to customer emails & calls. And they just waste your time. CITI BANK JUST GET ON MY NERVES.
                Jan 31, 2017
                Updated by Deeksha k.m.
                I have not received any response on the above complaint.

Application number: BPA0421080

sbinit
                  Jan 17, 2017

Address: 560008

I am writing this mail out o[censored]tter irritation and bad experience faced from Citi Bank. This is the third time when Citi Bank called for issuing Credit card, but like always the bank agents pick the documents and do not respond after acknowledgement. Neither they drop an email, nor they pick up call to answer queries. I fear if my my documents are misused by somebody or card is issued to someone else. This is the worse bank and their customer service is pathetic, irresponsible employees and have no words to describe their miserable state.

Request your prompt action on the same
                  Application no : BPA0472149

marienotbusy
                    Jan 16, 2017

In August 2016 we were on a world tour visiting family in UK, Cyprus, N.Y and Canada, making stopovers in Singapore, Zurich and Vienna.
                    Our citi credit card did not work for us on presentation on 17th August. We used a different card. 10 days later in Amsterdam our card was rejected again. I found that our card had been hacked and maxed out.
                    Not only that, but I have never used the secondary card (in a protective case in my possession).
                    After months of harrassement and stress we cancelled the secondary card was never renewed and we cancelled our relationship with Citi in January, 2017 after paying everything we truly owed.
                    Now, 7 months later I received a letter with tiny pictures of strange people's passports (5 different faces and birthdates and genders). I am being asked to give another account and if not my card will be debited again. There is one day remaining on the time frame to respond.
                    We sent our passports and itinerary to Citi and statements about everything and still they cannot understand that these people are criminals who have used our cards for a fraudulent transaction. I am white, Irish. These are black and Asian in name and complexion. Why am I being harrassed at 68, with cataracts' operations due in a few weeks, reading tiny writing in foreign languages from a place we never ever visited in our entire lives, let alone in 2016. Such harrassement and senior abuse is appalling. Can I get them to stop sending these fraudulent and nasty letters that put me under time-stress and try to turn me into a criminal and not a victim of fraud. Citi knew about these transactions in August and sent text messages but we had already left and were using a different international sim. When will there be justice and a little compassion for ordinary victims of crime?

jairath
                      Jan 12, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 110051

My card no [protected].
                      I purchased diesel on Dec17, 2016 for Rs 1670 by using credit card. CITIBANK charged Rs 47.99 on it despite Government declaring that no service charges will be levied by using cards till December 31, 2016. A credit of Rs 12.53 was offered on this charges, resulting in net levy of Rs 35.46.
                      I have never ever defaulted on any payments, thus I will be making this payment as well but I want reversal of this charge in my account.
                      CITIBANK site is not enabling me to lodge complaint.

ziaur1991
                        Jan 10, 2017

Address: 122016

I had submitted documents for the Citi bank credit card on 10th of dec'16 and yet i have not received my credit card .when i contact the person i submitted the document on 20dec to complain for the delay in process, i got an email from citi bank asking for the documents, i believe that my documents were misused and credit card has been issue to someone else

Application number = BPA0372363

Agent name Pramod who took the documents = [protected]

I got a call from this number = Megha = [protected], [protected] to apply
                        I am using citi bank credit card ending withxxxx9104, last 4 years am using citrus for payment but amt was deducted from my credit card but amt not reflected in my icici saving act ending withxxx2432.

regard
                        pankaj mishra
                        mob-[protected]

Nirav23
                          from Morjim, Goa
                          Jan 10, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 412101

I HV provide the document to Shweta but still not received any card nor ur customer service is answering my query. Pls let me know r u going to dlresolve my query or not. I tried to reach Shweta for query but she is also not replying to my query. Please let me know r u going to resolve my query or not. 2 months completed I hv submitted the document but still no response.

