Citibank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 14, 2024
Complaints 1855

File a complaint to Citibank

Having problems with Citibank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Citibank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Citibank reviews & complaints page 34

keshavjain2012
from Lonavla, Maharashtra
Jul 22, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400042

I converted two transaction online into emi. At the time of conversion of the transaction i was not given any kind of pop-up message, display message that conversion will be liable for a processing fee. I don't know if this was a technical glitch or some kind of deliberate error.

Also, before i converted the transaction online, i had a call with the customer care executive and i was not told about the conversion charges.

I have called citibank multiple times and asked for a reversal of these charges. But they have said that it is not possible
Citibank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Jul 22, 2017
Updated by keshavjain2012
Just for an update the conversion charges are as high as 300 and 200
Jul 24, 2017
Updated by keshavjain2012
Till now there is no update by citibank on the same. there customer service is really very poor

Ashwanijuyal
    Jul 22, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110018

I was following up with the citibank regarding the credit card which i never applied for. Issue was - on 31st dec, 2016 i received a letter from citibank stated that i had some amount due for a credit card. I never applied for any credit card with citibank. I was continously calling the customer care to resolve this issue but neither they nor the citibank branch has the details of that card. When ever i contact them regarding this issue, try always say we are still invastigating.

If they dont have the details for that card then how could they blocked my amount. It's been more than 6 months i am looking for help to resolve this issue but they are just investigating from last 6 months. They always stated that they didnt find any details of credit card so they need more time to investigate. Might be citibank would need 6 more years to resolve this issue. They have also ruined my cibil rating due to that i am not able to apply any loan that i need to support my family. I am very helpless at the moment just because of this credit card issue. I actually need funds for some family urgency but citibank is not even understanding my situation.

I was ready to pay the full amount because i didnt want to make my relationship bad with the bank but i dont know whats the problem with the citibank they are not even interested to take the payment not even talk to me.

I am really fed up and frustrated with this bank and their services. Now i am not gonna pay them a single amount and i want my money back which they still have blocked.

You are the last hope for me. I dont know how can i get my blocked money back. Please help me to resolve this issue and if possible do let me know the process to do a complaint in consumer court for these kind of fraud.

For more clarification please read the below mail chain. You will get to know the situation.

Ashwani juyal
    Citibank please stop fooling us !!!

I am submitting all my citibank cards because of this main reason that they are not trust worthy.

They don't specify this condition before and when we take loan then they show 0% interest but later they charge the Service Tax on EMI ...

Seriously not done, No other bank does this. !!!

Nithan J R
      Jul 21, 2017

Address: 560095

Hi, i applied for a citibank credit card. I got a verification call on[protected] but i didn't pick that call because i am in meeting. I called to same number 3 times they told you will get call again still i didn't get call. Please find the below details for your reference.

Name - nithan j r
      Email - [protected]@gmail.com
      Contact - [protected]
      Credit card application ref number - [protected]
      The subject Good Health Policy under my CITIBank credit Card No.xxxxxxxxxxxx4602 of Manindra Nath Banerjee, has not been renewed for the year 1917-18, as yet, Please do the need full under an advice to me..

prashantveer
        Jul 21, 2017

Address: 411003

On 21/07/2017 i received an sms that 11.99 usd was spent on my credit card 4386xxxxxxxx2801 at netflix.com. Final however i had not authorized any such transaction.

I had not authorized any such transaction nor did i receive any smm or email to authorize such transaction. I have reported this issue to the citi customer care department and have blocked the card.

Can you please investigate and look into this.

Kirti Malik
          from Barpeta Road, Assam
          Jul 19, 2017

I have applied for your credit card having application no [protected] but my application got rejected because of email id was not correctly written according to you but i have received you mail of rejection on my mail id if it was written incorrectly how can i get your mail on my mail id. After mailing you the whole subject i didn't receive any reply from your side. Kindly look into the matter and resolve the issue as soon as possible

sali0503
            Jul 18, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400037

Respected sir/mdm
            I m a govt employee earnings 55000 rs per month. I applied online for city rewards credit card with reference no [protected]. Bt unfortunately bank not approved my credit card. I m a honest govt employee by don't know what is the reason behind this. Sir kindly inform me about not approval so that i solved the reason. Or do the same in favour of me. Thank you sir/mdm

Moahmmad zeeshan ali
              from Dharwad, Karnataka
              Jul 15, 2017

Address: 122001

Hi team

I have made the credit card payment of 800 rs on 12 june 2017 by neft. (Kotak bank) but you have not received payment conformed by you team.

