Citibank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Jul 14, 2024
Complaints 1855

File a complaint to Citibank

Having problems with Citibank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Citibank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Citibank reviews & complaints page 53

bosopo
Mar 28, 2015

I am holding a current A/c Gautam Promoters Pvt Ltd # [protected], with your bank from last 15y years, besides my father who is a ex banker with Commercial Bank of Kuwait, has been your costumer from almost 25years and at present is your Gold Club Customer .A major complaint against citi bank services. I went to the bank today for my new cheque book, I gave them the requisition slip which they did not accept instead gave me a form to fill or told me to call up the customer care to apply for the cheque book. Since I was not carrying the Co stamp I went home filled up the form sent my driver to summit the form, he was sent back saying there is a slight over writing on the form. Then I called up the phone banking they took all my verification ( my mailing address, pan card, my last transaction& mobile No) which was okay by them but because there was only one transaction done in my account they refused to help me by mailing my cheque book on my mailing address which they had verified . Then again I went to the bank to re summit the form they said sorry know the bank has closed for the day, I requested to please take the application and send it for processing on monday but they refused . This is harassment for a customer who has been with citi bank for so many years and for what just a cheque book which they had to send it on my mailing address. They just wasted my day din't accept this from Citi Bank dealing with them for so many years.Very upset about the whole incident . I think we have to reconsider dealing with Citi Bank in future. Hardeep Sahni [protected]
Very bad service

vinothrajb
    Mar 25, 2015

Hi AllI have applied for credit card through online in the first week of March and in the same week a representative from your bank has got all my documents required for application.He noticed there is no seal in bank statement and he told me to give it back by next day. After that I called him about 5 times and he told that he will come by evening or morning etc., . Last two weeks, I called him about 50 times but he didnt pick the call. If i call from the other number then he is attending the call and when I tell the name then he cuts the call. I didnt ask any loan or anything from you. Its just an application for credit card. I'm platinum credit card owner from HDFC for last 5 years.This is a very bad misbehavior from your employee which will lead in to a serious penalty from your side. This poor behavior and disrespect to customer, lead me to decide to roll back my application towards applying of credit card. Please action further and return back me all the documents which i handed over. Expecting your immediate action and response from your side. His number is: [protected] Application number: CK 2287 ThanksVinoth

Dinesh Narayana
      Mar 23, 2015

I get close to 3 calls a day from Citibank, offering me Personal Loans. I have enrolled in DoNotDisturb service, yet I get them in vernacular languages. It is most annoying as I travel abroad and I carry my India SIM for my convenience. This would mean, I get calls from India at odd hours (1 AM upwards and goes on to 4:00 AM my local time). I have mentioned to the callers that I am NOT INTERESTED, yet they call incessantly.

yashmehta15
        Mar 23, 2015

Dear sir, I am in the receipt of your Credit Card Statement in which you have charged me for credit card which i have never applied for or Nor i have received any Credit card from your end. I therefore shall not be able to make any such payments as i am not holding any card from your bank. Kindly verify the facts at your end & do not cause us any inconvenience in the above matter. thanks & Regards Manish Mehta [protected]

Siva_2605
          Mar 20, 2015

Dear Team, I am a customer using Citibank Credit card since 08/13 Today, I see there is sudden deduction of Rs.4135 from my Citibank Savings account without my approval to do so. When I checked with customer care team, mentioned this is due to some technical issue. This is totally unacceptable as this is an unplanned deduction to us and causes to imbalance in our expenditure Note: I have been maintaining the credit limit every month. Bill date 22 Feb'15 due date is 17th Mar'15 but the deduction is on 20th Mar'15 Request to understand this as consider as top priority to refund the amount back to the savings acc. latest by tomorrow morning. Awaiting for your earliest response and refund the deducted amount to savings acc. Seek your understanding & immediate support

ssundaram
            Mar 17, 2015

I have an NRI savings account with Citibank. I had planned on a trip to India this March and 3 mnths prior to travel had requested that Citibank issue a new IPIn number. 1 month after request nothing came in the mail. I submiited a query asking for the status of my PIN number and they said that they had to issue a new one and promised it would reach me within 7-10 days. 2 days prior to travel no mail as yet Call to customer service in India was the worst experience. No help and completely rude. Said I had to check with my post office. Have already done it and they tracked it and said it hasnt left India as yet. When I mentoned this to the service customer representative was totally rude and completely unhelpful. Why should a NRI even consider this stupid and arrogant bank of absolutely of no use. Worst experience ever.

