HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 16, 2025
Complaints 32888

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 1248

Sam Ghl
Feb 27, 2017

Address: Vadodara, Gujarat, 390002

Hello there!!

I visited HDFC Bank today for cash deposit.

Address :
Ground Floor, Aditviya Complex, Behind Arpan Complex,
Nizampura Baroda/Vadodara, Gujarat. Pincode : 390002
(Branch Code : HDFC0000429)

The teller was very rude. I believe his name was ritesh.
There are total 3 teller counters, he was sitting in the middle. the time was 04 PM as on 27th February 2017.

I had to deposit the amount of Rs.1360 and I had a Rs.2000 note and as per the rule, I mentioned 2000 in denomination box. Also i had mentioned 1360 in words and in digits twice in the slip. Still he credited full 2000 and didn't give the remaining amount back stating that it was my mistake that i didn't confirm regarding the exact amount to be deposited.

On top of that he was very rude even though I was polite. I completely understand that certain customers are rude but that doesn't give them the authority to misbehave with every customer.

After experiencing great net banking and credit card services for almost a year, this is quite disappointing.
Apr 3, 2017
Received a call from branch manager. Had a detailed discussion on the matter. He gave an assurance regarding non repeating of such mistakes from the employees. For now i am marking this complaint as resolved.
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
Feb 28, 2017
HDFC Bank Customer Care's response

I request you to share your account/customer Id and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance
Mar 03, 2017
Updated by Sam Ghl
Shared the details on [protected]@hdfcbank.com.
no response till now.

Pandi Pan
    Feb 27, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600097

I need my cheque book from HDFC bank but my mailing address is wrong.So they told me first i have to update the address that will take 7 working days after that only i can apply cheque book.So now i have applied my cheque book and they told me that aslo take 7 working days. It's really worst customer service for get my cheque book in 14 working days.I have applied my personal loan and it's final stage because of cheque book. I may lost this loan becuase of worst customer service with HDFC bank.

customer id[protected].

Mobile : [protected]

Pandithdurai
    Apr 15, 2017
    Mar 15, 2017

We understand our branch official Srinivasan Vasudevan has contacted you and addressed your issues relating to non receipt of cheque book.

Trust your issue stands resolved

-Bejoy

Mythri gowda
      Feb 27, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560019

I have registered a complaint regarding the payment made through hdfc even after the cancellation of the request. The complain have been made on 11 jan. I am a regular user of card and have been making the payment regularly. HDFC has showed carelessness in resolving my issue and they have informed me they are putting my card into block list for not making the payment for the month of feb rather than resolving my complain [protected].

They have created a problem for me and not ready to resolve my issue even on followups their executives promise to call back and they fail. And being a genuine customer my card being blocklisted for their mistake.
      Apr 7, 2017
      Mar 03, 2017

I have taken note of your comments expressed with regard to your HDFC Bank credit card and the same is being reviewed as appropriate. You may look forward to receive a response to your e-mail id in 3 working days. The reference number for this interaction is [protected].

-Anay

rahul.waghmode09
        Feb 27, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411014

This is rahul from pune, where one month back i was looking for an personal loan where i have approach one agent for it but unfortunately it got hold & did not gone further and even my loan requirement was freeze then all of sudden i received an email from hdfc that your insurance of plan "hdfc life easy health" been apply with an proper legal document (sum assured, emi,..) which i was not aware.
        I don't know how can such an big brand like hdfc can do like this without any prior information to an customer about opening & email approval of policy. where i don't need it anymore as i already have few.
        Hence requesting you to have please stop/close this policy.

Policy details -
        Name - rahul bandu waghmode
        Application no.: 90433153
        Plan: hdfc life easy health
        Uin: 101n110v01
        Policy no. 90433153

Rahul waghmode
        Apr 1, 2017
        HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
        Mar 01, 2017
        HDFC Life Customer Care's response
        Hi, kindly write your issue to [protected]@hdfclife.com from your registered Email ID for us to look into it the details of your complaint. Once the email is received by us, we will be conducting our internal assessment and accordingly the response will be shared with you.

