HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 15, 2025
Complaints 32882

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 1360

plaintiff_jaxtr3
Jan 15, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110017

For the past 10-12 days, I had been getting calls from HDFC regarding their Regalia Credit card. The associate communicated to me that based on the "Excellent credit score you have along with the Salary structure" you are entitled for Regalia Credit card. which comes with benefits such as "Complimentary Taj InnerCircle Gold membership" etc. The card had lifetime free membership if I attached my Mobile post paid bill as a reference & paid it using the new card for 3 months continuously. However, on the day of collecting the papers they conveniently changed their statement saying that "Sorry for the miscommunication". We need two utility bills, else we can only give you a lower card with lesser benefits. This is a clear case of cheating new subscribers into the Bank. I am contemplating to taking a legal action against HDFC for the same.
Aug 9, 2021
HDFC Bank customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

You can write to us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with the card details, caller details, no. on which the call was received, contact details and your issue details. Kindly mention Ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. We will take it up on priority.

-Anay
HDFC Bank Customer Assistance

Dipanjan.Banerjee
    Jan 14, 2016

Account number:[protected] I had initiated account closure with HDFC Bank back in the year 2014 as I had moved out of Kolkata where my account was opened through wipro bpo. However, HDFC Bank is now harassing me with negative charges stating they never received a request for account closure. It's been too long and I do not have an acknowledgement as well. Even after escalating this internally with HDFC they have not received this and have been charging me for non maintainance of account balance
    Aug 9, 2021

Request you to email us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with your account details, contact details and details of the charges Kindly mention Ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will check and revert to you on priority.

-Bejoy

mohandas.david
      from Angamali, Kerala
      Jan 14, 2016

Address: 600028

Hi Sir/Madam,

My name is Mohandass David, I bought a new HDFC TIMES CARD credit card while Issuing the card they told the Health insurance is mandatory with this card and I confirmed for that and they debited the amount of RS.4579 and converted as an EMI of 12 month tenure(Loan No.[protected] and the documents are dispatched to my office address with policy number 90188475. And after some day some customer care executive called and they asks for confirmation of card activation, but I told them my card is already activated and they told that documents are just for policy details and that card is duplicate card the original card will be sent after your confirmation with the Mumbai team, and one representative will call you soon and you answer yes to all the questions and then only you can use your card. And I confirmed all the questions after some days they debited amount of RS.9173 from my credit card and they issued new policy with the HDFC ERGO numbered [protected], after checked my card statement I raised cancellation request(REF No. 13294902 and the latest is[protected] and then I got call from another HDFC team and they said you can't cancel the polity but the HDFC ERGO team confirms you can cancel your policy at any time, Kindly please cancel the below policy and refund my amount .

Policy Number: [protected]
      Name: Mohandass
      DOB: 04/06/1990
      RTN: [protected]

Prathap Reddy 123
        Jan 14, 2016

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, unuv

However i always used to keep 10, 000 plus in my hdfc account. In month of october&november, december due to some urgency i utilised amount from hdfc and my balance became less than 10, 000/-

Hdfc is chargeing me some approx 515&342 rs from last three months. They should have atleast intimate me.

Kindly find the below deduction transactions.

09 dec 2015 amb chrg incl st & cess for nov2015 09 dec 2015 515.25
        09 dec 2015 amb chrg incl st & cess for oct2015 09 dec 2015 342.00
        12 jan 2016 amb chrg incl st & cess for dec2015 12 jan 2016 681.70

The above following are the transactions that happened with out my knowledge. Kindly resolve the issue asap. Attached below are the details. Account name; prathap reddy y, account number; [protected], bank name; hdfc bank, ifsc code; hdfc0004220, branch name; agara junction branch bangalore. Now i want to refund back my money as soon as possible. .My contact no-+91-[protected].
        Aug 8, 2021

We are pleased to inform you that as a special customer service gesture we have decided to reverse the charges levied on your Savings account for non maintenance of Average Monthly Balances (AMB).
        Please note, however, that this reversal of charges is being done as a one-off case and the said reversal of charges in your account will be done in four working days.

Should you require any further clarification in this regard, please write to us or get in touch with your nearest branch.

-Anay
        HDFC Bank Customer Assistance.

makhan singhD
          Jan 14, 2016

Address: Bathinda, Punjab, 032

14/01/2016 my atm card and my wallet lost with adhar card [protected] hdfc account : [protected] customer id: 50912213 obc acc: [protected] cust. id:29248135 name : makhan singh s/o munsha singh maur mandi I was gone in the prkash badal conference but my pocket is lost in that place . please block my atm card thankfull to you to all branch head
          Aug 9, 2021
          We have blocked your HDFc Bank ATM/Debit Card number ending with XXXX4095 linked to account XXXX6461 to prevent any misuse.
          We request you to co ordinate OBC for blocking of card linked to your OBC account.

