Show menu
Close
FAQ FAQ Categories Categories Sign in Sign in
Close
ADVERTISEMENT

[Resolved]  Kotak Bank Saving Account — non maintenance charges levied for saving account

I got a zero balance account along with the Kotak insurance policy that I had taken. On Dec 2008 Rs 800 were duducted from my account stating NMC (non maintainance charges). They said this was since I did not pay my insurance premium THROUGH THAT SPECIFIC ACCOUNT. I pay my insurance premiums online through my salary account. Why is is compulsorarily required to pay it through that specific account. Had a long conversation regarding this but to no good.
I just want to make people aware of this so that they do not feel cheated as I am feeling now. So, BEWARE before taking any account from this bank. This is a worst service that I have encountered from any bank.

Below is the email chain. Guys PLS BEWARE. I hope the word of mouth would help others.


--- On Sat, 7/2/09, Smita Jeevan //Kotak /Bank <smita.[protected]@kotak.com> wrote:

From: Smita Jeevan //Kotak /Bank <smita.[protected]@kotak.com>
Subject: RE: Your Banking Operations with Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
To: "Raut, Vineet" <vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com>, "Suchitra Poojari //Kotak /Bank" <suchitra.[protected]@kotak.com>
Cc: [protected]@yahoo.com
Date: Saturday, 7 February, 2009, 4:04 PM


Dear Mr Raut,

In continuation to your below mentioned mail, we wish to reiterate that we are unable to reverse the non maintenance charges levied to your account. The same had been intimated to you vide our letter dated 22/01/2009.

We sincerely regret the incovenience caused to you in this regard.


Thanks and regards

Smita Jeevan | Deputy Manager| Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
Gr Flr, Sainara Bldg., Linking Road, Santa Cruz (W), Mumbai 400 054 (+[protected] EXT 119 |(+[protected] F.


[protected][protected][protected][protected]
From: Raut, Vineet [mailto:vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com]
Sent: Thursday, February 05, 2009 1:41 PM
To: Suchitra Poojari //Kotak /Bank
Cc: [protected]@yahoo.com
Subject: RE: Your Banking Operations with Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.


Hi Suchitra,
Thanks a lot for the long awaited mail and also for sending a scanned copy of letter which was sent on 22nd ( not received by me yet).

I do understand the reason that you had written down. It might be just from your part but I am not happy since I was not told this during the time the account was opened. I was told that this is just a free account that you get FREE with the insurance policy; Else I wouldnt have wanted that since I already have a zero balance accounts of 2 other banks and they dont charge me the NMC (i.e. they are truly a zero balance accounts).

Anyways gone is gone. I see two options going forward:

1. In future I pay the insurance premiums through this account and hence this account remains a zero balance account. But for this you need to reverse the already levied charges.

OR

2. I close this savings account. Hence tell me the easiest and hastle way for the same.

Please let me know in either case.

P.S. your words of sincere gratitude would mean anything to me only if you can help, else, for me, it is just a script that you use in your everyday reply.

Awaiting your response.
Vineet

[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Suchitra Poojari //Kotak /Bank [mailto:suchitra.[protected]@kotak.com]
Sent: Wed 2/4/2009 16:10
To: Raut, Vineet
Subject: FW: Your Banking Operations with Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.


Dear Mr. Raut,



This is further to our email dated January 30, 2009 regarding the concerns raised by you.

At the outset please accept our sincere gratitude for the time taken and effort made by you in sharing your concerns with us.

We wish to inform you that the Average Quarterly Balance (AQB) for your account (account number [protected]) is Rs.10, 000.00. If the same is not maintained, Non-Maintenance Charges (NMC) will be levied. The account was opened under a promotional scheme, wherein the NMC was waived subject to debit of Insurance policy premium. As the same is not being debited, NMC has been levied. Requisite information was sent in the September 2008 statement.


We are unable to accede to your request for reversal of charges levied to your account towards NMC. Please also find a copy of the letter sent to you dated January 22, 2009.


We trust the above addresses your query adequately. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you.


Assuring you of our best services at all times.


Regards,

Suchitra N. Poojari
Manager, Service Quality

[protected][protected][protected][protected]

Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd., 1st Floor, IN G.S. Point, Plot No. 8, C.S.T Road, Kalina, Santacruz – (E), Mumbai-98


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Suchitra Poojari //Kotak /Bank
Sent: Friday, January 30, 2009 10:35 AM
To: 'vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com'
Subject: Re: Your Banking Operations with Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.



Dear Mr. Raut,



This has reference to your email dated January 29, 2009 regarding the concerns raised by you.
We are in receipt of your email and shall revert to you at the earliest.


Assuring you of our best services at all times.


Regards,

Suchitra N. Poojari

Manager, Service Quality


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd., 1st Floor, IN G.S. Point, Plot No. 8, C.S.T Road, Kalina, Santacruz – (E), Mumbai-98


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Raut, Vineet [mailto:vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com]
Sent: Thursday, January 29, 2009 12:51 PM
To: Nodalofficer //Kotak /Bank
Cc: [protected]@yahoo.com
Subject: FW: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]





Hi,

Please find below the email chain regarding the complaint that was raised around 5th Jan. Its very sad that the same is not yet resolved and the service from the branch was far far away from satisfactory.



I hope that atleast this email will ring some bells. Thanks in advance.



Regards,
Vineet


Vineet Raut / Capgemini India / Mumbai

[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Customer Feedback //Kotak /Bank [mailto:customer.[protected]@kotak.com]
Sent: Thu 1/22/2009 10:35
To: Raut, Vineet
Subject: RE: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]

Dear Mr. Raut,



This has reference to your email dated January 21, 2009 regarding the concerns raised by you.