ramesh1974_1
              Mar 17, 2015

I had taken a personal loan for emergency with Citi bank - Personal Loan - L1P- USF[protected]Customer id - [protected]) I had requested multiple time not to impose penalty charges / Preclosure, The bank is giving all sort of answers in delaying the process. Please let me know if 3% Pre closure Charges is as per RBI NORMS. 1) As a loyal customer for 12 yrs+ and I duly paid my dues around 32 month on date. I would request for a reversal of this penalty charges ( Rs . 19, 579.00) 2) as the penalty being reversed - I request for Service tax reversal as well ( Rs. 2420.00) 3) I had made payment of Credit Shield premium Rs.15077 . I don't see any reversal Please reverse the remaining portion for 27 month. (Rs. 6785.00) 4) Booking fee of Rs 1950 charged - can this be reversed to the balance month proportional (Rs. 877.00) 5) Amount of interest paid upfront - Rs 1950.00 - I am not sure for 3 days are you charging 1950 as interest ? Lone was released in 27 jun 2012. I need proportional amount reversal for this. This is in response to your request number[protected] for pre-closing your Citibank personal loan account number LXX-USX-451X379. Please find below the details regarding the amount outstanding as on date for the preclosure of your personal loan account. Principal outstanding as on date: 652636.00 Interest outstanding as on date: 3225.00 Cheque bounce and other penal charges: 0.00 Prepayment penalty @ 3.00 % of outstanding principal: 19579.00 Service Tax on prepayment penalty @ 12.36% : 2420.00 Total amount payable as on[protected]: 677860.00

om500
                Mar 10, 2015

Dear Sir, I am facing the citi bank atm password issue.I am unable to withdraw the money. I am the new customer of your bank and I used the same password and successfully transacted and I am unable to use the same password for new transaction but showing password invalid.I am facing so much problem. so I need your help to resolve this problem. Thank you . [protected]

Abhisheknlud
                  Mar 9, 2015

On 4 th of march I paid ORA fees of Rs 25 but due to slow connectivity balance has been deducted, but ORA fees could not be submitted, please check it and refund Rs 25 accordingly. SBIPG Ref:[protected] Ref No:-04MAR0412 Purchase Subject:MCUPOS 04 MAR0412 Card No:[protected] 04MAR UPSC ORA.

Rameanil
                    Mar 8, 2015

Hi team, This is with regards to the additional late payment charges incurred in my citi bank credit card. Its been more than a year I am having this card and have been using it, but since I am unable to access the details online I have send the required details to the head office in Chennai, after long conversations with citi bank phone advisors which is not even a toll free line. After all these I stay in Bangalore within 5 to 6km radius within the citi bank branch in MG road Bangalore. After sending my address details the citi bank advisors never bothered to verify my address. And the only communication is that i can get a monthly statement on an old e-mail address that I used to have. Now since I have used the card I am ready to pay for what I used, but Its not my fault that they have taken the address details incorrect and my enormous efforts to update my details and the calls that I have made to their centers from months, Hence would like those late charges reimbursed. Please find a resolution for the same.