But i confirmed with my bank payment already deducted from my account for your refrence i send you my statment screen short and utr no which one provoded by the bank..

Details below mention
              Name : mohammad zeeshan ali
              Payment made date : 12 june 2017
              Payment mode : neft (Kotak bank)

salvistoscano
                Jul 14, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400005

My old credit card expired in december 2016.

Citibank issued me a new credit card with a different number and a different 3 digit security code.

On the 13th of july, 2017, at about 21:38, i received an sms, that my old card had been charged.

The charge has been made around 6.5 months after expiry of my credit card.

I was not expecting to be charged and so opened up my email.

There was an email from citibank telling me, that my old card had been charged by a magazine in the usa, with whom i have a recurring charge.

I had no intention of renewing my subscription with the magazine.

I looked up the citibank website to look for an emergency telephone no. To make a complaint. I could not locate this number immediately. After a long search, i located the no. And made the call.

The automated voice tells me, to punch a certain code, if i want to report a lost card or report suspicious activity. I punched the required code. The automated voice tells me that this code is to be punched only if i am reporting a lost card or to report suspicious activity and then proceeds to give me other codes for other information. I am confused and hung up.

I dialled again. Once again, same story. After punching the required code to report lost card or suspicious activity, the automated voice once again reminds me that this code is to be punched only to report lost cards or report suspicious activity and proceeds to give me codes for information that i am not interested in.in desperation, i punch the required code again. Only now, i am taken to a customer service representative. (Csr).

The csr, tells me, that where, recurring charges are concerned, the merchant is allowed to charge on expired cards.

I find this very strange. The card was issued to me. The card has expired. I cannot use the card after the expiry date. Yet, a merchant can charge my card after expiry date.

My new card has a no. Different from the old one. The 3 digit security no. Is different. How does the merchant know my new number and new security code. I have never updated my new credit card information to the merchant.

What flaw in security allows a merchant to know my new credit card details?

Expiry dates, new credit card nos. And different security codes are part of credit card security.

In this case, all these security measures have been breached.

The csr assured me, that he is making immediate arrangements so that no merchant can now access my old credit card. He also, tells that their department will investigate the issue and take up the matter with the merchant.

Also, the csr tells me, that they will not be charging me for the time being, till they complete investigation in this matter.

I am requesting that my money is to be refunded, that security be tightened, so that expired credit cards cannot be charged.

Also, it should be easy, for customers to locate emergency nos. To report fraud easily.

Also, changes should be made to the automated voice replies, so that a customer who is already tense about reporting lost card and suspicious activity is not confused.

Nadeemkhan4u
                  Jul 14, 2017

Address: Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh, 247001

A amount rs.4299.00 has been debit from my credit card through vodaphone bill pay.com which is not pay by me. I had complaint many times to citi bank customer care. They always changed thier statment. First time reply that this transaction through otp generateon phone, second time said through otp generate on mail & when i am asking proove they said within 2 days you will get. But i am still waiting.
                  I am old customer of yours, i had change my salary account to suvidha account but i have not recived my debit card and cheq book as well.

This is so long to apply but i did not get till date and not recived any communication also.

Please do it fast as i have to use my account for the purpose.

Punarbasu mishra

I applied for Citi bank credit card 3weeks before I got my application number before 2weeks but the represtative has not confirmed the status of my application til date no proper reply recd my application no is BPA0808672

mahak21jan
                    Jul 12, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110001

6 unauthorized transactions - total inr 1, 41, 800 were made from my debit card details. I got sms from citibank reg these transactions. I am in us and my debit card is very much in my possession. I didn't receive any otp for these transactions. What kind of security is citibank providing to its customers bank account details. There is no pre authorization like otp done on transactions. Citibank should contact the customer if payments of this hight amount is made from an account. I want a reversal of these transactions immediately.

Ruchira2017
                      Jul 10, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110024

I am writing to complain about the unethical behavior of Citibank Customer Care Team. Despite repeated follow-ups with them, they have shown no professionalism at all.