Mahesh Bollam
          Feb 27, 2017

Harassment from srinidhi associates and their collection/manager/executives

Address: Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, 530026

I am m.Tabita took credit card from hdfc bank. Due to personnel problems there are pending emi's since 2 months, and i requested the same to the executives and collection manager kumar chakravarthy. But the manager did not listen to my words and send two executives to my house. The two executives came to my house and introduced them selves as from hdfc bank, srinidhi associates, visakhapatnam to my mother-in-law aged 56 who were alone at...
          Sid S
          Feb 27, 2017

Address: 500032

I daily get calls from different mobile no., landline no.s for HDFC loan promotions. Daily 2-3 times this are very disturbing, I had a loan with HDFC since than I am getting this calls. Worst Bank every they share date with anyone without consent. Not only me but many of my friends and people around me get calls from HDFC, Only HDFC bank calls are received by most of them daily different ppl different nos. recent call came from [protected].
          Apr 1, 2017
          Mar 01, 2017

I request you to share your account/customer Id if you have an account with us and contact/city details, Number you are receiving calls from to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy

venkat malakalapalli
            Feb 27, 2017

Address: 533101

I M Venkatesh i had a Account in hdfc bank a/cNo:[protected].dt:03.12.16 I did a neft transfer from by net banking Instead of transferring an amount of Rs/-4700 to dena bank with an A/C No[protected] by mistekenly i transferred the amount to A/C[protected] with a transaction reference No:[protected].
            iam giving complaint several times in hdfc bank rajahmundry but no responnce
            Apr 1, 2017
            Feb 19, 2017
            suryaprakash vishwakarma's response
            YOUR LOGIN ID LOCKED... PLEASE CONTACT YOUR SYSTEM ADMINISTRATOR
            Mar 01, 2017
            We regret to inform you that the since the beneficiary account number entered by you while executing the transaction was incorrect, the funds have not been credited to the desired beneficiary. The funds were credited to an account instead of the desired beneficiary.
            Please be informed that HDFC Bank is not in position to validate a Non-HDFC Bank Account number while an IMPS transaction is done. This is also mentioned under the "Note" section on the Third Party Funds Transfer - IMPS page within NetBanking and MobileBanking.
            However, as a special case we have raised a query with the beneficiary bank and are given to understand that they have brought the issue to the notice of the concerned beneficiary. They are awaiting consent and closure of formalities from their concerned beneficiary.
            Given the dependency on the other bank, we are not in a position to confirm a timeline for resolution.
            Nevertheless please be rest assured we would be giving utmost attention to your case on a best effort basis.
            -Manoj
            HDFC Bank Customer assistance
            In my credit card account 15000 debit with out any intimatio..in phone banking also any one npt responding correctly...i am suffering by this issue...thats why i am giving complaint...plz solve this issue
            Noc required
            My self suryaprakash vishwakarma i have worked with hdfc bank on the rolls of hbl global pvt ltd and my employee code is s58024. . no open ZINGARHE My id
            so pls hlep me.

Thanks & Regard
            suryaprakash vishwakarma
            Gorakhpur
            I am existing classic customer of HDFC bank working with Bank of America, having salary account with HDFC Bank and good banking relations with bank.

Recently I am facing lots of issues with HDFC personal loan department.

HBL=[protected]

I was having personal loan of rupees 2, 00, 000/- (2 Lacs) with HDFC Bank loan account number is 35677028.
            Was clearly mentioned that I don't want to close my personal loan with loan support team, personal banker and customer support team.

On that I got reply from loan support team on dated 09 Jan 2017.

Please note that Foreclosure request can submitted in retail asset branch by visiting in person only. Further if any representative visits the branch, your authorization is required. Basis this only foreclosure request can be accepted.

I was clear about above information that loan will not close without my permission.
            I was paying my personal loan EMI of rupees 4525/- last paid EMI of 04/02/2017.

On 13th Feb 2017, I found that I personal loan got closed without my permission as they received payment from KOTAK Mahindra bank of rupees 1, 75, 000/- dated 04/01/2017, chq number 139094.

But I personally visited to customer care in thane branch and mentioned that “not to close my personal loan” they said “we have receive your payment”. I said I will get refund of this payment from KOTAK BANK. They said please bring bank details from KOTAK bank.

I don't want Balance transfer from KOTAK BANK as that was false commitment from KOTAK BANK DSA. Before getting refund details from KOTAK BANK, HDFC BANK closed my personal loan.

Now as I don't want to close my person loan. Loan got closed by HDFC Bank without my permission. Then why bank charged me foreclosure charges of on said principle amount that this approx. 7415/-.

As bank received access amount greater than my principle amount 161193.87 due to that with adding foreclosure charges bank refunded me 10916/- access amount to my saving account. Without my permission.
            Now If amount received from KOTAK BANK was less than for eg, 150000/- then definitely bank come to me and asked for additional amount and loan will remain opened.