Reetam
                      Feb 26, 2015

Good Day All, Let me be very clear that I am disgusted and very much in shock that a bank of such a repute can be so fraud and negligent. I will give you all a brief track details of my CITI BANK CREDIT CARD APPLICATION: 1) I applied for a Citibank Credit Card in the month of August, 2014 online ( Date I dont remember). 2) I received a call from your Sales representative that I need to submit my documents for further processing and also an e-mail stating the same on 25/08/2014. She said she will be sending a collection guy to my residence. 3) After that a complete period of silence no further follow-up. I tried calling that representative of yours several times but the number she called from said not available. 4) I contacted your ESTEEMED BANK through Facebook. Then again I received a call from your side and she said she will be sending the guy day after. But in the morning of the day she called me up and said the guy wont be coming since he has some other work and so she asked for an alternative day. Since, I was leaving India for work the next day, I was not being able to give her an alternative day. Since I was returning after 3 months from my trip she told me to re-apply again for the same once I return. 5) I re-applied in the month of December, 2014(Online) and I received a call from your side after a week. 6) Now, this time your, so very trained Sales Executive turned up at my place for collection of documents on 22/01/2015(cause I was busy with my marriage before that). His name is Mr. SAGAR ROY. I also asked for his id card to show me so that I am sure that he is from Citibank. He collected all my documents and also the application form from me and gave me the counter-part. On the counter-part I have his signature and the application number : CH3905 But after that no sms/e-mail or any sort of communication from your side to pass me my application reference number. Today, i.e. 26th Feb, 2015 I called up one of your helpline number (Kolkata) to check my application status. Now, what they told me is very shocking. He said there is no record of my application in their system and he advised me to contact MR.ROY or, re-apply for the card. This is utterly ridiculous and very shocking. A bank of such a repute can be so fraud and negligent. I have submitted the photocopies of all my documents to your very own representative and now I am being told that there is no record. If you have rejected my application then it is the duty of your Organization to inform the same to the other end. It will be a great help if you can do the needful regarding this issue asap and with priority basis. This is certainly not what your prospective customers deserve. Name: Reetam Bose. Zone: Kolkata. Phn: [protected] Thanks & Brgds, Reetam Bose.

raheem.sarb
                        Feb 26, 2015

Whom So Ever Concern, I have applied CITI bank Credit Card long time back and it got reached finally to me on this month. Here one complaint is, the card was re-dispatched 4 time through Blue Dart Courrier by stating the reason (Department was not correct), Finally I did followup wiht Blue Dart then got the Card. When I verified the Post Card 1) Contact number was not properly updated to reach me the Card 2) When I opend card inside the cover, My name is not correct I had a call with Customer Card and they said that without Tpin they cannot change the Phone number, I requested what ever details they want related to prove my proof I can give but they said that it cannot be possible to update contact without pin and then taken complaint to send the Tpin details. It never reached me I want to escalate this issue to high authority if any one who resolves this issue else please cancel my card. Regards, Abdul +91 [protected].

Sneha2015
                          Feb 24, 2015

Address: Khordha, Odisha

Sir, I had a credit card issued from your Bank which has been closed since 2009. I have no documents to support the fact that there are no dues standing against my name. So I may kindly be issued one no-dues certificate in my favour from your bank at an early date. I would request you to kindly take necessary action in this regard. Thanking you. Yours Sincerely Snehalata Das The relevant information for the said reason is as follows: Name: Snehalata Das Registered Mob. No. [protected] Date of Birth: 25th April 1970. Previous Address: Quarter No. 6/4 D – Type Flat Post – Bhoi Nagar Bhubaneswar – 751 022 Odisha Present Address: Flat No. - C 328 Manorama Mansion Manorama Estate Rasulagarh Bhubaneswar – 751 010 Odisha Mail Id. [protected]@gmail.com
                          Sir, I had a credit card issued from your Bank which has been closed since 21/10/ 2009. I have no documents to support the fact that there are no dues standing against my name. So I may kindly be issued one no-dues certificate in my favour from your bank at an early date. I would request you to kindly take necessary action in this regard as it create the problem to take loan.
                          Yours Sincerely
                          Soniya Bhagchandani.
                          Name: Soniya Bhagchandani
                          Registered Mob. No.[protected] .
                          Address: C-6, Shastri nagar, P& T square, Bhadbhada road, Bhopal . Madhya Pradesh. Pin-462003 Mail Id. [protected]@gmail.com
                          credit card number: [protected]
                          I have tried reaching all Citibank customer care numbers, emails but haven't got any response
                          I need a no due certificate as I have made all the payments on my credit card . Not sure how to get help on this from Citibank .
                          Did not expect it wud be so hard to reach to a bank for an issue.
                          Can someone please help asap.