Awaiting for ur quick response
                          Jan 10, 2017
                          Updated by Nirav23
                          Awaiting response from bank

ysraam83
                            from Rajahmundry, Andhra Pradesh
                            Jan 9, 2017

Address: 500081

I have been deceived by the citi bank executives to take a credit card for which i should not pay any membership charges. I have been charged 3300 rupees as membership charges. For which it was told that i can claim cash back which was also a false statement. After many requests with bank officers they suggested me to migrate to rewards card which is lifetime free membership card from platinum visa miles card. Again here the reward points should be transferred from the old card to new card by 130% as confirmed by the bank officers on call, but not even the original points were transferred to the new card and it has been more than 4 weeks i call them repeatedly for every 2 days. They tell it will be done in 2 days and it won't happen. I am really helpless on this regard. As i have more than 10000 points which i received for the old card membership charges of rupees 3300/-. Now my purchase reward points and membership reward points are not transferred to the new card. I have been wasting my money on telephone bills but not getting any resolution on this, request you to compensate me with my time waste, money waste and mental disturbance,

eramit77
                              Jan 7, 2017

Address: 122002
                              Website: www.online.citibank.co.in/customerservice/mail-us.htm

After 8th of Nov 2016, We have received the information from News paper/news channels and by PM speech that no surcharges on credit card of fuel refill. But in my December 16 statement of citibank i can see 28 rupees extra on 1000 rupees petrol.
                              When I called customer care they told me that no guideline from RBI.
                              Please resolve this issue.
                              Amit
                              Citi bank provide the worst costumer service and first of all they had not pick the call and i have paid the full amount to citi bank but till iam getting the balance to be paid with interest...And i have sent mail to citi bank but from their side no response..Please help me out...

Thnaks,

I made a online Transaction for Rs.789 on Dec 30th, but the transaction seems to be failure or i it could have been to a improper/invalid account, Can i please get my amount back?

Because i made the transaction for online food through My Food My Place., when i check the order History the status was pending.

Surcharges on fuel paid from Credit Card - Comment #2639523 - Image #0
                              Hello Hi,

I have so disappointed with your city bank team sonakshi,
                              Please let me know why they are doing like this i applied long back for credit card still no response from your city bank team, one more thing is when i am in call sadanly they disconecting the call

Sivashankaran Nallusamy
                                Jan 5, 2017

Address: Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh, 110019

I have taken loan on my Citibank credit card on Aug-2015.This loan taken over phone and without any paper documentation but voice recording as an agreement. But starting from November-2016 they suddenly started charging service tax on loan EMI’s which in turn increases the EMI Amount, which is additional charge on customer. I called the customer care and they told me that the RBI has directed with notification to the bank to charge the customer service tax. When I asked them to show the notification they are not providing tithe service tax concept is there from long back while other banks have charging customers Service tax with prior informing them before providing the loan.

Kindly suggest me any option to get the waive off ...

Siva
                                I am trygin to acces my account through online banking it is shwoing as account num is not valid.. This was my salary account three years before and I might have not used it since 1 years. could you plz let me know what is the problem, And How I can acces this account.