HDFC bank received amount from KOTAK BANK on 04 Jan 2017 and I had paid EMI still 04 FEB 2017, even paying principle amount I was paid EMI means I don't want to close my personal loan then why HDFC bank closed my personal loan without my permission.

Now It was closed without my permission then why I was charges for foreclosure? This is not correct.
            I need justice, need help from HDFC Bank.

Hoping needful and kind support from you.
            Expecting refund of foreclosure charges, which was applied on principle amount 161193.87 that is 7414.91

Please contact on [protected]
            I had credit card Number [protected]
            this card is expired june 2017 please send new card below addres
            Channa Ramaiah
            TNHB, Flot no:18-23,
            Sholinganallur,
            PonnammainKoil,
            Chennai -600119

Alisha Dhargalkar Shaw
              Feb 27, 2017

Address: Pune, Maharashtra, 411048

We had applied for savings and demat account. They guided us on the formalities but only with incomplete information. Even when we asked on any specific document that they refused.
              Even the branch manager was not clear on the documents to submit. Now that we cancelled our request we dont even get the documents back. Is this the service we should be getting from a brand like HDFC???
              Apr 1, 2017
              Feb 28, 2017

I request you to share your Application/reference, Branch address and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy
              Request for salary slip

Dear sir / madam

My name is ravinder jangra . i was emplyoee in HDFClife as sales development manager. my employee code is 120092. please send me the Salary slip for last 3 months on my mail id [protected]@gmail.com
              Thanks and regard
              Ravinder Jangra

Radhakrishnan123
                Feb 27, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600117

HDFC Life in chennai uses Probus Insurance Broker to sell their products.
                Never accept any of the HDFC Life's policies on phone. Probus Insurance Broker will be cheating you for the entire policy term. They will never tell you the broker name but will always tell that you that they are from HDFC Life. Big time cheats!! BEWARE!!! I lost a lot of money by taking the poilicy and got to know that it is fake returns promised and hence returning it.. More importantly HDFC Life will not support you eventhough the policy that you took relates to them. At max they will be able to close the policy and refund if returned within 15 days of taking the policy.

There are two people who contact the customers directly.

Harish - mobile number :[protected]
                Karthik - mobile number :[protected]

Along with the policy they will woo you by giving gifts... Never fall for it!!!
                After you return the policy they will threaten you asking for money!!

The biggest desirable solution for me at this point is them not calling me and threatening.. All the cries will be into the deaf ears of the company but you will be the person bearing the brunt..
                HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Dr Prabhat Kumar
                  from Pithoragarh, Uttarakhand
                  Feb 27, 2017

I am Prabhat kumar using your credit card since approx 2 yrs. My record is very good but last 3 months my payment is irregular due to irregular payment of my salary.But iam trying hard to cope with my due.
                  This month someone of your collection agent name Subrato calling and harassing me repeatedly.Today he called meat 10;53 AM and called me how SHAMELESS you are and keep insulting by some uncivilized word. Due to this i am feeling Depressed and suicidal . If anything happen to me Subrato is responsible for this.

sir i want sometime to pays my due and if possible give me 3 months i will pay all my due.
                  I also call to [protected] but did not resolve my query .
                  Apr 1, 2017
                  Mar 01, 2017

I request you to share your account/customer Id and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy

AzazHussain
                    Feb 27, 2017

Address: 700023

I have been trying to resolve my issue personally by sending chain of emails to HDFC to convert my outstanding into EMI but they are not agreeing even after explaining my financial difficulties and multiple death in my family.

I have requested and literally begged but since last year they are adamant to understand my financial situation and keep on replying sorry. Instead of coming up with any solution.

They have asked me to take a personal loan to pay an outstanding of my credit card. I have submitted many complaints but none of them has been sorted. I hope you will help me.
                    Apr 5, 2017
                    Mar 01, 2017

I request you to share your account/customer Id, and in case you have approached any of our communication channels, kindly help us with the complaint/reference number you may have received, and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy

Pradeep Barde
                      Feb 27, 2017

Address: Thane, Maharashtra, 421201

On 4th of Dec. 2016, Rs. 3000/- tried to transfer via Debit Card option, account shows debited but in 4 hrs it was transferred.
                      So another attempt of same amount via Net banking done successfully.
                      Complaint lodged to Paytm and their reply was non receipt of funds go to HDFC and complaint to HDFC.
                      On 6th of DEc. 2016 onwards I am complaining to Customer care telephonically as well as by Email to HDFC Bank Support via Ref no 1191473 dated 9/12/2016 as per CUS Care guidance REf No HBL=[protected] and also a guidance by Cus Care exec.Debit card Disputes Ref No. HBL=[protected].
                      On 17th of Feb I received mail stating that Paytm has send them 'Snap shot of payment being Credited to my account on 22/2/2017 of Rs 2095/-'. Which itself is false as my amount transaction failed was Rs. 3000/- and even 2095 has not been credited to my account. Secondly, acceptance of less amount does not arises.
                      Now I don't know where is my money and when I will get it, as even after over three months a Highly proficient 'Asia's Biggest Bank is unable to resolve my very small issue.
                      Apr 1, 2017
                      Mar 01, 2017
                      We note that our Team has already responded to you on email vide Interaction ID:[protected] and updated you on the status of the said transaction. We request you to liase with merchant directly for further clarification.

-Manoj
                      HDFC Bank Customer assistance
                      Without notice cut money my account, no massage my register mobile number, DC INTL POS TXN MARKUP+ST[protected], Rs2352.96, date 16/02/17, please remove my money my account,
                      Money not withdraw from ATM after complation of all process, network error, my customer no 67784861, plz resolve it.
                      My customer I'd is 62084634 and i have not recive my request debit card, Mobile number change and email updade i have request to bank for it
                      AC NO [protected]
                      Jeel Kumar A kalariya
                      Please take any action

Nisarga Muruli
                        Feb 27, 2017

Address: 560043

I had balance of 504rs payment on cerdit card. I work in a place where phones are not allowed, so i leave my phone in locker, hence couldn't receive the call from these people.

For this reason, they have accessed my savings account and taken the beneficiary details and called my relatives and friends.

This is so insulting. I have made payment every month without missing,

Is this the way they treat there customers.

How can they access my account and take my personal details. Is there anything called data protection here.

They add interest if there is any delay in making payment, i agree thats the procedure, but how gave them the permission to call the people who are added on beneficiary list.
                        Apr 1, 2017
                        Feb 28, 2017

I request you to share your account/customer Id, and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy
                        Unknown amount is getting deducted from my account

DC INTL POS TXN MARKUP+ST[protected] Rs. 5.89
                        Since 10 days hdfc bank branch gadmudshingi. Gamdhinagar.
                        Is not taking the cash for depositing

Lorraine Dcruze
                          from Jaurian, Jammu and Kashmir
                          Feb 26, 2017

Address: Chandrapur, Maharashtra, 713212

Good Morning Sir/Mam,
                          My name is Lorraine Kandulna and i reside in Durgapur West Bengal. Past few weeks am getting threatening calls from HDFC bank and from the number that they calling me from is[protected] and they are calling the school where am working and the number is [protected]. Every day am getting calls either from a girl or from a male for some loan that some else took by some name guendy and i do not know that person at all. I am been threatened on a daily bases and one males voice told me that if i don't clear off that persons loan the will kidnap my daughter and they will do anything to me. When i ask that persons name they will not share they name but will threthen me daily, with this am getting tensed worried what they will do my daughter my job everything. I don't have any one in my life am all alone, please i request you to please look into the matter and please advise them not to call me at my school i have some respect in my work place please i know HDFC who calls them the most respected banks in India but threatening people for no reason this type of calls i don't call them a respected bank. Please sir look in to the matter.
                          Apr 1, 2017
                          Mar 01, 2017

I request you to share your account/customer Id if you have an account with us and contact detail/city on which you are receiving calls, Number you are getting calls from to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy

Swati Kant
                            from Meerut, Uttar Pradesh
                            Feb 26, 2017

Customer Care executive named Nisha, is so arrogant and does not know how to talk to the customers. She herself makes a call and abuses the customer and cuts the phone. Bank should respect its customers. I am having my account along with staff of my company. I will transfer all the accounts from this bank.
                            What type of executives these banks hire .
                            Apr 1, 2017
                            Feb 27, 2017

I request you to share caller details and registered contact details to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with ref ID-TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will assist you better.

-Bejoy

This is gaurav kumar tyagi i taken salary account hdfc, on feb 18th 2017 this hdfc bank charges has been deduced i don't know what i used?
                            "3RD PARTY CASH TXN INC ST & EC 160217 like this 115 rs was deduced.
                            Please refund my money as soon as possible.

Customer Id 38536540

Saurabh10005
                              Feb 26, 2017

Address: 122003

I am trying to add money to my paytm wallet using my hdfc credit card since 10 days but transaction got failed showing that "We regret to inform you that the service of adding money to your Paytm wallet is currently not available on your card. You may still continue to transact on Paytm with the same card for other services such as recharge, bill payments, travel & movie bookings and shopping."