-Anay
          HDFC Bank Assistance.

indrasend
            Jan 14, 2016

Address: Indore, Madhya Pradesh, 452001

I am an HDFC BANK customer, I have my saving A/c. my a/c no is "[protected]"on 11/1/2016 RS-171 is deducted from my a/c for AMB CHRG INCL ST & CESS FOR DEC2015 .If i have my sallary A/c then How will u Deduct My Balance without giving Any Notice. Now want to refund back my money as soon as possible.My contact no. [protected]

prateek_kv90
              Jan 14, 2016

Address: Gurgaon, Haryana, 122002

This mail is regarding the imposition of fine of Rs. 360 for not payment of Swatchcha Bharat Tax of 7 rupees on premium payment. The details are : Policy No: 12400219 Name: Prateek Kumar Verma Premium paid: Rs 8611 Payment date : 18th Nov 2015 I have my policy number linked to my HDFC bank account for premiun payment. The amount showed for payament was as mentioned above which was paid by me before the due date. However, as told by the customer support today, a Swatchchha Bharat Tax of Rs 7/- was levied over the Premium which was not informed to me before. Due to non payment of this Rs 7/- as tax, a fine for approx Rs 360 has now been imposed over, along with sum assured reduced to 70001 form the original value. I had also made a call to the customer care to confirm the premium payment in November, and was told that the premium has been paid. The receipt was also mailed for the same. In today's call I was told that to pay the balance along with the fine to revert to the sum assurance as per original policy. Why was this due amount balance not communicate to me when I called in November to confirm the premium payment, neither was reflected in my linked account as due or summed together with the premium amount. Also find the screenshot of message received from HDFC. I would be happy to pay the balance amount but would not pay the fine as this is something not been informed by HDFC life and is company's fault. Please look into this and revert back my original sum assurance by accepting the balance of Rs 7.
              HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
              folloowing complaint was done on 19 feb 2015, still they did not take any action on agent and return my money

I had taken policy of hdfc life (policy no.[protected] from your agent named sonal sharma ([protected]), SMC insuarance Brokers pvt ltd..
              your agent had told that she is from hdfc life, and she told me that I will get a loan of Rs. three lac. so I purchased this policy from her, for first three months she always contact me and take my hdfc bank details, and told me that your loan will transfered in your account, now she has closed her telephone.
              Now you find where is this agent and take a hard action against her, now I want my policy premium back, I have no more interest in this policy, so close it immediate effect and send me my premium back immediately,

thanking you, .
              yours sincerely,

umesh Ghatpande
              Hi Umesh, I'll have a check on your complaint and would be reverting you shortly after referring your previous complaints if any received by us and the response shared with you on same from our end. -- Manish.
              Hi Umesh, I tried contacting you on your available contact no. in our records. However, I was unable to receive any response. Kindly confirm your feasible contacting time for me to connect with you as it is required by me to collect some information for conducting the further investigation on the concern raised by you. Alternatively, you may also write to us at [protected]@hdfclife.com from your registered Email ID for us to look into the details of your concern.-- Manish.

Vineet Vij
                Jan 14, 2016

I am having salary account with a/c no. -[protected] As I have checked amount of Rs. 1200 has been deducted from my account without any prior notification in regards to AMB CHRG INCL ST & CESS FOR NOV & DEC2015 How can you debit the amount without getting account holder consent. I want my money to be credited in my account as soon as possible.

We have checked our records and confirm that the Average Monthly Balances (AMB) charges has been reversed in your account XXXX5558 on January 18, 2015.
                We request you to kindly check and confirm the reversal of the said transaction.

-Anay
                HDFC Bank Assistance.

sandip1989
                  Jan 14, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110002

On 31st December, 2015 I made a payment of Rs. 3200 against my old credit card number ending with 7089. This card account has been closed. When I called the customer care, they responded that my money would be credited to my new credit card number ending with 2334 withing 48 hours. It has been 15 days and the money is yet to be credited to my new credit card account. My repeated attempt to mail to HDFC through netbanking mail service has resulted in vain. I am feeling helpless at the pathetic dont-care attitude of the bank representatives.

ratandalal
                    Jan 14, 2016

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560001

Booking Status: HDFC Bank SmartBuy Ref No : [protected] Goibibo Ref Number: N6EM5Z5JI Booked Request ID : GOFLDAPIHDFC672a[protected] Booked on : 09-12-15 Status : Successful Cancelled Status: 28.12.2015 Booking Reference: M5Z5JI Status: CANCELLED Date of Booking: 09Dec15 Amount refunded from Travel site goibibo to Hdfc Smart Buy on 29th December, 2015. But I am not getting any refund status or response from Hdfc Smart Buy Customer care by email and phone. The toll free number is not working currently. Email sent several times but no response from there end.