lokesh hk
                                  Jan 3, 2017

Address: 560078

I have taken loan on my Citibank credit card on July-2016.This loan taken over phone and without any paper documentation but voice recording as an agreement. At the time of taking loan I asked the executive minimum three times regarding service tax and she said there is no service tax at all. But starting from November-2016 they suddenly started charging service tax on loan EMI’s which in turn increases the EMI Amount, which is additional charge on customer. I called the customer care and they told me that the RBI has directed with notification to the bank to charge the customer service tax. When I asked them to show the notification they are not providing tithe service tax concept is there from long back while other banks have charging customers Service tax with prior informing them before providing the loan. Here Citibank people are telling lies because they didn't follow the law properly in order to sell their product, ones RBI tightened the rule they passed the penalty to customers. So here for CITI bank mistake customers like me are paying the penalty in the form of service tax. And also senior executives of Citibank (third class idiots) who are responsible for this mess are hiding but their level 1 executives (slaves of senior executives) are facing the wrath of the customers. I asked many times to transfer the call to senior executive but that lady didn’t do instead she placed the call on hold and gone to the shameless idiot (refer as senior executive/manager) and back with same nonsense blabbering. I asked for 3 options either waive of pre closure penalty or waive of service tax or reduce interest rate to adjust for service tax. The reply I got was we are unable to do any of the above. After many calls to customer care I find nothing going to work other than to stop making further payments towards loan EMI and let’s have confrontation. Today I called them and informed that I am not making further payments till my concern is comprehensively resolved as a result of this I am not responsible for any late payment charges or interest charges. I request all peoples who are facing the problem like me should protest this and stand up to our rights until senior executive’s staff of Citibank who are responsible for this mess comes out .
                                  Jan 9, 2017
                                  Expected condition is met.
                                  Jan 09, 2017
                                  Updated by lokesh hk
                                  After the week long fight, they agreed to waive of the 3% of pre-closure penalty.Thanks for the citibank officer who approved the request.
                                  I am also facing the same issue and I am staying abroad. When I visit India I personally visit Hyderabad Guchbowli branch where there were no customer service center executive. They asked me to contact through the toll free number. When I contacted I have explained 2 concerns.
                                  1) EMI of the Flipkart 2) EMI of my credit card loan of 5 lakhs.
                                  Every month I noticed there were 1200 rupees as interest which is again 14% ST, 0.5% SBC, 0.5 % KKC. The CC person told me the same this is applicable starting from November 2016 and we can't help anymore sir. I asked to waive the 3% preclousre charge where they refused and unfortunately I don't have much time to visit personally main branch or to make further discussions like you.
                                  Even today I am paying 747.55 as (ST (14%), SBC(0.5%), KKC (0.5%) ) for the EMI of 25019 INR. I don't know how this amount has been calculated. I request Citibank to provide flexibility to pay the amount without pre closure charges for such EMI's which are not logic to pay every month. What we are benifitting by then with the credit card and the EMI flexiblities. I am recommending most of my friends not to use anymore credit cards for EMI purpose and not to take any loans on the Credit Cards. Its time to through out CC's.
                                  Dear Citibank, can I avail the pre closure facility without any preclousre charges?
                                  Large number of citi phone employees are involved in money laundering where they use citi bank account of some one and deposit money in that. I have reported the same to income tax department and RBI. Citi Bank is not interested to act on it.

sushi22
                                    Jan 3, 2017

Address: 110085

The Manger Accounts
                                    Customer care / City bank Mortgages
                                    City Bank

Sub. Mistake in our account No. L. City Bank NA 127019
                                    We deposited our cheques in our above account in your bank but sorry to say that when we check our bank pass books there is mistake.
                                    By mistake you put the receiver name of Voda Phone instead of L. City bank NA 127019 detail as under,
                                    Date Cheque No Amount Name Mistake
                                    [protected] 750000/ Voda Phone
                                    [protected] 700000/ Voda Phone
                                    [protected] 450000/ L.City Bank NA 127019
                                    [protected] 602158/ Voda Phone
                                    [protected] 650000/ Voda Phone
                                    [protected] 700000/ City bank
                                    27-12—[protected]/
                                    [protected] 650000/
                                    [protected] 570000/
                                    We are requested you to please correct the name of receiver in your accounts and send fresh account statement as loan nil with correct the name as soon as possible, we need it on urgent bases to show our accounts department

Yours truly

Savitri Aggarwal Ms Mansi Aggarwal Ms Preeti Aggarwal
                                    2/215 maharaja Aggarsain Shopping Complex
                                    Sector 9 Rohini Delhi -110085
                                    Mobile no. [protected]

Lakhamanreddy
                                      Jan 2, 2017

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500016

I have reived credit card platinum citi bank 1 week back. but still pin not generated for shopping purpose. itried to reaching customer care but no use.

i spoke with customercare sgent last week. confimed this card no Joiing fee and if i use 3000 in ayear there is no Anual fee alos.

kindly check it and comfirm to me on the same.

