[Resolved]  Citibank India — Citibank has fraudulent billing and harasses its customers with horrible customer service

I have been a Citibank card member since 08/04 and not once has there been a time when I have not paid my outstanding amount. The reason for that is to maintain a clean credit record with the bank and also to maintain a relationship with this bank.

Unfortunately I have come to the point where I regret the day I ever became a Citibank customer. I have realized that the only think Citibank does to its good customers is to harass them and extract money.

Here is my concern:

On May 2007, I had carried out a balance transfer of Rs 20, 000 from my Citibank credit card to another bank card by mistake. Realizing the mistake, I immediately had my parents in India put Rs 20, 000 back into my credit card account. Meanwhile I spoke to multiple customer care executives explaining the situation and in their trained fashion all they could say was "we cannot help madam, the amount you deposited will even the loan interest out automatically". Not once was I asked to pre- close the loan or any other option.Isn't it their duty to tell me this option when they knew I had the balance transfer by mistake and wanted to immediately close by paying of the amount???

1 yr later, I am still receiving bills and now they want me to pay outstanding loan interest of Rs496 in April and now Rs 1831 for May. Looks like the Rs 20, 000 I initially put in has exhausted and Citi needs more money from me as the so called loan interest.

Despite of being in the US, I have made multiple calls to Citibank customer care number[protected] regarding the issue. Details below

1) Customer service exec: Krishna at 10.17pm IST on 23 or 26th May(no help whatsoever)

2) Customer service exec: Shiva at 10.27pm IST on 27th May (took my phone number and promised that the loan department will get back to me, but phone got disconnected as usual)

3)Customer service exec: Sreejith Babu at 10.37 pm IST on 27th May (Reconfirmed that loan department will get back to me to resolve issue)

4)Customer service exec:Sindhu at 6.02 pm IST on 28th May (worst customer care exec I have come across, was rude and uncultured, she was the ultimate example of Citibank's commitment to horrible customer care, put me on a 10 min hold and then the line went dead again)

5)Customer service exec:Ramya(QA Manager) at 6.15 pm IST on 28th May (tried to listen more intelligently than the other customer care and said would call me back on Monday after looking into the matter. Unfortunately as always, line went dead even before I could give details of my calls last year so that she can retrace them)

I have honestly given up on this bank and its service. Harassment is the only motive they have when it comes to their customers. Sitting in the US I have nothing to lose but I still made multiple calls thinking that someone would have the wisdom and power to resolve the issue. Unfortunately it looks like the bank is full of people who pass the buck and fail in resolving any issue. I am disappointed that this bank/customer relation has gone totally sour.

I will make no more calls to Citibank in India and waste my money.I am mailing them this same email today. Lets see what they will do(except nothing!)

I want to know my card payment due status and credit limit avilable as on date. My Diners club No.[protected]

Citibank — Monthly Transaction Error

I have done a investment throught mutual fund for which every month a transaction goes to the mutual fund throught SIP( Systematic Investment Plan) from Citibank. But on 11th May 2009 Citibank made 3 transaction instead of one and thrice the amount has been deducted from my account.
I filled a complaint about this to Citibank but didn't received proper update regarding this. Every time I called up I have to wait to speak to the senior executive. I spoke to Mr. Harpal and he said he will contact mutual fund office and will give me a call back but till date I haven't received any call back.
I contacted my mutual fund office and asked them about the same but they said that they had received the transaction only once & they even delievered the statement of the same. Lastly I got a call from Ms. Preeti from Citibank who informed me that of my transaction 1 has already been debited in my account and the 1 transaction was of November 11th, 2008, which is not correct because of 11th November 2008 the amount was already been deducted from my account.
Please do the needful ASAP.

Citibank Credit Card — FRAUDULENT BILLING

I had a citibank credit which expired in Oct 2006. I cleared out my bills before even it expired, as i was going abroad for a long time and wanted a clean credit record before leaving. At that time itself, i placed numerous calls asking and requesting to close the account, but no steps were taken and I was asked to call from one desk to another. I was pissed of with their attitude and customer service, and left India then.
I came back to India sometime back, and i get a correspondence from them through an email telling me that I have defaulted one making payments to some interest and late fee charges that they have bene charing to me for past 3 years and want me to make payment for them. This is completely unacceptable. Anyone with any suggestions in this regard.
Subject: Information about Aditi Lad Expired.