We regret any inconvenience you may have faced. Request you to write to [protected]@hdfcbank.com with your account number / Credit card number, Original date and amount of transaction and the reference id TTU[protected]. A bank representative shall contact you as soon as we receive this information.

-Anay
                    HDFC Bank Assistance

Sid2907
                      from Pathanamthitta, Kerala
                      Jan 14, 2016

Address: Kolkata, West Bengal, 700006

Hi, From yesterday i have called some 20 times to your customer care number but i am not getting any response even if it is connected after explaining everything to executive the call will disconnect automatically. I just want a call from customer care so that i can explain my issues. From months the bank is charging wrong charges on my card i just came to know today. My contact number [protected], [protected]

Request you to email us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with your account details, contact details and details of the charges Kindly mention Ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will check and revert to you on priority.

-Bejoy

tanmoy dutt
                        Jan 14, 2016

Address: 7123136

Myself tanmoy dutta a salary account holder of hdfc bank lake avenue, kolkata branch. Account number is - [protected]. On 12th jan'16 they have debited rs.687.00 & 405.00 consiquently from my account without any authorization (amb chrg incl st & cess for nov2015 & amb chrg incl st & cess for dec2015). Request to refund the amount asap.

We understand that our official Mr. Arijit Ghosh contacted you and addressed your issue regarding the charge.

Further, we would like to confirm that the amount of Rs.1374 has been credited to your account on January 16, 2016.

-Bejoy

ragadeepi
                          Jan 14, 2016

I am a HDFC account holder (Account NO:[protected]) . On dec 8, 2015 and Jan 11, 2016, total amount of Rs.1374 has been deducted from my salary account as "AMB CHRG INCL ST & CESS". also on Dec 21, 2015 INR of 458 has been deducted for debit card annual fees. now i want to revert all money deducted from my account.

We understand that our official Mr. Ravi Mohan contacted you via e-mail dated January 18, 2016 and addressed the issues raised by you.

For further clarification, you may write back to him.

Anay

krishnachopparapu
                            Jan 13, 2016

I took hdfc titanium times credit card. but not able to avail offer in book my show . i am trying it for past 2 months. not even one time also the offer not got highlighted. iam really not satisfied with this card

Request you to email us at [protected]@hdfcbank.com along with your card details, contact details and details of the offers. Kindly mention Ref ID- TTU[protected] in the subject line. Will check and revert to you on priority.

-Bejoy

Ashwin1983
                              Jan 13, 2016

Address: 411026

Dear Sir/Madam, I applied for top up loan (loan account number :[protected] on my existing home loan account (loan account number:[protected].) on 21st December, 2015 in HDFC through their official (Mr Sushant Jagdale). I needed 7 Lakhs top up loan amount on my existing home loan account. Mr Sushant from HDFC has collected all the necessary documents and processing cheque of Rs 6170 amount from me on 21st Dec, 2015. He assured me that 7 lacs top up loan amount is possible and i will get it. I didnt get any response from HDFC and Sushant for 2 weeks. I called Mr Sushant on 11th Jan, 2016 and he informed that i am not eligible for top up loan. I asked them to refund me my processing cheque amount of 6170 Rs. I have had horrible experience with HDFC. I am doubtful if i am not eligible for any top up loan then why they collected documents and processing cheque from me. Also they shouldn't accept my top up loan application. Request you to please look into this and help me to get my processing amount Rs 6170 from HDFC. Thanks for your support. Ashwin.
                              I also posted my complaint on https://hdfc.com/grievance-redressal but of no use. HDFC customer service is pathetic.