On Sunday, July 2, in the evening, I presented my Citibank Suvidha Debit card for payment at two different merchant outlets in one of the malls in South Delhi. However, it got declined at both the outlets, even though there was sufficient balance. I came back home and tried to add money to my Paytm wallet which is linked with my Citibank debit card, but I got a decline message which stated that the payment has been declined by the bank. It was quite late in the night, but I still decided to call the 24-hour Citi helpline number. After verifying my information on IVR, the call was answered by Vignesh and I explained the situation to him. He told me that there is nothing wrong with the account and it is operational and said that I should check with Paytm. I stated that how can the card be declined at three places in one day if everything is fine. To this, he had the audacity to say that maybe all three outlets have a problem. After this, I asked him to connect me with his supervisor. First, he said that the supervisor is not there and when I asked that how come there is no manager on the floor, to which he said that the manager is there, but the supervisor is not there. I wonder what he meant by that!!
                      The manager Shriram came on line and after check some information on the system told me that due to the name change request on my account, the old debit card has been blocked and a new debit card was delivered to my home address on May 8, 2017. I told him that a name change request was indeed made by me in May 2017 and that I have already received a check book reflecting the new name. When I asked him who received the debit card on my behalf, he said that it's Mallika (who is my mother in-law) and also said that her signature is there on the courier receipt. After the conversation was over, I checked with my mother in-law and she said that she has not received any such courier.
                      Then I got busy during the week and called up Customer Care again on Thursday, July 6, 2017 and spoke with Gurpreet. When I told her about the situation, she checked her system and said the following things:
                      1) No new debit card was couriered (Shriram lied to me).
                      2) My existing card is a grocery card and since Citibank doesn't issue these type of cards anymore, my card was blocked. (Card blocked without informing me)
                      3) She assured me that I would receive my new card positively by Friday, July 7, 2017 as she's putting it on priority (Another lie, because I have not received the card).

My questions and concerns:

1) Why did Shriram lie to me that my card was couriered and received on May 8, 2017?
                      2) Why was my card blocked without informing me? My card is linked to some wallets and apps which requires a monthly deduction and because of the blocking, payment can't be made to those apps and wallets. And, this has caused me a lot of inconvenience.
                      Ideally, a new card should have been sent to me first with instructions and then the old card should have been blocked.
                      3) Where is my replacement card?

I am totally disgusted with the way this has been handled. So much lies and misleading information. I have some other complaints to make as well about other issues, which I will eventually.

This is not the way to treat your customers!! I feel mentally harassed and disturbed with this behavior of the customer service team of Citibank!!

jitendergupta04
                        Jul 10, 2017

I would like to say you that online fraud had done with my citi bank credit card no. ([protected]) on date 05/07/2017.
                        My credit card no. ([protected]) has been debited with amount - rs.2, rs.4718.82, rs.2245 and rs.560 through microsoft store.
                        When i have seen this massage then i call to citi bank customer care executive and told her this problem.
                        The executive of citi bank block my credit credit card and raised the complaint for this online cyber crime.
                        The complaint no of this online fraud is-3960.
                        Dispute is also raised for this online transaction.
                        Complaint no. Of this dispute is-5052.
                        So please take neccessary action at my complaint.

from Ahmadnagar, Maharashtra
                          Jul 5, 2017

Address: Mumbai City, Maharashtra, 400708

Could you help us to know the latest status of my personal loan.

Arpit from Mumbai, Airoli, Mindspace collected all the required documents including check.

I have tried to calling ( [protected]) himfrom so many days, buy no use.

Please let us know the latest status or return submitted documents.

We can find alternative solution.

Manjunath

SamirJNegandhi
                            Jul 4, 2017

Address: 421605

706, 7th floor, bldg no. 2,
                            Om chintamani residency,
                            Ganesh mandir road,
                            Titwala (E) - 421605.

Dear sir / madam,

Sub : loan closure letter
                            I have already contacted your phonebanking staff regarding personal loan closure letter required by me on my email id [protected]@gmail.com towards my credit card no. [protected], but still not received my loan closure letter. Please mail the same to me urgently and oblige.

