[Resolved]  MakeMyTrip — Misleading Advertisements and Cheating

I am writing this letter with the motive to inform people who are planning to take any kind of services from Make My Trip in India or abroad. Also I would like to urge all of you to bring it to the attention of every possible reader/viewer etc.

In the below passages I will write in detail about my experience with this pathetic organization and how people involved in this organization mislead innocent customers and manipulate things.

I am an NRI based in Dubai and was looking for a holiday package to Europe for a week’s duration. After going through many advertisements in the newspapers and websites I finally found a trip “European Highlights” being offered by makemytrip.com.

This package was offered on their India website. Since I am based in Dubai I contacted their India office through their online chat option. I was serviced by a chat operator “Jiteneder Sharma”. He told me that I can avail the same offer from Dubai as well as they have an office in Dubai. This office in Dubai is by the name of Apollo Flight Centre.

The very next day I called up Apollo Flight Center to enquire about the said package. I was serviced by a lady called “Gertrude”, she asked me to visit their UAE based website makemytrip.ae for further details. On visiting the site I got the below information:

Package Name – European Highlights
Price - USD 1499 per person on twin sharing basis.
Duration - 6 nights and 7 days.
Departure Date - 25 July, 2009

(Information as published on their website is saved in the document attached.)

The above package included the Air Fare, Hotel Accommodation, Sight Seeing, Meals and Guided Tours etc.

The above details suited my requirement; hence I contacted Ms Gertrude from Apollo Flight Centre to give me the final quote for 4 adults and 3 infants so that I can book the package. And this is where the whole PROBLEM started.

This lady was completely IGNORANT of the package/process and for more than a week she kept giving me different quotes and prices. Every time I used to ask for any additional information regarding the package, her previous quote would change without any reason. On asking why the rate has changed, she would have no answer. This was getting very irritating and confusing for myself. During all this confusion I was contacted by the General Manager (Malco Rodriguez) of Apollo Flight Cetnter. He himself apologized for the incorrect information being provided by his staff and assured me that in a day or two he will personally provide me with all the services that I require.

In spite of talking to the GM of Apollo Flight Centre, there was no progress and for more than 10 days I still did not had a quote of the package.

Gone through all this and still waiting, I decided to bring it to the notice of the CEO(Deepak Kalra) of makemytrip.com, hoping that things would get streamlined.

I wrote my complete incident to Mr. Deepak Kalra (CEO, makemytrip.com) and copied Mr. Malco Rodriguez (GM, Apollo Flight Centre). Within half an hour I received a call from Mr. Malco. He tried to pacify me and apologized for everything that had gone wrong. I would like to quote his words here “Mr. Kashyap, I would not be able to sleep until and unless I resolve your matter”.

Mr. Malco asked me for a day’s time to resolve the issue. The next day I got a call from him that he had finalized the prices and everything but he would require another 2-3 hours to confirm on the departure dates. I had started to feel comfortable that now the things are speeding up but I was wrong. There was no communication from him since then till date.

Another 2-3 days passed and time was running. I had no clue what was going on as no one was in a position to help me out here. It had been approximately 15 days and till date I did not had the quote.

Seeing no response again from makemytrip.com Dubai office, I wrote to Mr. Deepak Kalra (CEO, makemytrip.com) again.

This time I was contacted over the email by Ms Geeta Eral (customer service Manager India, makemytrip.com). She apologized for all the inconvenience that I had to go through because of makemytrip.com and assured me that she will get back to me on resolving the issue ASAP. She also mentioned that I can write back to her for any issue directly.I thought that this time something will happen and I will finally be able to book a package for my family and friends but as earlier I was wrong.

Ms Geeta did not replied to me for another 2-3 days . I was wondering what is happening on my issue. On writing back to Ms Geeta for the status on my issue, I got a reply that we are working out on the departure dates and it would take another 3-4 days for finalizing the same. I got really very irritated . I was unable to understand what were they trying to finalize. Everything that a customer needed was mentioned on their advertisement banner on their website. I was not asking for a customized package for myself but what was mentioned on their website. I wrote back to Ms Geeta (copying the CEO) strongly that why it is taking so long to book a package which is advertised on your website. I even asked her to let me know if their company was not in a position to offer the package as advertised on their website. I got no reply from her.

It had been around 20 days that I have been breaking my head with fools in makemytrip.com but no resolution. After 20 days later I am being contacted by Mr. Manoj Gagwani (Head International Business India, makemytrip.com).

As usual he apologized and gave me the same stories which I have heard from Mr. Malco and Ms Geeta Eral. He asked me to give him 2-3 days and he will finalize everything and get back to me.