Sarojini Nagar
                          I had not received the credit card of City Bank. My application was filled during my office hours. However, credit card couldn't be delivered at my home address and was returned to bank.
                          But the charges have been uploaded over me. On C bill, the charges are displayed and my score is reduced because of it.
                          Because of this my Home Loan from SBI is on hold and I am unable to proceed further activity.
                          Hence I have applied for reversal of charges and getting NOC certificate.

Tushar Kulkarni
                          Mob No. [protected]

Issue of No-dues Certificate - Comment #3874551 - Image #0

rhs1295
                            from Amritsar, Punjab
                            Feb 23, 2015

Please kind attention of my CIBIL report generated as 17/12/2014 vide control number is[protected].The following data is given by your office which is not related to me and some data is very old kindly update the all old record in my CIBIL report as I am given in below of present status of the data related to credit card and personal loan as Jan 2015.
                            SUBJECT: KINDLY UPDATE DATA OF CITIBANK CREDIT CARD AND PERSONAL LOAN FROM SBI

Sl No Nature of Facility. Limit as per CIBIL report dt 17.12.14.Present Outstanding as per CIBIL Report dt 17.12.14.
                            Overdue if any. Present status.

01. Credit Card Rs.57801/- Rs.46665/- Rs.6000/- Citibank Credit card payment as - following Date and amt on 19/02/15 Rs 5000/-
                            09/10/13 Rs.57000/-,
                            07/06/14 Rs.3000/-,
                            05/08/14 Rs.21200/-,
                            23/12/14 Rs.12600/-

02. Other Rs.100000/- Rs.97700/- Nil Not Related to me

03. Personal Loan Rs.330000/- Rs.225811/- Nil Personal Loan outstanding Bal as on -

Jan 15 is Rs.2, 04, 541/- and I state that the total amount Outstanding will paid on 10 Mar 15.

04. Credit Card Rs.9998/- - Rs.2/- Nil The SBI credit card already was to be close-
                            and outstanding amount was paid Rs.2/-

05. Personal Loan as Guarantor Rs.17000/- -Rs.47252/- Nil As Guarantor of personal loan there is no –
                            due amt in my account as on date further I state that by the Individual (Brower) of personal loan already has been refunded on Feb 14.

06. Personal Loan(Joint) Rs.16210/- -Rs.2102/- Nil Not Related to me

07.Personal Loan Rs.1621 -Rs.2102/- Nil Not Related to me
                            Note: SL No 1, 5 is old data as per CIBIL report and SL no2, 6, 7 is not related to me.

Baljeet Muchhal
                              Feb 23, 2015

The customer care representatives are really arrogant and not ready to listen to view point of customers they will go on talking continously without listening and then put of the phone when they can't justify their view point. It was pathetic experience talking to them

Baljeet Muchhal
                                Feb 23, 2015

I was surprised to see my bill for FEB 15 was came over the limit of transaction i set explicitly to avoid any misuse, and while i utliised the limit i didn't get informed for the over limit use and then I am being charged for over limit fees for 500 Rs. This is really a big flaw in your system. I will not use this card in future, which i am using for last 10 years.

Manohar1
                                  Feb 18, 2015

I am holding Citi bank credit card with chip. I have 11 seen international transactions made on my card on 18th Feb'15. I had very hard time to reach your customer care, when i given a call on[protected] it took around 5min to reach your representative. None of the transactions on 18th Feb'15 are performed by me. When i given a call customer care people told me they raise a dispute once amount is paid to dealer. What is the point of raising a complaint immediately, when it dispute will be raised after amount is paid for fraud transactions.