Samir negandhi

amit kumar 1905
                              Jul 4, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110045

Myself amit kumar using city bank rewards visa credit card no [protected]. On 3 july 2017 when i was checking my credit card statements i found a statement of 10000 inr cash withdrawal on 1 july 2017 but on that date i did not use my credit card and i was having my card all the time in my purse on that day and i also did not received any message on my phone aur e mail regarding this cash withdrawal.I called customer care of bank asking about this fraud cash withdrawal, they said transaction is made on 1 july 2017 at 1:42 am when i asked about the location of atm they said it will be possible to get the location of atm after 2 days(reference no is 3854).Then i said to block my card, they blocked it and also said to file a fir and send a copy of fir to the bank e mail id.So please make a copy of fir for me so that i can send it to bank for further process..
                              Please take needful action to solve my problem soon. Thanking you.

imranmohammed
                                Jun 29, 2017

The customer care people gave a wrong information for which I had to face a lot of inconvenience. They wrongly guided me to make attempts for payment on a non working hour and the money got debited me from my saving account multiple times. On Tuesday morning all the multiple attempts of transaction has gone through once, left cashless and need to make a payment to other credit card bank. Call customer service no first call resolution, just gave a single jazz that the attempts where on a non business hour and a manager will call back. Now a manager calls back and gave a goodwill of 250 rs, where in i'm at a debited of 5400.

I have already sent account closure form to citibank 2 time from February 2017 to till date. Still they are not closed my account and also they are showing NRV amount 1086 Rs.

Account# [protected]
                                Branch - Delhi

Thanks!
                                Arunesh Pratap Singh

15459g
                                  Jun 27, 2017

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500059

I approached last week on phone your citi official seeking advice for credit card balance increase so that i could buy air ticket as the available credit balance was insufficient. The lady of citibank mislead me to avail conversion of last purchases made on credit card to emis and then have the converted amount as credit balance and put me through to another official.

The other citi person converted my last purchases into emis and just to reconfirm i enquired about my latest credit balance. She said about the past credit balance only and no addition. Then i said this emi conversion exercise is done to increase my credit balance and now you say it is same as last balance means customer is duped and tricked. Worse the official says you can preclose with charges.

Is this ethical? Does citi bank grow in this way? I am sure it is not. So time higher levels intervene and iron out this negative methods and punish the avaricious low level staff who presumably resort to these methods to earn favors at the cost of very customer who is helping citi bank's existence.

I posted a mail to nodal officer to reverse the damage done but not received any reply so far. So i may have to invoke the only option left i. E. Legal remedy in the court of law.

Hope citi official takes note of this!

Sincerely
                                  Hapless customer
                                  Tm rao

Francis Kumar
                                    Jun 24, 2017

Credit card blocked

Address: 600082
                                    Website: www.consumercomplaints.in/new_complaint

I am with CITI for past 12 years as corporate customer, I have purchased credit card 4 months before considering the good service and trust on CITI.
                                    My card was blocked for past 2 weeks due to some reasons, I have contacted customer service for the reason they confirmed me it is due to some address proof issue. I have contacted customer service 5 times including today to send the representative to collect the documents till today no...
                                    CA Mohit Manglani
                                    from Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh
                                    Jun 22, 2017

Address: 411002

Wrong information provided to attract customer. Work info about due date, wrong information about payment method and wrong info about reward points provided to attract customer.
                                    Due date was said as 55days after card i activated. It was said payment of credit card can be done through another credit card and also it was told that 5100rewards points will be given after joining. All three wrong info provided..

Shubhajit.C
                                      Jun 16, 2017

Address: 500028

Recently, 16.6.2017, i have applied for a citi bank credit card from hyderabad, the vendor who were hired by citi bank said that as per citi bank clause they will not accept eaadhar card as a valid document. When i protested and quoted rbi and government guidelines they adamantly said that this is their law and they will not accept it. They also said that they are not the bank but vendors hired by the bank and as per the bank's guideline, which they cannot reveal, they will not accept eaadhar card.

I had taken two wheeler vehicle loan. Now I need NOC but the company is not existing in the below address.

Citi Financial - No. 1, Building No. 133, Raheja Chancery Building, Brigade Road, Richmond Town,

Manjunath.
                                      Please contact [protected]