Credit card number: [protected]
                                      My name is T.G. Deshmukh having card no xxxx 2838 expired on 05/16 even then bank is sending bill for minimum payment. Not able to contact 1800xxxxx number. Not able to contact CS number/ exclusive services anything. In fact for credit cards CS number must working 24x7.

abhishekanand
                                        Dec 30, 2016

Address: 560070

I received my credit card of CITI BANK in November 2016. And did shopping with my card in the same month of the amount Rs.82000.
                                        When my bill generated in December 2016 with due amount of Rs.82000, minimum due Rs.4100 and due date of 14.12.2016. I called Customer Care on 03.12.2016 for the confirmation regarding how they charge for the interest and other charges. He confirmed that there are no charges if you pay minimum amount which is mentioned in the statement i.e. Rs.4100 but make sure the amount must be credited in your card before the due date i.e. 14.12.2016. After confirming with the executive i paid the amount of Rs.30000 which got credited on 07.12.2016. Again on 24.12.2016 i received a message stating your outstanding balance is Rs.55759.49 with minimum due Rs.4279.49 due on 11.01.2017.
                                        After confirming with the executive i paid only Rs.30000 but CITI BANK CREDIT CARD put extra charge of Rs.3759.49, for confirming it i called back CITI BANK again on 26.12.2016. When i spoke with the executive she told me that their are charges if you not paid the full amount. I ask her that when i confirmed on 03.12.2016 then why your colleague told me their are no charges if you pay minimum amount which is mentioned in the statement i.e. Rs.4100 before 14.12.2016. She said its not possible because we can't say like that and for confirmation i told her that i want to listen that conversation which happened on 03.12.2016. She updated that such process is not there in the bank we can't share the conversation with the customer, but we can send the mail in written to you. And she raised a complaint(Reference no.[protected] against my query for cross check so their other concern team will listen to our conversation and they will call me back till 29.12.2016 if they find their executive misguiding, or else you have to call us back again.
                                        I didn't receive any call till 29.12.2016 so i called CITI BANK CREDIT CARD EXECUTIVE back on 30.12.2016. This time i spoke with the executive and she said their isn't such things committed from our side. When i ask her regarding call back i was suppose to get till 29.12.2016, she mentioned that their team called me approx 1530 hours on 29.12.2016 but i didn't receive such call from CITI BANK then she mentioned your number was busy. I activated my call waiting service on my phone but didnt receive such call.
                                        Just for cross check i ask her i want to listen to the conversation which happened on 03.12.2016 she replied we can't share the details with client. I told her how i will believe that they are not lying to me. she said assure me we are not lying, i confirmed with her is there any possibility that i can get the conversation any how she said "NO", i guided her that there is possibility that the conversation you can mail to me in written form. Then she confirm with his senior regarding that and said yes its possible and before i told that we cant send verbal conversation, she also try to misguide me.

I have some Question with CITI BANK CREDIT CARD:
                                        * Is they give proper training to their executives, because every executive will tell some other stories?
                                        * Or this the core concept of CITI BANK to loot their clients. (their are more than 52 pages of complaints)
                                        * When they arrange a call back then they cant call again if their customer is busy, because every customer of their must have waited on IVR for more than 3-5 mins?
                                        * For same issue how many times their customer have to call?

Personal advice to all my dear friends, please don't use any kind of services from CITI Bank. (i did a mistake that before applying for credit card i didn't check online complaints regards CITI BANK)
                                        BE AWARE OF CITI BANK.
                                        Bajaj discover 135 sep 2007
                                        reg no : MH 04 DL 4174
                                        Anagha Amit inamdar
                                        103 new supriya tower, parsik nagar, opp raj park kalwa Thane 400 605
                                        plz issue noc as soon as possible.
                                        E-mail id : [protected]@gmail.com