Even after a week there was no response from the so called Head – International Business of makemytrip.com I completely understood that they are just trying to fool customers and not in a position to offer what they have stated on their website.

I wrote my last mail to the CEO by copying all the above people with whom I have corresponded with. I clearly wrote that I will be highlighting this whole incident to the relevant authorities in India and UAE so that innocent customers are not cheated.

In the end I would like to strongly highlight/summarize the below points:

Staff working in makemytrip.com unaware/ignorant of what their company is advertising.
Serious training issues with staff in makemytrip.com.
Service level of makemytrip.com is far below the standards.
Misleading information being published on their website as well as brochures.
Unable to provide what is being promised in the advertisements. Which is an offense in the eyes of the law.
Lot of hidden cost not told to the customer at the time on enquiry, that is the reason prices keep changing everytime.
Cheating Indian as well as foreign customers by their planned nexus.

It is my kind request to take this incident seriously and strong action needs to be taken against such organizations who are looting customers money, breaking all the laws and still in business.

I might be one of such thousand customers who had been mislead by makemytrip.com. But as being a responsible citizen it becomes my duty to highlight these issues to the public.

(Banners as advertised on makemytrip.com are attached in the document)

Saujanya Kashyap
Contact - [protected]
May 10, 2017
Nov 15, 2009
MakeMyTrip India Customer Care's response

With reference to your comment posted above, kindly share your MakeMyTrip Booking ID and more details on the type of booking it was - air, rail or bus ticket - for us to look in to resolving the issue for you.

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Customer Care
Nov 15, 2009

We checked our records and found that your cancelled ticket has been re-issued by MakeMyTrip.com.

As communicated to you, the case has been addressed and resolved to your satisfaction

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Customer Care
Dec 11, 2009
Dear Ms. Geetha,

With reference to your post, I apologize for the inconvenience you have faced in your interaction with MakeMyTrip.

Kindly note, a full refund for your MakeMyTrip Booking ID FLT[protected] has been processed. The refund reference number (RRN) for this is[protected]. You can expect the amount to reflect in your account with 5 business days, depending on your billing cycle and bank.

At MakeMyTrip, we pride ourselves in our customer service and product offering and assure you that your experience was certainly not the norm.

We are hopeful that you will give us another opportunity to assist you with your travel needs in the future.

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Care
Dec 22, 2009
Dear Mr. Thulaseedharan,

With reference to your post above, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you faced during your interaction with us.

As communicated to you by MakeMyTrip, we have initiated a full refund for your booking. The amount will be reversed via the same mode of payment that you used to make the booking online.

I would like to assure you that at MakeMyTrip, we pride ourselves in customer service and the lapse you faced in your interaction with us is by no means a norm that we follow.

We do hope you give us another chance to assist you with your travel requirements in the future.

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Customer Care
Jan 21, 2010
Dear Bipin Nair,

As per the details, we were unable to reach you over the phone. However, we had emailed you all the information regarding activation of your vouchers.

We have not heard from you thereafter. Kindly email [protected]@makemytrip for anything further.

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Care
Jan 28, 2010
Dear Anubhav Singh,

With reference to your post above, kindly share your MakeMyTrip Booking ID in order for us to retrieve the details of your booking. You can email this along with your contact details to [protected]@makemytrip.com.

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Care
Feb 09, 2010
Dear Mr. Kumar,

With reference to your post above, the MakeMyTrip Booking ID you've mentioned - IN091R0214842 - is invalid. Can you please share your email address you used at the time of booking. You can email the information to [protected]@makemytrip.com.

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Care
Feb 10, 2010
Dear Mr. Kumar,

As communicated to you by MakeMyTrip, the refund has been initiated for Rs. 7773.00 for your MakeMyTrip Booking ID FLT[protected]. The Refund Reference Number is [protected]. You can expect the amount to reflect in your account within 5 business days.

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Care
Feb 22, 2010
Dear Mohammed Aleem,

With reference to your post and subsequent communication with ShiftThoughts, the team attempted to deliver the voucher to you twice but without success. Therefore, we are processing your refund for the voucher amount to you.

Devika Khosla
Mar 04, 2010
Dear Sumit Basu,

With reference to your post above, we have retrieved the call and voice log of your conversation with our representative. As per the call and voice log, it was communicated to you that there is an advance 30 day purchase condition as well as other relevant details of the offer.

If you would like us to share the call and voice log, kindly share an email address with us where we can email it to you.