Expecting some hope and help from consumercomplaints.in.
                              As your query pertains to HDFC Limited, we request you to write to them at [protected]@hdfc.com who will ensure that your query concerning your Home loan is resolved at the earliest.
                              You can also register your query / complain pertaining to your Home Loan by visiting the below mentioned link:

http://www.hdfc.com/others/hdfc_write_to_us.asp

Anay

Rakesh32
                                from Mariahu, Uttar Pradesh
                                Jan 13, 2016

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110024

This is to inform you that my name is Rakesh Pal and I am residing at address C-39/E (B) railway colony, lajpat nagar – 1, ND-24, I am having a bank account ([protected]) in your bank it was a salary account opened by the employer for crediting salary. However, as I am not associated with the same employer anymore so I don’t operate that account and not sure how and when this account was changed to savings account from Salary accounts without my consent or request. Moreover, now it has a balance of Rs -6, 137.19. Hence I request you to kindly close this account asap as I have never requested for this service. Also, please provide me the request number for my account closure request so that I can use it for any future follow ups on this. Regards, Rakesh Pal

We regret the inconvenience caused. Our team has made a note of your concerns and will contact you soon with an update on your issue. Reference number for your query is[protected].

-Manoj

khaja2mca
                                  Jan 13, 2016

Address: 521230

I am an HDFC BANK customer, I have my Corporate A/c. my a/c no is "[protected]" on 11/01/2016 RS-1374 is deducted from my a/c for AMB CHRG INCL ST & CESS FOR NOV2015 and AMB CHRG INCL ST & CESS FOR DEC2015 .How will u Deduct My Balance without giving Any Notice. Now want to refund back my money as soon as possible.MY contact no is +[protected]

We are pleased to inform you that as a special customer service gesture we have decided to reverse the charges levied on your Savings account for non maintenance of Average Monthly Balances (AMB).
                                  Please note, however, that this reversal of charges is being done as a one-off case and that going forward you will have to maintain the requisite Average Monthly Balances (AMB) of Rs 10, 000.00 in your Savings Bank account failing which the Bank will levy AMB non-maintenance charges as applicable.

Please also note that the said reversal of charges in your account will be done in four working days.

Should you require any further clarification in this regard, please write to us or get in touch with your nearest branch.

-Bejoy

amittiwari1703
                                    Jan 13, 2016

Address: 110067

Dear Sir, They are not giving any proper address some times they are saying from vikaspuri, then they are saying rajouri garden and also i don't know them physically, only their mobile number is with me and their name. I am hereby sharing their mobile numbers with you so that you also can take a necessary action on this regard. They are continuously calling me and my office personnel's, also i had informed them that i had done a complaint then they said that "if you had done a complain then why we are calling". its my humble request to you kindly look into this matter and kindly try to take some necessary action on this regard. Name: Pooja: [protected] / [protected] Sir, for the once kindly call on above mentioned number and tell them not to harass me, if they are having any grievance then they should complain against me. Dear Sir, Please find the trailing mails and this matter is still not solved, today one person named Harsh mobile number: [protected], called me up and again he is saying that you have to give money otherwise if any thing happen to you then you will be responsible, we can do any thing to you. He is calling in the name of HDFC bank. Please solve this matter I had already conveyed to bank and it was being confirmed by bank that now no one will call you on this issue. Regards Amit Ranjan [protected]
                                    Jan 13, 2016
                                    Updated by amittiwari1703
                                    Please find the trailing mail and try to solve it.

[protected] Forwarded message[protected]
                                    Date: 12 January 2016 at 15:56
                                    Subject: Fwd: I am going to commit suicide...
                                    To: [protected]@nic.in, cp.[protected]@nic.in, [protected]@vsnl.com, moh.[protected]@gov.in, Minlaw.[protected]@gov.in, minwcd.[protected]@nic.in, chairperson.[protected]@hdfcbank.com, Kmistry.[protected]@hdfcbank.com, Pdatta.[protected]@hdfcbank.com, [protected]@iba.org.in

Please find the trailing mails and this matter is still not solved, today one person named Harsh mobile number: [protected], called me up and again he is saying that you have to give money otherwise if any thing happen to you then you will be responsible, we can do any thing to you. He is calling in the name of HDFC bank.
                                    Please solve this matter I had already conveyed to bank and it was being confirmed by bank that now no one will call you on this issue.

Amit Ranjan

[protected] Forwarded message[protected]
                                    Date: 24 July 2015 at 12:30
                                    Subject: RE: I am going to commit suicide...
                                    To: Amit Tiwari

Please contact concerned police station.

From: Amit Tiwari [mailto:[protected]@gmail.com]
                                    Sent: Thursday, July 23, 2015 3:53 PM
                                    To: [protected]@gmail.com; cp.[protected]@nic.in; [protected]@vsnl.com
                                    Cc: [protected]@nic.in; moh.[protected]@gov.in; Minlaw.[protected]@gov.in; minwcd.[protected]@nic.in; chairperson.[protected]@hdfcbank.com; Kmistry.[protected]@hdfcbank.com; Pdatta.[protected]@hdfcbank.com; [protected]@iba.org.in
                                    Subject: I am going to commit suicide...