Respected Sir/Madam,

This is formally inform you and requested you that I m Abini Lad. My sister might (aditi lad) have a citi bank credit card no. ([protected]) we don’t have any idea about that credit card but now she is expired on 27 feb-2009 my self provide her death certificate around 20-22time citi bank branch fort & lower pare as well as bank employee also meet at parel station & take form me (abini lad) that death certificate Xerox copy after that he promises me will never ever call u family & u about your sister(aditi lad) payment.
I am abini still studying in F.Y.S.C in SNDT College in churchget & staying also in college hostel m working part time job in one of Privet Company as a data entry job there I get only 2400/- in month so I can’t pay that amount at all my daddy also retired parson when aditi expired after that my mom dad both shifted in my native place because we three people depend on my sister only! & second thing wherever we was staying first in Kohinoor com. In Dadar there now staying Mr.bhoja he complaint agents your bank recovery boy because they told that recovery guy here not staying lad family after that also they visiting again & again that’s way he complain in bhoiwada police station that guy name I think subhash & his no.[protected]. your citi bank fort branch manager only told me once customer expired bank don’t have any authority to ask for payment & visit customer place but now she is no more we trying to forget her but your bank people not understanding are problem. My dad is hart patient.
So last my humble request is that please don’t visit again & again that dadar add because that Bhoja family very upset on my family whatever problem have to discus u can call on [protected] on Sunday 9.00am to 3.00pm because I m studding & in my classes cell not allow i[censored] want to contact me send me mail also on this same id.

Your truly
Abini Lad.
reg.out standing loan amount

Citibank/ATM — ATM isn't working

Greetings.
Hi there.i am using an ATM (Indian oil ) which is not working now a days,whenever i try to withdrawal some cash there is an error pop up every time "Invalid transaction" . I am very tense because of this ,please issue me a new card because i didn't receive a original INDIAN OIL card.
500 rs also has been deduct from my account i don't know why? I[censored] need any other information please contact me.

Second thing I also want to update my new address as:
"Gaurav Panwar c/o Deepak
C-60 Lohia Nagar Shanti Bhawan
Ghaziabad"
Phone No- [protected]

My old address was: "Flat No:304 II floor
Plot No: 139 Indirapuram
Ghaziabad"

Please look into this as soon as possible.
Hi Sanjay,

I have send so many reminders but, I am unable to get any reply from your customer service and your collections department.

Himanshu

"himanshu.[protected]@gmail.com" <mehta.[protected]@yahoo.co.in> wrote:
fifth reminder :-Mr. Ajay Kumbhar at[protected] is not picking up his phone, i have tired 100 times..

can you freply to my below e-mail?

FOURTH REMINDER - AND LAST REMINDER -NEED A REPLY...

THIRD REMINDER = AWAITING REPLY !!!

Awaiting reply ?????

Thank you for taking the pain of replying to me after 3 years, That to after a formal complain to RBI.

And i am also very grateful full for all your agents resorting to intimidation or harassment (either verbal or physical, against me and my family in your wrongfull billing debt collection efforts, including acts intended to humiliate publicly or intrude the privacy of the credit card holders’ family members, referees and friends, you have also made threatening and anonymous calls and making false and misleading representations. Mr.Vikas/Mrunal Khopakar and RADHA - SHE SAID SHE WAS A SUPERVISOR(I am not sure whether she gave me the correct name) on the phone to my family in India, Nor they are legally inherited for any of my debts in anyway.

I had strongly protested on the wrong full billing, and ideally you should provide me a proper explanation with the necessary, documentary evidence(In the year 2004), But i got no response, As a matter of fact there was absolutely no communication(written or verbal about any outstanding bills or the Interest charges or e-mail alerts send to me) So, I guess you where waiting for the Interest to accumulate by purpose? IF NOT THEN WHY THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FOR THE LAST 3 YEARS?

WHY IT TOOK 3 YEARS TO REPLY ME ?

WHILE ISSUING THE Card you should quote annualized percentage rates (APR) on card products, WHY HAVE YOU NOT GIVEN ME THAT?

INFACT THE EMAIL ATTACHED ALSO DOES NOT STATE ANYTHING ON THE INTEREST RATE?

WHY WAS MY WRITTEN COMPLAINT NOT ADDRESS for 3 years?

WHY RADHA DID NOT GIVE ME THE ADDRESS AND THEIR SUPERVISOR's NAME?