Reagards,

Devika Khosla

MakeMyTrip Care

Make My Trip — Cheated me with the package

I booked a hotel package with Make my trip website (makemytrip.com) for Goa location from 3rd December to 6th December. These showed me the package, confirmed it twice and at the last moment when I confirmed it with the hotel staff, they (hotel staff) said there is not such package booked for me.

The are such , I will recommend no one to book any travel package from them.

Make My Trip India Private Limited — Refund of cancelled Ticket

I have booked a Air Ticket for travel from Kolkata to Delhi in Indigo Flight No. 6E-204, The details of the ticket are as under:

Name of Passenger : Manoj Malu
Make My Trip Booking ID No. : NF[protected]
AIRLINE PNR NO.: C93CDE
DATE OF TRAVEL: 02.11.2010
NAME OF AIRLINE ; INDIGO
DATE OF BOOKING ; 31.10.2010
MODE OF PAYMENT ; CREDIT CARD

I have cancelled the above ticket directly with the Airline on 01.11.2010 and informed the company (Make my trip ). In spite of my regular follow up the company has not yet refunded my money.
Was trying to book a ticket in MakeMyTrip. After entering the credit card details and submitting, the next page showed booking error and the info that amount charged will be refunded in 3 working days.
After a month, and no refund from MMT.com I called them and was told by the rep that she was able to see the transaction and will refund in 5 business days. After 1 month and 1 week, when I called I was told the amount was already refunded. After 2 months still no refund. When ever I call they say either it was refunded( still they are not able to give any transaction ID for the refund) or they could not find the transaction in the first place when they charged my card first time. Still no refund or any reliable answer. The amount was over 10K rs.

Seems like a systematic scam whereas few reps tell customers that it was refunded though no reference or transaction ID to take the issue with the Bank or they simply say that they could not find anything about the booking.

These guys definitely need some serious scrutinizing and beating from law enforcement.

MakeMyTrip — E-ticket refund

some days ago i tried to book my ticket on internet with MAKEMYTRIP.COM website suddely page vanished and money debited from my bank account, 17 days gone but still i didnt get refund, please help my booking id is NR[protected]
with regards
Dinesh Solanki
Dhammagiri vipassana
Igatpuri
Nasik

fraudulent practice of makemytrip.com, it is not trustoworthy website

MakeMyTrip — no refund even after 2 months NR251291939200

Hii, this is Sunil Kumar and I am writting this because of the harrowing experience I had with makemytrip.com.

I had booked a rail ticket from TATANAGAR to MUMBAI for my uncle's family to travel in Nov 10. but due to some unforseeable circumstances, I had to cancell the booking. Upon cancellation I received a mail from makemytrip related to my cancellation and I was told that the amount will be credited back to my credit card acc withing 7-14 working days starting 14th Nov.

I waited for more than a month for the money to come to my account. Post which I called their customer care and wherein I was told that I need to contact the bank for the same. I complied with them and I contacted my bank (ICICI Bank) for refund status. The bank confirmed that they have not received any instrucitons from makemytrip relating to the funds.

Again I tried calling the makemytrip ppl, who gave me the same scripted response, that I need to wait for another 2-3 days for the refund to come as the case is pending with their ACCOUNTS dept. I also mailed my credit card statements on the instrucitons of the executives Mr Aniruddha Yadav and Ms Suman Rani as I had to call in twice to confirm the status on 20th Dec 2010.

Now today 11th Jan 2011, I was too fed up with the delayed response so I called in once more and voila! the same response!!!

You guys must be really good at training your customer service executive, hats off to your training team, cos no matter how old is the case, same response is to be given to all and sundry.

Now I want to know few things:

1) Does anyone reads any mails sent by customers at makemytrip?

2) What is the so called "ACCOUNTS" dept doing to resolve customer's cases?

3) Is there any escalation done when a case is lying unworked/ unresolved for a certain no of days?

4) I am not concerned about the refund money as by gods grace I have ample to support myself, but if a representative of your company commits a timeline, doesn't it becomes a target of the company to fulfil the commitments made by the executive?
Or is it just that the executives have been hired to talk fancy english and misguide customers?

A genuine feedback to makemytrip:
"I am so disappointed with the service offered to me the first time, that I can assure you that I WILL never come back for any reservations in future, and beleive me I travel a lot for business. and I WILL also discourage my friends and family travelling for business or pleasure to avoid makemytrip as far as they can.

Currently this month I will be taking 6 flights from and to Mumbai and flying to Kolkata, Bangalore and Indore and this is pretty much the same for me throughout the year. All reservations done on cleartrip.com, which have a far superior customer service and transparent dealing."

I hope any senior person from makemytrip comes across this and get this resolved in order to prevent the reputatation of the company from getting spoilt even more.