This is Amit Ranjan, Resident of Jharkhand state, and working in a Central govt. PSU as Engineer BD in contract basis.
                                    I want to draw your kind attention towards one issue which is happening just to cause mental harassment to me.
                                    Some peoples are calling me in the name of HDFC bank and they are saying that an Amount of Rs. 1, 72000/- is due on me and when i asked them for detailed statement then they refuse to give the statement by saying that they will not provide me any statement, now i just want to say that how can i pay any amount to an unknown person without taking any statement.
                                    They are calling me continuously from last 4-5 months, and they are threatening me regarding the above subject that "tereko utha lenge" and "tujhe itna pareshan karenge ki tu suicide kar lega".
                                    Today one of the man named "Rohit" saying that if you deposit 15000/- by tomorrow then i will remove all data from bank, and then no one will harass/call you regarding this issue.
                                    sir its my humble request to you to kindly sort out this case, according to me there is no due on me and my card is in "writ off" stage as per bank confirmation. But if they continuously harassing me, i was tried to solve this matter but they are continuously calling me and now they had started to call on my office board numbers.
                                    I want to lodge a complaint against them regarding creating mental harassment to me in the name of false statement and false details.

Sir, its my request to you kindly look into this matter.

Name of the persons calling me:
                                    1. Sanjay Sharma: [protected]
                                    2. Pooja: [protected]

My card number: HDFC Bank: [protected]

Sir Kindly look into this matter else if any thing happens to me above mentioned organization and persons will be held responsible.

With Regards

vfer jatu

vfHk;ark ¼;kaf=d½

We regret the inconvenience caused. Our team has made a note of your concerns and will contact you soon with an update on your issue.

Case is pending with Reference number for your query is[protected].

-Manoj
                                    HDFC Bank Assistance

Manoj Kumar Gaur
                                      from Barmer, Rajasthan
                                      Jan 12, 2016

Address: Gurgaon, Haryana, 122011

I would like to lodge my complaint against the HDFC Credit Card division for spoiling my social reputation by reducing my CIBIL rating score and hence not approving my loan even after my excellent financial status. FYI please I have been paying about Rs. 2, 24, 000/- as Income Tax to GOI every month and also give up my LPG cylinder subsidy as per the Honorable Prime Minister appeal. I would like to appraise point wise below. 1) Investor Clinic from Noida approached the Bank for the Home loan with my all documents to approve the loan from some Amrapalli Project in Noida and came to know my CIBIL rating is not good due to some pending issue with HDFC to approve the loan. 2) On 3rd Dec'15 I have personally visited HDFC Golf Course Branch to investigate the matter and requested Mr. Abhishek Dutta ([protected]) about said matter. I have given my all necessary details as per his request to investigate the case. Mr. Abhishek promised me to call on Monday i.e., 5th Dec'15 to confirm the status but I have not received any call from him. Then I called him and asked the status and he has told me nothing is pending in my name. 3) On second week of Dec'15 I wrote number of mails to [protected]@hdfc.com and cc to MD. Then finally I got a call that some Rs. 1000/- against some HDFC card in 2004 is pending and now requesting me to pay Rs. 3400/- without sending me the statement as well as any reminder calls. Now my questions with HDFC are: 1) Why HDFC approved my loan in 2006. FYI please I have closed my loan in 2010. 2) Why HDFC approved my loan in Dec'12. FYI please I have closed my loan in July 2015. 3) Why HDFC Bank has not raised this during the approval for above stated loan. 4) As per my knowledge I was not having any HDFC card pending amount. 5) Why HDFC Bank is not sending me the dues statement, if any, even after number email request to them. 6) Why HDFC Bank has not sent me the reminder call for the pending dues, if any, and wake-up now after 12 years when I personally approached their Golf Course Road branch. Appreciate if you can discuss with HDFC and take necessary action for mental harassment.

vrvangeti
                                        Jan 12, 2016

Address: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, 500035

Hi, I am Vamshidhar Rao V (Acc no [protected]) was deducted INR 1030.50 for AMB CHRG INCL ST & CESS FOR NOV2015 as this being a salary account, With no proper intimation (No phone/email ), HDFC Bank is behaving worst on its part. Please look into the matter and let us know how to proceed further.