We regret you have had a reason to be dissatisfied with our services. We are currently in the process of investigating the matter and shall revert to you at the earliest.



The reference number for this query is[protected].



Assuring you of our best services at all times.



Regards,



Tilakraj S. Shetty

Assistant Manager

Customer Correspondence Team




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Raut, Vineet [mailto:vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2009 1:39 PM
To: Customer Feedback //Kotak /Bank
Cc: [protected]@yahoo.com
Subject: FW: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]



Hi,

This is to let you know that I am very much dissappointed with the service provided by the bank for its customers. Below is the email chain, yesterday I got a call from some Lady (not sure if she was from the same branch), concerning the complaint. Sorry to say, but she did not have any knowledge about talking to the customer. I was told that the ammount(for non maintainance) was deducted from my account since I did not pay my policy premium through the KOTAK BANK ACCOUNT. I pay my premiums through the netbanking facility provided by the Kotak mutual fund. I only took the savings account since I was told while taking the policy that this is a FREE ZERO BALANCE account for lifetime.



If this is the case, I would like to close the bank account, since I already have zero balance accounts from other banks. I hope that my complaint would be considered else I might have to escalate it to the next level.

Expecting some response from your end.



Thanks,

Vineet Raut

[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Customer Care //Kotak/Bank [mailto:[protected]@kotak.com]
Sent: Mon 1/19/2009 18:10
To: Raut, Vineet
Subject: RE: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]

Dear Mr. Raut,



We regret we are unable to meet our earlier committed time lines for resolution and would require some more time. We assure you that your query is being attended to on priority and we will revert to you within next three working days.



It is our endeavor to provide timely responses, however, at times such aberrations occur, where we are unable to respond within committed time lines.



Your continued patience is solicited in the matter.



The reference number for this query is[protected].



Assuring you of our best services at all times.



Regards,



Tilakraj S. Shetty

Assistant Manager

Customer Correspondence Team




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Raut, Vineet [mailto:vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com]
Sent: Monday, January 19, 2009 4:38 PM
To: Customer Care //Kotak/Bank
Cc: [protected]@yahoo.com
Subject: RE: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]



More than 15 days passed. still no response. Not even a single call from the branch.

Can I have the contact number/ email id of the branch manager?



Vineet Raut

[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Customer Care //Kotak/Bank [mailto:[protected]@kotak.com]
Sent: Fri 1/9/2009 16:25
To: Raut, Vineet
Subject: RE: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]

Dear Mr. Raut,



At the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.



With reference to your query we are having the same checked at our end and shall revert to you at the earliest. Your patience in the matter is solicited.



The reference number for this query is[protected].



Assuring you of our best services at all times.



Regards,



Tilakraj S. Shetty

Assistant Manager

Customer Correspondence Team




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Raut, Vineet [mailto:vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com]
Sent: Friday, January 09, 2009 1:28 PM
To: Customer Care //Kotak/Bank
Subject: RE: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]



What you have told me is what I already knew. What I want is a solution or let me know the email ID where I can report my grievances or escalate the matter.

The home branch can call me 10 times suggesting me to invest my money, but they wont call when these things happen.





Vineet Raut


[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Customer Care //Kotak/Bank [mailto:[protected]@kotak.com]
Sent: Thu 1/8/2009 19:58
To: Raut, Vineet
Subject: RE: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]

Dear Mr. Raut,



At the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.



With reference to your query we would like to inform you that we have forwarded the contents of your email to your Home Branch and have arranged for an officer to contact you with regards to the same.



The reference number for this query is[protected].



Assuring you of our best services at all times.



Regards,



Mahesh S. Savita

Assistant Manager

Customer Correspondence Team




[protected][protected][protected][protected]

From: Raut, Vineet [mailto:vineet.[protected]@capgemini.com]
Sent: Thursday, January 08, 2009 1:02 PM
To: Customer Care //Kotak/Bank
Cc: Client Service Desk //Kotak/Insurance
Subject: Awaiting response for complaint no :[protected]



Hi,

It is more than 2 days and I am still waiting for the response for the complaint no.[protected]

Vineet Raut
ADVERTISEMENT
Complaint marked as Resolved Aug 14, 2020
Complaint comments  3 CommentsShareTweet

Comments

KOTAK SAVING ACOUNT — CHARGES OF NON MAINTEN

DEAR SIR/MAMDEM.

I HAVE A SAVING A/C IN KOTK BANK THE NO IS : [protected]. NAME : JIGNA BALVANTRAY SHAH. IN MY A/C THEY CHARGED ME TO NON MAINTENESS CHARGE 857.00 RS. BUT WHEN I OPEN A/C IN THE BANK THEY TOLD ME YOU HAVE A ONE YEAR LIMIT OF 0.00 RS. BALANCE AND AFTER THAT THEY CHARGED ME IN MY A/C WITHOUT ANY NOTICE OF MAINTENESS SO PLEASE HELP ME TO REVERCE THAT CHARGES IN MY ACOUNT.

I HOPEFULLY WAITING FOR YOUR REPLY.

THANKING YOU..
yes, the same thing happed to me also. KMBL has debited Rs. 827 from my saving account with the same reson "NMC Charges" though it was a zero balance account.
This is a worst service that I have encountered from any bank.
ADVERTISEMENT

Post your Comment

    I want to submit Complaint Positive Review Neutral Comment
    code
    Kotak Mahindra Bank
    Customer Care Service
    Customer satisfaction rating
    31%
    Complaints
    3846
    Pending
    0
    Resolved
    1134
    Kotak Mahindra Bank Address
    27 BKC, C 27, G Block, Bandra Kurla Complex, Bandra (E), Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    View Full Information
    ADVERTISEMENT