mens006
                                    Feb 16, 2015

Mahindra R.V. of the credit card ending with [protected] of citi business card. I had no fund being a old customer of the Citibank not got reversal of late payment and interest charges not let to talk to higher official in the customer care. As a old customer of the bank I want to have and had good relations with the bank. So they gave loan to me. But know they are not even considering my prospective as a forgive or as an excuse they have to give the reversal of late payment and interest charges. If it was one thousand I would pay it is more i.e., it is near to ten thousand. I find it difficult to pay I think that you will wave off the late payment and interest charges.
                                    Mahindra R.V. of the credit card ending with [protected] of citi
                                    business card. I had no fund being a old customer of the Citibank not
                                    got reversal of late payment and interest charges not let to talk to
                                    higher official in the customer care. As a old customer of the bank I
                                    want to have and had good relations with the bank. So they gave loan to
                                    me. But know they are not even considering my prospective as a forgive
                                    or as an excuse they have to give the reversal of late payment and
                                    interest charges. If it was one thousand I would pay it is more i.e., it
                                    is near to ten thousand. I find it difficult to pay I think that you
                                    will wave off the late payment and interest charges. My no is [protected]

rakeshbssavarajan
                                      Feb 11, 2015

I Basavarajan citibank card holder ([protected]) called citibank customer care on 03/02/2015 evening and requested to convert the purchases made on the add on card used by my son into emi and they informed me that they would arrange a call back from the concerned department, then the next day i got a call from the bank and i disscussed the conversion of purchases with them and they gave me all details like processing fee, rate of intrest, loan tenure and before confirming they ask for personal details like date of birth, residence address that was when they told me they have an issue with age since i am 75 years old and they said they would get back to me after taking an approval from their higher ups, then in the evening they called me and confirmed the conversion and asked me to pay exactly RS 3185 and rest RS 26915 was converted to emi, as told by them we made a neft payment of 3185 on 04/02/2015 since 4th was the last date of payment, then i get a call from the bank on 11/02/2015 @ around 4.00 pm and was told my purchases conversion was cancelled since they did not get an approval and asked me to pay the amount of RS 26915 immediately, my complaint is that out of the blue u get a call and you are asked to pay the amount with no fault of mine, how did they confirm on 4th february in spite of knowing my age, i have been humilated by the bank regarding my age and disturbed me mentally and financially, i dont want any other senior citizen to under go this, for this mistake from the bank i need a compensation.my contact details is [protected].
                                      after registering with indian consumer complaints forum a fraudster called after seeing this complaint and asked for all details of my card i sensed something wrong when he asked for cvv number of my card then i got my card blocked and filed a complaint regarding this with his name and telephone number hence i withdraw the complaint saying it is resolved.

nazira
                                        Feb 5, 2015

Dear team

I went to one of the atm (Probably union bank of india atm) in cannaught place (Near to palika bazar) almost 2 months before (I.E., on 08/08/2014) to withdraw rs. 500. After inserting the card in the machine, i entered the pin. Right after, the machine got hanged. I waited for a response, and later tried to cancel the same. After receiving no response from the machine, i took the card and left the atm room.

After that i went to another atm to withdraw the same amount (Rs. 500). After taking the amount, i got 2 sms messages stating that rs. 10, 000 and rs. 500 have been withdrawn from my account. To my surprise i raised a complaint to citibank customer care and they immediately credited my account with rs 10, 000 as a provisional credit for the disputed case. After some days however, they took the amount back stating that the transaction was valid, after confirming with the respective bank. I raised a police complaint (Fir) against the same and asked for footage from the bank after a few days. The bank however declined to provide any footage stating that the footage was not clear. After that i got a call from citibank that the case is closed.

I am extremely worried with such frequent incidents with citibank. Previously i have faced a similar situation where an amount of 20000 was debited from my account. The same got settled in two months whereby citibank asked for an apology.

Some complaint numbers while talking to citibank customer care: [protected], [protected], [protected], [protected]

Also, i received a new card after complaining for this case. The new card number is: [protected].
                                        The old card number with which the transaction was attempted, (Which has been cancelled by citibank now) is: [protected].

Kindly solve the matter asap.

Adil nazir
                                        Citibank account number: [protected]