I had sent 3 written register post letters(March'2004), with enclosed Citibank Card - And agreed to pay, I have, surrendered my credit card on account of any change in credit card charges to my disadvantage, and i think i am legally he may be permitted to do so without the citibank levying any extra charge for such closure.
Hence, I am no more a Citibank Customer - Just to remind you on that.

WHY WAS MY GREIVANCES/REDRESSAL NOT ADDRESS PROMPTLY WITHOUT INVOLVING DELAYS, AND NOW YOU HAVE STARTED HARRASING ME AFTER 3 YEARS, WHEREIN I AM NO MORE IN INDIA?

WHY THE Interest fee (grace) period – NOT illustrated with examples ?

WHY WAS THE MONTHLY Overdue interest charges— given to me on monthly and annualised basis ?

WHY WAS THE Billing statements— not send to me periodicly?

Use of DSAs / DMAs and other agents through
unfair practices in debt collection.

Head Customer Care <head.[protected]@citi.com> wrote:
Dear Mr. Mehta,

This has reference to your email dated October 28, 2007 addressed to the Reserve Bank of India.
We have reviewed your account and wish to submit the following:
Our records indicate that we have either been receiving part payments or no payments against the dues every month and accordingly late payment and interest charges are accruing every month on your aforesaid credit card. Please allow us to explain the following:
The interest charges are billed to you in the event we do not receive the payment of the total outstanding, and on all cash advances taken by you. The rate at which the interest charge is levied is calculated on the basis of certain criteria that include your card usage history and repayment pattern.

The Late Payment Charges are levied in the event we do not receive the payment of even the minimum amount due by the payment due date.

· There is absolute transparency in communicating these charges and the methodology of calculation as all our statements carry these details on the reverse. In fact, the details of the charges are available on our website too under ‘Schedule of Charges’
Your February 2004 statement carried a total outstanding of Rs 7445.80/- with the due date of 17.03.2004. We received payment of Rs 4240 vide cheque # 30796 dated March 20, 2004 against the aforesaid outstanding by the due date and accordingly interest charges were levied in your statement for March 2004. The outstanding as per the statement of March 2004 was Rs 9289.72.Against this outstanding we did not receive any payment and hence late payment charge and service charge were levied in April 2004 statement.
Please find enclosed a summary of your credit card account from January 2004 to October 2005. Please note that against a total transaction of Rs 62030.67 we have received a payment of Rs 43598.66 only.
As on date the amount outstanding on your aforesaid credit is Rs 102877.64 due to accrual of penal charges on your card account.
We are keen to resolve the matter and will render all possible assistance in helping you clear the outstanding on the aforesaid card. In this respect, we request you to contact our officer Mr. Ajay Kumbhar at[protected] for any further assistance in this regard.
Should you require any further assistance in future, please feel free to write to us at head.[protected]@citigroup.com. We would be glad to assist you.
Warm Regards
From the desk of Head – Customer Care

Himanshu Mehta
e-mail Id:-himanshu.[protected]@gmail.com
Hand Phone:[protected]
Meet people who discuss and share your passions. Join them now.

Himanshu Mehta
Bring your gang together - do your thing. Start your group.

Himanshu Mehta

DELETE button is history. Unlimited mail storage is just a click away.

Himanshu Mehta

Dear Manager,
We are not receiving your monthly statement by last two months.This my complaint please do the needful.
CitiBank India terrorist activities. Detail at http://ukmall.net/undigested/spam

CITIBANK ATM — CITIBANK CHARGES MONEY FOR OTHER BANKS TRANSACTION

This is regarding CIIBANK ATM machine. my name is Harish Arekar and i had withdrawn Rs. 500 on 14th august 2010. And the total amount withdrawn from my account Rs. 1000.
its SAD that the decution ar made like this...
i am really looking for the reply on this matter.

Citibank Cards Manager,
Chennai.

I am card holder of your bank since 2003. There has been no chance of late payment on any account. Last time in March 2012, I requested for payment through ECS and the form duly filled in and with requisite attachments was sent to your Chennai office in the same month. I inquired through Customer care Center as to whether payment due on 30th April, 2012 should be sent by me through cheque or not. It was told to me that the ECS payment has been made active on your card and you need not send any payment through cheque or cash. An SMS was also requested by to this effect and as result of this request I received an SMS also. So I did not send the due payment. But unfortunately, the ECS could not technically succeed and I was informed after due date to deposit the money in cash at the Branch. I received such message that ECS has not succeeded and on the very next day I deposited the money in cash at the Branch. These facts you can check up from the records.