For anyone reading this and having had such an experience with makemytrip. I request your help in this regard as I plan to lodge a case in consumer court asking for penalties and compensation.

Pls help me out in this case if you can.

Sunil Kumar.
Refund Confirmation Booking Reference Number NR[protected]

MakeMyTrip — No Refund since one month

I have booked a Bus ticket online through MakeMyTrip on 22/12/210 from Ernakulam to Chennai. But the ticket has not been conformed because of their technical problem. But the amount has been detected from my bank account. At the same time i received a mail from MakeMyTrip mentioned that, same amount will be refunded in 2 working days. Till now i have not received the refund. When ever i asked over by phone and mailing, they used to say that wait for 48 hr to 72 hr. Kindly look at the complaint and provide me how collect my refund from MakeMyTrip. For your reference here i am giving the Ticket booking ID NU[protected]. And complaint Reference ID is[protected] and [protected]. Looking forward for you replies. Thanks,
yours Sincerely,
Gavaskar.G
I was also looking for email id of CEO. Their services and support are pathetic. I also pledged never to use their services. It's been 20 days and still I'm fighting for refund of failed transaction because of their stupid website was malfunctioning with ICICI netbanking.
Unfortunately I have similar bad experience with MMT last week when I booked holiday package for Thailand from Delhi. I agree with you staff is ignorant and do not brief the customers about the details beforehand and hide lot many information which essentially need to be shared.I had to wait for 7 killing hours at the Bankok airport for the tour organizer to take us to the hotel.Nobody briefed us about the gap of pickup time and flight arrival at the BKK airport. When I reported about this pathetic incident, alll the sales rep telling different stories to secure their job. The MMT management must call their comments and penalise them for inconveniences faced by the customer due to their lack of communication but i guess nothing is going to happen. The hotels staff in Thailand were uncooperative and nasty sometimes.The tour organizer at Bankok and Pattaya were non informative and did not brie[censored]s about the visitable places before leaving us at the hotels. I overpaid Rs 3000/- wrongly and reported the matter to the concerned sales rep who assured me to refund the excess amount with in a week but even after the lapse of two weeks, there is no information.I do agree with you about their dismal services and would like to share my horrible experience with would-be customers before heading to deal with MMT.
I HAVE BOOKED TICKET THROUGH MAKE MY TRIP OF RS 52,293/- ON 02.01.2010 THROUGH MY CREDIT CARD , THIS AMOUNT HAS BEEN DEBITED TWICE THOUGH MY CREDIT CARED ACCOUNT , AFTER A LONG TELEPHONIC CONVERSATION AND E MAIL'S I GOT THE REFUND OF MAOUNT AFTER 7 MONTHS , DURING THOSE VERY PERIOD AND TILL NOW BANK IS CHARGING INTEREST ON CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT AND I AM GETTING NO RESPONSE FROM MAKE MY TRIP,

PRAMOD GOEL

Make My Trip — non refund of interest

I have booked ticket through make my trip of rs 52,293/- on 02.01.2010 through my credit card , this amount has been debited twice though my credit cared account , after a long telephonic conversation and e mail's i got the refund of maount after 7 months , during those very period and till now bank is charging interest on credit card account and i am getting no response from make my trip,

pramod goel
this is not the first time
i booked a ticket from cochin to abudhabi and no where they asked the passport no..
when i came to know that passport no is mandatory for international flight i contacted them for the same... each time i called they gave ten variety of answers
I have Booked a ticket from Bangalore to Miami through MMT. at the time of booking they told that flight changes and cancellations are permitted. When I asked for the flight change for a stoppover, first

time I called some lady lift the phone and kept me on hold checking the information for almost 30 minutes.

Then second time I called on Mr. Jaspreet told that we cannot provide a stopover or change the flight. After my repeated request he told not possible. Then I called Emirates airlines and they told the stopover is possible and the same can be changed only by makemytrip as the ticket is booked by them.

Again I called makemytrip and told that emirates confirmed the changes are possible. after keeping me on hold for 15-20 minutes he told that changes are possible, then he went again on hold for another 10 minutes. after almost half an hour he told our systems are not allowing to do that, we cannot change it. I asked him check out the solutions and please give me a call back. But he told we cannot call back and we cannot change it also. I have almost spent 40 Minutes on the phone and not sure How to go about it.

You cannot do anything as every time you call someone else will lift the phone and you need to tell the complete story to him. For Booking they called me 3 times to book the flight. But once there is a problem they are not even ready to call back with a solution. The only option now left is to go to local emirates office and ask for help.

The Worst part is they don’t have courtesy to provide a call back to resolve the issue.