I am also facing same problem, What was the cause which is not allowing us to add money

I am also facing same problem with my HDFC & RBL credit card
                              I am also facing the same issue from last 10 days. Please resolve asap.
                              have u repeatedly added money to the wallet and transferred it to the bank immediately?

If yes then that's the reason the paytm blocked your card.
                              https://blog.paytm.com/unable-to-add-money-to-wallet-with-your-credit-card-know-...

CHeck the above link. You will find the answer.
                              I am unable to add money from credit card to paytm. It's my new regalia card but my first card didn't shows the problem. Is there any solution for this

bhagyarajuk
                                Feb 25, 2017

Address: 560103

Today I was trying to add money to my paytm wallet using my snapdeal hdfc credit card but transaction got failed showing that "We regret to inform you that the service of adding money to your Paytm wallet is currently not available on your card. You may still continue to transact on Paytm with the same card for other services such as recharge, bill payments, travel & movie bookings and shopping."

Shivaji Pandey
                                  Feb 25, 2017

Address: Thane, Maharashtra, 401209

i was using HDFC Credit Card, i all ready too much amount late payments apart from main amount but i'm not able to pay penalty charges, late fee, interest on amount, i was paying amount event more then used card. you are charging too much interest and late fee. many times i paid more than amount. but i faced that problem again and again. so i'm not able to such huge amount, even i'm not using that card from 7 to 8 month. help me in this, i want to do settlement.

Contact Details: [protected]

mirrorrajkumar
                                    Feb 25, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560016

I'm Sabarish, 3 year before, I opened a salary account in HDFC through my employer. and after 2year I resigned. Now they levied INR -3, 512.66 Rs from my account without any intimation.
                                    When I queried them through mail, they are not giving proper response and they reply the mail with the content copy & paste from HDFC website. I mailed them4 times but not replying with proper answer. All the 4 times I got a same message (that to copied from HDFC website) from the customer service people.when I went in person they are asking me contact through mail. But while communicating in mail, there is no proper answer.

But in they mail stated, the salary account will be converted to regular savings account without any intimation/notice. If so converted then we need to maintain minimum balance and since I was not intimated, I didn't maintain the minimum balance. Now what they are trying to say is that the mistake is with me.

If they intimated while converting, then I would have mainted the minimum balance. They have systems and time to send around 10 emails/week regarding credit cards, loans, offers, mutual fund, etc. But I didn't ask/subscribe any email services like this except account statement Why can't they send emails while converting along with or instead of these unwanted mails.

Finaly, I understood that they don't want to intimate the cutomers about such imporatnt actions. Hence so they can take money from our account as much they required and giving some reasons like AMB charges. They want to earn money by CHEATING and to lose customers.

I'm also having account in 2 other bank, while comparing HDFC is a big CHEATER

Is there anyway to file a complaint about it? If so what is the procedure?

My Account No:[protected]

my netbanking Customer ID:51754777

please take action sir.
                                    Apr 24, 2017
                                    Mar 23, 2017

As a one time service gesture we have removed the charges. In case you wish to continue using your account kindly visit our nearest branch and submit us the AMB declaration form. In case you wish to discontinue the account then kindly visit the nearest branch to submit the account closure request.
                                    Trust your query has been resolved to your satisfaction .
                                    Please feel free to call us at [protected] for further query/ clarification.

-Anay

Nupur Arya
                                      Feb 25, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110077

Few days back i was constantly gettings calls from your agent ravi if i want to have a credit card.. for it i submittedcopy of my dl, pancard, office id, salary slip, bank statement. Its been so many days no one called me back and when i called ravi he said my job has been terminated. You talk to rohit. When i called him he saidur documents has been destroyed and this is notlegal to destroy anybody's documents without informing them.. no one informed mein this.. ifur employee resigned thenthe customers he was handling will go toa toss isnt it your duty to cater them. I want a compensation on this either give memydocuments back or give me my card. Or else on a letter head giveme in written that without informing we destroyed your documents and in future no one will misuse them or else you will be responsible for it. I want this to end asap get me out of it or else i will escalate it further.
                                      Ravi agent [protected]
                                      Rohit [protected]

My email id [protected]@ymail.com
                                      Apr 7, 2017
                                      Mar 07, 2017
                                      Dear Ravi,

Request to share the below details on [protected]@hdfcbank.com : Name as mentioned on the application form
                                      Date on which the application was submitted
                                      Place where the application was submitted
                                      Your latest contact numbers
                                      City of residence/Mailing address

The reference number for this interaction is [protected].

-Anay