Though I am not at fault, an amount of Rs. 600 has been added to the next statement as late fee. I think this is an arbitrary decision and it should not have been done without going into the merits of the case. I request that this late fee amount may please be reversed keeping in view my previous record of payment of last 8-9 years. I have sent payment in full including Rs. 600 due on 30th May 2012. Please go through the above facts and consider my request sympathetically and favorably and reverse the late fee charges.

Suggestion: It is suggested that like other Banks, ECS process may be processed four five days in advance of the due date so that if ECS does not succeed, card holder can be advised in time to make payment before due date and no late fee charges are levied. Late fee charges should be enforced in such cases where the defaulters are doing it deliberately and in routine. One or two defaults can be forgiven if circumstances merits waival.

An early action taken in the matter may please be advised.

Thanking you in anticipation,

Rajinder Pershad Jindal
Citibank Card No. [protected]
Regd.Email ID: [protected]@gmail.com
Regd. Mobile No. [protected]
18.05.2012 at 1730 hrs.
How CITIBANK stole my money

I should name this note "How Citibank Stole my Money"
I work hard, really hard and I make enough money to get by. I am not rich by any standards and also have student loans to clear.

Around this time last year a certain amount of money was to be deposited into my bank account from my provident fund office in India. Even after a year, that money has not been credited. Even worse, on further investigation, it turns out that not only has this money not been credited, it was not even returned to the Provident Fund Office. The PF office has written a complaint to Citibank about this (attached picture) but this has simply been ignored.

I would like to understand what Citibank has done with my money. You filthy corrupt take money from the hard working middle class with absolute no shame. These Christmas gifts and offers you are promoting are probably off the money you stole from me in the first place.

What have you done with my money?

Citibank Credit Card — Payment to fraud company being released despite being informed.

I paid money via Internet to vysyaa.in for purchase of samsung mobile galaxy note. There was no confirmation by the company till next day. I checked through net to find out company being fraud. And asked the credit card company to stop the transaction.i m waiting for their response
I have lost my citi bank credit card. i dont remember the card no. my name is jobby jose. i'm from bangalore. can anyone help to block the card. i havent used the card anytime. even the password not set. please help to block the card.

jobby jose
Citibank Customer Care Service,

I am holding a Citibank Credit Card No. [protected] for the last 20 years or more.
As far as my memory goes, I have never been a defaulter in making payment.

Last month (February) I got your bill for Rs.981.03 & payment was made promptly
on 4/2/2013. Later after a week I got an intimation that there seems to be some over-writing
on the cheque that is why it has not been deposited & sent back to me for making re-payment.
That was also paid promptly.

Now yesterday I got my next bill (March) charging me Rs.300/- as late payment fee. I am
really shocked to see this bill. Where I have made mistake & why I have been charged.
If the cheque was deposited & comes back then I am responsible. But if Citibank has taken
its own decision & in the process it is delayed, then I think I should be given some grace time.

Kindly look into this matter symphathetically & request to wave of this late fee.
I hope you will consider my request keeping, my long association with Citibank, in mind.

Thanking you & awaiting your favorable reply.
MN Singhal
I have used Citibank credit card no [protected].I request to convert Emi 20000.but same date I call customer care I request to cancel my Emi. He say ok, I will send a mail for cancel uer Emi .but still not cancel add my statement that Emi. Iam not accept that Emi. Please do the need full
thank u.
A few years ago, I opened an NRI account at Citibank/Citibank
India NRA account center in New York. The account management was
terrible. When I wanted to close the account and get my money back, I
got run around, asking for multiple documents of proof. Even after I
sent them in, they refused to accept them. I have spent a lot of time on their customer support lines, which are hopeless,
After almost two years of
trying, today I received a text message from Citibank India saying that
they have closed my account but did not say what they have done with the
money that was in the account.
A few years ago, I opened an NRI account at Citibank/Citibank India NRA account center in New York. The account management was terrible. When I wanted to close the account and get my money back, I got run around, asking for multiple documents of proof. Even after I sent them in, they refused to accept them. I have spent a lot of time on their customer support lines, which are hopeless, After almost two years of trying, today I received a text message from Citibank India saying that they have closed my account but did not say what they have done with the money that was in the account.

Citibank
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    36%
    Citibank Phone
    +91 240 663 4653
    +91 79 2640 4653
    +91 79 2642 2484
    Citibank Address
    Citibank N.A., P.O. Box No. 4830, Anna Salai Post Office, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India - 600002
    View all Citibank contact information