MakeMyTrip.com, Gurgaon — Distrustworthy attitude and showing back after collecting money

Makemy trip.com-Gross neglect after collecting money

I had booked flight tickets from Kochi to Vizag through the agency Makemytrip.com on[protected]. The booking ID is NF[protected]. The journey date was 14-2-11 from Kochi-Hyd (SiceJet SG 108)/Hyd-Vizag(KingFisher IT 4491) and return journey 18-2-11 from Vizag-Hyd (SiceJet SG226)/Hyd-Kochi(JetLite 9W7009). Due to rescheduling of the program, on 12th I have sent a mail and a verbal communication to change my journey dates to 14th March and return journey to 18th March. Around 2220 hrs, on 12th the agency represented by Shri Kesarwani (as informed) called me and again confirmed my request. They have collected Rs. 1800 through IVR process and confirmed the tickets have been changed. On 14th March, around 900 hrs when I have checked the journey details on their site I have found the position as follows:
Onward journey
Kochi-Hyd -Not changed
Hyd-Vizag -Changed to 14th March
Inward Journey
Vizag-Hyd _Not changed
Hyd-Kochi -Changed to 18th March

Immediately I alerted them through telephone and got assurance that it would be changed immediately. But the dates were not changed, for reasons known to them although each time I was getting assurances. Thereafter several times I called them. But only assurances and apologies were given. However, they had the boldness to accept that it was a mistake by them. Anyhow, a simple look at the tickets will reveal that the journey is continuous and any prudent man will say the change of one sector without the other is a blunder and a gross mistake on the part of the agency. In this case I had given advance information not only once but two times in addition to subsequent follow-up. Some of the Customer care Executives I have talked are Rahul (25/2/11) Asma (1/3/11) Pawan and again Bhupendra (4/3/11) SanjayKumar (7/3/11) Ajay and Ranjita (9/3/11). These are the last people I have talked. I am also enclosing the latest e-mails sent to them and their replies, a preview may give a firm opinion that deliberately they were not changing the dates. Their non-action has put me in financial loss of Rs. 8902 plus mental agonies. I would request to refund the ticket charges of Rs.8902 against the tickets which I could not use due to sole mistake of them or may be their purposeful avoidance plus adequate compensation for my harassment at their hand

P.S.NINAN
MANAGER(VIGILANCE)
NTPC, RGCCPP
P.O. CHOOLATHERUVU
PIN: 690506
Their services are not trustworthy. They are just for making money and not for service. True the main objective of all are for money But the activities of this company is cruel. I am a victim of of their atrocity

Make My Trip — No Refund After 45 Days

I cancelled my International Ticket on 2nd Feb and the airlines has cleared the payment on 14th Feb. After numerous follow ups with Make My trip they have not refunded my amount. initially they kept on saying that the Airlines has not cleared the amount, but when I gave them the payment details from airlines then only they accepted that the payment has been processed. Now Even after 45 days I am still waiting on my refund. Whenever I call the customer care they say they will check the status and call me back which never happens.

Ticket Details:
Make My Trip Booking No: US1101B00705
Booking Date 1st Aug 2010
Travel Date 6th Feb 2011
Ticket Cancel Date: 2nd Feb 2011
Airlines: Delta.

Thanks - Vikas Agarwal
mail.[protected]@gmail.com

MakeMyTrip — Refund not fully done

MakeMyTrip - Booking Unsuccessful for ID - NF[protected]

I spent total amount of INR 20,432 in 2 transactions on 24th March for booking tickets for 2 people pune to nagpur & return...these were uncessful on the web & got email that this was due to seats running out , the amount which got reflected in my acoount was only 5,108. There is no help from the customer service, i have called them several times....i had the worst experience with them & would advise no one to book tickets from them.

Kindly help me get back the refund.

MakeMyTrip — Refund amount pending from 4 months

Reference ID: [[protected]] RE: Reference ID: [[protected]] IN1101B06220-B2C-OFF-Air Domestic

Refund amont INR: 4848.00 pending from 12th Dec.2010, sent more than 20 emails, done alot of communication but still no update.
One of the worst experience, very poor customer support from make mytrip.

Its now 12th of April, almost 2 Weeks ...there is still 5, 108 pending for credit from your side. Please check and do the needful.

MakeMyTrip India
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    39%
    MakeMyTrip India Phone
    +91 12 4289 8747
    +91 12 4462 8747
    +91 12 4462 8765
    MakeMyTrip India Address
    Tower A, SP Infocity 243, Udyog Vihar, Phase 1, Gurgaon, Haryana, India - 122016
    View all MakeMyTrip India contact information